Perodua Viva to launch in May 2007

Perodua Viva

[ UPDATE: The Perodua Viva has been launched! Click here for full details on specifications and pricing, as well as many clear photos of both exterior and interior! ]

The Perodua Kancil and Perodua Kelisa have jointly raked in sales of about 700,000 units since 1994. As you all know, both models will be replaced this year with the eagerly awaited Perodua Viva.

We finally have an indication of the launch date – the Perodua Viva will be launched somewhere in May 2007 and will feature three engine options – 660cc, 850cc and 1,000cc. Price range is unknown, but some have indicated a price range of between under RM30,000 up to somewhere in the RM40,000 range for the highest spec 1.0 litre automatic model.

Perodua expects to sell 7,000 units a month of the new Perodua Viva, and is preparing about 2,000 to 3,000 units of stock in hand before launching. It would be interesting to note that the Perodua Myvi was originally launched with a sales target of 4,800 units a month, but actual sales shot rocket high, and after so long the Myvi still gets healthy sales of about 6,000 units a month average. Almost every fresh graduate or college student I know has the Myvi as their first choice of car, some even stretching loans up to 7 or 9 years just so they can afford the car.

As a recap, here are some of the previous posts covering the Perodua Viva. Check them out to view all the spyshots and juicy details previously posted about the car!

Perodua Viva Photos on Forum
Perodua Viva to be unveiled mid-2007
New Daihatsu Mira launched in Japan
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) sighted in Mines
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) spotted!
Kancil and Kelisa Replacements in first half 2007 (Perodua Viva)
Upcoming Perodua Kelisa replacement?
Could this be a Kancil Replacement Model?
New Perodua Kancil / Kelisa coming down our alley?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Tommy Peters (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 12:04 pm

Does anyone know the original models the Perodua range is drawn from?

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 12:51 pm

too many ppl bought Myvi/Savvy/Neo/Gen2 already in d past 2 yrs… so maybe the sales might be abit slower? but i aint no econimist… heh.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 12:52 pm

*economist, hehe….

• Tommy Peters (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 1:00 pm

The whole range – from the Kancil (Daihatsu Mira), Kenari (Daihatsu Move) to now, the Viva (Daihatsu ….?)

• Paul Tan on Apr 18, 2007 at 1:22 pm

the viva is based on a newer mira than the kancil mira

• StingRayINC (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 1:41 pm

The chassis design looks alright, but the wheels are ugly……

• muflis (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 1:43 pm

its daihatsu mira avy

• 20v_ke35 (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 4:48 pm

P2 can sell their product, if their come out with AERO, CUSTOM or RS version with the ORIGINAL model at the same time or sooner. But don't come out any thing like the MYVi SE Version. It just ugly (overkill).

BTW, still 660cc manual will be the most fuel effective car in Malaysia. It could sell.

• jazz1011 (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 4:59 pm

Looks futuristic a bit – at least from the rear.

But I kinda like the overall design. Compact yet "comforting".

Perodua should not have a problem with the sale of this car.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 5:32 pm

This I would see as another successful sell out. Other cars within the RM30-RM45K range would feel the pinch. Those who are looking for a car within this budget would most likely hold on to their purchases until this is released. No wonder Proton is rushing out to get rid of their Sagas.

• indigo (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 6:31 pm

Perodua = Daihatsu = Toytota

Kembara = Terios = Cami

Kancil = Mira = N/A

Kelisa = Mira again = N/A

Via = Mira again and again = N/A

Rusa = Hijet = N/A

MyVi = Boon = Passo

• Charger (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 7:17 pm

RM30k – RM40k for 1.0lt?

Siao!

• ab (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 7:30 pm

i'm sure its a good car, but with those mini rims it looks like a shopping trolley

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 7:34 pm

the wheels look not matching with the car size..

RM30k still expensive for this car… RM25k for 660cc is more reasonable..

• Infinitt (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 7:56 pm

If this is the price..still expensive for this kind of vehicle. Should be RM 24,500.00 hehe..

