Proton sales up 54% in Australia

Both Lotus and it’s parent company Proton have been flourishing in the Australian market lately. Lotus was rated at the fastest growing brand in Australia, with a 450% increase in sales volume over the same first three months of the year period in 2006. Proton was the fifth largest growing marque, with sales increasing 54% over the same time last year.

Proton Cars Australia managing director John Startari said the sales boom was thanks to new models like the Proton Satria Neo (recently made AMRS race series safety car) and a more reliable supply of the Proton Jumbuck (Proton Arena).

Korean cars have not enjoyed the same luck in Australia, with Hyundai and Kia sales dropped 18 and 11.58 percent respectively.

UPDATE: It looks like flourishing is not really the word to be used in this post. According to the Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries of Australia’s website, Proton’s 54% sales jump was from 400 cars to 616 cars.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 3:40 pm

Yeah good news, but then How many cars were sold?

Increase 54% can be from 10 cars to 15 cars rights?

Paul, do you know the number?

• J (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 3:40 pm

Maybe first month sold 10 cars, and in 3 months sold 45 cars ? :)

• NiceCar (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 3:42 pm

Really? If yes then is a good news.. hopefully they are not just playing the figure, or else this is because last year first 3 month sales is really poor..

• shaif (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 4:21 pm

Good news for Proton as they need to expand their sales horizon and less dependent to stagnant domestic market. Still hope Proton-VW join venture will be materialised.

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 4:22 pm

sales in malaysia for the last 3 months has been slow for almost all car manufacturers. but australia is a totally different market.. i dont know about the other cars, but the jumbuck aka arena has always sold very well there.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 4:38 pm

Percentage mean nothing if their previous sales record is rubbish. Give some proper sales figures instead of harping that we got increase % while others are going down, so it means Proton is better than the koreans.

Like ac said, 10 cars to 15 cars? If not mistaken, during the launch of Savvy in Australia, they only have XXX (3 digit figure) annual sales target! Very conservative figure indeed but yet so boastful about 54% increase.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 4:40 pm

looks like the "under table money" has helped…

p/s: just quoting a comment from the "Neo Pace Car article where one dude suggested Proton paid under-table money to hv the Neo featured. heh.

• Infinitt (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 5:00 pm

Good for Proton. Actually they can do better if work harder n improve the CS.

• kody (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 5:09 pm

wahlaueh…

why don't P1 drop all local (ta pao/close down)& just focus to foreign sales since it's market shares is droping… more chances for us to own cheap n good car in bolehland…

• ab (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 5:21 pm

Those values are only to make them look good. I was in the Adelaide Motorshow last month and they stuck a large '$15990 drive away' sticker on the Arena on it. To make things worse, they bonnet was wide open, revealing the ancient engine in front- Desperate!

To be fair i did see some savvy, satria and arena on the roads. But no waja, because that is more expensive than the Nissan Sentra!

• kody (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 5:29 pm

wahlaueh…

to be fair… WAJA is a good car but laying in wrong hand it becomes cheap & low quality car.

• raverus (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 5:36 pm

hehehehehehe, kody might be right ;)

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 6:30 pm

culprit: if you wanna quote, at least quote from a better source la, have you seen auctioncenter2u's(the guy you quoted from) other postings? they're all rubbish.

• layman (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 7:33 pm

Regardless of the number of unit sold, the % figures is a good sign. No all the thing done by Proton is bad.

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 7:39 pm

Huh!Mofaz damn good! so fast release good news 4 P1.

excellent marketing strategy!

Mofaz + Proton = Boleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeh!!

• japankiller (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 8:00 pm

To be frankly speak, actually you are not hard to find any Satria that going on the road in Australia. But if compare to Korea make car, then Proton still have a long way to go.

• azrai (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 8:29 pm

Today we got new offer from Proton in our shore. Wira with no monthly instalment for 3 months. Hmm..Stock clearance anyone?

• cbljkkj (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 8:58 pm

Percentages mean nothing, we want numbers people. Remember how many Myvi's were sold in a month in comparison to a years worth of Proton sales? Now thats memorable.

Like statements before mine, the percentage could be a sale of 10-15 cars more hence the percentage increase. Don't dabble around with percentage, show some numbers.

• timber8115 (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 9:51 pm

Kudos for P1… but please save yourself from drwoning…. you are a nation pride but not too proud of yourself…. That is why you always got criticise when you are too proud….

