Proton Putra Neo Photoshop

kevin-lee-putra-neo-photoshop.jpg

This photoshopped image is by Kevin Lee, his take on a new “Proton Putra Neo”. The Proton Putra 1.8EXi is commonly thought of as the best car Proton ever made, however it lived a short lifespan. In 2004, Proton resurrected the Putra, selling lower-spec models in black only to a few customers, but sales stopped again soon after.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• maru (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 9:37 am

wah pontiac GTO with Neo's headlight….plus evo wing…

• VW (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 9:49 am

Haha…wat a capelang car!!!…..that day satria neo SUV is better…more real!

• VW (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 9:54 am

maru u left 1 thing din mention…"and also waja side mirror"…hahahah

hopefully not using waja power window…again.."SAY NO TO OPEN DOOR PAYING TOLL"….hahhaha

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 10:07 am

sorry if this doesnt keep up to anyone's expectation, i did this in late december, following inspirations from theophilus chin, this is my first attempt on photoshopping a car, so i guess its hard to please anyone. thanks for paul on posting about this photoshop

• VW (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 10:12 am

Sorry kevin lee…i din mean to offence, anyway nice try…..

i wondering y ppl keep on photoshoping proton, how about do some changes on perodua….haha!!

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 10:26 am

perodua got lots of fresh models mah, perodua viva is gonna replace kancil soon, then myvi got myvi se, then kembara would be the new daihatsu terios, and then some daihatsu model will be the new kenari and kelisa, so its pretty predictable lor

• milkysusu (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 10:45 am

It must be RWD if proton want it to be sold well…but since proton have never produced a RWD car, they might mess it up…like the rear wheel didn spin…wakaka

Got more shades of Pontiac GTO and some shades of the Vauxhall VXR/HSV E series. THat'll be the model if GM is taking over proton. if they supply the V8 engine into it, hooho…then it will be the muscle engine era for proton !! This will certainly makes local Ah Beng more excited…

• VW (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 10:57 am

re: milkysusu

u know how much is the average income for malaysian! If proton stuck a big block muscle engine into a proton car, with 1 press on the pedal u know how many sen are flying away?….try going to forum like cari.com, they still keep on discussing how much ur car running per km, my car n ur car is the same model why urs spending less than mine..! this prove that malaysian kiam siap? or they are mostly down averaging income group….so with this bla bla …long story saying that if proton stuck with the muscle car engine..then proton will bankrupt earlier than expected…..haha

• toxicboy (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 11:09 am

nice kevin. neo have nice front. if proton build cars like this maybe people will look up to proton..hehe on second thought, maybe not

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 11:58 am

judging from the comments, im gonna work on a perodua model, gimme a couple of days, and ill show u :D

• seancheaw (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 12:33 pm

not much of originality, bonnet like pontiac, whole profile like a holden, & other bits that pick from whatever sources……but nice try Kevin. Practice makes Perfect lol

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 1:51 pm

Sorry I don't really like it. Looks OLD and the front SHOULD be MORE GARANG man. Anyway, thanks for sharing us your Works! Good try KEVIN.

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:15 pm

Kevin, did you super impose a Holden Commodore/Pontiac? The whole body is exactly the same as a Holden. The left headlight seems does not blend well, probably too much 'feather'ing and blurring effect.

By the way, nice try and keep up with new ideas.

• Ricc (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:21 pm

Er.. If Proton produce this capelang car.. I'm damn sure the sale will stop in less than 6 months.. Who wan?

Pontiac + Neo + Evo = Lousy car..

• kody (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 5:06 pm

wahlaueh…

beauty falls in hand of beholder…. i love this sporty car… eventhough it's 'capelang' combination. Nice job Kevin. keep on…

• hondadriver (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 5:36 pm

nice photoshopping kevin, i've actually seen this pic floating around somewhere. i can imagine why you used the "holden" as a donor car, coz its got similar lines to the previous model putra right?

anyways.. its weird that some people here are talking as though this whole concept, and the engine and transmission has already been decided by proton, and are condemning it as a lousy idea..

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 6:16 pm

Front has some elements from the beautiful Holden Monaro coupe. Nice job!

• drM (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 7:18 pm

this boy is good. trully good.

keep the good work.

what ever combination it is, this is seriously cool

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 7:34 pm

the look is good…but as long as it is a Proton

you still need to OPEN DOOR WHEN PAYING TOLLS

p/s what happen to perdana/alfadana/whatsoevername replacement model…

• Paul Tan on Mar 29, 2007 at 8:07 pm

will everyone please stop the comments about opening doors when paying tolls? these kind of comments are useless, takes up my server space for nothing, and do not contribute any value to the discussion at all.

