New Proton GEN2 Sedan Spotted!

Proton GEN2 Sedan

Reader acbc wrote in with these photos of the upcoming Proton GEN2 Sedan on road tests! It doesn’t look very much different other than the fact that it’s a GEN2 with a proper sedan boot tacked on to it, but of course this is not the final production model so we might see some changes here and there as a mid-life facelift. It looks very similiar to the 3D renderings posted in March. If you look closely at the front grille – is that a copy of Honda’s new floating grille design I see?

Photos also do not tell us what’s under the hood, so we might see the introduction of a Campro engine with the recently announced Variable Intake Geometry system developed by Bosch for Campro. These photos also do not tell us of the interior, which might have been improved, like how the Proton Savvy Facelift has improved on the interior with a more suitable color scheme. Or a glovebox might have been added.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DtG (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 3:38 am

Wow… quite surprising… But I wonder if its really needed. The Waja is quite good already if compared with the Gen-2's standards…

• jasonlow (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 3:39 am

wow.. not bad at all~

• DtG (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 3:40 am

Oh, and Proton really suck at concealing the car's appearance. Either that or they wanted some attention…

• DtG (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 3:43 am

btw, isn't it the same as the one which was shown here earlier in a 3d image?

• stephen_ksf (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 3:56 am

well…it's about time….to be spotted…

yalo…almost the same as the 3D image

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 4:01 am

not bad

• ilmondo (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 4:32 am

surpising!! another 4 door saloon.. its fine.. but it needs to hav a clearer gap between a gen2 and a waja, if not, u r fighting urself lar.. we r not like merc, e-class(sedan) + cls(4 door coupe). since gen2 is replacing wira, y not make it more affordable, maybe like malaysian vios or city, we(rakyat) needs budget cars. n waja can b left 2 compete wit makes like civic, focus, corolla. juz my thought lar.. gen2 shuld b placed around 45++k region, then waja +-50—->60k region.. savvy and savvy based sedan (small budget city car)shuld b even lower, maybe bout 30++k. lets look at how giant car manufacturer cut cost, sharing platforms, parts.. ford+volvo+jaguar, nissan+renault+samsung, or like stream+civic+crv, hilux+innova+fortuner… at d end of d day, who sells more car n make more profit wins.. u hav d advantage proton, u r on ur homeground, n u hav lotus handling tat makes it even more charming.. i know u r making an effort, but understand d outcome.

goodluck proton. if u do suceed, rakyat wil love u!! malaysia boleh.

• ilmondo (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 4:34 am

how bout nicer gen2-like nose on a new waja.. photoshop, anyone?

• infinity (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 4:44 am

well, i c tat proton is trying to rectify all the models in their line-up..started with the facelifted savvy and waja, which many claim it have much better interior quality…next up is gen2sedan..i think tat the current gen2(hatchback) will also be "upgraded"..a glove box perhaps..and hopefully better interior quality…next is the BLM…but will this gen2 sedan be caniballised by the BLM??i wonder…

• familyman (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 4:50 am

argghh no wonder they are clearing up the old stockss

rm 700 downpayment for gen3 fully loaded with leather seat.

hopefully they will do away with the cheapo plastic..

• myviRS (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:02 am

Hope for some improvement on the passanger's head room.. Current Gen2 cannot tahan loh..

• gtmaniac (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:08 am

Now that we've got the sedan – Gen2s are supposed to be the Wira Replacement Models (WRM – remember?). It's a good time to replace the dying wiras..

In term of pricing, it will be a challenging task – if they put it too high, it will compete with Waja; if they put it too low, it will compete with Wira Sedan. How?

Are they going to offer them in 1.3 also – like the current hatch?

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:19 am

hope for more headroom, 170cm alredy hit the roof before the seat is quite troublesome

• engtaokia (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:32 am

hopefully there is no alfa romeo rims for the Gen Too sedan.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:32 am

Wow! They actually make it! They should really do more about the rear headroom. From the pics, it slopes too much looking similar to the original Gen2 hatcback. About the disguising, what for? Everybody knows from the shape that its a Gen2.

I think they should just drop the Wiras completely and let Gen2 and Gen2 sedan as a mid range product below Waja. BTW, most of the time Sedans are cheaper than its hatchback version. So I guess it would be cheaper than the current Gen2 hatch by a couple of K.

• ab (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:34 am

I've rented a Gen-2 1.3 lauto last year and i must say, apart from the good handling n engine which is very revvy for a 1.3, there are no plus point about this car. The dashboard is cheap, the rear seats are mounted too low, the gearbox and the engine doesn't match properly, the rear boot is too heavy for a human to close and cassette player???… I can only hope, since the sedan is in its development stage, that a proton engineer will read this and rectify em!

• infinity (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:35 am

has this gen2 sedan got anything to do with the "free 1st 3months installment" for wira??clearing stock perhaps…

i heard that the BLM will be launched during merdeka…wat bout this gen2 sedan?

• chanel (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:44 am

BLM is reffering to what..? pls comment….

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 6:06 am

nice.same with the photoshop pics that have been posted.quite surprusing actually.

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 6:24 am

The sedan still using that gen2 ugly rear light, hope they going to change the rear light and also redesign and replace the ugly interior…

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 6:26 am

But I do feel that it will be more dissapointment rather than improvement…

It always happen on potong….especially exterior and interior design problem…Let wait and see…

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 6:33 am

my feeling says that the interior is still the same but with different colours…….

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 6:35 am

No big deal if the boot only increase but the cabin size is still the same!

• khimfoh (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 7:00 am

Possible replacement for the aging Wira perhaps ?