• kington (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 9:59 pm

I guess the figures won't be that high coz everytime i'm in OZ, it's only the odd 1 or 2 units of the Wira that i bump into in the suburbs.

• bobdbuilder (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 10:21 pm

http://www.fcai.com.au/sales.php/2007/03/sales.ht…

"while Proton was the fifth fastest growing marque chalking up a 54 per

cent increase."

Yup, according to the stats provided by the Federal Chamber of Automotive

Industries (FCAI)(click hyperlink above), protong had sold 616 vehicles as

of March 2007 compared with 400 vehicles as of March 2006 on a Year-to-

Date (YTD) basis. This explains the 54% increase.

In comparison, Hyundai and Kia sold 9,949 and 4,796 motor vehicles for the

March 2007 YTD period.

Lexus has sold 1,993 vehicles on the same YTD basis so Lexus is a better

seller than protong in Australia.

• digiman (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 10:27 pm

actually this figure seems to show that the marketing guys there are doing something right with the marketing approach..

i am not rebutting that Proton's manufacturing capability is crap as in the Mofaz article… sorry paul.. but its more towards the marketing concept…

i think the Aust concept of selling the Proton Arena / Neo / Gen2 are very good…

take the Arena for example.. their ads are shows how can a typical australian lives a typical australian lifestyle without being affected by the increasing fuel costs… big CC means big hole in the pocket… Proton (aust) plays it well… also, proton aust plays on lotus brand on the bigger note… placing neo as a safety car… that is one big thing… all those people watching one neo… imaginge the product and brand awareness it created… also think back, gen2 was use as a learner's car for defensive driving… huge report on it… and what happen? great marketing awareness on gen2…

also our ever favourite Satria GTi… even the Aust is in love with it… why? cheap, great handling, power is there, easily modified, and it has lotus writen all over it..

but here.. proton marketing arm are questionable… always playing on price (which is the easiest way out and the most stup!dest step to take in any strategic marketing move)… maybe what everybody say is right.. product quality must go up… brand must be marketed as per what it is meant to.. you don't sell skoda as merc right? you sell skoda as a cheaper alternative…

same for proton… you don't sell proton as toyota… sell proton as proton…

Maybe proton malaysia should consider importing people from the australian arm to lead the marketing dept…

anyway just my long 2 cent worth… cheerio

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 10:35 pm

Hei Proton should be proud of it bcos it sale better than Porsche! :D

Majulah Proton, Proton Boleeeeeeeh!

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 10:54 pm

Refering to the link from bobdbuilder,

What are you guys shouting about Proton's mere 54% increase! That's nothing compared to Lotus!!! LOTUS!!

450% INCREASE!

They sold 22 units YTD for 2007 compared to 4 units for 2006. :D

Snap back into reality, Proton figures is just a mere 1% of what Toyota is doing.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 10:57 pm

54%…………..ok not bad.

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 11:05 pm

the point is.. the people who bash proton, will continue to bash proton no matter what, end of story, because the only thing they wish for, is for proton to fail.

Whenever there is positives from proton, they try every single angle they can find factual or otherwise to put it down.

The only thing I always wonder is, why are they so obsessed with being anti-proton? doesn't it get boring? do they all own protons?

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 11:11 pm

i agree with u hondadriver! endless bashing n poundings of comments.Proton is malaysian made man! so, encourage n gives off advices to'em! would ya"ll wanna see malaysia reputation fall?! Ya'll think ur selves.

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 11:45 pm

Proton Arena does not flourish here as people cannot load stuff at the back without license. It would fare better if the authorities allowed loading to mirror level, or with canvas covers installed.

• Infinitt (Member) on Apr 17, 2007 at 11:45 pm

Do agree too. Proud that Proton can market cars for mat salleh use. At least with proton we have really truly original car maker able to produce car..south east asia??..not like our neighbour from long ago till now act assembly man for others people brand.. I think who put -ve comments to Proton here also own Proton cars hehe..your father? your sisters? your gf? your mother?? have a look hehe..

• transformer (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 12:25 am

though my family never owned any Proton before… yet i just feel little bit glad that Proton able to earn some foreign currency…. Hopefully, better than none!

even good product need good marketer to sell….

• blunt (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 12:50 am

digiman phrase it nicely..

An increase is an increase..no matter how small it is..