• hondadriver (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 8:20 pm

thanks paul, its good to know that i'm not the only one annoyed by posts that have nothing to do with the topic at all.

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 9:32 pm

Nice, would look better without the hood scoops and rear wing though; that'll make it sleeker and more classy, it's currently too Pontiac GTOish. Nice work though hehe.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 10:02 pm

kevin why done u do a colaboration of vw n proton car.a little bit of passat there,.a bit of satria there and on, on n on.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 11:04 pm

looks alot like the australian holden…rear spoiler size abit mad…bt a car like this,wat lies beneath the bonet that counts ! 1.8 twinTurbo anyone?!

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 11:26 pm

its a monaro based i belive,

.skillful kevin

• jtshin (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 11:59 pm

e-nabilll, I'll go for 2.0L Turbo.. so to join the Rally Championship.. hehe.. anyway, nice work u got Kevin. it looks great.

• KelvC (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 12:16 am

Kev, good job on the chop here (if it's your first, great job!) I would be interested to hear your thoughts on your car…could you give us some sales pitch….eg:

– engine

– tyres

– etc

This would be awesome if you could share what were your thoughts when you started this project:

– target market

– why solid red color (if you could change the color, then what color you would have it to be?)

Overall, good stuff.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 12:23 am

Holden/Pontiac from NFS Most Wanted???

• acbc (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 1:24 am

Nice but Proton will never use it.

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 1:43 am

Nice Nice Nice………can someone photoshopped a Savvy so that P1 knows how a nice car looks like……..

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 2:39 am

its based on the holden monaro, vauxhall vxr, pontiac gto,

however, this car has been resized to be more taller , less fatter unlike muscle cars, roofline has changed, the headlights uses satria neo, using evo 8 spoilers

basically, i think this would go well with the campro 1.6 with EVE by lotus. i dont think higher capacity engines would be feasible with our current JPJ roadtax. Ideal engine would definitely be the 4G63T 2.0 Evo engine. That would suit our Malaysian taste.

I have done this car in Orange and Grey, basically just following the color scheme in the Neo lineup. I think tyres would be standard Continentals, unless it comes with Yokohama rubbers, with is used by R3 ppl

Thanks for the comments so far, I'm still far perfect from Theophilus Chin, hehe

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 4:13 am

Will they ever make a putra replacement model in the first place?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 5:03 am

Not only open door pay toll, tyre so big, the absorber likely "kong" not in a year, maybe 6 month only!

• 707 (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 6:12 am

this neo la that neo la

• pw (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 6:43 am

Guys … why not try a VW model with Proton logo on it… that gonna be more likely reality :D …. …. it will just fulfill the unfulfilled dream…

hmmm … but with the recent announce delay in annoucing Proton's partner doubt it will ever happen. !! maybe try a Proton with a DRB logo on it …… sure sell ….I mean the company DRB Proton…not the car ….kakakak

• VW (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 7:12 am

I tot this website is open for public to critic and voice out their opinion on it. But seem the few words can waste ur server space, i have 2 suggestion for u:

1. change a bigger starage devices

2. close up ur website

This is juz an information site, i din see ur comment can give any value or influences for car maker's design. Juz because all people get in this paultan.org website cause they just like u, car lover. So, when they voice out their tot, at the same time supporting u, if not u think a website can live long untill now? careful when using ur words.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 7:34 am

vw, what were u referring to? i think paul mentioned about not spamming about protons problems on this page, bcos its a norm for anyone to bash proton it seems

• e-nabilll (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 8:33 am

comment on tings that r related to the topic,u dont have to be incredibly smart to know that la….topic talk abt proton putra neo,u talk abt proton putra neo..not abt power windows and n othr lame n totally unrelated topics…some r jus so happy to see the name proton in the topic n straighaway bash like a headless chicken….wen one day paul opens a new topic and the the topic says " here wer u bash proton' thn go ahead n speak ur heart out….gee man….its frustrating stimes reading tings like that…

• Paul Tan on Mar 30, 2007 at 12:40 pm

VW: im sorry you have taken offense at my previous request. allow me the chance to rephrase my request in more detail.

it is very frustrating how power windows and "open door when paying toll" comments appear in every post. dont you think when someone sees a topic called "honda crv" for example, the visitor wants to read about honda crv? then he proceeds to the comments to see what everyone else thinks about the honda crv. then of all the sudden someone in the comments says "at least the crv has working power windows unlike proton!" and its totally irrelevant.