• El Goodoo (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 7:05 am

Hi Paul, i went to tanjung malim plant the other day (some technical issue over there)… went to the manufacturing plant for gen2 and savvy. in one secluded area… i saw a few silver coloured gen2 with the emblem "CPS 1.6" at the back.. and it's a right hand drive, with a different sets of rms… interior was all dark grey/black…tried to take picture of it… but it was quite dark… and not so clear.. plus my camera phone doesn't have a flash… but at least i'm pretty sure that the CPS version coming soon.

• avanza (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 7:09 am

Proton should dump the 6-year-old Waja and push this instead. It makes more economical sense to have the Gen2 hatch and sedan rather than a totally different model for a sedan. This will definitely streamline their suppliers as well.

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 7:11 am

Wow, this came as a total surprise! The car looks good on the outside, let's hope the interior is upgraded and has more quality to it. Those hoping for more space inside, haha, just eat your heart out la, not much you can do when the exterior shell's fixed, it'll still be cramped and your head will still kiss the ceiling when crossing humps.

• infinity (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 8:00 am

i think there's improvement in the rear headroom..i compared the picture with the current gen2, the slope of the rear window (or watever u call tat piece of glass) is of higher gradient than the current gen2, which means that the rear headroom should be larger…

avanza,

yes, waja should be replaced, but not by this gen2 sedan..gen2should be at the level of vios and city (in terms of size) while waja should be at the level of civic and altis…

chanel,

BLM is the upcoming proton model replacing the saga…i suppose BLM stands for Basic Line Model…

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 8:26 am

Is that all they can manage? SAD.

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 9:10 am

not to mention cam profiling,

but the variable intake hopely flatten the torque graph a bit ,

for responsive normal driving,

• e-nabilll (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 9:19 am

this is an odd thing …it should have rectified the low roof issue for rear occupants…or thy may have put the rear seats abit lower??

it jus looks too much like the std gen2….atleast restyle both bumpers,it should be distinguashible …anyway i hope those pics are early prototypes rather than near finshed product…bt lets not judge the rear and the interior til we see it

• fastcx (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 10:44 am

Guys, did u see the rear door is actually longer? which means rear legroom should b better, n headroom hopefully is better, looking forward for this car

• ingolstadt (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 10:54 am

WHY CAN'T PROTON LAUNCH SOMETHING PEOPLE WANT?

Urgent in need by Malaysians:

That'll be

Savvy (Too recent, costly to stop)

New cheap sedan / Localized version of Chevy Aveo Sedan (Since Proton say they have MOU with GM)

Gen2 Hatch/Gen2 Sedan (Already done what to do? )

Neo / GTi (With Ralliart ties since Proton claim they have MOU with Mitsubishi)

Waja / Waja platform MPV using extended chassis of Waja with 7 seats to fight hugely growing 7 seater market

Coupe / Hopefully a localized Peugeot 406 Coupe (Since Proton claim they also have MOU in progress with PUG)

New Flagship / Hopefully a localized Skoda Superb (Since Proton claim they have lagi ada MOU in progress with VAG)

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 11:26 am

i think its ok that they launch a Gen2 hatchback, its normal to hv a sedan version of a hatchback, Golf/Focus has it too.. but im wondering, maybe they shld've used the Neo's platform which, correct me if im wrong, is different from the Gen2's..

also hope that the headroom's improved, tho i still see d roof archin at the same angle as the Gen2..

hmmm but this is SO gona eat into Waja's pie… so maybe time to replace waja/perdana with a car about d size of civic and price it at least 15k more that the equivelant Gen2 sedan.. no?

• w_lighter (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 2:06 pm

Another car without a soul…. sigh

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 2:29 pm

if u want a car with soul, go get a TVR or sumthin… hehe.. no?

• azrai (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 3:35 pm

This Gen2 sedan look proportianed at the rear and front compare with current Gen2. Maybe Waja will continue its legacy in Chancellor form only. I think it's a bad move to have same segment in same market which is too small. Here what Mofaz can lend their hand,:-"marketing".Hahaha.

• ed0r (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 3:55 pm

engtaokia said,

April 19, 2007 @ 9:32 pm

hopefully there is no alfa romeo rims for the Gen Too sedan.

from the looks in the pix, i guess that's the same 'kuih keria' rims (err it doesn't look like alfa's, does it?) lol

Sorry dood I guess this time proton has dissappointed you again lol

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 4:35 pm

I am surprise to see this new gen2 sedan with variable intake, better compare the campro without variable intake with the campro with variable intake, is that really big improvement of campro of lack of torque.

I am surprise to see what the interior looks like, is that more dissapointment or more exciting, I think most of the time, potong gave us dissapointment…

Just wait and see…

• e-by (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 4:45 pm

The success of this model very large dependant on the pricing.

This model will come with 2 variant, one with normal Campro and another one with CPS plus totally new EMS and also new gearbox. Launch – June or maybe July

Lets hope Proton will price the car below RM50K.

• moha774 (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 4:48 pm

About time….but if only they fitted the front bumper with the type that is fitted on Gen2 MME edition…it would look sportier and nicer..and if only they could re-style the brake light cluster's shape at the back….try make it like Camry rear light…so nice to see yet looks sporty

• Infinitt (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:21 pm

Hmm…looks good. Wait n see on the launching day.

• mr. proton (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:24 pm

guys.. wait n c.. this time proton is going to take back their right place from cut n paste perodua box car… watch out perodua.. proton is back…. again….

• mr. proton (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:28 pm

jus wait n c. proton gonna kill perdua… proton //prove to your blinding bashers they all wrong.

• 20v_ke35 (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:41 pm

Good job there. Now remember this,

PUT A LARGER REAR AND FRONT LIGHT.