• digiman (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 1:17 am

hondadriver and kei9 does seems to provide the best comment… no matter what proton do, nothing good will be called upon it, but whatever other foreign car companies do, majority of it will find no fault in them… think about it… maybe its time some mind set of ours need to be change…

but then again.. my years in marketing and my understanding of marketing tell me this… its easier to put negative remarks then positive remarks… because negative remarks are more believable compared to positive…

• kody (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 1:30 am

wahlaueh…

hey digiman, it makes sense for people in bolehland to make -ve assumption on P1. It was due to the reputation that this P1 had created in our shore.

It is consider a whole new brand to establish in OZ land. If P1 still acts like in bolehland… sure they will not survive the competitions.

• mr_em (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 1:35 am

eeerrmmm…. let's have some perspective here… Proton is supposed to be a "VOLUME" manufacturer…. percentage increase above as most commented here, means nothing…

the lesson learnt here is simple, if the product is not "good" aka not "competitive" aka "cr*p"… the absurdly low export sales volume shows this (at least thats a transparent ("telus") measurement)….

another lesson is, does anyone here thinks that by selling 400, 600 or even 1000 cars, the revenue they get is sufficient for Proton to continue to exist?

616 cars * Aussie Dollar 16,000 = 9,856,000 i.e. approx 10 million Aussie Dollars, and what is that? Won't be enough to swallow the hundreds of million of Ringgits losses….

Good thing that Paul nicely picked the % as the headline to catch people's attention……

• KelvC (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 1:37 am

As much as I would like to put a "well done" note, I could not find any statistic to vouch of the sales increased in Australia. The only article that I could find online is http://www.caradvice.com.au/2051/first-quarter-20… and this article has no mentioned of Proton in any of the top 20 selling list for Q1 in Australia. Proton should back up its claims, despite the overall sales increase, to put the negative and unsubstantiated criticism to rest.

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 1:45 am

go and find out urself why P1 gets MORE negative comments than toyota, honda, BMW & etc….is it simply bcos it is locally made??i dun think so dude..

ask urself honestly, deep inside ur heart, is it REALLY GOOD and u ar REALLY PROUD of it? or just a compromise?

ask ur thailand or singapore friends and dun b surprise tat they rather dun buy a car than getting a P1 car.

hopefully any positive or negative comments here will help them improve and progess well in the future;)

btw nothing wrong wiv patriotism…we all love our own country man..

Malaysia Boleh!

• KelvC (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 1:49 am

Found another site: http://www.fcai.com.au/sales.php/2007/03/sales.ht…

Proton – 616('07) … 400('06)

Lotus – 22(Q1'07) … 4(Q1'06)

Can't comment more, time to pick the kid and wife up!

Cheers!

• neo2 (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 2:26 am

ok let's talk economy. why buying 2.0 car costs RM120k when i could buy a 1000 square foot apartment in KL for same price? bcoz G imposes excessive import duty on imported cars to protect Proton. initially, it looked reasonable as automobile industry is capital intensive n requires time to develop its market share, brand awareness n engine technology. so, after 5 years (i.e. early 1990), Proton already swarmed Malaysia car market n we Malaysian were quite proud then with Proton. but, here's a catch, why G never lifted import duty? reason is Proton could not penetrate overseas market, what it did was equipped all Proton with ASB n airbags n hardsell it overseas. after 15 years, (i.e. today year 2007), Proton is trying to tell us that it sells few hundred cars in Australia?! Come to sense, the G that we elected for 50 years, we are buying the most expensive car n yet the lowest quility built that you could possible find in the world. Bear in mind, based on purchasing power theory, earning same level of income in US as in Malaysia could entitle everyone to a Toyoto Vios or Honda City! (i.e. given RM2,000 salary) and yet we are forced to buy car like Savvy, Satria or even Iswara! I m proud to be Malaysian but not being victimized in such a way by my elected G just bcoz I know basic economy n G is taking us for granted. sigh ……

• Malaysia BoXXX (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 3:42 am

They put it in percentage to mislead Malaysian, not Australian. Australian not so stupid. To mislead local kampung and small town folks that G car still Boleh….No shame at all this G, 616 pieces of car they say they are proud.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 3:48 am

hondadriver said,

April 17, 2007 @ 3:05 pm

The only thing I always wonder is, why are they so obsessed with being anti-proton? doesn’t it get boring? do they all own protons?

