Nissan Grand Livina to arrive in 2nd half 2007

nissan-grand-livina-orange.jpg

LATEST UPDATE: Nissan Grand Livina 1.6 and 1.8 launched in Malaysia

Large families that can’t afford the likes of the Wish or Estima. There are so many of them in Malaysia, yet it’s baffling how a certain national car manufacturer has not addressed this need. For awhile, the only way Malaysians could get a cheap people movers was the Naza Ria, but while it was big and spacious people couldn’t really take the fuel consumption of the 2.5 litre V6 quad cam unit under the hood.

Then along came the Toyota Avanza and the Toyota Innova, but these were body-on-frame rear wheel drive designs, which were easy to design and provided good economies of scale because of platform sharing (Toyota IMV: Innova, Hilux, Hiace, Fortuner), however because it is essentially a truck-based design, comfort levels are not as high as they should be.

Enter Nissan’s Livina Geniss project. The Nissan Livina Geniss project spawned two MPVs – the 5-seater Livina and the 7-seater Grand Livina, and the latter will reach our shores sometime in the second half of 2007. It is an economical 7-seater MPV, much like the Toyota Avanza, however it has one key advantage over it. The Nissan Grand Livina is built upon a monocoque car chassis rather than adapted from a truck chassis. This means it is alot more comfortable.

Front wheel drive driving dynamics also mean it is relatively somewhat safer as most people are used to how a car handles when it is front wheel drive rather than rear wheel drive. A car-based chassis also means a lower center of gravity compared to it’s competitors. If you want to see what I mean, just compare the Toyota Innova to the Toyota Wish. Both are 7-seaters of similiar size, yet one is so tall, as if the Innova body was built on top of a generic frame, while the Wish is close to the ground, and looks like the whole body has been designed together with the chassis. The Grand Livina’s chassis is shared with other compact Renault-Nissan vehicles such as the Nissan Note, Renault Clio, and Nissan March.

Two engine options are available, the HR15DE (109hp at 6,000rpm, 148Nm at 4,400rpm) and the MR18DE (128hp at 5,500rpm, 174Nm at 4,800rpm), both now with CVTC Variable Valve Timing. The MR18DE comes with with a 6-speed manual or a 4-speed auto, while the HR15DE’s gearbox offering is similiar except the manual only has 5 cogs.

Based on paper specs alone, the Nissan Grand Livina looks like a much better choice than a Toyota Avanza or a Naza Citra, but let’s see how it really performs once it arrives on Malaysian shores with whatever specs Tan Chong decides to fit it with. For those who always desire a little bit more, you’ll be pleased to know that a bolt-on Impul supercharger for the HR15DE is already available, and will boost power up to 144 horsepower.

nissan-grand-livina-blue.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• avanza (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 7:23 am

paul, any pricing?

• Paul Tan on Apr 09, 2007 at 7:26 am

should be similiar to the avanza if offered in 1.5 form, or similiar to innova if offered in 1.8 form. exact pricing or which engine is coming is still unknown.

• mansurbo (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 7:44 am

see mototrader ler if u mau price rambang. i think around rm65,000 to rm95,000..u know this is competitor avanza & innova.

• transformer (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 7:49 am

Welcome! Finally something delicious from Nissan this year!

At least something differrent from the monotonous Toyota!

Looks great and technically looks more superior than Toyota!

I'm quite confortable with its exterior, engine and interior!

I would had to check on the suspension when its launched!

I don't want to sit on a pickup under MPV skin!

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 7:57 am

Truck-based? That explains the high stance. Doesn't look very nice but should sell well too, we do need more variety in this segment.

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 8:06 am

Wish !.. Nissan will bough those Mini Mpv type to Malaysia……

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 8:15 am

transformer,

monocoque chasis, with front drive will surely goes with indepndant suspension ,- superior ride

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 8:26 am

transformer,

monocoque chasis, with front drive will surely goes with REAR indepndant suspension ,- superior ride

• transformer (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 8:50 am

Ya, front sure independant.

But i do not think that all Front wheeler always comes in Independant Rear… Solid/Beam type are still widely used on low value products… there are a lot of real life example out there…. And this Livina isn't a highend product, its a low-midrange, anyway we'll keep our finger crossed on this! Hopefully its an Independant or something known as multilink Torsion beam suspension(independant+solid mix)

and i think MPV are load carrierer, so their Independant suspension setup are different compared with Sedan/Saloon, these cost more!( to able to sustain the load, diff damper, springs & etc.)