Something like NEO, but bigger.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:41 pm

mr proton, i thk u r a bit optimistic. i don't think gen-2 sedan can be a big impact for Perodua. Consumers nowaday are more clever now, they are not just obsess by the exterior look and the inner beauty of the car is also a main consideration in their buying criteria.

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:52 pm

haha…cant stop laughing… :D

another excellent "Boleh Tahan" car frm P1..wonder how many stupid malaysian will get trapped again this time?

P1 ru betul-betul boleeeeeeeeeeeeeh!

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 11:19 pm

BettaSplendens, many people buy the cars they do because that is the most that they can afford.

Also, protons have served millions of malaysians faithfully for so many years now. Regardless of quality issues, i believe the cars are still generally very reliable and serve their intended purpose.

dont tell me you have no friends, or family who own a proton? are you calling them "stupid"? think first before you say anything.

red devil, if this sedan is priced close to the myvi, i believe it can make an impact on their sales. I mean we can say all we want about the "internal size" of the myvi, but end of the day, it has small luggage space. Whats the point of carrying 5 people in your car comfortably, when you cant carry enough luggage space for those 5 people, on a 3day 2 night trip for example?

some people still want a boot.

at least the local auto industry is starting to a lot more interesting now. we will have to wait and see what happens..

• infinity (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 11:23 pm

totally agree with hondadriver!!!

at the end of the day, a sedan is still a sedan and a k-car is still a k-car..

• thow (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 11:52 pm

Can this sedan beat the new Toyota Vios(Belta)???

• mr. proton (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 12:02 am

u rite honda driver. red devil juz one of blider basher. they barking every day. juz wait la red devil the people will judge this car. not the bashers…. proton ignore the stupid bashers/…

• mr. proton (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 12:03 am

betta splendens how cud u called the proton buyer stupid.. u r d one who stupid.. myb u r rich man. so u didnt buy proton. make ur own car la

• Infinitt (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 12:18 am

Dont ever called who owns Proton stupid man..see around you first..at least your friends but y not your family also.? haha..dont be so stoopid..or really u so stoopid..

• 20v_ke35 (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 12:59 am

oh, forget one thing… want to sell this u must put some steriod to ur body. alot of it.!!!!

• infinity (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 1:52 am

like i said earlier,

at the end of the day, a sedan is still a sedan and a k-car is still a k-car..

and

a BASHER is still a BASHER…

i find tat ppl tend to be very unconstructive these days…

BettaSplendens,

dun forget that the owner of this blog, also drives a proton(his 2nd proton)…so, if he's stupid, u would be more stupid for reading his blog…

• timber8115 (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 2:05 am

i would say this is a big leap for proton to introduce new models. I am very optimistics about proton future as it will survive somehow. Believe in them. I realise that they are now wake up from their dreams… Instead of living with it, prove it… Proton, show malaysians that you are as brave as a tiger to show malaysians you can do it..

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 2:09 am

apologize for the wrong words tat hurt some ppl's feeling…

the point here is the whole nation hav been wasting too much of time(25 yrs), money(price at its quality and import tax) & even sacrificed life(safety issue) for the build up of this nation's pride product…lets hope for a better future for P1.

• ganz (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 2:35 am

it all affordable..

rm26,999 selling like a hot cake..

people really need car..

• dawgHause (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 4:54 am

ho hum

just a gen 2 with its rear streched for good measure.

hope it gets rid of the detestable waja or the hateful iswaras.

• happymeal (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 5:04 am

im more interested in tthe development of this engine than that weird extended rear end. so much speculation on the engine. if the rumour new EMS, VIM and CPS system really are included (plus great tuning and calibration), it will certainly make the engine livelier. hope the new VIM wont echo as the aluminium counterpart too… waah.. best..

plus.. grey interior again?!?!?!? i tot the current black and beige gen2 looks really good compared to the brown and beige of the waja. please not grey… industrial PVC stuff.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 5:30 am

hopefully it has a newly redesign engine, cam profile for exact…..

• infinity (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 5:33 am

the few differences i noticed in these pictures (besides the obvious elongated boot and grill)…

1. the radio antena at the rear of the roof instead of at the front of the roof in current gen2.

2. something different at the air intake below the number plate..

3. there is a note at the sun shade of the driver and passenger..normally i c these notes in cars with airbags…

4. the front and back is painted black…hahahha…jk…..

• normaluser (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 6:27 am

I'm dissapointed to see the smallish front headlights, overstyled rear lights & inverted wau grille are the same as the gen2 hatch. Why can't they restyle a bit on the lights & grille.. at least widen the headlights ala neo & change the grille to something VW-ish.

Wonder how the interior looks like. Hope they come up with something totally new, more ergonomic dash with higher quality materials.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 6:33 am

I'm a strong fan of Gen2, but do we really need a saloon Gen2????

Proton oh Proton!!! Pathetic……..

• haroldz (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 6:45 am

i think no engine change, too expensive to make…

at least d styling change a bit..

make it OK OK lar…

hm, mayb they r oso reading tis blog

• encik98 (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 6:46 am

My humble suggestions (then I might buy, maybe):

FIX THE DASHBOARD!!! So many different parts, so much rattling, looks like 10 different designers (From 10 different companies, not all in the car industry) worked on it…

Hopefully, we'll finally get a Campro engine with cam profiling…

Or at least an 'off the shelf' Gen2 with NGV maybe? I wouldn't mind with petrol prices rising…

Make the radio come with iPod integration standard.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 7:26 am

hondadriver said,

April 20, 2007 @ 3:19 pm

Also, protons have served millions of malaysians faithfully for so many years now.

———————–

Ooops ……. just rewording your statement to reflect the right perspective: –

Also, millions of Malaysians have served Proton faithfully for so many years now.

