PM to meet Volkswagen team

badawi-winterkorn-proton.jpg

Our Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi will be meeting up with Volkswagen officials soon, which might include the big guy himself, Martin Winterkorn. A senior official that is close to the tie-up talks says “There is genuinely good faith between the parties”, contrary to what the Singapore Straits Times reported last week.

The PM also added that talks at the official level are nearing conclusion and a full report is expected to be presented to him anytime now. It is also a priority to conclude talks as soon as possible, as the earlier deadline of 31st March 2007 had already been missed, thus the talks are actually running late now.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• acbc (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 9:03 pm

PM’s speech sound like not very confident. I think VW already dumped the whole idea and moved on but Proton on the other hand still wants them and probably willing to offer something better by bringing the big guns.

Will see how it turns out…

If not, workers at Proton’s plants better find other jobs soon and opt for VSS.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 9:36 pm

Pfft… Mega Yawn….

• armandd (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 9:38 pm

good luck pak lah

• quest (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 10:56 pm

Time to stop talking and walk the talk.

Sigh…. even if we tie in with Volks, how are we to improve if we still have our usual loser mentality? I don't see any ends to Proton's woes. There goes more of our EPF money.

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 11:18 pm

at least its looking more credible now that the PM has said something about it, and also VW has broken its silence. i told you guys it was a singaporean conspiracy ;)

and quest, i have no idea how your EPF money came into this..?

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 12:24 am

ZZZZZZZZZZ………………….

• drM (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 1:03 am

come on… desperation?

this is not good. this proton saga should be conduct in a 'fair' environment. not that we sounded too desperate and ASK them to buy.

worst case senario? we might give them money to buy proton!!!!!

god bless malaysia.

ps- that grand old man is buddy with the former german chancellor – geharld schoeder, right? why they fired his man, mahalel? if mahalel still there, we might be seeing Proton Jetta now!

• w_lighter (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 1:16 am

Hahaha…. suddenly c this is Pak Lah way of April Fool'ing the rakyat …. LOL

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 2:42 am

well let see…..

• transformer (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 3:19 am

Do we have to sent a Prime Minister to talk with a car maker Senior Official ?

Kinda weird though… where is that MITI makcik ??? I think she should represent our country…. but…. sigh!

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 4:03 am

"It doesn't matter, I'm still in control. I'll make sure our cronies control our national pride,"

KUALA LUMPUR, 2 APRIL – Those were the last words uttered by the late Msian PM, Datuk Seri Abdullah Bodohwi, before he was stabbed to death by tokmoh, an angry Msian citizen who was frustrated when the PM announced that Proton will still remain in the hands of the greedy local pigs. tokmoh was then given the heroic treatment when he held high the beheaded UMNO president's head, until KJ arrrived at the scene and arrested tokmoh.

Just my wishful thinking :P

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 4:30 am

Don't think that will happen, though Special Branch might be going your way :P

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 5:27 am

ABB said: Kawan Come on lah, just eat and take away the PROTONG share lah. Sikit only.

Martin Winterkorn said: What? You think is like buying a Nasi Lemak, not just eat and take away I think. YOur proposal is like asking me to pay for the bill of Padi field plus all Fisherman salary for catching the IKan Bilis and chickens farm for getting the eggs of Nasi Lemak, but eating only a pack of Nasi Lemak? No Way. I TOTAL disagree on it.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 6:41 am

why is it taking sooooo loooong!

• toxicboy (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 7:24 am

anxious..

• cyborgx (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 7:39 am

lol this situation its like a son calling his father to apply job for him.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 9:50 am

Still talk the talk, not walk the talk. Why such tie-up need our PM to show face on behalf of P1? German Chancellor Markel never show face on behalf of VW in this dealing!

• lowprofile (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 5:22 pm

this is just an opinion and theory – govt is still desperately trying to hold on to proton to safeguard jobs. jobs that are probably not necessary in the plant (as robotics could maybe take over the tasks) but are there just to provide employment? also, to safeguard their underperforming suppliers who are supplying low cost materials at high cost to proton (there are obvious reasons for this which i'll not state) which would probably be axed by vw. what i mentioned is not proven as fact but just a theory. but if it is not allowed, please pull out my comments to safeguard both of us, paul.

• lowprofile (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 5:27 pm

i also speculate that none of those clowns in proton or the govt (dealing with the automotive sector) actually know anything about the car market, car business nor what a car actually is!! they only know how to drive. er make that their driver knows how to drive. rarely do they notice the pot holes ridiculous traffic situations that we face in our daily grind. hmmm, do they live in an alternate universe? i wonder. still. it is not proven fact and just speculation only. ;)

• zanggief (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 7:31 pm

Proton will suffering as the sales drop so much….

If Pak Lah do not choose VW and prefer local partner, i think the proton will become……

As we can see our little Perodua that has Daihatsu as strategic partner already become stronger and manage to challenge to other foreign players…

Good luck Proton and Pak Lah.

• azrai (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 8:34 pm

I think about a partnership with China company. Proton has the know how and + we have Lotus. China can be the hub for left hand drive Proton. Shah Alam HQ can be the R&D centre for Proton. Tg. Malim plant can be the hub for right hand drive Proton. What we need most is the scale of economic. We fail in this factor. We just cannot simply catch to come out with new model every year because the low turnover. Imagine if we had partner in China just to produce our cars and some parts we can lower the price extremely and improve the quality in design. We still can be laoban instead of the workers in case we partnered with VW. Think about it.

• Joe Cole (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 9:45 pm

Still talk the talk, not walk the talk. Why such tie-up need our PM to show face on behalf of P1? German Chancellor Markel never show face on behalf of VW in this dealing!

• KelvC (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 10:07 pm

I don't get this part, why is PL waiting for Herr Winterkorn to come down to Malaysia to berunding? Is PL sending the goverment jet to pick him up from Wolfsburg, police escort from KLIA straight to Putrajaya (or perhaps airlifted from KLIA?)? Why not a little proactive, send Rafidah since the FTA discussion has been delayed with no dateline set anyway. Our "top" negotiator sure can kowtim the perundingan with "iron fits".

Bottomline, get it done or announce the failure of the perundingan. One way or another, life must move on.

• pkimalaysia (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 10:17 pm

i dont care about sb people, what i can say is pak lah is slowest and stupid pm.

• aksMs (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 6:24 am

I smell something fishy about this. Why would he want to do that? It's not his job anyway. I wonder if SIL is one of the 'team'. "Singapore" national car anyone?