——————-

Are you P1 vendor or work with them that produce component like power window failure that need to open door when pay toll? Nothing to wonder being anti-proton but I wonder you why "wonder" on P1 basher?

• Malaysia BoXXX (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 4:22 am

Any HONEST Malaysian driver will have the right to bash P1, unless there are hidden agenda behind….

Few thinks P1 is a pride of nation. Actually P1 is a wolf disguised under a sheep skin, can be considered national traitor. Why?

Because it sucks a lot of blood money from the citizen for 25years, we drive expensive unsafe inferior cars (don't pretend innocent and ask me to show proof that it is unsafe, lousy and expensive) because of heavy taxes imposed on other choices.

Where they money goes? It wasted on bad corporate management (or maybe on purpose?), abang-adik suppliers, bad Manufacturing/QC and suspicious acquisition throughout the years.

P1 suffers now because of improved 'liberisation' of cars in Malaysia, and this little bit of loosening-up kills P1. P1 still cannot stand alone although sucking expensive baby powder milk for 25years. Why on earth we have people wondering why we bash P1 ???

• transformer (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 5:43 am

drove a fren Waja this morning, when reach the toll plaza(touch & go)… my fren ask me to open the door instead of the window! (if open, the window could not shut properly… some sort of misalignment… a 2003 car)

hope improvement had been made in newer batches…

its not a bad car anyway…

• topgunthang (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 6:21 am

yes….when a car company quotes % of sales increase instead of actual numbers then u know something is wrong. this type of news is to trick people into thinking proton is doing well. especially when msian news seem to 'get off' alot on news from overseas like this. and i cant beleive the word 'flourishing' is used for the post. its misguiding.

australians arent bothered to read this type of news which usually occupies a very small column in a very small corner of the newspaper. its more dominated by holden ford toyota or mazda and recently the swift. oh and fuel prices.

• kacman (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 6:29 am

spot on msia boxxx

• ilmondo (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 7:00 am

honestly, really impressed when c our neo being used as safety car thr. hardly c proton on www.worldcarfans.com. 1st time seeing it was like – wow!! its a proton satria neo! digiman has his point ere. market arena as a pasar malam concept ere, rather than 2 call it a pickup tat sounds so cekap tat reminds ppl of d reputable hilux or ranger.

really hope proton wil b fine u know.. n we cant blame proton 4 wat it is 2day, 'it has no biological brain'

goodluck proton.

• bpkid (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 5:35 pm

Congrats to Proton for their success in Australia. So, I would like to say something to Proton:

TINGKATKAN KUALITI DAN JANGAN MENDISKRIMINASI

Remember, Malaysians should deserve to own high-quality Proton cars, not just Australians and Europeans.

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 5:53 pm

transformer said,

April 17, 2007 @ 9:43 pm

drove a fren Waja this morning, when reach the toll plaza(touch & go)… my fren ask me to open the door instead of the window!

————————————————————-

well, i saw same thing happened at the waja in front when reach toll last nite…

frankly speaking, is not funny at all when u c a national car driver hav to do tat whenever they need to open car's window..

arent we living in yr 2007?

• dzat46 (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 6:19 pm

Check the motorbike sales section, stat for March YTD 2006 only availavble….BMW 657 units,Honda 4,434 units, Harley Davidson 2,564 units…this is for bikes sales!!…

proton March YRD 2006 = 400 units & 2007 = 616 units …Lol …BMW & Harleys bikes sold more than proton car & Harley don't have kap cai/scoot..all big cc bikes!!

• matomyam (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 8:13 pm

some people might argue that Malaysia is the only country in S.E asia that knows how to bulid cars…hello kawan,,power window pun tada betul daa

• gonggok (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 9:06 pm

There you go…

It's funny when you look at how people react to this. Mine was 'oh okay, a step in the right direction but they need to speed things up a lot if they're to survive'. But some people will go to great lenghts to discredit ANY slightly positve news about P1. It's funny when they do a lot of research to do this. Why some retort with such venom? Don't they have anything better to do but prowl the net all day discrediting everything about P1? Is it some commercial interest to do so?

News- Proton Sales up in Australia

Bashers – Still very low not even competing with the koreans!

WHAT IF news-Proton sales higher than Koreans

Bashers- Still lower that the Japanese!

WHAT IF news- Proton best selling car in Australia

Bashers- Aiyaa.. Australia just a small market doesn't mean a thing!