Despite billion of RM of tax payer money pour in for the last 20 ++ years, paid patriotic crap NAP tax, P1 still churn out sub-standard, high price yet unsafety car that make users life cheapor on the road.

Just to repeat one more time, crap power window that need to open door when pay roll!

hondadriver, are you part of cronies vendor or work with them that you are always wonder on Proton bashers. Are you too scare of quality component is the requirement of the future that may "put sand into your rice bow"!

• dd (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 5:15 pm

nice la, but what will happen to waja then? all gona kusut masai la… interferring with each other…

• claxxion (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 7:38 pm

Nice colour for a gen.2…

Put in new set of rims, and better supporting seats, at least..

• ccy (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 10:21 pm

Current gen2d looks not very nice at exterior.

The back is very high and the font head looks very low….. and the front head lamp's looks weird for me.

The new hatchback gen 2 spotted looks better i think. But i think thisday most of the new car tends to look more muscular on the exterior….

Not sure whether they could add in some stream line or make some changes on the surface modeling.

But what i not REALLY don't like most about the current gen2 on the market is THE FRONT LAMP PROFILE/SHAPE & also the side view looks not balance, front head is quite low, just like KIA SPECTRA…. maybe they could change it a bit more FATTY at the front, just my opinion only :)

• narrowband (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 10:24 pm

But why…. why do we need a sedan Gen-2.. The current Gen-2 looks nice already.

I can almost imagine our new KL taxis using this sedan gen-2…

• ccy (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 10:30 pm

And also, current waja looks more terrible and weird especially the front grill…. eaiaakkkkkk…..

why need to looks different on a model which already run for so many years???

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 22, 2007 at 12:11 am

waja facelifted, ( according car-ology ) its is an indication of to be phased out,

g2 sedan taking place of midsize sedan.

justa guess, waja will grow up to seven seater segment,

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 22, 2007 at 2:22 am

i think it's rather pointless to have a GEN.2 sedan, but malaysians love sedans… oh well :P

• Malaysia BoXXX (Member) on Apr 22, 2007 at 3:51 am

Are they coming out with WAJA hatchback ?

No matter what, it's still Frankenstein parts joint together…

• thow (Member) on Apr 22, 2007 at 4:09 am

Saw this sedan(same as picture above) heading toward Proton Shah Alam. Generally it looks not bad.When will it be launch ar?

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Apr 22, 2007 at 4:11 am

I guess that proton bashers are there for a reason. You can't help it if one gets frustrated at a certain product. This is what i personally think. Has been like two decades since the first car rolled out. Disappointing issue is.. it just seems that Proton is taking too long to grow despite all the benefits it's getting. Launching a Gen-2 Sedan just seems like some lazy job(even though it isnt). What next? A two door gen-2? Seems like there's this trend of sorts. Was wayyy worse last time. Uve got the wira, putra, satria, arena.. ALL having the same front profile. It's just an impression we get. Besides, production still seems abit shabby. I have perception that Proton knows that we WILL still buy their cars because they are cheap, and they're just not giving full attention to little details like the fittings of each component. Just as long as it fits, its fine.

• DG (Member) on Apr 22, 2007 at 6:32 am

Well…. side looks like the old perdana to me…. back a old gen-2 and front grill abit like waja mix…. very chop chop car to me….yuzkkkss…hehe….

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 22, 2007 at 7:57 am

waja was supposed to hav an estate, coupe and mpv version… but no news :(

2-door gen.2 = satria neo ;)

• raptorclans (Member) on Apr 22, 2007 at 8:00 am

if u look carefully, those are really thick rear pillars ;p

• infinity (Member) on Apr 22, 2007 at 8:08 am

cant really c the rear pillars la..sunlight reflection too strong…

• cratzelogy (Member) on Apr 22, 2007 at 8:51 pm

personally i think Proton will not even make any exterior changes frm this design at all. So ladies and gentlemen, u can consider this as proton end result.. but then still need a waiting list for the QC parts to kick in.

Raptorclans, we all know the market needs waja-estate, waja-coupe, or waja-mpv but with all the same front lamps, rear lamps, bumper design… would u buy? I still sees Proton technology still freeze @ the old age of wira-satria, wira-arena, wira-putra, wira-estate(terminated)… wira-wat-e-va.

What will make me buy this car…

1) good quality parts that works.

2)4-wheel-drive system, that works and reliable

3)bigger wheels, better exterior & interior… that works

4)i dont want to bore u guys… the list is long.

• aksMs (Member) on Apr 22, 2007 at 8:51 pm

Paul, a bit out of topic here but it still is about Proton. It was said that, Satria Neo for UK market has the 1.4 litre engine besides the 1.6 litre that we have. 1.4? I didn't know that this engine exist in Proton's line up. Do you know anything about it? And it also said that Satria Neo UK will come with this anti-submarine seat – "The anti-submarine seat prevents the occupant pelvis from slipping forward during a collision." Whoa! Why didn't I hear that in a local Neo?

• BW (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 2:17 am

Wow… 1st the 3d images now the real thing come out already… Kinda nice though… But Proton PLEEEAAASSSEEE, improve your quality…

• silverfish (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 5:01 am

Sorry. The Gen 2 wasn't a very good car. Adding a boot isn't going to make it any better. And build quality is just ONE of its problems.

Watch it fail.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 5:46 am

still the same old gen2……..but with minor improvements i guess……

• BW (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 7:00 am

Oh yea… And i spotted they put up more head room behind… Compare the old gen 2 to the sedan one, see the back door difference…

Just hope that Proton will just improve on their built quality for goodness sake…

• mr. proton (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 4:06 pm

c'mon la u guys. always talking bullshit. juz wait 4 the final product. malaysian people love sedan.. wat the prob. besides.. of coz proton change the interior. if u hate it jus shut ur big mouth…

• shaif (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 4:08 pm

Let it roll first in the showroom and then we talking business..bash kaw-kaw…

• waimak (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 5:01 pm

1. What's the name of this new model, Gen2 Sedan, just like that?

2. No point introducing new model but people keep complaining about the quality, i.e. after 2 months, some parts are loose or the some electrical disfunction – typical.

