Nissan Teana Spotted

nissan-teana-1.jpg

Here are a new batch of photos sent in by contributor Adam, who previously shared with us photos of the CBU Toyota Camrys in a holding bay before the Camry was launched in Malaysia. This time, we get to look at the upcoming Cefiro replacement to be launched by Edaran Tan Chong – the Nissan Teana!

I’m not sure why the name change, as the Cefiro has built up a good name here in it’s segment, but then again if I was so smart I’d be working in a car manufacturer’s marketing department instead of sitting here typing this. The badge on the rear of one of the cars says 230JS. This means we’re sure the 2.3 litre model will be offered here, and this will likely be coupled with a 200JK 2.0 litre model.

In Singapore, this car is called the Nissan Cefiro, so let’s have a look at the Singaporean specs to have an insight into what the specs are. The 200JK has a QR20DE inline-4 engine, while the previous Cefiro 2.0 litre used a V6. However, I think an inline-4 is a better idea as small displacement V6 engines tend to lack push at lower revs, like my Perdana’s. The QR20DE makes 145PS at 6,000rpm, and 195Nm of torque at 4,000rpm. It has CVTC variable valve timing, and has a 4-speed automatic gearbox.

The 230JS (called 230JM in Singapore, different trim levels?) has a VQ23DE engine, a 2.3 litre V6 that makes 173PS at 6,000rpm and 225Nm of torque at 4,400rpm. This makes it the only car in it’s segment with a lovely silky smooth V6 engine, something Cefiros have always been known for.

This model also comes with a 4-speed auto, putting it at a disadvantage to the Camry and Accord’s 5-speed autos, of course this is on paper only. How the car drives can only be told if you actually drive it. But the lack of a 2nd overdrive gear might cause the new Cefiro to lose out on highway cruising smoothness and fuel economy compared to it’s competitors.

One more thing… completely built up cars in a holding bay similiar to the Camry: does this mean the new Nissan Teana is a CBU? BTW, check out Adam’s food blog.

More photos after the jump.

Related Nissan Spyshots
Nissan Latio Sedan and Nissan Latio Sport Hathcback spotted in Genting

nissan-teana-2.jpg

nissan-teana-3.jpg

nissan-teana-4.jpg

nissan-teana-5.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mits27 (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 11:31 am

Should I say finally…finally nissan bring in Tenna…

Good move for nissan, we are eager with the new model from nissan for very long time….

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 12:57 pm

looks abit innocent and lame….now can get cefiero 2nd hand 3.0 v6 at around Rm30k….real bargain….bt god bless u with the petrol!

• NiceCar (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 3:34 pm

At last, we having the Teana in M'sia…

By looking at the pictures, this Teana suppose is the latest version which having chrome fog lamp, AFS on front lamp, 2 exhaust pipes..

But it still come with 4-speed auto?? I though come with Nissan secret weapon –> x-cvt aready..

Wait and see what the version that Edaran Tan Chong bring in.. =)

• J (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 3:46 pm

I like the back !

any idea of price range ?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 4:01 pm

Wonder how you pronounce the name?

"Tee-Na" or "Te-eh-na"

Lacks impact though. It uses the design language of nissan's newer cars like the Maxima, Altima, G35 but something is missing.

I wonder why wont they just bring in the Altima. This looks like its the same size as the Altima, which was a very successful Camry/Accord fighter in North America.

• schdmitz (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 4:06 pm

Actually its now really new liao…i already saw in Sarawak at the grey importer's stockyard…and also the Nissan Tilda already used for few months already…Y nowaday nissan came out with a very wired design????or they just copy and paste from renault design? No wonder Nissan nearly blingkup !

• MyBoy (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 4:10 pm

Why in the world they didn't use Nissan own CVT transmission instead of this lame 4-Speed auto? Is it because of they want to make more profit out of this lame cheap 4-Speed auto tranny?

• 707 (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 4:15 pm

its the cefiro in sg

teana sounds funny lei buah kana~

• MyBoy (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 4:15 pm

This model is long overdue for malaysian market. Malaysia always be the last place on earth to get Nissan new (now old already) models.