WHAT IF news-Proton best selling car in the world

Bashers- So what if pay toll still have to open the door!

Note- I'm not a proton emplyee or vendor, just a ex-proton (owned three protons before) owner who is currently driving something else – will I buy another? If they come up with a product that suits my needs and budget and I'm convinced is a good car, why not?

Gonggok

• digiman (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 10:13 pm

well but gonggok.. bravo..

anyway.. like i've said.. its always easier to discredit then give credit..

bettasplendens.. just a note: yes i am truly happy with my gen2.. do you think i can be happy thinking about meeting monthly installment payment every month? with my current economy situation, a gen2 seems a sensible choice plus, add in my desire to travel overseas… yes i am happy with my gen2 as it does not create unnecessary stress for me every month end..

but i am speaking on a personal note.. some might be willing to spend on automotive… some on food.. so its a personal preference.. you might not be happy with what you are driving because you demand the best in automobiles.. i demand the best in travelling…

• dzat46 (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 11:54 pm

Guess most ppl bash P1 bcoz its the reason for the currently artificial expensive prices of automobile in msia….w/ot P1 digiman can get a nice Honda/toyota at d same price = same monthly installment but wt better quality & safety features…..take a look of Labuan/Langkawi car prices.

• digiman (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 1:25 am

dzat46: agree with what you said, i could, but then again, i might not because that kind of price on Honda / Toyota never existed so we never know.. back then if Proton never existed, G might still impose crazy arse taxes and fees to keep its "coffers happy.. you might just never know… this means the artificial prices (if thats what you want to call it) is only cause by one aspect.. there is many more other aspects the G can use to create the "artificial prices"… lets put it in this perspective.. i do what my pocket can do me best… like all malaysians… we do what we can, best, in our limited capabilities..

whats done been done.. i only believe in one thing.. the government has "created" a rough diamond.. just need to find the right diamond cutter…

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 1:29 am

Dun get me wrong man..i agree tat every1 has freedom in making decision of wat is best for themself…

People ar talking about THE FACT & PROBLEMS which hav been happened for so many yrs and we hav to be realistic here…

Those brilliant imaginative of "WHAT IF" statements will never happen in real life. Instead it would b perfect excuses for not progress and improve….since ppl will comment on every little effort they did wat.

but wait a minute…

it is true "effort" ?effort for quality product, driving experience, customer satisfaction and etc..??

would people's brain try to analyze and understand wat so called "slightly positve news"?does it MAKE SENSE to u?

afterall u still hav to be rational in making choice for ur truely trusted brand's vehicles…bcos is ur own money & life.

really look forward for the day when people(local and global) ar sincerely & happyly announced tat they got their dream good car frm P1…

good luck dude!:)

• digiman (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 1:32 am

dzat46.. just to add to your Labuan/Langkawi car prices.. this is another reason why Mofaz should be heading Proton… they use to be the top car sales man in Malaysia… and that is even before the AP stuffs… think about it.. mofaz has the experience to slug it out in the market competitively… also… how come Langkawi brought my mind to Mofaz? Mofaz holds the line to import cheap imports for foreign cars through Langkawi… Naza has been dying to get their hands on it…

again.. opposing to Paul's previous article on Mofaz.. i truly feel there is a potential for Mofaz to market the Proton cars.. and maybe we might end up with more CKD honda's vehicle as they hold the license to Honda in KL or PJ… and with a manufacturing plant like tanjung malim.. they might hold stronger negotiating power with Honda to market CKD Honda to SEA… and then.. comes cheaper honda for muah! hahaha

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 1:37 am

dream on then…*sigh

tat mus b a damn "big & good" rough diamond lor ;)

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 1:58 am

alamak, wat Paul had been questioned was about wats the point even u hav the best marketing plan for a bad product?…

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 3:00 am

I m ex- proton driver and i hate it a lot… now with my new myvi, i don care if proton live or die, sales up or down. anyone who wish to buy a new car… advise them not to buy proton. that's it. period. don care la if proton sales better than korean la, better than toyota la or even is the best selling car in the world la…. i just don care. cause the fact it is still not up to the world standard, i mean WORLD STANDARD!! so all those who question the basher y bash proton… is so stupid. tell me… y not? give me one good reason y not bash proton till it close down or even better die? i do not understand there r people who still believe in proton…

they mention want to annouce strategic partnership… choose … choose .. wait … wait… and finally Pak Lah have to voice out and wait to meet the VW.. come on man… our PM have to do this!!! i m a truely malaysian but if proton have to fail.. then let it be, cause i believe our PM have other more important things to worry about than our stupid proton.