3. A sedan is a sedan, but not much exterior difference from the old Gen2 i see. Is this to replace Waja, so what's the cabin space like?

4. Practicallity is 'out' in the old Gen2, put the driver in odd position in terms of driving and using the buttons/ gadget etc. So anything new here?

5. Campro engine should not be introduced just yet unless it really works and to the benefit of the owner/ driver.

6. Proton is still proton.

• mr. proton (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 5:59 pm

waimak.. u r jus blinding basher talking bullshit without concrete facts. wat do u know about d interior? dun u know b4 dis people complaint about a proper sedan n the answer is gen2 sedan. of kos they will rectify all the problems in current gen2. u know wat im d owner of satria neo. n the fact is the reliability n quality of the car was superb. beside, d blog's owner also have old satria n old perdana. so wat the heck wit u guys.. jus shut the hell up…

• mr. proton (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 6:04 pm

if they create a new sedan.. why they put the gen2 sedan's name. jus put a new name. for sure the front look originally gen2 hatch. so be smart when bashingh proton. even the mazda 3 also same front look with d 2 variants of hatchback n sedan

• waimak (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 6:26 pm

mr.proton,

You sound like you just own a proton. I suggest you keep quiet for 2 years and see whether what I said is true or not. I'm not bashing proton without a fact, I can give you a list of complaints. If you still dont believe me, try go to any forum. If you still dont believe it, then let's your car speak for itself.

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 6:51 pm

Just a reference link:

http://www.customs.gov.my/html/cbu2006warta.htm

• mr. proton (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 8:07 pm

bro.. there is no car in d world withou prob. look at honda and toyota. they spend a lot of year to produce a good car. our proton jus 20 years expect like it 200 years. fyi. my family owned 4 proton car included me. gen2, wira, satria, iswara. all of them jus giv minor prob. normal ma minor prob. why u never higlight other cars prob. cmon guys.. u all too skeptical. very typical malaysian with big mouth… proton.. ignore thse basher like them. but please buck up n prove to them what is a good car… hidup proton….

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 10:32 pm

"20 years expect like it 200 years"??

pls lar, dun talk bullshXt and act bodoh here ok??tak maru ke ru?

how to hidup & maju wiv this kind attitude & mentality???

childish betul…

• mr. proton (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 10:34 pm

at least mr bliiiink giv some request regarding on quality… c'mon la. if thats true after the launch of this product , all the same problem still occured u all can bash.. bash and wat so ever. ok. jus wait 4 the launch… this coming june. hope more earlier. b4 the cut n paste job perodua selling their copycat kancil.

• mr. proton (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 10:38 pm

betta splendens.. u look so full of angry with proton. why not u giv the reason why u so hate proton. do u own a proton car. dun barking if u dun hav one…

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 10:52 pm

well…u could said i love P1 too much 2..is up to ur own interpretation &

thinking isnt it?

Malaysia BoXXX said,

April 17, 2007 @ 8:22 pm

Any HONEST Malaysian driver will have the right to bash P1, unless there are hidden agenda behind….

i think this explained everything isnt it?

• mr. proton (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 11:30 pm

u wrong betta.. i dun have any agenda behind. jus to be fair to proton. u can bash for the mistake.. but why not support the good thing from them. me also angry when got problem. but when it comes to foreign car why there are no compalints or bashing. i.e honda or toyota. they also do the mistake… so what the heck

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 12:03 am

1st of all, ppl do comments on problems of foreign cars. pls go read those post properly n u will c there.

wat we got to realize is the RATIO of complaints/comments.

P1 got higher ratio simply reflects it has more problems faced by so many p1 drivers in malaysia.

Is FACT, It happened in real life and u got to face the true situation.

Is simply the cause & effect dude.

• Aril (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 1:15 am

Im not a fan of Gen2, im prefer Waja HLine Campro as i already tested it. But for now, well done to proton due their great job to still invented something even they had a huge of complaning from their own countryman. They are still lots to come like MPV and SUV and till that time, ppl who are not supportive their own product should be face to Sh*t. WELL DONE PROTON!!!!!!

• Aril (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 1:16 am

Im not a fan of Gen2, im prefer Waja HLine Campro as i already tested it. But for now, well done to proton due their great job to still invented something even they had a huge of complaning from their own countryman. They are still lots to come like MPV and SUV and till that time, ppl who are not supportive their own product should put their face to Sh*t. …………………..WELL DONE PROTON!!!!!!

• Aril (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 1:22 am

i must agree with my own country product. Like Korea, they didnt used foreign car, they are using their own.

• nizam80 (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 7:16 am

I know Proton sucks, but it's still made by Malaysians.

Engine made by Malaysians… (Gearbox belum lagi)

Car Body made and designed by Malaysians…

R & D by Malaysians…..

Bashed also by Malaysians…………..

• mr. proton (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 4:47 pm

the bashers exist on two main reason. 1st d owner with bad experince 2nd the perodua owner. coz i always heard perodua owner bash proton. wat the heck with cut n paste job. at least proton had their own design n engine. itu la proton. klu u pnye QUALITY superb xdela kene kutuk. but i stil support proton bcoz i really hope they improve. but start from 2006 their cars improved a lot. keep up the good work. go proton go,,,,,

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 5:33 pm

"Also, millions of Malaysians have served Proton faithfully for so many years now."

i dont know about you joe, but when i owned a proton, it served me faithfully and i never suffered a breakdown. ;) and please. dont be such a closeminded person.. why dont you spend some time in proton owners forums, and you will see a happy and thriving community numbering in the thousands. people who are passionate about their protons and enjoy ownership of them despite the problems. Just because these people are happy with their cars, does that make them cronies..? or vendors?

i am also 100% sure these people do not feel like they are "SERVING PROTON" by buying a proton. I for sure didnt.