• Hikaru (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 7:58 pm

No qualms with the cars. But to be a best seller, safety in a small car that is affordable would be a very good selling point. Another thing is P2 should think of another name. Viva, meaning live or life in french (correct me if i am wrong) is just too cliche. Maybe puyoh sounds good ha ha ha….. seriously, Myvi is not that bad of a name. Kasturi? ha ha ha

• neurra (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 9:32 pm

that wheel arch + wheel size sucks big time.

• owaief (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 10:00 pm

the wheels look too small!!!!!! 1.0 crap for 40k…..

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 10:07 pm

i dont think proton are getting rid of their sagas at all. there is a several month waiting list now. that would mean the cars are new cars of the production line.

i suppose the lower income groups are feeling the pinch of the rising cost of everything around us today. so rm27k for a car makes it easier for them to afford one. better a car than a kapchai.

but more interestingly, dont you all think proton is playing a strategic game here?

launching the saga at rock bottom prices just before perodua are due to launch?

this will be something very interesting to watch unfold.

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 11:02 pm

Perodua is getting very good at this, launching models relevant to the average consumer, no doubt this model will dominate the market again, just like the Kancil.

• mofo (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 11:38 pm

Thanks Hazri, the picture looks more solid that spyshots. Design not bad, but doubt on 660c series whether it cause huge underpower due to the chasis.

Anyway they did another good job, im sure they will receive good respond on sales as providing another alternative/product range lower than Myvi.

Now Paul can change statement :

"All fresh graduate or college student I know has P2 as their first choice of car"

Just kd

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 18, 2007 at 11:48 pm

i hate the rear view! ughhh!…..i dont think that those wheels are great, they might hav put wheel covers! its damn ughley !! but might be using alloys for the 1000cc version.

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 12:01 am

i think to say that this product "will dominate the market again", is premature to say the least.

the kancil was so successful the 1st time round, it was in a totally different market environment. It used to be the cheapest car on the block, but today, that's not the case anymore.

will jsut have to wait and see… my guess is, its not going to make a bang like how the myvi did, thats for sure.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 12:06 am

i thought so too…….

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 12:23 am

why the badge is heavily covered when everybody know it is originally diahatsu?

• mofo (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 12:28 am

There's still potential buyers around. Not about rakyat dont have money to buy, just mayb we all too bored with P1 and P2 picking up the strength with all more competitive products.

I have faith with P2 will make good profits. P2 never forget about lower income family as how they start with their market strategy earlier.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 12:51 am

i heard that the 660cc gonna be RM33k… dunno if it true or not but if this the case then IMHO it's expensive… how come they price like that????maybe no more carb, adding ABS,EBD or whatever… but still if a car that's 660cc price more than RM30k then it's rediculous… and it's so small.. just my opinion… if what i heard is true lah..

last time i check, kancil 850cc (current model-manual) only around RM28k… hmmmm…

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 1:00 am

well is time for a kancil replacement model after so many yrs..

but still wonder when will the new Kembara replacement –Daihatsu Terios/Toyota Rush launch here? this might b the onli upcoming P2 model tat would bang louder than Myvi.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 1:33 am

The price of the lowest spec 660 without any ABS and airbags at 30K should be just right for perodua. I read somewhere that Kancil would be in production till 2008 or their stock yards are still full with it. So marketing wise, they would placed Viva as a model on top of Kancil/Kelisa, not as a replacement at the time being. It would be hard if the price of a Viva 660 is the same as a Kancil 660. Either Kancils won't sell at all or they will be forced to sell Kancil 660 at an even lower price (20K nett?).

So now they might just price the Viva 660 basic at the same level as Kancil 850. Once Kancils and Kelisas are all cleared, then I would think they might reduce the price for Viva.