gonggok – WHAT IF news-Proton best selling car in the world

Bashers- So what if pay toll still have to open the door!

to gonggok: if u buy a merz and try to pay toll by opening your door… pls do that and u tell me it is fun… even it is one of the best car of it's class…

• digiman (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 5:24 am

BettaSplendens.. lets take this on a marketing perspective… strategic marketing is to search for a needs and wants of the consumers and to further close the gap on these needs and wants.. when one has the best marketing… one can sell anything as long as there is a market for it.. and marketing is a mixture of 4 p's.. product price people and placement… i truly admit proton has gone wrong in 2 Ps… price and people… they have a product and placement.. but price and people is wrong…

one should not exclude marketing as a silo business.. it has its hands in every part of the business from manufacturing to customer services

think about this… why buy toshiba/ibm/hp/and etc when dell is cheaper? because each of this brand hits different market segment…

also why buy ipod when other brands of mp3 players can have the same quality?

so for proton… it has the whole segment screwed up… proton wants toyota/honda/nissan/merc/bmw/audi market.. .and what are they met with… a huge freaking cliff to climb… if proton were to be marketed to the low income segment in malaysia and other parts in SEA and to be compared to Chery / LMG / and any other low ended car brands… i don't think there will be any basher around… because our perception for proton are set by the likes of toyota / honda / merc / bmw…

NoToLowQuality: your question in why believe in proton? because without proton.. majority of us would still be living below the poverty line thats why… i am not a Proton vendor.. cause if i am.. no way am i driving a Gen2… just look for "multiplier effect" under economics subject.. and think of other GLC in the country providing that same effect…

As for pak lah stepping up into the discussion.. maybe VW wanna screw us around… giving us an offer which would put our economy in the hand of Europeans… then think Indonesia… don't want the country to end up like that…

• tanasi (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 6:05 am

Inevitably, Proton will be benchmarked against the best of the world. Believe it or not, a local company, with local boys running it, and with the numerous interference from politicians and cronies of the government, is still being compared with the best in the world. Toyota, Honda, BMW, Merc, the list goes on.

To some extent, it is not too bad a comparison. Especially for a product which incurs one of the biggest life investment the average lay Malaysian make in his lifetime.

But imagine, doing the same comparison for our contractors and developers who built our houses, our roads, our building (reminds me of the Putrajaya custom building), our government services, our cities, our rivers, our rainforest management, etc etc. I can't even fathom to make the slightest comparison.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 10:22 am

digiman said,

… just look for “multiplier effect” under economics subject.. and think of other GLC in the country providing that same effect…

———————

These P1 and other freaking GLCs is not create economic "multiplier effect" but create "domino effect" on our nation liability and damn suck tax payer monies!

• digiman (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 5:08 pm

i rest my case.. those who understand the intricate function of economics, they might understand what i mean… money are backed by debts… simple…

those who understand the intricate function of economics… the 4Ps does make a huge differences…

Joe Ooi.. you have your opinion.. i have mine… and if you really think our tax are being sucked… maybe i should also chase down the MatRempits and those Rice Boy car racers.. for taking up to much of our subsidized petrol.. also i might as well hunt down the Big CC cars' owner for using more subsidized petrol as compared to us minisculed CC's cars…

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 10:02 pm

Of course we know tat u understand ecomics well and i totally agree wiv the importanese of marketing,

The true basic formula/rules for those globally successful business ar:

Quality Product/Services + Branding/Marketing + Management(and etc). Marketing is part of of it but overemphasis and ignorant of the core elements is the reason y P1 still cant make it after 25 yrs.

tats y u heard ppl said is impossible to get a brand new 25yrs old Toyota unless u ar looking for P1 Saga in Malaysia.

Comsumer buy Ipod, Nike, Sony, Nokia & etc bcos of the QUALITY, DESIGN, SUPPORTING SERVICE & etc at the price tat they willing to pay for and feel worth it. People comparing P1 wiv Toyota, Honda, BMW and etc bcos they ar the main market players here…if not who else to compare to?

Oc u could compare to Chery/LMG, Mahindra and other china or indian cars.