Proton is less protected in the market today, we have other choices.. PLease joe ooi, sell your waja, and buy something else, maybe a kia spectra or something. Once you have done that, you should then have no more reason to complain about your proton, therefore, you will be a man who is less angry, less stressed, and will definitely enjoy a better life.

• Paul Tan on Apr 24, 2007 at 5:34 pm

I'm happy with my Perdana. 133,000km and the gearbox is still fine, suprisingly.

aksMs: they might consider the campro 1.3 as a 1.4 because its displacement is actually more than 1300cc

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 7:23 pm

Tats how P1 hav been influenced malayisan dirving population direct or indirectly.

Like it or Dislike, Satisfied or Compromise, To Improve or Decline…is ur own choise of life.

may all the best to P1 and malaysian driver.

• mr. proton (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 7:37 pm

see,, even the owner of this blog happy with his perdana.. so its ur own opinion. dun influence other people if u dislike proton.. hoda driver.. u d great.. so do u..paul. so paul. i'd sent request to you. so is there any possibility to do so?

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 9:20 pm

no one ar interested to influence others driving taste/experience here..

P1 problems will never b settled if it doesnt revamp the whole company structure, business practise, company culture, quality standard and etc..

else the problems will b always there unless u try to b ignorant.

1thing for sure tat malaysian will hav to live wiv it for the rest of their life…

nothing wrong wiv individual choice/taste….jus be faithful and happy in wat u

hav and wat u believe.

cheers.

• kody (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 11:54 pm

wahlaueh…

So again this sedan may be good… but quality may become worst.

I got info from my vendor which worked/supplied in P1 plant (not sure which plant) before, some of P1 quality checking or buyoff machines/equipments were down for years (~6yrs) but never repair….

This kind of problems arise because no one audit them because P1 is OEM & quality is not in their mind but only quantity & more $$ only in mind.

P2 success may because of alliances keep an eye on its quality & control. that's why it produces better quality cars.

• kody (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 11:56 pm

re-cap on P1 quality.

TUV only for their suppliers not P1 itself. I believe P1 itself sure fail TUV audits.

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 1:33 am

no surprise about this issue, it mus b happened very common among the supplier/vendor in msia.

definate one of the major problem tat P1 mus take into serious consideration in terms of QC if they willing to improve & progress.

• Paul Tan on Apr 25, 2007 at 9:45 am

mr proton: what request?

• mr. proton (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 4:49 pm

can u try to figure out the up coming iswara replacement or perdana replacement. with the interior. add the gen2 interior. u r only my hope… then can u make one post about proton quality or send them a letter to wake up them from sleep.. u d man bro.. actually i already send an emeil. mybe u didnt noticed it. nvm

• kody (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 6:57 pm

wahlaueh…

Mr. Proton, don't bother to send P1 any compaint emails, i personally don't think your email/complaints will reach top management. The small fishs & prawns will swallow & dump your complaints into dustbin… The small fishs & prawns need to protect their own ass from being kick by big boss.. :)

• mr. proton (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 10:19 pm

kody.. i think u damn right.. damn it.. i hope i can see the md datuk syed..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 12:24 am

hondadriver
    i am also 100% sure these people do not feel like they are “SERVING PROTON” by buying a proton. I for sure didnt.
    ———–
    NAP design to make Malaysian auto sector as captive market to “force” consumers to buy P1’s car! If not serving P1, why need protection. National icon is to protect and defend rakyat and contribute to society wellbeing by improve their quality of life. But this crap P1 is just sucking rakyat until last drop of blood.

Stop dreaming, stop the buying and then stop the sucking, enough is being said!

Since P1 asking rakyat for protection, how do Proton serving Malaysians?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 12:30 am

If want to claim serve Malaysian, then must be limited to Langkawi or Labuan only in which Waja auto selling at RM 38K and Manual at RM 36K. Do they do it in the whole country?

Dream, and continue dreaming until the cow come home ………. hondadriver always “wonder” Proton bashers, pity you poor and souless P1 car owner! At least I am patriotic and speak the truth about my own opinion (which you not necessary have to agree) about sad state of our local auto industry.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 12:31 am

I guess chances to get email reply from Toyota is better than P1!

• kody (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 9:41 pm

Wahlaueh…

———————————————–

Joe Ooi said,

April 26, 2007 @ 12:31 am

I guess chances to get email reply from Toyota is better than P1!

————————————————

Man you are damn right!!… I complaint before & P1 only reply & ask u to go to nearest service center to fix the problems….

• synchro_k (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 11:01 am

Hmm…it reminds me of the Skodas… anyway, i think Neo is better looking in a sedan form…like the one being 'engineered' by Mr Theo some while ago…so long as the speedometer, brakes, doors (and etc) are not the problems as it was found on a hatchback Gen2 and added safety features such as airbags etc…innovations…innovations… *sigh* … The first Proton Saga model are still on the road today, with flying colours. If Proton can go back to the same Quality level of the old ones, but innovations like beyond tomorrow, and with an adequate low price, us Rakyat would not even have a single thought of buying any Japanese, American, Korean cars…where is that Malaysia Boleh spirit in Proton nowdays? C'mon lads, we're celebrating 50 years of independence this year…

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 5:39 pm

U should hav won P1 Loyal Customer Award…they won hav time to entertain ur letter bcos too many complaint letters out there..will take years to reply..

well, P1 already hav the big offer for malaysian: new Saga for only RM26,999 in conjunction with Malaysia’s 50th year of independence.

