Suzuki Grand Vitara 3-door

suzuki_grand_vitara_3door_1.jpg

Suzuki has just launched a turbodiesel 3-door variant of the Suzuki Grand Vitara in the UK. I thought I might cover it so you guys can see the 3-door version. Our local market has the 5-door version going for RM 143,738.60 on the road.

The Suzuki Grand Vitara 3-door turbodiesel is powered by a Renault 1.9 litre DDiS turbodiesel making 129 PS and 300Nm of torque peaking at 2,000rpm. Despite it’s cute appearance, it has offroad abilities as well, with a center diff lock and permanent all wheel drive with low range ratios. The 3-door turbodiesel joins existing 1.6 litre VVT and VVT+ models for the 3-door model.

More photos after the jump.

suzuki_grand_vitara_3door_2.jpg

suzuki_grand_vitara_3door_3.jpg

suzuki_grand_vitara_3door_4.jpg

suzuki_grand_vitara_3door_5.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 8:45 pm

Better waite for Kembara replacement, may be the price less than half of this 3-door Vitara!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 9:02 pm

the vitara have been a failure here,only the old one sold in numbers,the new one u hardly see it on the road

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 9:51 pm

Looks a lot like the RAV4 from the sides and back. Not very nice ler, not macho or cute enough to warrant a second glance, like the turbodiesel though.

• drM (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 11:29 pm

rav4 competitor?

i love the big bro more. full sized new vitara

• hondadriver (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 11:34 pm

joe ooi,

the kembara and the vitara are in different classes. They dont compete at all. The vitara is larger in everyway, offering bigger engines as well as more creature comforts.

the kembara is as wide as a kancil, and is meant more for the lower end of the market.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 12:03 am

Kembara Replacement (newTerios) is totally a different class. Its like comparing a cat with a cheetah. Not too sure if this is coming to our markets via authorised distributor. 3 door is very niche market. Their 5 door already isn't doing as well as expected.

• transformer (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 12:45 am

due to its pricing, only executive level can afford Vitara… but average manager would get a Camry or Accord instead ! who cares for Vitara ???

for average joe, its too far beyond reach! but this seems to be the inital target market when it launced in mid-1980's! (Rm60K-70K per unit!)

Then Suzuki tend to upscale/upgrade Vitara to executive level but failed… the latest model would be the same too! moreover stiff competition from Nissan and Honda offering as Vitara priced at the same category!

• timber8115 (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 1:05 am

yeah yeah boring car and design, dont seems to appeal to me…..

• hondadriver (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 1:13 am

suzuki seems to only have 1 hope, and thats the upcoming CKD swift.

• transformer (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 1:46 am

yup the Swift! but still how low(pricing) would it go ?

Swift got the looks, got the handling…

But rakyat still prefer Price, Size over handling

We'll keep our finger crossed!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 2:25 am

BrakeFader said,

"Kembara Replacement (newTerios) is totally a different class. Its like comparing a cat with a cheetah"

——–

If on price basis, it is a TWO big wild cat compare to ONE wall paper Cheetah! Capacity wise 2 big cat is bigger than 1 small Cheetah!

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 3:22 am

permanent 4×4. This alone will turn me down and a lot of people too

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 5:24 am

Joe Ooi, as I said. Different class. You're comparing a mini SUV with a mid size SUV. Price of course would be different la.

If you want to compare price, you could say a BMW M5 can buy you 33 Proton Sagas!! LOL!

• schdmitz (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 3:59 pm

this car giving me a boxy kind of look. the 2nd hand value for this car could be very low….the old vitara now only RM10000-18000…and it is a petrolholic…u travel 100km perhour and the rpm already reach 5000….imagine how much petrol were burned there!

• szw (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 8:09 am

5 doors still look better, this car looks like it had been chopped off.