Malaysian think P1 better, India & China ppl think their cars better..well every1 hav their own view….But India & Chia ar under rapid ecomic growth, dun b too surprise if their car achieve successfulness in global market in few yrs time to come. By then, who else u wan to compare to??basikal or beca?

Is not about who u compare to(local or oversea), is about the STANDARD u looking at. Lower income market segment doesnt mean they shall accept lousy product. "WHAT IF news-Proton best selling car in the world

Bashers- So what if pay toll still have to open the door!" Do u think a car hav to open window to pay toll would hav chanceto b world best selling? doesnt make sense..wat u try to said dude???

If got time, go findout how Toyota contribute to japan economy, visit Merz showroom to know y people hav to work hard, hav a test drive of Ford/Peugeot, or even attend oversea car exhibition…im sure u will learn smthing frm there.

Think outside the box, b open minded in this globalization time. Oc different people hav different opinion, mindset, believing and living philosophy. "Boleh tahan sudah", "Juara Kampung" attitude & protection policy will definately not going to help P1 in long run tats for sure. Time will prove everything and we jus hav to wait and see…

Meanwhile, b faithful in wat u belive in ur life man.

cheers :)

• digiman (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 10:41 pm

BettaSplendens.. point taken.. but you misinterpreted my comments along the way… so i won't comment on your latest…

but if you compare china, india, and malaysia… there is one big difference between the car markets in each respective market… china have billions of citizens.. take 30% of it to be a qualified car driver (just an assumption), china car maker would hit economy of scale… take india… mahindra and so on… take 30% of their market to be qualified car driver.. again they hit economies of scale… take malaysia for example… miniscule number… can't barely hit the economies of scale…

and yes.. i know toyota.. merc.. peugeot.. ford.. all have the kind of quality that reside in the higher rung of quality table.. but there is a price to it… totally agree with what you feel over here..

with globalization in mind.. who will benefit? all will…but the weaker power will have to go through hell to reach the benefits.. that is coming from Joseph Stiglitz.. the main man behind the idea of globalization.. who go on to condemn those who drive that idea now… think Indonesia and think myanmar/vietnam/philliphines (who has been going through globalization since i can remember anything)

and by the way.. with regards to the overemphasis on marketing and disregarding the core elements…i don't think that is the major issue… emphasising on the basis of total marketing is looking from the start to the end of a car production and sale… what i see in Proton movement since inception is this…. when they 1st started out.. it emphasizes on its production level… they got there… but they missed out on the delivery of the finished goods to consumers… which is what they have been missing all this while… and like you said… give them time… which i also believe time will tell how proton will make out in time…

all i am just sayin is this… proton missed out on a top leader… and enter the current CEO… previous experience… manufacturing!! oh my gawd!! haven't they have enough of that!? what they need is a man with vision and understands the consumers… and top it up with that.. previous seat in Perodua… i bet the daihatsu partner has more say in everything than the the perodua auto corporation has.. maybe they can get someone like carlos ghosn.. hhmm i wonder where do i apply… muah hahaha

by the way. i felt that Proton was just unlucky to have mitsu as their partner then…

PS: my comment previously is actually berating proton.. for being to blind to see what they need… and for improving on things that are no longer required…

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 11:06 pm

no worry man, my comments were never pointed to any particular party here ;) jus some generic thought.

afterall, nobody here would bother to giv positive or negative comments if it isnt our malaysia national car.

Proton boleeeeeh lar.

• digiman (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 11:09 pm

cheerio

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 12:34 am

Joe Ooi.. you have your opinion.. i have mine… and if you really think our tax are being sucked… maybe i should also chase down the MatRempits and those Rice Boy car racers.. for taking up to much of our subsidized petrol.. also i might as well hunt down the Big CC cars’ owner for using more subsidized petrol as compared to us minisculed CC’s cars…

——————-

What you mentioned is the effects of multiplier effects in the economy. So you don't need to chase them down. You even don't need to chase down these "domino effects" P1. But just do a plain and exercise our consumer rights: –

STOP THE BUYING, STOP THE SUCKING!

P1 is an entity that is freaking not patriotic and do not have corporate social responsibilities at all toward its citizen and consumers despite huge amount of tax payers money being pump in, sacrifice bening make by consumers and the prohibitive tax under NAP. Worst, churn out low quality, unsafe yet relatively high price stone age milo tin on the wheel that make consumers life cheapor on the road!