• Charger (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 4:20 pm

It's about time Tan Chong do something to replace the old and stale Nissan Cefiro.

According to my friend, Cefiro has been discontinued for a while in Japan, so Teana sort of took over the name. There were also reasons as to why Teana was not sold here by TCM earlier.

• digiman (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 4:45 pm

just to share with you guys.. this car is a really good drive.. i drove it in singapore when it was first released… really fantastic drive.. can't share much on the technical area as i don't think i am really good at that.. but base on a 1 day drive around singapore… i find it really fuel efficient… and on top of that… freaking good comfort… wonder how much it will be retailing for?

ball park figure anyone?

• shimiwako (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 4:48 pm

Only the 3.5litre version uses CVT transmission.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 4:55 pm

Finally the Cefiro/Maxima is coming. 2.0 and 2.3L engine option? Isn't it a little bit underpowered for a car this size? I was expecting 3.5L or atleast 2.5L for a car this size.

• jehutyz (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 4:58 pm

Is a Finally……

Been seeing this car with the SG number plate all over KL for couple of years and now finally will see this a lot at KL. I like this car. The exterior is nice (at that time but for now ehmm …) for the interior is simple and classic.

They changed to Teana ehmm is based on Japanese name rite. Maybe they don't like Cefiro already as in cantonese is 'Fatty'. Teana is a nice name but more into a Japanese style.

Wonder what is the price tag. If they set it around Camry price then it will be a challenge to Camry. But if i not mistaken Nissan car price is slightly higher than Honda n Toyota.

So what's next……LATIO!!!!

• kendo (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 5:03 pm

it been out for 3 years,

OLD cars lah

• NiceCar (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 5:13 pm

What I know:

Last time Nissan having Cefiro and Bluebird at the same car segment; 1 is aim for comfortable, 1 is aim for good driving.

After year to year, customer requirement become comfortable + good driving and make these 2 cars almost having the same features and overlap each other.

So they decide to having a Teana to replace Cefiro and Bluebird at the same time. Of course, Nissan have possibility to have new Cefiro and BlueBird in the future depend on the demand..

• MyBoy (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 5:15 pm

For me, Teana (maxima) is no longer a good looking car. Altima Is better in term of style.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 5:47 pm

It's been out for 4 years. Due replacement soon. I don't know why Malaysian gets it so late. My grandpa was contemplating on this and the last facelift camry, but stupid nissan doesn't bring it in. If not he would've bought it.

The interior's exquisite thou.

• MyBoy (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 5:49 pm

NiceCar,

Nissan do have Bluebird right now. It's just they called it by different name depending on the market (region).

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 5:49 pm

This is a good looking one, I've seen quite a few from Singapore driven on Malaysian roads. Hope they stick with the Cefiro name, Teana, sounds like Tina, kinda girlish haha.

• xg9 (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 6:14 pm

saw it for the first time couple of years ago, very pretty….. now, not that pretty… but its about time for tan chong to bring in this…. would love to see fuga..

• xg9 (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 6:16 pm

bring in the new skyline 250gt… its a pretty car.. the prettiest amongst nissan lineup

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 6:18 pm

2005 when I was station in spore , my officemate drive this car, very good one, the comfort and ride pleasure is wonderful.stretch seat with very good leather, the car can seat fat ang moh comforatbly. FC not remember la b'coz not my car, but s'pore one come with reverse camera..hope tan chong will not forget about it.

• layman (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 7:47 pm

Wai !! Tan Chong thinks we Malaysian stupid ka! Always bring almost obsolete model to Malaysia!! What the hell they are trying to do?? Help Nissan to clear old stock??

Anyway, I sat in this car few years back, the back seat is uncomfortable because the roof is too low and my head keep on knocking at the roof when the car is moving.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 8:24 pm

Hate the Front lamps, rear is okay. Price wise should be around RM160k soon.

• transformer (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 10:34 pm

another example of old-tech-dumping!

