Possible Downtime

This blog will be intermittently inaccessible until a server move has been completed tomorrow night. The new current dedicated server has been experiencing connectivity hiccups thanks to a certain monopoly’s total incompetence at maintaining hundreds of thousands or perhaps millions of ringgit worth of network equipment.

The server will be moving to a datacenter run by an infinitely more competent team tomorrow night, so bear with the lack of updates and difficulty to access until the move is complete. The media and video server remains at Jaring, which is run pretty well, despite being plagued by connectivity problems between their side and Streamyx occasionally, but I’m sure you can guess whose fault is that.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pkimalaysia (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 5:18 am

gud luck.

• rodimus (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 5:53 am

Hope that everythings gonna b A ok.

• armandd (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 9:09 am

u see paul… when i forgot to pay my streamyx bill, they immedietly cut off the internet connection. but when the internet was down for 4-5 days in a month, they didn't refund a single cent! (of the RM88, which is already a ridiculously amount for their quality of service). what the f*ck!!! just blowing off the steam here, huh!

• avanza (Member) on Apr 13, 2007 at 7:27 pm

Yeah I had tons of problems with TMNet's MyLoca in Cyberjaya!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 12:07 am

Apparently they were going to shutdown the servers at MyLoca for "power upgrades" but now, apparently not.

As an administrator myself, this is infuriating.

The worst I've got was my Corporate SDSL line that was down for a freaking 1 week. Actually tried calling the then CEO and got passed to the Head of CSR. At least got service at that level. Anything lower on the CSR food chain is garbage.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 12:08 am

so my advice here, use jaring.it freaking rocks! just like paul said.

• chris_the_germ (Member) on Apr 14, 2007 at 8:34 pm

If someone says 'you can really guess whose fault it is' I have to say I don't exactly know, what that means. I think it is Streamyx fault, I am an extremely disappointed customer there. Is Jaring better? I am done with Streamyx, any advice?

• transformer (Member) on Apr 15, 2007 at 4:07 am

Rakyat just had limited choices!

we had P1…. we also had these few telcos which provides ISP..

hope WiMAX doesn't uses their connection to access international ISP!

• Paul Tan on Apr 16, 2007 at 3:15 pm

the move is complete. my blog is currently running off 3 servers in 3 datacenters

paultan.org, the main site, is running from AIMS in KL

images.paultan.org, the images server, is running from NetMyne Cyberjaya

media.paultan.org, which hosts images and videos, is running from Jaring