Hyundai HND-3 Veloster Concept

veloster-2.jpg

While Kia have been making some amazing progress with their vehicle design thanks to it’s new European-based design team, not much can be said about big brother Hyundai’s new designs. This Hyundai HND-3 Veloster Concept seems to be inspired from design cues with many of the cars already out there on the market, with the most obvious being Honda’s REMIX Concept.

More photos after the jump.

veloster-1.jpg

veloster-3.jpg

veloster-4.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 10, 2007 at 10:17 pm

i agree wihh you, the front n back looks pretty much like the honda remix.nothing to shout about.i dont know bout you guys but the interior seems taken out from the proton iswara.this it what the call a concept car? oh puh-leez!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Apr 10, 2007 at 10:19 pm

Glassware reminiscent of Lancia Stratos (also evident in Suzuki Swift on a more diluted scale). Has DNA shared with Kia Soul I think.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 10, 2007 at 10:20 pm

oh, by the way im saying about the dashboard….not all of the interior.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Apr 10, 2007 at 10:22 pm

Its great to see concept models now and then, get excited and have new found respect only to realize a couple of months later that they probably (98-99% ? hmm) would never produce it.

We've seen so many models from Kia over the years and nearly none of them have come to fruition. Same goes for Jaguar but it might change for the new Jag XK as they said they would produce it.

• drM (Member) on Apr 10, 2007 at 10:28 pm

a fat lady with big bottom, if u ask me what the hell is that.

big bottom. so many they are nowdays..wonder why?

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Apr 10, 2007 at 11:02 pm

Mmmm…Do we have a post from our Proton about their own concept cars…

I don't c maaa what they called menuju ke Wawasan 2020…

Please Proton do somethin:)

Hopefully Malaysia Boleh!!!

• gundaian (Member) on Apr 10, 2007 at 11:29 pm

seem like every car maker are now copying proton.

put mufler in the midle.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 10, 2007 at 11:46 pm

I'm only interested in the wheels and seats, that's all…..

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 11, 2007 at 12:09 am

concept cars do not necesarilly have to become production models. they are used by car companies to showcase their abilities, and their ideas to maintain interests in what their stylists are currently doing.. its part of the PR/Marketing machine. The mass manufactured cars that actually earn money for car companies are usually never shown as concepts. These are the ones that remain closely guarded secrets. Usually, concepts that become a reality, end up as niche models.

• eezarm (Member) on Apr 11, 2007 at 12:45 am

good design.

sporty look.

overall, a fine work from the designer.

it's just the dashboard look boring and simple.

as an example, should refer the new civic. it has a good one.

the interior doesnt have sporty look at all. too soft.

doesnt match the exterior design.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Apr 11, 2007 at 1:14 am

Ok lar. Better than many other concept car.

• keretakura (Member) on Apr 11, 2007 at 1:36 am

Very nice concept design. Hope soon PROTON will come with something amazing

Maybe more more than this …. WORK MORE TALK LESS

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 11, 2007 at 2:30 am

easily perceivd as a powerful hot hatch or gti,

realization of the concept into a real car is another story,

but at this point, it exterior as if saying im fast and powerful hothatch

anyway logo is dumb,

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 11, 2007 at 2:36 am

gundaian said,

April 10, 2007 @ 3:29 pm

seem like every car maker are now copying proton.

put mufler in the midle.

————

You are kidding right?? Hahahaa

As far as I can remember, even old BMW E28 and some BMW 2002s had exhaust coming out the middle. The Boxster is the fisrt of the modern cars to have the centre exhaust.

• seancheaw (Member) on Apr 11, 2007 at 4:02 am

plueessssa la hyundai, be original lah! this is not a concept car Its a COPY car. the butt looks like honda remix. the front of a new lancer

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 11, 2007 at 5:29 am

Looks nice but will never see a road version of this.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Apr 11, 2007 at 4:31 pm

Hey, at the very least Hyundai is making concepts. Do you see any concepts from Proton for the past 20 odd years?

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 11, 2007 at 4:50 pm

Guys, you're right. I just realised that Proton hardly (or never) comes out with a concept car? Maybe the closest concept is by changing some bodykits and mouldings for pre-promo.

BTW, what happen to the Hyundai Accent SR Concept? That concept looks close to reality. It can happen but somehow it never came true.

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 8:00 am

What is a lounge chair doing in a retro interior and what is a retro interior doing in a futuristic car? LOL, all mixed up. Like the interior though :)