Chery Windcloud vs Ferrari F430

Nissan GTR

For a 1.6 litre Chinese-made sedan to keep up with a Ferrari F430 on the track could only mean there is some huge difference between driving ability of the two drivers biased to the driver of the Chery, but let’s just have a look at this video anyway.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aksMs (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 4:59 pm

I'd say the driver in that F430 is a beginner! I'm sure out there somewhere someone has manage to overtake a Ferrari in his Evo or Blacktop on weekend track day at Sepang, no? But of course, will be taken over again by the Ferrari on the straight. :D

• h2k (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 5:00 pm

does seems like the ferrari driver is bad at cornering…but straight line the chery unable to keep up…

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 5:14 pm

Cheap moral value for marketing video of Champion spark plug and Ferodo brakes.. (",)

Whatever is, the F430 cant be overtaken by a Windcloud. It's a fact.

By the way, a EX5 with 80km/h also can overtake a Maserati at speed of 40km/h..

• syamness (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 5:46 pm

the ferrari driver is afraid of damaging the car so drives conservatively… the chery driver- bahh the car costs shit… i go all out

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 5:55 pm

lol the F430 is nowhere near its handling limits, and on top of it, its lines are mostly wrong. Maybe the guy's on his warm up or cool down lap.

No one drives like that on the track, let alone a ferrari.

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 6:03 pm

"No one drives like that on the track, let alone a ferrari."

have you ever driven in an "open" track weekend? not only do some people drive like that, some are worse!!

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 6:38 pm

haha…it mus b………..KELONG :D

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 6:43 pm

LOL, just goes to show that a car is just a car, it's the driver that makes the difference most of the time.

• cosmohybrid (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 7:20 pm

fuiyooh!!! must go buy a chery already!!!

• albagmane (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 7:44 pm

gosh… ridiculous…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 8:03 pm

Actually a modified heavy 1.6 car can keep up with a original ferrari.. but i term of high speed chase is hard to trail.. with a track you need skill a lot and your acceleration must be good to speed out from corners.. i think a heavily modified blacktop with 6 speed manual should be easy to overtake the chery..

• armandd (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 9:15 pm

haha, a chery is still chery lah!

• ingolstadt (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 9:38 pm

This video proved nothing. The point of supercars is that they could always reach the upper limits when given a driver that could do so.

Supercar doesn't equal processors, the higher you pay, the faster they go.

This video is a solid example why we need supercars, if that bugger in the dunno what 1600cc car was given a faster car, he would've surpass that Ferrari.

Supercars are to compliment super drivers. Not go fast around the track. It's as if a pair of good running sneakers, you still need someone who could run fast.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 10:57 pm

the design of the chery sucks! n in the name of god! whats wrong with the ferrari driver?! cannot beat a underpowered car!? unbelievable!

• alternation (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 11:27 pm

if u notice the drivers tru the corners well, u will notice both are not seasonal racers. The chery can still go faster if a seasonal racer is innit. he's simply n cluelessly stabbing the brakes everywhere, dont even follow the best racing lines and missing out on the apexes.

The ferrari meanwhile is not even pushing tru corners or excelerating at all. Just like driving in a bz tesco parking lot. Lame stunt by ferodo.

• Din (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 1:42 am

The Windcloud's (what a name) rear wheel arch…..reminds me of the Iswara's rear wheel arch….only thing is……Iswara's one looks much better……

• keretakura (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 1:49 am

Awesome !! BUT P1 can do better than that he he just kidding ….

no comment … everything can happen especially in marketing, the FROG also can overtake the FERRARI

• intermilan (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 2:50 am

if you don't find this video a pile of sh*t…. then you r in the wrong blog, mister.

• mrshaharin (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 3:46 am

Naza…when are u guys planning to bring them in…ha..ha…

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 4:35 am

Why so slow. The Ferrari can go faster than that. And also they did not show how fast this car was going. Are they going to use it as sales gimmick?

• transformer (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 5:09 am

couldn't believe that video… just for laugh!

that ferrari must have driven in 1st gear all the way…. or maybe 2 gears only…

• Malaysia BoXXX (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 5:30 am

It's sure a video to promote Cherry…very obvious at many points the Ferrari is 'waiting' for the Cherry, hahaha…

• normaluser (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 5:34 am

the ferrari is only utilizing 30% of its potential power. If all 100% power is unleashed + good track driving skills, I bet the 430 can lap the chery 10 times in an hour on the track.

• w_lighter (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 8:58 am

Seriously.. who would seriously buy a brake who's name it seems is taken from LOTR… lolz

• narrowband (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 11:10 am

The F430 was practically stationary at some of the exit from corners – just to wait for the Chery to keep up?

• neurra (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 3:52 am

i think his mom drove the ferrari.

• ian (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 6:07 pm

The track wasn't a big one so the Ferrari isn't able to show put its power down properly. That and the driver may be a newbie.

However, I'll give credit that the Chery didn't fall apart in the chase and its engine actually sounded quite good and held up just fine.

But let's be serious.. if this were an AE86 you'd see very different comments.

• Cesar on Sep 20, 2009 at 9:52 pm

gezzz… i could probably overtake the Ferrari (with the driver in this video) and that windcloud with a bike!! a car is just an extension of your body, if you suck… you suck no mater what car your in… and man did that driver suck