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 4:55 am

digiman : your question in why believe in proton? because without proton.. majority of us would still be living below the poverty line thats why.

i think this is the insane answer given to me and i feel insulted as Malaysian when u tell us that we r lucky to have proton as proton save us from poverty. non of our politicain dare to tell us this… i think u better study more of our malaysia history how malaysia can grow to where she is now…

that's the main reason stupid people like u exists driving proton and believe in proton.. do keep believe in it… i hope your door is fine from day one and u don have to open your booth with your key.

• digiman (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 4:53 pm

Joe Ooi.. point taken… if i stop the buying.. what am i left with? mini arse compact cars from naza? perodua? kap cai? hell no.. i bet you know the condition of our public transport here in malaysia.. hell hole!.. no offence to those who takes public transport regularly.. but like you proton commentors out there.. you standard of great cars are set by honda and likes.. my standard of public transport are set by singapore and australia…

NoToLowQuality: Lets start with history… malaysia use to be an agricultural base economy no? with all the mining of tin and the land used for paddy field, and fisheries.. you can't say that our port service provide substantial amount of money to the economy then (before proton) as Singapore was downright kicking our arse in that area… agriculturally, indonesia and thailand are giving us a 2 vs 1 wrestling match…

then the industrial era comes in… of course not headed by proton then.. but without proton and the likes of other GLC then.. do you think our industrial era will leap to what it is today?

back then.. before proton.. we are truly leaving on stipends.. think.. if we are still on agri base.. we will be living like philippines.. or even Indonesia…

yes i hate proton for driving up the car prices… but i do know for sure of their effect in the economy… without them… we will all be farmers…

look.. i am not talking about proton in general… what i am saying is that companies like proton… if proton don't exist.. i am sure the G will come up with something to help leap frog the industrial era back then if the Proton idea never materialise…

and don't go around calling other stupid for their comments… i have my freedom of speech… so do you.. but the only stupid one here is the current Proton management team and maybe even you…

yes my door is fine.. and no i don't need to open my door to pay toll.. and to add to it… no breakdown.. so not everybody is going through this pain… so don't try to generalise it like proton is floating the market is bad arse cars.. it like you are saying all nokia phone is crap because the model you bought screwed up on the 1st day… think about it…

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:45 pm

Some ppl like to live in kampung while some others prefer modern city, everyone has their own perspective and living philosphy, even it might seem illogical and stupid to the others. No need to bother as long as they feel happy about it.. jus let it be lor.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 12:16 am

digiman: yes i hate proton for driving up the car prices… but i do know for sure of their effect in the economy… without them… we will all be farmers…

i guess proton have successfully brain wash people like digiman.. we will be farmers without proton.. ai yo..

if malaysian depends on proton to progress, by now we will be worst than farmers. lucky thing we have other better resources – PEOPLE!

u feel lucky bcos we r not like Indonesia, myanmar, vietnam, philliphines or even the whole africa. that's the thinking of digiman… but most of us will not stop till we reach the standard like the UK, Singapore, Aus, Taiwan, Korea, Japs or even further… so u think u r satisfied cos we have surpass Indonesia, myanmar, vietnam, philliphines.. that's u. i m not cause i like to keep improving…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 8:08 am

digiman said,

April 20, 2007 @ 8:53 am

Joe Ooi.. point taken… if i stop the buying.. what am i left with? mini arse compact cars from naza? perodua? kap cai? hell no.. i

—————

STOP THE BUYING, STOP THE SUCKING, log on below to see how many choice you have under AFTA free market with minimum tax: –

http://www.customs.gov.my/html/cbu2006warta.htm

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 7:13 pm

All Malaysian should bow and billions thanks to Proton!!

without it, we not onli will all be farmers but oso berbasikal and naik beca onli! teruk than Indo, Viet, Myma…..

lets pray to P1!

• kody (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 11:47 pm

wahlaueh…

everytimes talk about P1… then we will hav a lot to argue…

I got 1 info from my vendor which used to support P1. He said some of the quality check or buyoff machines were down for years (6yrs) but they never bother to repair it. They just plug & assembly & no buyoff… that's why we got a lot of problems car.

Why P1 quality sucks…. They are OEM & no one audit them… while P2 have alliances keep an eye on them to ensure they meet quality spec…

TUV audit just for P1 suppliers… major problems come from their own…