he has to sieve through all the irrelevant comments to get the information he wants. the comments that are relevant are meaningful and serves a purpose to the reader who wanted to know more about the subject in the first place. everything else is not.

therefore it is my responsibility to keep my blog organized so it is easier for everyone to read, not just to cater for one person to talk about power windows. commenting here is a privilege i give you as long as you follow the rules, it is not a right. and the rules have always been made to benefit everyone, i've never imposed any self-benefiting rules here.

if there is a discussion about proton power windows, then you can talk about proton power windows. this is a post about a photoshopped graphic, it doesn't even exist in real life, was not designed by proton, therefore it does not have any power windows. i do not mind at all if you post about power windows in the recent rm26,999 saga thread as it is somewhat relevant to the car.

there is a place for everything. you dont shit in the urinal, urinals are for pee only. so why not keep things organised here as well?

• maru (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 2:01 pm

Kevin,any new chops?

• ys (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 7:01 pm

em.. i am not sure about this but seems the discussion is way off topic nowadays. Paul is right. we shall be more organized.

anyway, at the first glance, this is a good looking car but just that the "PROTON" brand doesnt really convince me with its build quality.

i just wonder is there any proton engineer visits this blog?

or Paul shall introduce it to Proton CEO.

let them have a feel on how we think of Proton

• Dogster (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 11:36 pm

Well a good job. Kind of like what u did kelvin. Its eye pleasing. :)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 5:37 am

KelvC = Kevin Lee

KelvC said,

October 15, 2006 @ 2:07 pm

“Lastly, moving forward, ……………….”

"The flaming and bashing here is just too …… deconstructive.

This is KelvC, signing out."

—————-

Joe Ooi said,

October 16, 2006 @ 11:27 pm

If moving forward, why “signing out”? Or straight to the point – “Shift Out” 0r “KO-Knock Out”?

A determine guy and righteous person even DOWN but never OUT! Still have to climb up, that is so call struggle in our life. Talk a little bit in Paul Tan Blog “signing out” already – very “small air”! Do you hear Westerner said – “If can’t beat them joint them”. That a few word for you.

————————————————-

Finally, a chap "signing out", after approximately 5 1/2 month, "a horse turn back and eat grass" – Now coming back! huh, huh, ……. cakap tak serupa bikin!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 5:40 am

The above is quote from the following link: –

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/10/12/proton-car…

• KelvC (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 6:16 am

joe,

firstly to put things in perspective:

Kevin Lee = Kevin Lee

KelvC = KelvC

Secondly, I believe an apology is in order for Kevin Lee as he has put his effort in the chop.

————————————-

Kevin, it's great to hear how you derived your end "product". I think it is quite easy to get carried away if you mix x+y+z=a without thinking how well it would be received by your "customer". Looking forward to your next chop and the pitch.

• Paul Tan on Mar 31, 2007 at 1:11 pm

joe ooi, your theory is baffling. just because their names both start with "ke" you assume they are the same person.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 2:09 pm

The above assumption is based on my "2 naked eye observation" on the posting of many comments by both of you with very "same-same = similar and distinct language style/mentality!" .

Anyway, KelvC clarification shall take precedent if both of you are separate entity! Provided you are always honest and tell the truth.

Back to topic, about Kelvin "product" to my personal opinion is an improvement to existing model. The only thing I don't like is the 2 holes at the front that look like "croccodile nose"!

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 6:34 am

kevin and kelvin are seperate ppl, well, get paul to match both ip's and u should get an answer

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 6:11 am

1 IP can be use by thousand users and vice-versa!

• Paul Tan on Apr 05, 2007 at 9:05 am

joe ooi, you are going off topic here. just because their names are similiar doesn't mean they are the same person.

• cokolalat (Member) on Oct 21, 2007 at 8:17 pm

y dont u send da pix to proton?i think its good and nice car

• Muntaz on Jul 19, 2009 at 6:04 pm

Is this car for sale? Its in the market?

• taufique_darksiderz on Aug 09, 2009 at 8:29 pm

many people wait when new putra will realese…

this new design are very cool n awesome…

i bet it will increase new future market for proton…

• joe zu on Aug 10, 2009 at 5:47 pm

plz send to my e mail the pic of putra neo..i like the design very much.

• Project Z on Aug 19, 2009 at 5:57 am

hey..try use the Putra chassis with Neo front end, including R3 bodykits or u use the Satria GTi looks! should be stunning i think (^_^)

• sporty siot putra neo ney….ble agknye kete ney nk di psrkn hek…?