New Toyota Vios launched in Thailand

[ LATEST UPDATE: Click here to find out more details on the Toyota Vios that will be available here in Malaysia, straight from the Malaysian press preview launch! ]

[ UPDATE: Toyota is currently having a pre-launch promo campaign for the new Toyota Vios. Click here to find out more! ]

The new third generation Toyota Vios has been launched in Thailand, without much suprise as spyshots of the new Belta on test in Thailand as a Vios have been captured recently. The new Toyota Vios is based on the Toyota Belta, or the Toyota Yaris Sedan, which is currently being sold globally. This means the third gen Vios is now a global model instead of being a regional ASEAN model. You can already see the hatchback version being sold in the Malaysian market, the Toyota Yaris. Of course, trim level and some other variables are changed here and there with the different regions.

Compared to the 2nd generation Vios still being sold in Malaysia, the third gen Vios wheelbase is longer by 50mm at 2550mm, which is also longer than the Yaris hatchback which only stands at 2460mm. It is also heavier, now weighing 1045kg compared to the 2nd gen Vios’ kerb weight of 980kg. The 1NZ-FE engine and 4-speed Super ECT gearbox is retained, producing 109 horsepower and a maximum torque of 142Nm at 4,200rpm. This means you may feel the 2nd generation Vios is slightly more zippy than the 3rd generation Vios once it gets launched in Malaysia.

On the interior, dash layout is pretty much the same as the Toyota Yaris being the same car, and the plus point is it shares the Yaris interior’s abundance of storage space. However it also shares the Toyota Yaris meter panel’s centrally-mounted location, which some dislike and prefer a conventional location.

More photos after the jump.

Video: Toyota Belta Human Touch (Toyota Vios)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• drM (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 12:18 am

a sedan Yaris. that's all it is.

it will not sell well here. vios is a eauty. this one?

a fat boy with a moustache

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 12:25 am

good in every technical aspect, and ergonomic i belive

but………i hate how its looked,

• sewell (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 12:27 am

ya, is a sedan yaris. australia already have it and is selling very cheap.

• happymeal (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 12:27 am

aircon control switch must go…. looks like late 80s stuff.

still 2 exit louvers only??? face and face/leg….

• dzat46 (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 12:28 am

Vios = belta = yaris sedan

City = fit aria = jazz sedan

Anyway, looks great & a bit like mini/compressed Camry, anyway being a toyota will be a hot seller in Msia

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 12:34 am

or maybe this is what people say "up to date design"????

"beautiful" ,"new design"????

compare to conventional vw audi …and old proton design,

• ChipS (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 12:39 am

Are we looking at a Toyota VIOS in the RM100K region ? Looks like the old vios on steriods….

• Infinitt (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 12:41 am

Old & 2nd class interior design for Asean market by TMCA. Boring. This Belta will be assembled at Indonesia plant.Quality? hmm..u know.

• azrai (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 12:44 am

Looks a a 'lady' car. It seems like the Kelisa or Espri which two of them when we spot a male driver on board it look awkward. Dugong as inspiration?

• silverfish (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 12:48 am

Hmmm…certainly looked better in the previous post by Paul.

Seems to have contracted the City's bad proportions syndrome.

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 12:51 am

well, i think this new Vios looks cool & fine for me.. :)

will it b launched in msia? 2008?

• moha774 (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 1:07 am

Dugong as inspiration?

Yeah…it does look like a dugong from the front….anyway mid mounted display panel…just not the car for me…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 1:12 am

Paul, any price indication and date of launching in Malaysia? Have intention to purchase one for wife.

• Ricc (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 1:19 am

According to my local dealer here, the price will be the same as the current Vios, and expected launch date is Oct/Nov 2007.. I dunno how true.. but i guess i'll put more nice idea on how to modify this car.. :-)

http://chinese.cari.com.my/myforum/viewthread.php…

• Ricc (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 1:20 am

Ops.. wrong link above.. here the correct 1..

http://chinese.cari.com.my/myforum/viewthread.php…

Just checkout the pic.. dun bother about wut it written there.. :D

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 1:21 am

Somehow I prefer the current Vios. The design looks bulky and the centre console looks cheaper than the current one. As mention about the weight increase, this whale really weights down the car using the same engine.

• fandango (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 1:23 am

I like the overall shape, but I'm still not sure if I'll be able to live with the central dash.

• armandd (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 1:24 am

haha.. very cute.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 1:35 am

Nothing to shout about. It's already in the market quite a long time as yaris sedan.