P1 Boleeeeeeeeeeeh!!!

• ian (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 6:45 pm

I also own a 15 year old Proton Saga, and compared to a 20+ year old Japanese sedan I also own side-by-side I have to say I'm one of the 'stupids'.

In all seriousness my next car would not be a Proton, this is sad to say it. When we got the car it had minor problems that never goes away even now, like water getting into the lights -even after replacing them so I just never replace them anymore and let it rot – but fortunately I never got the power window problem.

However, most new Proton owners I know do have this problem, plus a host of other things, from rattles to engine failing prematurely. In fact, a friend of mine got his Gen2 with a very ugly and obvious uneven gap in the bumper, and the dealer did not want to fix it. But fixed only when he got into an accident and now it's all even and nice. Hence the joke we make among my friends that Proton works opposite from normal cars, because in normal cars the gaps are uneven after an accident.

The way I see it, if you're gonna plop down RM45+K for a car at least it has to be working right, and worth your money. Currently feedback and personally witnessing the problems from the new models I don't think I will buy them.

Doesn't mean I won't support the local car industrie though, because Perodua just do things much so better and is right on the nail for their market, plus they at least make even gaps in the fenders.

For this Gen2 sedan, it's a few years too late into the market, after having 3 models that are 4 door hatchbacks. Proton just doesn't seem to get it right.

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 8:05 pm

be it a hatchback, sedan, SUV and etc…is pointless for the market if they dun seriously look into the QC and Customer service!

• skizzo75 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 10:07 pm

There a lot of loser out there, so it s good u know that the P1 car is not good for your, but i'm curious here because last night i saw u licking ur "space between her thigh" maid inside ur PROTON WTF is going on here

• BettaSplendens (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:36 am

well u ar the onli true loser here…close case

• synchro_k (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 3:45 am

BettaSplendens said,

April 27, 2007 @ 9:39 am

U should hav won P1 Loyal Customer Award…they won hav time to entertain ur letter bcos too many complaint letters out there..will take years to reply..

well, P1 already hav the big offer for malaysian: new Saga for only RM26,999 in conjunction with Malaysia’s 50th year of independence.

P1 Boleeeeeeeeeeeh!

Hmm, well, i dont own a Proton, never owned one, and no intention of getting one :) so no loyal Customer award for me hehehe.

hey, maybe u got a Proton, thats why youre soooo pissed off. Oh c'mon, being a Proton owner isnt so bad BettaSplendens, carry on with the spirit, ahaks!

Older protons are ok (first generation of Saga, first generation of Iswara or Catalys that even came out in a Mr Bean show ones, hahaha….and quite good ratings by Which Car UK Magazine back in 1994 (i think i still got that Mag somewhere in the kotak-kotak in the store) and export models,

but surely not the new ones for local market. New Proton is, sorry to say, quite incomprehensible.

• redxmoon (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 9:36 am

proud to be malaysian, malaysia boleh!!!

• mr. proton (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 7:49 pm

betta splendens….. the damn true basher……..

• megattrawis (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 4:32 am

really dont think this will work..but then…time will tell.

• tlyh85 (Member) on May 13, 2007 at 7:22 pm

What so surprised ? Proton Official Site www.proton.com already have GEN 2 Sedan Picture leaked in one of their tanjung malim plant .. What so surprised?

Check this out dude
    http://www.proton.com/user_data/media/images/inno…

• BettaSplendens (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 3:17 am

Be it Hatchback or Sedan, Campro or Campur, CPS or CPU, it jus could not make it & won hav any impact to the car market.

Gen 2 Sedan wiv Campro CPS? wats the big deal??

P1 boooooooooleeeeeeeeh :D

• zanggief (Member) on Jun 10, 2007 at 8:08 pm

no big different, is that replace the wira model and Paul the VIG System will be same function like the vvti,vtec or cvtc like the japanese car….

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 10, 2007 at 10:17 pm

hmmm..izit?

• mr. proton (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 7:03 pm

bad news from one of my fren in proton.. proton is going to launch gen2 sedan n waja with cps this end of july… but sadly to say.. gen2 sedan comes without cps to be sell cheaper than gen2 hatch.. wat a dissapointment… anyway, gen2 sedan got some nice features such as driver armress like waja, new interior colour, glove box n gear knob changing n the new one in proton a key remote with boot opening functioned. once again.. they repeat the same mistake.. campro without cps which will make the BASHERS laugh…laughing and barking all the time… the waja with cps but sure the price will same like vios… sad….. proton..proton.. i've told u so many times… BERUBAHLAH…. tolonglah….

• mr. proton (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 7:07 pm

gen2 sedan will be launching with waja cps this end of july… unfortunately only waja comes with cps… mybe amarketing strategy… bcos this 2 cars was a sedan.. if gen2 sedan same with cps.. who's going to buty waja cps that for sure price like vios… anyway there is cool feature,,, u can open the boot with key remote in gen2 sedan….

• mr. proton (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 7:09 pm

apa ni xleh post apa2…… paul?

• drgn86 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 4:39 pm

this gen2 sedan really disappoints me in terms of its styling, maybe they should have taken the satria neo as the base design, looks prettier and more aggressive, and make that rear headroom space larger and taller by redesigning the rear doors. from the rear door area to the front, looks like a cut and paste job from gen2 hatchback really. 'sigh…..'

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 7:01 am

drgn86………….i fell you.