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 1:41 am

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Daihatsu_Cuore…

ori diahatsu looks flat,

p2 gives a bit sense of bumper,

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 2:43 am

BettaSplendens said,

April 18, 2007 @ 5:00 pm

"well is time for a kancil replacement model after so many yrs..

but still wonder when will the new Kembara replacement –Daihatsu Terios/Toyota Rush launch here? this might b the onli upcoming P2 model tat would bang louder than Myvi."

it should be next year…. if the rumours is true loh…

• osh_kosh (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 2:45 am

BrakeFader said,

April 18, 2007 @ 5:33 pm

"The price of the lowest spec 660 without any ABS and airbags at 30K should be just right for perodua. I read somewhere that Kancil would be in production till 2008 or their stock yards are still full with it. So marketing wise, they would placed Viva as a model on top of Kancil/Kelisa, not as a replacement at the time being. It would be hard if the price of a Viva 660 is the same as a Kancil 660. Either Kancils won’t sell at all or they will be forced to sell Kancil 660 at an even lower price (20K nett?).

So now they might just price the Viva 660 basic at the same level as Kancil 850. Once Kancils and Kelisas are all cleared, then I would think they might reduce the price for Viva."

—> if that is the case then it's not really fair to consumer.. right :(

• Tommy Peters (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 4:01 am

#

indigo said,

April 18, 2007 @ 10:31 am

Kembara = Terios = Cami

Kancil = Mira = N/A

Rusa = Hijet = N/A

MyVi = Boon = Passo

Indi, thanks for the gist – I stand corrected but does someone have a detailed list as in :-

P. Kancil = Daihatsu Mira (? generation)

P. Kelisa = Daihatsu Mira (? generation)

P. Kenari = Daihatsu Move

P. Myvi = Toyota Passo

P. Kembara = Daihatsu Terios

P. Rusa = Daihatsu ??

P. Viva = Daihatsu ??

Does it look like we are engaging man hours discussing, albeit very durable and tarted up, 'imitations' ? – worse yet 'legal imitations' ? All those issuing imitations put your hands up. I've counted three. Perodua, Naza and Inokom.

Although, Proton makes four – while still dabbling in the Saga, Wira and Perdana, it makes one notice them doesn't it.

Shares battered and no one wants to partner but finally, since the advent of the Waja, the old P has been issuing originals haven't they, culminating in the Neo, a testy little brute I was told by a reliable source – with a body so stiff that its 1.3 base model had to be outfitted with rear discs in order handle the norths of 180.

Anyone knows the names of our local boys (or girls – I would not put gender past me) who designed the Waja, Gen2, Savvy & Neo respectively ? These totally different distinctive and 'original' endeavours are worth a discussion.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 6:21 am

great comment tommy peters!

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 6:27 am

If it is RM33k for 660c mini car, I will rather go to potong saga, at least it is 1.3L much bigger than mini kancil, even that saga is 20 years old, but I think people like always want bigger car. Maybe just get some used car with range RM33k. I hope perodua can put out the right price, maybe RM20k something for 660c.

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 6:29 am

Still, malaysia cars are ridiculous expensive. We are eager to get cheaper and back to normal loan time for 4 to 5 years instead of 7 to 9 years, which is crazy…

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 6:38 am

in uk, the price of fiat, toyata, suzuki is pretty the same as proton n perodua.at least 8000pounds……..thats roughly rm76000 in here!

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 11:19 am

Toyota Yaris (Vios) 1.5L in US is USD12k, which is RM41k in malaysia, which has similiar price compare to 1000cc mini kancil with airbag and abs.

• tishaban (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 12:15 pm

Again the complaints about high car prices which everyone knows and nobody in this forum can do anything about. Don't complain here, vote with your wallets and your actual votes in the next general election :-)

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 4:49 pm

It can't be denied that cars in Malaysia is one of the most expensive in the world to own despite having the cheapest toll, cheapest petrol, etc. etc. which was claimed by some people.

I would say 30K, should be quite alright. I doubt they would allow anything to go cheaper than a Proton Saga. But of course if Perodua does offer the basic model at a lower price, it is doing most people a good favour of owning a more affordable car. If not mistaken, when Kancil was launched more than 10 years ago, it was pretty expensive too with 850A going around RM35K?

I've got some friends who are planning to buy a new automatic car around 30-40K range. After hearing about this, they are holding their plans until they see the real Viva in flesh. Just hopefully Perodua has enough cars in stock during their launch to minimise the waiting list.