• avanza (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 1:46 am

Disappointing to see that the tail lights are not LED. Even the MyVi has LED tail lights. From the Thailand website, you can see that the tracks are now quite a bit wider. The older Vios tracks are just too narrow! Wheelbase now longer by 50mm. Basically, should provide better handling than the older Vios. Looks good! Heard from a Toyota salesman that UMW is bringing the new Vios in next year.

• HMMaster (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 2:02 am

I think the old design is better.

• lowprofile (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 2:11 am

sadly, one needs to modify the car to make it look good. so no natural beauty huh. its trying too hard to have the city's overall profile; short stubby nose and long rear. but, knowing malaysians, they'll buy anything with a honda or toyota badge. hmmm, but then, there is nothing else too i guess that they can buy new at the price range.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 2:21 am

Looks to me like a very happy goldfish. Ergonomic is a definite yes, fuel efficiency not as good as the 2nd Gen Vios though because of weight. At least its wider than the old Vios.

• Hikaru (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 2:26 am

That's what all the sales man say. I wonder when are they going to stop producing the current vios? when the price drop even more than we will know when the new one is coming out

• edwindudley2003 (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 2:29 am

wah….not bad ..got gated gear shift some more….

• NiceCar (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 2:30 am

it look good to me.. the passengers leg space there seem better than curret vios..

• jehutyz (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 2:31 am

As i know here will only have this in 4th Quarter 2007. Wonder why is so late. Nearly half a year. Vios is one of the hot selling car at here. Should come out earlier.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 2:38 am

Did you guys notice that the doors used on the new Vios is EXACTLY the same as the current Vios?

• albagmane (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 2:38 am

yea Paul says it rite, im one of the ppl who really hates center meter display. overall the car gives me good impression – smiley front look, roundish, cute, fat… until when i look at the interior… sucks! and i tot toyota will be using LED rear lights for their newly launched models nowadays… but not for the latest vios yet… hmmm… does the new vios has a taller roofing? if so, this might be a sedan version of myvi (from wat i see through its interior)… only the engine capacity is different…

• gcsh (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 2:50 am

It looks like that thing from Minority Report.

This car looks cutsy. I wonder how TRD will make a macho bodykit for it. Can't really take it seriously. Like Azrai said: Dugong inspired.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 3:12 am

toyota totally forgot to make cars with any wow factor…its jus so plain and boring…bt i heard its gonna be cheaper than curent vios…

• w_lighter (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 3:25 am

I dun like it AT ALL.. yucks

• pausch (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 3:32 am

Hmmmm…the front does remind me of a dolphin and I don't mean the Civic variety..and central meter just suxx!!!

• Din (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 3:42 am

Paul, Toyota Singapore already shows this model as the Toyota Vios in their website model-line up. Funnily, I have yet to see the latest Vios in SG number plates….

• oyl78 (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 4:10 am

the only good thing which is different from current vios are:-

– totally new look

– nice meter display (blue base)

– signal light on side mirror

– extra control button on steering wheel

– pockets on both driver and front passenger seats

– cool gearbox

– nice passenger mirror (place correctly this time at front passenger seat)

the bad part:-

– ugly aircond panel as well as the output design (like Kancil)

– ugly radio/CD player panel (seems to be no friendly use)

overall the new model is not bad…

• intermilan (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 4:17 am

kinda ugly.. the overall design are messy ..some section are simple, some overdoen…… trying too hard?.. one thing for me -> the tyre are too small for the car overall dimension. but should be a hot seller, as always.

• PGlang (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 4:33 am

I saw this new Vios in Bangkok on display at Fortune Town two weeks ago. It's more spacial at the passenger seats than the current vios. But the front cover sheet metal seemed not tightly closed. This is the weird design that I don't like….

• J (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 6:31 am

In Msisa expect new launch around RM90K la :)

After one year, it will reduce to RM86K

One more year later, reduce to RM82K

• ab (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 6:34 am

The back looks abit Honda City-ish. So we soon have the new vios, where's the honda? Bring up round 2…

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 6:41 am

Ya, it launched at Thailand at March, and launched at Singapore end of March, how come we have to wait until October or Novenber, looks like we still have a lot of stock for old vios.

BTW, the exterior looks is okay lah, not impressive, I like the new vios interior design, and the interior spcae, which is more roomy than the current vios, wider, longer, and higher…

• astina4ever (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 7:59 am

I agree with the people who likes the looks of this new Vios. Its actually quite nice and cuter compare to the current Vios. Coz personally i like the Yaris, but that's too small, a sedan is nice.

well i'll still not buy it coz … I DON'T LIKE CENTRE-MOUNTED METER PANELS!!

