Nissan Latio Sedan spotted on Jalan Kepong

nissan-latio-sedan-spyshot-jalan-kepong.jpg

[UPDATE #2: The Nissan Latio is now available for booking in Edaran Tan Chong Motor showrooms nationwide. Click here for more details like prices, specs, etc.]

Here’s another shot of the Nissan Latio sedan, sent in by reader Zuzrin. The Nissan Latio sedan was spotted going on rounds along Jalan Kepong towards the MRR2. It has all it’s emblems and logos, including wheel caps removed.

So, when are we going to see it in the showrooms?

[UPDATE: The Nissan Latio will be launched in Malaysia sometime at the end of June 2006. Keep your fingers crossed and your money in the bank before parting with your cash on a new car in the RM80k to RM110k range and wait to see if the new Latio is a worthy choice. Click here for more details!]

Nissan Latio sedan and hatch spotted in Genting
Tan Chong’s plan for Nissan in 2006

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• transformer (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 8:49 pm

the rear looks has the same family butt as Sentra and even the Teana…

ha ha ha…

loolike the City at the back there are spying on Latio too! :) so its Vios taking this shot ?

• infinity (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 8:59 pm

at a first glance…i tot it was a waja..hahaha..on 2nd look, this car is more "rounded" than waja..any idea of the pricing?

• foecy (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 9:00 pm

yup …………..they are going to launch the latio (tiida) soon.

in Malaysia , they will name it as Latio (pronous like racheal) because sound nicer than Tiida (Tia ada)

the sales reps told me that this will repalce their sentra ….

Hope the news is true….

Haha …. ^-*

• NiceCar (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 9:26 pm

Latio (Tiida) replace the Sentral long time ago at Taiwan.

At Taiwan, Tiida 5 doors get better selling than Tiida sedan (ratio 5:3) since the Tiida high "butt" design not tally to its overall appearance. The Tiida 5 having sporty design, especially with the RS body skirt.

• waimak (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 10:00 pm

Tan Chong better act fast because the Vios total facelift (or Belta) is coming really soon!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 10:08 pm

looks like abt the size of the curent vios..looks abit high to me,very incredibly simple rear design,and skinny tyres….see how the price is…is this oso made in thailand?

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 10:12 pm

do'nt you all think that the car is a bit narrow looking from the back? n its high too.

• ganz (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 10:33 pm

honestly.. it look like waja.. with a better work out at gym

wait for the price.. sentra replacement model? what about posibble price

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 10:37 pm

At first glance I thought it was a Waja, eww, butt-ugly, but then again butt-ugly cars sell well in Malaysia (think previous gen Camry, Waja, City, Accord).

• undergh (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 11:01 pm

No matter how ugly or bad a foreign car is, it's always better than Proton… Sometimes I wonder, what would it need for Proton to please the Malaysians?

• timber8115 (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 11:31 pm

price around 80-100K

• shimiwako (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 11:44 pm

This car is both longer and taller than Vios, not in the same league.

• ys (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 12:55 am

em..surpricingly Nissan is yet to launch something to beat vios or city.

they can only count on sentra and x-trail..

btw, any of you see new cefiro on the road?

haha…

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 1:05 am

This LATIO is really compact, it is similar size to WIRA. Maybe WiRA is a bit larger if you compare the Trunk or back.

• hondadriver (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 1:17 am

if its a "sentra" replacement, it should be going head to head with corolla and civic. If thats the real case, I think civic will rule the roost for a long time yet.

• VW (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 2:45 am

Like mini sentra!!

• transformer (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 3:32 am

from my understanding Latio is not to replace Sentra

Latio is a diff league! its much smaller than Sentra(track and length)

Just like Toyota Vios launched initially…. not to replace Corolla, get it?

Latio would be in the 1.5L league which has City and Vios to compete

While Nissan might be getting their Sylphy(Bluebird) to replace their aging Sentra! Which already on the road since last Oct in Singapore.

Sentra is 1.6L league and would have face to face with Corolla(Altis) and Civic. JDM Sylphy has 1.5L and 2.0L too! 4speed Auto and also CVT.

• nmh (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 3:44 am

as ugly as city……wonder why people buy this?

• transformer (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:19 am

IMHO, people would buy a nissan not bcoz of its looks!

most for its pricing, built quality, reliability, easy to maintain, simple and prudent and reasonable price spare part…

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:23 am

looks like the old civic/city from rear view

• transformer (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:44 am

wait till you see the real car! its definately not same with WAJA or 1st Gen. CITY… only the taillight have similar shape! tailight only!

the boot lid is smaller then it start to increase in size start from the taillight… some sort of prominent two level boot(the lid and the boot itself)

—-.

|

/ something like this…. two level !

/

/—–

/——-

———-|

• SpyderRMX (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:54 am

This is not a replacement for sentral for sure, as some of us may know that American them self had already got the new 07 model of sentral already i believed that regular members who frequent pt.org had already seem the picture before. The car doesnt seem as big as you think. But once you're inside that would be a different story, i personally driven one before while i was in singapore. I must said that i pretty satisfied with the car, enough head room and leg space, and the seat is very comfortable, lots of storage compartment.

• mits27 (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 6:47 am

Prefers 5 door, 4 doors doesn't look that good, I think the popular of 2 options is 5 doors.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:28 pm

I dont get the sedan at all.

The Note/Verso 5 door is perfect. Why do people here like a car with a boot so much?

