Rosnani: No price hike for new Euro II fuel

Petronas Station

We have good news and a small piece of bad news. Low-sulphur fuel will be available in April onwards without any price increases. The new low-sulphur fuel would have 0.05 percent sulphur content, complying with Euro II fuel standards, down from 0.15 percent in petrol and 0.3 percent in diesel.

“My view is that oil companies should be able to absorb any extra cost in coming out with lower sulphur fuel. They are multinationals which are already meeting certain international standards for the European Union and other advanced countries, so now that we want to introduce this fuel here, they should be ready to provide it,” said Department of Environment director-general Datuk Rosnani Ibrahim.

Rosnani further adds that Euro IV will be implemented in four years time in 2011, but that will most likely come with a price adjustment. Of course, who knows how many times fuel prices would have been raised in four years time, what’s another price hike?

So we’re not looking at a fuel price hike come 1st April 2007, but we won’t be seeing any reduction in prices either. Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi says the government cannot reduce prices even though oil barrel prices have gone down because the global crude oil price is still unstable.

Analyzing fuel quality in Malaysia – 3 out of 6 already Euro II compliant for petrol!
Government sets new Euro II standard for fuel

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 10:29 pm

thats great news! no extra burden 4 the poor peoples.

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 10:41 pm

How about diesel? When are we gonna get better refined diesel?

• Paul Tan on Mar 28, 2007 at 10:46 pm

0.05 percent as well for diesel.

• MyBoy (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 10:57 pm

"the global crude oil price is still unstable"

Unstable my A$$. When they want to raise the price, are they waited until the damn price become stable (reached a plateau)?

• Ricc (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 12:01 am

Quoted My Boy

"Unstable my A$$. When they want to raise the price, are they waited until the damn price become stable (reached a plateau)?"

Confirmed.. As long as the crude oil price increase, they increase the fuel price.. Y not wait until it stable at high value, then only increase our fuel price?

• familyman (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 1:06 am

hey paul..

how come i can't see any of your images?.??..

is it just me? but i can see the advert images fine.

• hondadriver (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 1:15 am

best way to go is probably diesel in the near future.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 1:22 am

Congratulations! Thanks Dtk Rosnani. It makes sense as barrel prices have dropped but the pump prices haven't. With all those profits, they shouldnt raise prices.

• Paul Tan on Mar 29, 2007 at 1:30 am

familyman: im not sure why. might be an issue with shell's proxy server. anyone else having this problem?

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 2:03 am

Good to know that we are gonna get higher quality fuel at no extra cost. Hopefully our dealers will be able to bring in more diesel vehicles soon. Well, the question is how much time do they need to consider a "stable" price? Anyway I do not expect the government to drop the price anytime soon.

I was thinking why not our country adopt to pricing based on market situation. But on 2nd thought it might be best to have a fix price daily for better business planning and a stable running cost estimation.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 3:17 am

easy there MyBoy… LOL :)

btw, hev seen that pic before… errr Paul, is that your car pic??? sorry out of topic… :)

• transformer (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 3:38 am

when something goes up, it must come down again!

but not in Bolehland especially fuel-related(petrol, diesel, gas, minyak tanah & etc.) pricing!

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:22 am

forget about prices going down. The prices will never go down at all

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:57 am

Petrol price up up ole …….. that is he VVIP reaction, rakyat biasa are sigh tiou, give RM 20 disocunt on road tax per year, increase toll and petrol that can add up to thousand!

• mofo (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 6:23 am

Waste of time, still plays big roles on global warming with new fuel. There's more cleaner technology available, due to certain reason on business & politic they wont get us there.

• milkysusu (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 6:49 am

ANyway, is this the picture of your car, PV6 ?

• armandd (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 7:15 am

#

Ricc said,

March 28, 2007 @ 4:01 pm

Quoted My Boy

“Unstable my A$$. When they want to raise the price, are they waited until the damn price become stable (reached a plateau)?”

Confirmed.. As long as the crude oil price increase, they increase the fuel price.. Y not wait until it stable at high value, then only increase our fuel price?

————————————————————–

you're ABSOLUTELY right! when the global oil price increased, they raised the price the next day. but when it went down, they did nothing! WTF!!!!

• jtshin (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 7:19 am

Well ppl.. at least the price is not up for having better quality fuel.. should be thankful about it. anyway.. it's only Euro II.. not latest, but now at least can have it.

Anyway, that's Paul's V6…

• MyBoy (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:10 pm

"jtshin said,

Well ppl.. at least the price is not up for having better quality fuel.. should be thankful about it. anyway.. it’s only Euro II.. not latest, but now at least can have it."

We are now in the year 2007 and EURO II just doesn't cut the mustard.

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:38 pm

Paul, does this development is a positive news for diesel car importers to bring them here since diesel will be much cleaner and more compatible to the continental common rail diesel engines?

• MyBoy (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 5:06 pm

normaluser,

The EURO II spec is way off compared to EURO IV which most of the NEW continental Diesel engine designed for. Especially sensitive to the one who used Piezo Injector than Solenoid one.

• oversight (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 5:24 pm

Paultan said,

familyman: im not sure why. might be an issue with shell’s proxy server. anyone else having this problem?

———————————————————–

i have this problem too. shell proxy server? meaning please.

• dzat46 (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 6:51 pm

Paul, as per normaluser question, would ths euro II spec diesel compatible for those new diesel car?

Hoping for small cc diesel cars/mpv to be available for us in bolehland, hhmmm 5 liter/100km plus huge amount of torque@ low rpm(ie..real world rpm)…can't wait!!

• MyBoy (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 10:01 pm

dzat46,

Your MODERN injector will not last long.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 11:22 am

The future is diesel. But there's a catch; Japanese cars don't normally come with diesels. Except maybe for the new ones being launched since 2006 to cater for European market. Contis are at an advantage especially VW/Pugs for small cars. But current engines are tuned for the Euro 4 stds. Maybe a tweaking is needed to comply with old Euro 2s. In the end we get Euro 2 fuel on Euro 4 engines which would reduce performance.

What about Biodiesel then? Isn't that where we are heading for? Would Euro 4 engines perform as well on Biodiesel? Doubtful as the EU is against Palm based biodiesel and would go for ethanol based, and manufacturers would go for Euro stds.

• acbc (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 5:12 am

Agreed. The future is diesel. Even in Korea, there are more diesel vehicles than petrol. All variants of Korean vehicles have diesel models. But here, none. Given a choice, I would convert my mom's Kia Carnival to diesel if I can find the halfcut here.