SIGH! …………………….. why ….. oh … why ……

• ingolstadt (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 10:16 am

Lastly, a decent sun visor. looks very feminine, albeit modern and more upmarket. I still won't buy one. :)

• gigganet (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 11:30 am

I think it will appeal to the fairer sex more, which I think is their target group. remember the ad with Britney Spears?

and why is it still having center consoles? I know some people don't mind it and some hate it (including yours truly), but I don't think anyone actually prefer it in the middle either. Maybe to make space in front for soft toys instead? hahaha.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 4:10 pm

Toyota Vios Budak Gemuk

waiting for Ah Beng tuner..

• 20v_ke35 (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 5:50 pm

It getting closer to us. Be ready guys. But why there no manual trans for it? the engine respone is good but since it run with auto…phmmm I'll pass.

• davidtch (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 6:03 pm

Paul, it is intro in Sg. There is 3 version juz like Thai, J, E & G. J & E is rear drum while G is rear disc. The diff. btw J & E is juz accessories. However, diff btw E & G is huge. G got Optiron, leather steering wif audio control & split rear seat. 1 slight improvement over previous version is there is carpet on inside of rear trunk door for G.

• gonggok (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 6:20 pm

This is strange looking baby, I imagine if P1 came out with something like this the daggers would be out by now..

Anyway I like the AC controls, my daughter and I can play 'spot the hidden mickey ' ;)

How I long for the sensible Toyota's of old.

• bot_tech (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 6:22 pm

i already own 2nd gen vios….by looking at this new vios…OMG..you'll want one..and you'll be lucky..

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 9:30 pm

No one has yet to say anything abt its rear lights, WHICH IS OBVIOUSLY TRACED FROM PROTON WAJA. What's wrong? Must be the badge I suppose, nobody wants to say it looks great on the Proton, bt switch it with Toyota, it becomes attractive?

Rubbish. Glad to see there are actually Msians who can say this car as it is, instead of because "it's a Toyota, so it must be good"

• waimak (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 10:37 pm

I'd rather wait for the launch of this model in Malaysia before making any hush comments here. They say its a total body facelift and will be launch any time in July 07.

Very smooth lines and aero dynamic.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 10:56 pm

im not really diggin the design of the front…..the hood is pretty high and a bit short too.

• kohbk (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 11:35 pm

like the old one better, interior looks cheapo to me.

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 11:56 pm

So inattractive, what's more with a dashboard that looks like men's underwear.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Apr 04, 2007 at 11:58 pm

What will PROTONG OFFER us?

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 12:01 am

Although the price high at around Rm70K to Rm100k but the actual COST of this BETLA or so-called Vios is only Rm30K I guess after cut out all the TAXES, so WHAT are you really Expected for?

High class like LEXUS or BMW? Pergi Buat Sendiri lah!

• jazz1011 (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 12:37 am

Agree with most of the posts here – the old (current) version Vios does indeed look better. More sporty and sleek, in some way.

I can't get myself to like this new design though.

Cheers!

• transformer (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 4:20 am

Still Ugly! Ugly Duckling! coz its has beak too!

i remember i had received video clip on this Belta(JDM)

this clips shown that Belta incorporate whats Toyota called "Human Touch"… check below link :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-scaol-rLU

• carfanz (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 4:30 am

Ohh … here comez da best compact sedan car design Vios all new design !!! Realy admire dis car

??? how muc would it cost OTR….

Hmmm it seems tat tax on the car was loaded muc

Now da actual Vios in Thailand was priced at ony 40k but it seems tat tax was the burden 4 money !!!!

Overalll i would wanna own dia All new Vios !!! Sleeker … Aerodynamic muc more Styling ….. itz juz like a mini All New Camry !! lol

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 6:47 am

I think this new vios interior definitely better than the current one, in term of design, quality, and the roomy space, I agree the exterior doesn't look that great, but still acceptable.

• megadisc (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 4:46 pm

me getting a vios !

oh mama mia

me getting a vios !

oh mama mia

• dzat46 (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 11:48 pm

OH what a feeling TOYOTA!!!

• 707 (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 8:11 am

hehe the toyota dugong….

the design somehow grows on me….

• acbc (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 9:35 am

Ugly… first thing on the list, change the grille to TRD style ones.

• jared323f (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 6:48 pm

H O D O H !!!

• nmh (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 8:50 pm

toyota fail to gather feedback from us…….no central meter plz

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 07, 2007 at 4:55 am

Nice, but I really hate all cars, SUV, MPV with odometers etc in the middle just to save cost.