• myviRS (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 6:53 pm

indigo said,

April 18, 2007 @ 10:31 am

Kembara = Terios = Cami

Kancil = Mira = N/A

Rusa = Hijet = N/A

MyVi = Boon = Passo

hehe.. I think

Kelisa = Cuore = Sirion

but, correct me if I'm wrong anyway..

• avanza (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 6:57 pm

The Viva is based on the previous Mira, not the latest. I suppose Perodua is fearful that the latest Mira model will distract MyVi buyers.

• azrai (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 7:21 pm

I don't think it's gonna be a hit with that price list. Moreover Proton is aggresively cutting its price. People tend to buy cheaper product. Just look at VCDs. Even the original VCD only RM19.90, people will buy the pirated RM5. MyVi will eventually enjoy brisk sales for a longer period.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 7:21 pm

Hello MAN! Even the 660cc, 850cc and 1000cc are rumored to have DVVT DOHC 12V system. That is more better then the 1.3L SOHC 12V saga with caburater! I can bet the quality is more better then P1 coz of toyota quality control. They have outstanding engine and they can kick p1 ass easily. Look at their myvi and see.. I bet after new kancil rolled out, a lot of old kancil, saga and iswara will seen less on the roads replaced by Viva.. Even rm30k for a DVVT engine is worth if they save almost rm100 of fuel every month compare to saga.. just calculate.. Only smart people choose kancil.. that why their website say "smart like u" kancil Hahahah…. http://www.perodua.com.my/our_cars.php?sub_page=k…

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 7:36 pm

LittleFire85: True that Viva is light years ahead of the Saga in technical aspects. But when it comes to size with a proper boot, the Saga wins in terms of value. I guess it depends on what are your needs. For an average guy who needs a car that is practical for school/work, Viva would be a right choice. But for family who needs more space and a proper boot, Saga would be a better choice. Imagine if you are gonna pick up a relative from the airport with lots of luggage, obviously Saga with a proper boot would be better.

I wonder if they are gonna export this to the UK. Would be interesting to see what Jeremy Clarkson would have to say about this.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 10:09 pm

i think that J.C will think that it's soulless……..but its aint logical ain't it?

• hypermount (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 10:29 pm

Junk on wheels.

How is a 3-cylinder engine is better than a 4 cylinder engine..12 V 4 valves for each cylinder? Only a moron says it's better…being DOHC doesn't mean it's better, both cam configuration have their pros and cons…old carburetted engine is much more reliable than the current fuel injection system with less electronics and sensors that could fail in long term. …it's easy to con malaysians by being japanese or speak like one.

• dd (Member) on Apr 19, 2007 at 11:44 pm

there's email circulating around about perodua bego… anyone knows anything about it? viva looks cools, especially the front view… rear is a no no…

• Jake (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 12:56 am

..looking at hazri's pictures the car is more like myvi than the current kancil..quite nice, good looking.. but i tink p2 will penin coz it has the potential to canibalised myvi sales.. and giving massive competition to sub 40k cars..but cars below 29k now belongs to proton with the evergreen sagas.. what a smart move proton!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 3:12 am

Well hypermouth, you are right for a few but are you forgetting about The DVVT which is the same with toyota VVT-i system. And one more thing, if u went to shop shop, the caburated engine of saga now cost more then a injection engine! the caburated still using timing belt, while DVVT use chain drive. If you forgot to change the timing belt at 70k-100k/km, you can say bye bye to your engine.While timing chain can last long until 250k-300k/Km then change. So in term of parts, i don't think the sensor will cost thousands of ringgit? Even if it is faulty, you can still have your car warranty, if no more still can went to chop shops to get one.

When the engine is many the value drops, now in Japan everyone is using VVT-i, DVVT engine so the value is cheap in aftermarket. With caburated engine is worst to maintain after long run coz it cannot control the fuel injected, and the engine can easily choke and fill with carbon and sludge. If a engine well maintain and service it can run after 10-15 years no problem, have you saw a Toyota vehicle engine blowed by the road side or in the bengkel overhauled a lot? I can say less, very less. Even my mom's toyota 1.6 seg from 1996 until now still running good and silent. By that time after 15 years, the car i think already sell it or went into garage already.

