Khazanah says Proton partner could be local

Khazanah Nasional Bhd’s managing director Datuk Azman Mohktar said Proton could possibly fall into a local strategic partner’s hands, instead of a foreign one like Volkswagen. However, talks with Volkswagen still goes on.

What does this mean? Is this a hint of things to come when 31st March 2007 drops by? Will something be announced or will the deadline be extended?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 2:37 pm

Well i heard that khazanah will sell it to SIME darby first.. if i not mistaken.. then maybe SIME darby will sell it to GM or VW afterwards.. because this is call buying time.. If sell to SIME darby, mostly it will be GM taking it.. sad news.. I hate those share holders in P1, always want to be in control even the money is from others.. VW offer the best for our people, and because of dignity, power and money they might not accept, coz VW will change a lot of structure in P1 if they take it. SIME darby may not also buy over 50%, and i think it will be temporary partners only..

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 3:37 pm

All rumors…..is rumors…….was RUMORS……PROTONG is always having RUMORS…..

Boring……to see such GORENG GORENG GORENG maybe is maybe That…..again and again……until WHEN?

• jazz1011 (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 4:50 pm

There goes my chances – or probably the hope of everyone in experiencing at least some sort of "good take-over" from a reliable partner.

Guess I'll never get to taste the engineering of VW in Proton's stable afterall.

• funbox (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 5:10 pm

Guess it's just speculation! Sime Darby already said no interest in P1.

• ysyslys (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 5:48 pm

go local…..good!

Then ralyat may possible enjoy the reasonable cheap car very soon after pX tutup keadai…..maybe.

Wakeup mannnnnnn

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 6:19 pm

BORING………. deadline is near, no annoucement yet. I personnally hope that the partnership with VW will not successful. Just let the market decides the fate of Proton.

• acbc (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 6:56 pm

Proton just plain arrogant! They just can't accept a foreign partner to turn them around. Typical 3rd world mentality!

They might as well dig their own graves and bury themselves.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 7:22 pm

acbc said,

March 26, 2007 @ 10:56 am

Proton just plain arrogant! They just can’t accept a foreign partner to turn them around. Typical 3rd world mentality!

They might as well dig their own graves and bury themselves.

…well said.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 9:36 pm

So by 1st of April 07 (Sunday), they will make an April fool news again!

Really have to dig their own grave!

• bobdbilder (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 10:49 pm

I would like to see somebody wipe that smirk of Azman Mokhtar's face forever. But he'll be looking forward to any sale of Proton stocks. Being an MD he must have shares in it what. He can't turn it around on his own because he is such a laggard and a fat A$$ b@$+@rd. So he gets to sell it off and make a profit and leave the business. He'll be smiling no matter what the outcome is. You think he bloody gives a damn?

• ak03 (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 11:06 pm

http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/nst/Sunday/Nat…

Q: The end of the month is the date when we’re supposed to know who the government, or Proton, has decided to allow itself to be allied to: Peugeot Citroen, the French, those talks went nowhere. Is Proton only in talks with Volkswagen now or is GM still in the running ?

A: At the moment, Proton is only talking to VW.

Q: If the VW talks fall through, there would be GM though, that is still a viable alternative?

A: Yes, there is GM still.

Q: What would the government like to see in terms of a deal, whether it’s Proton GM or Proton VW ?

A: If we can work together in some form of partnership or joint venture, that is something to benefit in terms of the future growth of Proton, in terms of technical development for our cars, that is what we’d like to see.

That will make us more competitive, hopefully. And at the same time, we would like Proton to remain Proton.

We cannot decide to forget the name Proton and to allow it to disappear. Proton is the national car.

Proton is our pride.

• NiceCar (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 12:41 am

Proton is the national car that manufacturing the model that older than 10 years but still can survive.

Proton is the national car that not improve itself but increase others car tax to so it can maintain thier market share.

Proton is the national car that delay the overall automation developement.

Result: Proton is our pride??? Hahaha.. I NOT THINK SO!!!

• KL-ATR (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 2:36 am

Is it worth our breath to even discuss about the fate of Proton? Is it only the Rakyat who can see what is best for the company? Everytime there is a flicker of hope, the gov would douce it out. If they don't want our opinions, maybe they shouldn't get our votes too.

• japankiller (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 3:58 am

Want a cheap car?live in US.

What else to complain about when the government are the TAI KO.

Or else no vote for them in the next GE.

Think wise

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 4:57 am

Another quater late and P1 will be in the red, and then VW may not want it anymore. Sell now, not wait and wait till cannot sell.

• TESko (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 6:07 am

wahh…… those mr. chee's pets must be very happy… now, they can keep on producing no quality product and supply it to PROTON.

• mits27 (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 7:37 am

Who care, I just want to have cheaper car, the car price in malaysia is ridiculous expensive, the G thought we all super rich!!!

I forgot, the UMNO putera, and their friends incapable supplier firends care about proton….thinking what car posc, merc, or brabus…

And we get potong….G really treats us good…

• intermilan (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 1:27 am

i bet it will be delayed… or if there a deal, it is meaningless to end user.

proton got very big capex & super dwindling cash reserve + crashing market share, its so not worth it.

• cyborgx (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 7:45 am

just close la. wasting taxpayer money.

No capability dont follow people start auto-industry la.

Tak tahu kebolehan sendiri meh? tak kenal perkataan "malu" ke? adui.

• szw (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 8:20 am

coming soon…

can't wait