Well-known in Bolehland!

What next ?

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 10:44 pm

teena looks very koreanish.xg9 i agree with you.bring in the skyline to our shores!..it will be a hit among the tuners!

• transformer (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 11:15 pm

If Skyline is here, then it might sold more than Rm200K becoz our tax!

It won't be easily within reach!

• nmh (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 11:46 pm

i think this is another car that ruined by Mitsuoka

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 11:47 pm

rm200k ok good price.pretty same as honda civic .

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 12:28 am

shadow of Sentra? lol~

where's the 3 liter engine?

looks ok, but the wheels are really lame…..

• jtshin (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 12:53 am

ah…. I still love the V6 cefiro….

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 1:31 am

This is a facelift version of the Teana. Notice the one-piece front headlamps, compared to two-piece ones on the older Teana? Its best viewed from the side angle.

TCM always bring the 'latest' Cefiro very late in the market… one year from now, Singaporeans will have a all-new Cefiro, while TCM still market the older ones.

• ruykava (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 1:57 am

agree with several posters above: this is a DAMN old car.. again, this shows how protectionism is stifling the car market. at leaset tan chong is bringing in the facelifted one (the fact that it has already been facelifted tells you how old it really is).

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 4:10 am

wait, I have seen this car, not new, but with SG plates. Definately not new. The style was great when I saw it, but then now I am certain this is old. How old is this car actually?

• altimate (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 5:24 am

The latest Altima, Maxima and Teana share the same platform.. that's why if you noticed, they're very much similar in terms of size, height, width, wheelbase etc.

Smart way of tailoring the same car for different regions demand.. for me IMO, I would rather choose the latest Maxima or the latest Altima in the US.. they've got much more sportier + luxury look..

• japankiller (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 6:11 am

have been aim for this car a few years ago, when i got the picture from Taiwan magazine, this car has a very good review from Taiwan, finally we have got it here soon. Australia call it Maxima where the older model are all same as our Cefiro

• mits27 (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 6:15 am

So, what is next car…nissan latio or new nissan sentra…

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 6:48 am

Isn't this the Cefiro? Well, I've seen a few, bt SG plate numbers la…..

Grille ala Merc CLS, rear lights ala S-class. This can be the cheap S-class, hehe.

• jehutyz (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 8:00 am

So this model alr around 3 years. Then can expect when the new sentra will be hahaha.

• Phisto (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 8:06 am

Its finally here…

The interior of the Cefiro version in singapore is fanstastic. I read somewhere it's actually inspried by European living room furnitures LOL. And the final product does feel that way! The seats are super comfy simillar to Volvo's and the dashboard is very minimalist. Even the fake wood panelling is got the be the best in the market. Feels very real and the wood grain is not the gaudy type like typical toyota wood. Even the one in Merc can't beat the Cefiro wood paneling's look and feel.

• szw (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 8:07 am

finally…

• foecy (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 4:55 pm

I already saw this car in their Jalan Raja Laut Showroom.

the salesman told me that the price for this car is around RM230K….

So expensive ….. :(

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 6:43 pm

Yup… is imported.. my friend work in Nissan, and they have 2 model selling it now. One is the Teana and the downgraded march.. Teana and march both imported from japan and teana cost nearly Rm230k while march only Rm95k but the air bags cut from 6 to only 2 air bags.. The only thing i know that Teana is a facelift version already.

• transformer (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 7:24 pm

TEANA its HUGE indeed! this morning saw one on the road, its a SG plate!

its the 230, pickup quite fast!

internally, classy, comfy and magnificent! I think the Camry lost in this area which Cefiro is way ahead since few older model !

and normally Cefiro are priced higher than Camry for that(interior)!

• MyBoy (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:17 pm

transformer,

This model is damn OLD. Almost reached its EOL. Good if we can get it a few years back, but today? Naaa.

• ryant (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 12:56 am

Finally it's back! a redesigned interior, a refined exterior, equipped with Nissan parts and accessories and some new features packages.