If a family who have not enough budget, why not buy a secondhand Wira or any Japanese sedan (Toyota SEG 93-95), is cost half the price of the new saga anyway.. for year 1996-2000 wira, at that price you can get 1.5, 1.6 and lucky can even get 1.8 wira. Wira are even more better then the saga in term of body,comfort and performance.. Wira are even better since you say caburated engine are good why not take the 1.5L SOHC 12V engine is very powerful compare to 1.3L saga, right? While the 1.6L & 1.8L are SOHC 16V EFI engine, even better have injection and 16V. And you still can get loan for these cars yet.. People must move forward.. not backwards. That why old people say "Cheap value come with cheap quality, you pay what you get."

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 3:25 am

if u went to shop shop, the caburated engine of saga now cost more then a injection engine!

The "shop shop is" actually chop shop, Kedai potong, or second-hand part shop. Sorry.

Anywayz 3 cylinder are good in acceleration, while 4 cylinder is good in high cruising. In a kancil, mostly are used in city driving so they need good acceleration engine. 3 cylinder engine also are more light weight and can be good for the car power to weight ratio. I have a kancil modified to 16v DOHC L502 engine, so i know the difference.

The powerband of the engine are different, 3 cylinder engine get more torque and hp faster at lower RPM compare to 4 cylinder, but 4 cylinder win it coz the toque band is wider and longer. So it is suitable for high speed cruising. You can test a V6 engine with a 4 cylinder engine then you will know..

DOHC and SOHC also determines the engine HP and torque. With DOHC you can gain more HP then SOHC engine. While SOHC engine can get more torque at lower RPM compare to DOHC engine.. If you want to know more search wikipedia or www.howstuffworks.com . These website help me a lot in research.

• fthni (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:50 pm

well, the design doesn't catch my eyes….

• alvin (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 2:59 pm

LittleFire85, No one can never test drive a V6 with 4 cylinder simply because V6 is not available in 4 cylinder. As the name suggests, V6 is a 6 cylinder engine configured in a V-shape.

Pls check your facts properly before posting.

BTW, it is wrong to say that Saga is better or worse than current Perodua cars. Each has its advantages. Saga even though low-tech, maintainence is very much cheaper than a kancil. Fuel economy also matches new car with its capacity. Kelisa on the other hand is easy to park and manouever.

Believe it or not, a 1.0 Auto kelisa consumes much fuel than a 1.3 manual saga. So stop arguing.

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 22, 2007 at 4:54 am

in my humble old school opinion,

at simmilar cc, 4 vs 6 clyinder,

the 6 of course smoother, higher frequency of power pulse lead to a batter power delivery,

but 6 clyinder it'd be longer in line form, or wider in 6 and of course heavier, add to additional moving part and friction,

theres pros and cons and economic factor to taken into consideration,

regardless the vvt technology (old school tech)

, dohc and sohc if both are 16 valve might perform the same,same power curve. only if sohc 2valve / clyinder, then a good low end it has,

but i belive dohc old school or todays h.tech .the idea is to reduce mechanical load / stress is good for racy application

• BW (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 7:12 am

Paul Tan, i hope you read this, have you ever seen this video from Youtube? Here is the link… It's about Perodua Kelisa… Ignore this msg if u have seen this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IB-uiG5nKic

• mejoh (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 9:08 pm

hi veryone,

if u all want to know, yes i also heard that they will release a new model this may. not kancil, but kelisa replacement model. now the some of their staff are in desaru for testing the model until tomorrow. try to find them if you all can. They stay in the resort…

• hey i think its kinda cool having tis car at home.well dats prbably becuz im gonna hav one soon.but not very sure of the colour. only 4 choices for 660cc. which one looks gorgeous?and i hate the colour of the bumper-grey. they look oh-so-cheap!cant find one to match it up.urghh.help needed!