BMW Concept CS revealed at Shanghai Motor Show

BMW CS Concept at Shanghai

This is what BMW had promised for us at the Shanghai Motor Show. Before this, people were saying it was going to be the successor to the special Z8 supercar called the Z9, but apparently not so. Instead, BMW shows us that it too can play at the whole coupe-roofline 4-door GT sedan just like the others. What others? Why, the Porsche Panamera, the Maserati Quattroporte and the Aston Martin Rapide of course. It is called the BMW Concept CS, not to be confused with the Concept CS1 shown quite some time ago, which was a completely different animal altogether.

Chris Bangle applies his classic flame surfacing design cues once again, creating a lovely play of shadows on what seems like a normal curved body panels. The classic kidney grille nose design carries a very wide nose look found on the Z4 rather than the more conventionally sized one on the 6-series, making this look like the result of the 7-series and the Z4 mating together.

Just so you know, there’s currently a conflict of opinion on what this will be called – some say an 8-series, and some say the 6-series facelift will come in configurations, the classic 2-door and a new 4-door coupe. I’d say the prior is more likely, the number 8 is always a hit with the Chinese businessmen anyway ;)

At 5.1 meters long, it is slightly shorter than the BMW 7-Series Long Wheelbase’s 5.17 meters length, and is definitely longer than the normal wheelbase 7-Series. The interior seats four people with four individual sports seats, with the driver enjoying a driver-oriented cockpit.

More photos after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• double.helix (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 2:01 pm

Awesome looking chariot, love the interior especially the meter cluster….big ass kidney though.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 2:27 pm

Wow…. this mks the CLS looks like Paris Hilton.. lol… thought hoep d production version, if made, will come with a slightly smaller kidney, cos this one mks it look like a Dodge, somehow. No?

• NiceCar (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 3:30 pm

emmm…. seem like the america car style..

not get shock / suprise while looking at the picture above..

however, wt the BMW brand, it may still have a lot of fans..

• ed0r (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 4:05 pm

the side profile looks like the Aston Martin Rapide. That's ok I like it. The back is lovely. The front, hmm something gotto to be done there… huuuuuge nose lol. Overall, way to go BMW…

Lastly, this car is for us to appreciate, and for the rich to buy lol.

• jehutyz (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:03 pm

Sleek and nice design. The front look very angry…nice nice.

I like the interior…simple, elegant.

The dashboard look cool.

Imagine this car park next to CLS.

• silverfish (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:03 pm

Damn, another scary, nightmare inducing grille. That front end needs work.

The back end seems a bit fussy.

All I can say is that it is very American, very bling, very brash, very "pimp my ride". Not my type.

• happymeal (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:12 pm

the shoulder line above the rear wheel totally mimics the Dodge Chargers lines!!

alot of this car look like a Dodge Charger, the current gen.

finally bmw has gone away from the super boring looking dashboards …

any1 noticed the roof has a channel at the middle… strange…

• happymeal (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:24 pm

topgear commented the powerplant will be an extended S85B50 V10 unit… V12 6000cc.

also, im not sure if its purely Chris' work, as the current Design head is actually adrian van hooydok…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:29 pm

1 mean car on the way… This is good for bosses who like to act like mafia LOL! Well i like this car design, aggressive looking. Maybe the interior will made it more darker and sportier, this will suit the looks.

• Hikaru (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 12:06 am

Looks a bit like a shark to me. A nod to the past? Definately very agressive looking. IMHO i would prefer the CLS over this as for four door i would prefer a bit more class than being so brutish.

i really wonder where's the market for AM Rapide and this BMW?

• jtshin (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 1:21 am

my opinion is that the rear lights line should be improved a bit… too fussy… but looks somewhat interesting. the front lights.. a bit bigger then it's perfect.. sexy car there….

btw.. are the door handles on the window frame???

• ruykava (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 1:29 am

i rather like this, really.

however, as mentioned by some other posters, looks quite a bit like the aston martin rapide especially the profile and also the front. love that interior though – so much better than the current BMW look.

when Merc's CLS concept first came out, some journalists (esp Autocar) were predicting its downfall… seeing how this segment has developed, looks like they could not have been more wrong!

• cbljkkj (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 3:50 am

ed0r:

You just spoke my mind, I too wanted to say that it resembled the Aston Martin Rapide, same platform perhaps?

I too think that it was designed by the Americans just like the Z4 before it. The Z4 was a really tangy affair, didn't really like it because of its odd looks but seemed fine to me after they plonked the M3's S54 engine in.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 4:16 am

what happend to review mirror, one kind angle. Its just for show or does it work, well maybe you will not see your head?

• Charger (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 4:44 am

*vomitted*

Someone smack flat on the snake's head????

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 5:13 am

the design seems to have some ques from aston martin n jaguar………….not really liking the headlights, menacing looks……

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 6:39 am

futuristic design, this car should appear in sci-fi movies!!!!

predators and aliens will love this car….

where is the navi screen?

• normaluser (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 6:39 am

BMW's are turning back to the 'shark menace' design nowadays, just like the old 6 series.

BTW, it looks cool, except for the 'eyelid'. And something to take note of, notice that the grille is't chromed, which most beemers seems to have.

• cutelittlekelisa (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 7:08 am

waa…. looks damn froggie and ego…

LOL

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 7:36 am

Apart from the very large nostrils, everything is perfect, especially the rear, which is very menacing to say the least. Love those lines and folds on the body panel too, that's the way panels should be, not just some slightly curved piece of sheet metal.

• dd (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 5:13 pm

damn cekap man! look at the rims la… kau kau wan… maybe future 8-series use this kinda design la…

• narrowband (Member) on Apr 21, 2007 at 10:22 pm

What's the main purpose of this concept… I wonder. The motivation behind it.

• DG (Member) on Apr 22, 2007 at 6:35 am

ya….very agressive looks….! like panther on the prowl! grrrrrrr

• jazz1011 (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 12:56 am

Now this is what I really call SEXY.

Lusty, Alluring and Provocative.

She's a real femme fatale.

I'm falling in love with her already. Loved those "hidden" quad tailpipes.

Cheers!

• lowprofile (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 5:09 pm

agree with happymeal, silverfish, nicecar. Its a rip off the charger/challenger in design. i think its to appeal more to american market. looks like a desperate attempt from bmw to get into the 4dr coupe market.

• RichGal (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 12:28 am

Haiyyaa!! sorry to say, but looking at the car macam tengok hantu laa..scary looking car! try to imitate the merc CLS design, but defintely merc won loo..