• L (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 9:35 am

much better looking than innova. If price right, it could take sales from toyota. Lets wait n see how it fair in the market.

• lance (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 4:11 pm

Hi. Thanx for the article. I for one would like to "challenge" the Nissan Livina to a head-to-head course (carpark rally). Let's see how the Nissan Livina's Front Wheel drive, low center of gravity, monocoque car chassis FARE AGAINST the Rear Wheel drive, 180mm ground clearance, body-on-frame on the Toyota Avanza! :D regards, Lance (2005 Toyota Avanza 1.3 M/T)

• lance (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 4:12 pm

Oh, by the way, I paid RM56,000 for my 1.3 M/T Avanza back in 2005! :D

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 4:33 pm

MT says 75K to 100K. It is all up to TCM at the end on how much they are gonna priced this car. If priced right, it might just be able to have a runaway success like Avanza.

BTW, it looks like a Baby Murano!

• jehutyz (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 4:56 pm

If this one is something like Avanza then this Livina is more cool lor. But the price still a matters………

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 5:00 pm

Lance…I wont be betting on the Avanza for sure. :p

…come to think of it, I wont even consider even driving fast with either one of these vehicles. They just dont look too stable and might flip on hard cornering. But thats just my opinion.

More choices is never a bad thing, even though I might never buy one.

• lance (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 5:08 pm

Quick check. According to Chips Yap, Toyota Avanza – "The suspension (by the way, the bodywork is monocoque, like a passenger car’s) has a simple design too, making for low cost. Up front are independent MacPherson struts and at the rear, the live axle is located by a 4-link arrangement and rides on coil springs."

Ref: http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/0/arti…

• lance (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 5:09 pm

4G63T DSM,

About Avanza 1.3 M/T (stock standard) engine and handling performance. Have a look at the 2 videos from the link below: http://lance.fotopages.com/?entry=1117687

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 5:11 pm

Another attack from ETCM, good move.. they lack the market penetration with their current models..

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 6:32 pm

Good move for TCM, and good news for us. This Grand Livina is way better than the tall toyota innova…

• msmar_453 (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 6:51 pm

paul,

is it true mpv or a wagon with additional backseat?

is it same as honda wagon (sorry, i can't remember the name..)

I was informed that Nissan Grand Livina already launched in Indonesia couple of days ago with 2 variant engines – 1.5L with 5-speed manual or a 4-speed auto, while the 1.8L with 6-speed manual or a 5-speed auto.

correct me if wrong.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 7:05 pm

paul,

is it true mpv or a wagon with additional backseat?

is it same as honda wagon (sorry, i can’t remember the name..)

—————————————————————-

I think it is Honda Airwave ( Honda malaysia should bring this one!!)

—————————————————————-

I was informed that Nissan Grand Livina already launched in Indonesia couple of days ago with 2 variant engines – 1.5L with 5-speed manual or a 4-speed auto, while the 1.8L with 6-speed manual or a 5-speed auto.

correct me if wrong.

• transformer (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 7:32 pm

lance

might not fare for Livina as it similarly sized with Innova not the shorter in length Avanza… the longer the dimension the tendency under/over steer are significant!

IMHO, i suggest u try on Naza Citra as the length similar with Avanza

Avanza makes me feel like "Anna Nicole Smith" on very high heels!…. the body and chassis are not in tandem sometimes…. just my 2cents!

• lance (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 7:48 pm

transformer,

but then … I thought the common perception that Avanza has disadvantages with its vehicle height and body stiffness would EVEN the odds?

I've driven the 2.0 litre Citra – doesn't impress. I think it's the A/T box as well – couple with the "Korean" engine (pardon me, I'm not familiar with this engine)

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 7:59 pm

the problem with rear live or beam axel is that, it has a limited dynamic of the suspension, ,

the movement of the left suspension will also take effect on the right for instance,

the feeling of roll or displaced/shaked is obvious on less perfect road,

which makes me think twice of avanza,

theres also almost no camber tow in reaction like on the unequal double wishbone on fully independant which is essential for cornering for example,

• lance (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 8:17 pm

proton GL,

Quite true – Fixed axle has it's issues … like getting tripod while cornering (aggresively). Ha ha ha! :D URL: http://lance.fotopages.com/?entry=233617

• motherker (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 9:36 pm

wow! 6 cogs? im impressed :D

does impul have an official dealer here, in msia??

btw, lance,

please dont waste paul's bandwith by postin stuff abt ur avanza…wanna show off go somewhere else la…

• tt2007 (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 10:08 pm

Hi all,

spec can have it below web,
    http://www.carnews.com.tw/detail/2007-3/5/article…

MPV 1.8L sure consider be lower power …seek for 2.0L …

• lance (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 10:49 pm

motherker,

Same to you.