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:43 pm

"from my understanding Latio is not to replace Sentra

Latio is a diff league! its much smaller than Sentra(track and length)

Just like Toyota Vios launched initially…. not to replace Corolla, get it?"

From what I understood, the Latio has the similiar interior space to that of Corolla. Except that its exterior is small. That makes it better than the Vios since Vios has very limited rear passenger space.

I wish the Latio will use the CVT…

• msmar_453 (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 5:34 pm

fugly butt

• hondadriver (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 5:45 pm

nmh, similarly, why do people buy toyotas? i think some of their models are extremely dead boring. But its the legendary quality, and resale value that the toyota buyer wants. Thats something nissan has as well in the malaysian market, but have not taken advantage of as well as toyota did.

• transformer (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 2:26 am

Its not Nissan don't want sell here but what i think its the "READINESS" at Tan Chong !!!

Nissan won't want some unqualified people, unqualified setup and uncommited management staff to assemble their cars !

Coz this would tarnish their brand !

Heard that there are some internal turbulance within Tan Chong in 2005-2006….. (might be rumours, hopefully…..wish this year would be fine!)

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 5:09 am

Nissan in Malaysia is controlled by Tan Chong group which is a Chinese company, while UMW is controlled by some G share holder, even Dr. Mahathir bought some of the share for himself. If the G is own by same ppl, which one you approve the new car plan or AP faster? Well, Tan Chong is limited in term's of choices, he is being set target from Japan Nissan to sell a limit of car's before letting them to change new model. That why you can see it's cefiro is still so old model, and selling it new in malaysia. Even the Teana you see in the showroom is only limited models and all of them are AP's! That why is damn expensive! RM230K! I heard them saying the AP's they get are expensive, coz have to get from some other guys.. (AP is for Bumiputra businessman!)

Latio confirm will not come with CVT! and will be fitted with new CVTC 1.6L engine. The gearbox will still using the same old 4-speed auto.. Same with Thailand Latio spec! If u went to Thailand, went to their showroom and get their broacher.. I got a few from my friends, and they test drive it say it roomier then Sentra, and more quieter.. Heard they say launch by May or June.. And the pricing will be higher the Sentra by 10%. The lower spec SG sentra without ABS will still be sell, while the higher spec will be replace by Latio.. Some of this information i get from the Nissan CEO Datuk Ang, and also from his son who told me about the new Mpv and Nissan bluebird, fuga by 2008.. But all these panning may change depend on market..

• blazerSST (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 6:25 am

The hatchback model looks much better than the sedan model, i know because i'm currently driving one to work in UAE a good car to use for daily runabouts, steady cruising up to speeds of 140km/h. Full tank will take you easily 400-500 km. Build quality is good but because the cars here are CBU japan so it's really no comparison. Has nice speed sensitive steering.Deceptively spacious rear seatwise and legroom too but a rather small boot as a comprimise. Suspension is a bit on the stiffer side where hitting holes or bumps at speed is noticeable. Overall a good car and practical one except the boot is small on the hatchback model.

• dzat46 (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 11:35 pm

Seen this wt SG plate in Melaka few months back & i even park my City nxt to it. Same size as per my City (height/width/tyre..etc) & even the side mirror look the same. Saw written 1.5 CVT at the back, yep same again wt my City. Heard that ths Latio best seller in its class in Spore. Outsold City/Vios there. almost identically ugly to City( he3x…i bought it for its utility/practicality/FC(idsi)…not for its looks)

• Monchichi (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 12:04 am

But personally prefer Blue Bird , same calss with Altis but look solid lah
    http://tw.autos.yahoo.com/newcar_trim_photo/id/13…

• milkysusu (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 1:59 am

The design cues is more based on the Renault. That's why its new-line up of small sedan is kinda weird, even weird than City cuz it is originally designed as a hatchback model then only add the boot on it, like the Pug 206 sedan. But what Nissan always shines is on its reliability, spaciousness and practicality. LAunch la, Nissan Latio…fast fast

• karl.shamel (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 12:06 am

Dear readers,

Though l'm happy with Tan Chong's SLOWNESS in bring newer models to our country, l must say: buy this car if you compare with overpraised Vios or frugal but weird look City. l tried Tiida/Latio/Versa when l visit Hong Kong in May 2005. Quality better than Vios/City or maybe even new Belta/Yaris sedan/New Vios unless you can't separate than overrated Toyota.

Remember guys, our smallest Toyota then (pre-Vios) is Corolla. Toyota simply capitalized us as we overrate their BRAND. Look at Innova/Avanza- simply ugly and weird looking (though its relative).

Even another IMV, Hilux and Fortuner merely "substandard" for the Americans, no wonder they never offered in the toughest market, unlike the Britons who still enjoy same model like us, IMV Hilux. American opted for Tacoma (Hilux Surf/4 Runner-derived) rather than IMVs.

If you need more space wait for another Nissan, Grand Livina. Simply better than ugly Avanza/Innova. Interior design on par with Bluebird Sylphy (new Sentra replacement) though there a lot room for improvement.

BTW too conservative ETCM must be enlightened, they need CHANGE otherwise Nissan brand will tarnish their image as well as resale value.

My 2 kupang

• karl.shamel (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 12:08 am

Correction: Though I'm not happy….

• deanmalakian (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 6:44 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PVD5s-yjOgk

Nissan Latio spotted in Gombak MRR2 Video.