• gogocar (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 5:25 am

Hi ilmondo,

What u had mentioned 19 April, your dream will come truth. They are working on it. On what I had saw from the photo and the computer aid graphic, the car won't disappointed you guys. I can see Proton having quality improvement. They doing good and keeping up. Don't stop. Let's let go the pass, everyone should give a chance. Proton prove to Malaysian….they are back this time.

• gogocar (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 1:10 am

Some info from a friend that this car really good on quality improvement under new mangement control. Alots of improvement from previous model and attractive looks from exterior and interior. Big luggage space.That is what I looking for. With around Myvi price….I think this is Myvi killer product. Is good for Proton lovers, can upgrade the car or alternative car for Waja drivers to switch to this new model. I’m letting go my Wira 1.3AB now. Can’t wait to get this new 1.6 Sedan car. I’m proud with Proton =)

• fastlvl (Member) on Jul 17, 2007 at 3:31 pm

nice model. but gen2 sedan didnt come with cps engine. so when lauch the cps engine on the gen2 sedan 2nd hand value drop again. quite sad about this. the 1st and the only in the world car manufactor that use new engine in da same model. sometime it would be very confuse for 2nd hand buyer to choose. hope proton can consider about the 2nd hand value.

• faizsuria (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 3:26 am

hi, i’m new to this forum… just wanna say hi… and go proton go!…

one suggestion… can proton stick with one model like they did when they 1st launched the SAGA… just to make sure they can regain the market share once again before bounce back with a big leap… rather than making various model to compete (with PERODUA of course), they are throwing more money. use the money to improve the existed car-line. Family sedan indeed is the more promising market, PERODUA is for small-car segment. There’s no immediate need for proton to jump into the category.

That’s all…

• nbl (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 5:36 pm

aiyaaa..mr proton..proton stil proton..BAD MANAGEMENT..always using ‘LAUYAR’ material.HOW? because Proton open tender to supplier,THEN Proton just using the the lowers cost..the RESULT is>’LAUYAR’..thats why la Proton going down now..always want the cheapes,cheapes,cheapes material and ‘LAUYAR’ supplier…i am using Kancil..till now dosen’t have any problem..

• shafina (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 3:27 pm

side view of new proton gen2…nice
    front view..should have more improvement especially the light.
    back view…’no comment’..heheheheeh…
    actually i’m proud coz malaysia can produce their own cars. Of coz it need more time to improve especially in designing the cars itself. Yelah, 1985-2007..brape tahun sangatkan?even VW,volvo and other imported car established not in short time period…pk2 lah..think positive..I admit that some design like “syok sendiri”..maybe proton can do something on it like research or watever so that it fullfill malaysian and wolrdwide needs..design,safety and good specs..so that people not hesitate to buy it…

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 12:54 am

any country can produce thier own cars. it depends whether they are stupid enough to bleed the country to finance a doomed effort.

• shinfay (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 7:13 pm

malaysia is a small country…… where else can proton do their road testing?….. evem gm’s ptototype can be spotted in the us during its road test…

• hotwheels (Member) on Jul 31, 2007 at 11:24 am

i have seen (with my own eyes) over the years, two gen2’s that caught fire for no reason, and have seen over the internet www.wreckedexotics.com at least 3 brand new ferrari f430 catching fire (also for no reason) and u can see for urself other exotic cars like murcielagos and ferrari 599 GTB catching fire there too. no accidents or anything, they just lit up.

so, can i conclude that ferraris and lambos are poorly built, shitty cars like a proton? im not trying to justify the problems, but all im saying is even if u spend 2-3 mil ringgit on a supercar here in msia, it could still develop the same problems as ur day-to-day proton.

so, all cars have problems, some more than others, but when it happens to a proton its front page news, and when it happens to another marque, its kept hush hush.

• JakkeCh (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 8:31 am

So that’s the brand new, to be released, Proton Sedan. Quite alright.

• Patrick (Member) on Aug 07, 2007 at 4:04 pm

Proton started realized the competition of the market. It’s encourage to develop new model in order to compete in the market. But, still, the quality of the product is always the issue that proton should more concern. We do wish to support malaysia product but it doesn’t mean they(proton) can simply develop and sell it to us without concerning our needs.

• perantaraalam (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 2:17 pm

every car need time to improve..Dont forget branded car like bmw anc merc took more than 100 years to perfection and proton just take 25 year to have their own manufacturing and fabricating facilities without using even one cents of the bank loans..

As malaysian, we should support our local product and dont just know how to condemned as we all should know it become malaysian minded love to condemned and hate so much when people give bad impression about them.

Anyway, its proton who provide more than 100,000 work opportunities and spend the revenue for country development, Model like Honda that u all proud sgt sgt tu ..all the money go to japanese yang dulu came here and ruins our country.

cermin diri b4 nak kutuk.k

• KatieC (Member) on Jan 02, 2008 at 1:56 pm

Having bought the H line Persona car, here’s my impressions of the car after more than a month of driving:
    – engine is not that powerful
    – fuel consumption not as good as the Japanese cars
    – big improvement over the previous Gen2, including better interior, removal of the clock and side window controls

But here are the problems I had on the car:
    – power window broke down on the driver side
    – I can hear a squeaky sound from the back seat
    – door is difficult to close and the rubber lining for back right passenger comes out very easily
    – comes bundled with a very bad GPS navigation handheld device. Gives wrong directions and inaccurate map. It has poor battery life if not plugged to cigarette lighter, if the battery runs out then I cannot turn the device on until it has been charged for more than 1 hour. Voice always repeating herself to tell me I am going the wrong way, please make a U-turn (till I turned off the volume).

I spoke to a dealer last week when I went in to complain, and the dealer said that the Persona sales are slowing down and many customers are demanding refunds for the GPS handheld unit. Some customers were trying to sell back to the dealer for $500.