• bmwvan (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 10:02 am

I saw the new Vios in Brunei on 27/5/07. Sideview look like Camry. I hope it to be introduced in Malaysia very soon. We should be the leader as our passenger car market is bigger than Brunei and Singapore.

• piper (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 11:45 pm

nice design for exterior. just like mini camry as many had mentioned but dislike the centre meter as well. yuck!! ugly just like kancil ler…

• cavan (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 5:45 am

well, why new vios seem like a toy car? a bit disappointed to see it. i aspect more than that. why it look so short? the old design look longer than that. so, do i need to wait for the new vios or just buy the old style one?

• One3rd_guy (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 4:28 am

I don’t like it at all….

It seems to be like:

The Front Look Like The Back And The Back Look Like The Front.

• marfoo168 (Member) on Aug 20, 2007 at 4:44 pm

Yes, some sort of fish inspired – dugong, dolphin, rounded and fat. Hmm, my husband is going to get one for me though!. And I am not liking the central display panel! Toyota, please take into account user views, thanks!
    And I heard from the Toyota salesman , it’s going to launch in Malaysia on October 15, 2007! So, hold your breath, guys!! Hehe!

• king (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 3:27 pm

more hideous than ugly duckling!

• korben (Member) on Sep 07, 2007 at 3:14 pm

Well… i think it looks cute. i guess some ppl like me love fat dolphin too :D at least better than new honda city. it looks so boring…

• kevyeoh (Member) on Sep 12, 2007 at 9:20 pm

after taking a look again…the interior dash panel at the front sucks big time…
    for me la…

• ady (Member) on Sep 13, 2007 at 9:38 am

Ada persamaan dengan PERSONA P1,dashboard hampir sama terutama console box & button aircond…
    depan yaris nampak pelik dan jangga.Interior dalaman nampak mewah

• dellantre (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 8:41 am

it’s really look like dugong.
    should be rename as vios dugong. ngeh3..

• drzack (Member) on Oct 23, 2007 at 2:59 pm

agree!! gemuk sgt, sebijik macam dugong..haha

• tetsuya_R (Member) on Nov 19, 2007 at 10:26 am

i have a mix feeling about this car at 1st i don like the rear but when i saw the car on the road its ok not great but ok..still the price i thing its still to high especialy if u r buying the E spec

• bmwvan (Member) on Nov 22, 2007 at 9:38 am

The price is still high compare to Honda CT. Vios must be less RM80K for more buyers. If RM70K as planned by UMW Toyota will be a good strategy for promotion and marketing of the Vios :-)

• ro21 (Member) on Dec 19, 2007 at 12:53 pm

i’ve test drove the new vios recently..it felt a bit ‘jumpy’ along the road, mayb bcoz its quite ‘high’..
    exterior wise, personally to me, it is ok..but interior, hhmm..look ‘cheap’ with the aircond control looks like the old radio transistor. and the central meter…arrgghh.. I was really dissappointed with the interior.
    In the end, i booked a honda city instead..which is more comfortable driving..

• bmwvan (Member) on Dec 22, 2007 at 8:46 am

Ya lo, u make a good choice to buy Honda CT as it has new interior and facelift too. We can see not many new Vios on the road as people don’t like the front shape and too compact interior. They need to come up with new version of Vios as soon as possible.

• What?? on Oct 28, 2009 at 5:22 am

Ahh… it's already 2009!!! Aiyo dunnit to comment lar…

• Time move very fast, soon will be in 2010 :-)

• still i like city than vios….

• City is handsomely new design compared to compact design of the old Vios :)

• adrian on Jan 18, 2010 at 10:25 pm

Any idea if there will be a new generation Vios to be released in2010 or 2011?

• Kevin on Mar 17, 2010 at 5:20 am

The Vios is a car I have always loved.The design is awesome and indeed it is unique.I love you.

• Bmwvan on Mar 18, 2010 at 7:32 am

Hope the design of new Vios would't be of dukong but more dolphin-look. :)

• would’t be of dukong but more dolphin-look.

thanks~~~~

• ManDan on Dec 20, 2011 at 5:59 pm

I think yes – it’s a Dugong…i love the old design way far better. I dont know why toyota are blind enough to produce such design…It’s like retouching an already beautiful woman portrait to make it look even beautier. (I’m a paint artist. Sometimes we want to make the pic look better but all we did are decreasing it’s beauty – As an artist or designer; DO NOT retouch an already beauty picture).

Well, I’ve own Toyota Altis (white pearl) and love it. For my folks, I’m gonna go for Honda City (which at first i thought I’m gonna go for vios.)