• azrai (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 11:44 pm

Look just like Murano's brother. I might consider buying this by the end of the if only the pricing is right.

• BigCar (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 11:49 pm

Nissan Murano Front grill again……

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 10, 2007 at 12:01 am

The specs and performance should be ok, no problem.

Nice looking, better than Avanza and Innova ( I hate Innova…..)

• longjaafar (Member) on Apr 10, 2007 at 12:05 am

It's time ETCM do something about it's ageing models being dished to the Malaysian market. The new Cefiro has not been launched, although Singapore has had it for so long.

Their share in the SUV sector may be gone in no time if they do not do something about their Xtrail which is now the market leader. The CRV is spanking new and offers 150 bhp from their 2 litre engine (compared to 140 for the Xtrail) and is much more expensive. Yet they are racking up sales and the waiting list is 4 months. I believe that if ETCM launches their new Xtrail, then the CRV will not get very far.

LJ

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 10, 2007 at 1:56 am

i have no idea why anybody would want to compare the "performance driving ability" of his MPV with another MPV???

i think the regular buyer of an MPV is the least interested if his MPV handled like a Lotus or not. The key things are of course, space, comfort, running costs and safety, being a 'family' carrier.

i'm guessing that having a more 'car like' design, the Livina is going to be giving the avanza a run for its money in the comfort dept. i'm not too sure on the size though. i've driven the avanza over long distances, and winding roads as well.. true, its got decent handling, for an mpv, but only over smooth roads. When unladen, the rear hops around too much, and bumps unsettle it midcorner.

• gtmaniac (Member) on Apr 10, 2007 at 3:07 am

It's about time for Nissan, since the Serena is quite a way over average ppl affordability in term of pricing..

• ahaks (Member) on Apr 10, 2007 at 6:15 am

I saw the 3rd raw seat was kinda flat rectangular in design without head rest… the one that was folded down to create more luggage space… or was that something else that I did not know about. If it was really the 3rd raw seat, it didn't look nice at all. Hopefully it's not coz I'm liking it with the nice exterior…

• dzat46 (Member) on Apr 10, 2007 at 6:43 pm

Nice looking MPV, If price in Avanza range will be a hotseller. I'll want one wt a 1.5-1.8 diesal….would be frugal wt big Torque!!

• lance (Member) on Apr 10, 2007 at 6:47 pm

yes yes! I want one if its 1.5 litre turbo diesel!

• cutester (Member) on Apr 12, 2007 at 11:48 pm

Hi guys, the website from Nissan in Indonesia has added Grand Livina in it. Can check the specs for a rough idea what we are expecting in Malaysia later. 1.5 and 1.8 variant is available.

• secretadmirer (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 9:39 pm

yeah the website is www.nissan.co.id , but today get bandwidth error, due to high load. So many people want to see that new car!

• bincangoto (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 3:04 am

It is open for sale now. Below is the price in IDR

Nissan Grand Livina SV 1.5 M/T 138,500,000

Nissan Grand Livina Ultimate 1.8 A/T 203,500,000

Nissan Grand Livina Ultimate 1.8 M/T 191,500,000

Nissan Grand Livina XV 1.5 A/T 156,000,000

Nissan Grand Livina XV 1.5 M/T 146,000,000

Nissan Grand Livina XV 1.8 A/T 177,500,000

Nissan Grand Livina XV 1.8 M/T 165,500,000

• SO EXPENSIVE

• i wish to buy Livina 1.8 (A). anybody in this forum can give advise in technical aspect . Frankly speaking i have no idea about this car.

• bikinpanas on Apr 23, 2010 at 11:52 pm

i’m so proud to have this car,mine are limited edtion from impul…ok ape keta ni…

• i planning to buy livina 1.8 or innova 2.0e that only around 4k difference. Anyone experience of engine and gearbox problem with livina? Lately i own a nissan sentra b14. Powerful car. But after warranty, the engine head crack. Burn my pocket a big hole. I wonder if this livina face same problem.This problem struggling me to made the decision.Innova is high fuel consumption but have a large space less problem.are All aluminium alloy engine more durable than old type engine?