Impak Maksima Trailer: local drift movie?

Impak Maksima Trailer Screen Capture

A reader sent in this link to a video on Youtube, upon checking it out I found that it’s a trailer for a locally produced movie on drifting! The movie is called Impak Maksima, and it features classic drift cars like the AE86, complete with Fast & Furious style glowing neon lights under the car! It also features Malaysian drift personality Tengku Djan and his Nissan-powered Proton Waja rear wheel drive.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 4:57 pm

BM Translation: Kelajuan & Kemarahan Membara (Fast & Furious)?

• aksMs (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 5:10 pm

Oooohhh…that's a bad combination lah maibatsu.

Anyway, this is something different for a Malaysian movie. If only I could drift like that at Dataran on weekend night. Haha! Imagine going to court, "Memandu secara berbahaya". Hehe.

• muflis (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 5:13 pm

i think, its going to be another box office movie from ahmad idham.. :)

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 5:18 pm

I don't like the actors and actress,

but i like those cars! Good job by local producer. Don't be like Yusof Haslam's movies.. haha..

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 5:34 pm

LOL!! Local flavour! Support lah movie tempatan kita!

"Lain kali kalau tak ada duit.. jadi mat rempit sajalah.."

• syamness (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 5:50 pm

hahah nasty… yeah i like that line too …"jadi mat rempit sajalah.." hahahah

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 6:25 pm

Wow, looking good! The fighting scene is so hilarious, totally exageratted moves. Nice line:

“Lain kali kalau tak ada duit.. jadi mat rempit sajalah..”

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 6:33 pm

good effort for local film industry….carry on!

• KY (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 6:38 pm

omfg get me free tickets!

• pirate (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 7:09 pm

Can't wait to catch this at the cinema…(drool! drool!)

• engtaokia (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 7:21 pm

i wish to race like that on KL streets….

• azrai (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 7:30 pm

Ha ha ha..

• jasonlow (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 7:55 pm

y there's not even a single car on ths street?

• Charger (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 7:57 pm

Not bad, but the director need to go for better trainings.

Why the engine sound SO LOUD?!?!?! Is he deaf?

• waimak (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 7:58 pm

I hope to watch this!

• myNeo (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 8:08 pm

then it mean we have 2 drift films coming… Impak Maksima and Evolusi:Drift

one from Ahmad Idham and one more from Yusoff Haslam's son Shamsul Yusoff….ermm not bad..but with traffic on the road, the scene will be more realistic…

• BlueChaos (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 8:15 pm

Wah… watching the trailer can see they copy bits from the HK movie Initial D (the looking to the other driver and the bored look scene from 01:15) and also some other bits from Tokyo Drift (the ending part, 2 cars sliding left and right)…

• rushmode (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 9:30 pm

what, no mat rempit on the dataran road at night time? that can't be true.. :P

nway, good drifting action there..

• moha774 (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 9:46 pm

OK..laaaa…only the sound of the engine are too loud…how many time do you have the opportunity to drift in the city centre….almost never…because too many cars and bikes…hopefully after this our society do not targetting our local drifters for the cause of moral decay and got the wrong impression that the drifters street racing in the city centre…

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 10:13 pm

AWAS: Drift dilakukan dalam keadaan terkawal. Jangan sekali-kali meniru aksi drift yang ditunjukkan.

Hehe. Yeah, forgot to mention that the revving sound is just too loud. I can't even hear any tyre screeching. Maybe its due to the sound compression of the video?

• hikikomori (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 10:32 pm

Haha macam bodoh jer!!!! MEMALUKAN!!!

• hikikomori (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 10:44 pm

hahaha ,macam B_D_H je!!

• haroldz (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 10:50 pm

aiyah!

tiru idea initial D n 2 fast 2 furious.

hopefully cinematography is good.

wot dat proton fella doin in tis movie?

nissan-powered proton?

ur campro engine not good enuff ka?

go do more R&D lar

u kan head of R3…………

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 11:05 pm

hilarious! hahahahaha!

• DtG (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 11:07 pm

aiyo… the trailer looks quite good but the name… Impak Maksima??? that could've been alot better… but i'll still wanna watch this!

• muflis (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 11:26 pm

this movie, sure better than yusof haslam's son one..ahmad idham man.. hehe..

em, go in front dataran merdeka on saturday night..if u lucky, can see some car doing short drift, rather than the normally illegal drag battle.. :)

• myNeo (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 11:34 pm

drifting in front of dataran merdeka or klcc…walauweih…..i wish i can do that..

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 11:45 pm

Come to think of it, the name Impak Maksima, it makes me think of a car slamming into a wall at full speed. I'm surprised there are no souped up Protons in there too haha.

• alternation (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 11:48 pm

why no ferrari-eating chery?! what a disapointment! Tht chery will eat up tht r39 and s15!

hopefully tht 86 has got cheap champion spark plugs and china made ferodo brakes …

• Hikaru (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 12:55 am

Just something for the rakyat to fulfil their fantasy and for the over daring to kill themselves trying.

Can't beat their good slides though…..

• rosdi (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 2:31 am

The fighting scene is so lame.

• intermilan (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 3:10 am

hopefully this and the other movie will not be the breaking point of another subculture. mat rempit is bad enuff. to see a local movie in local settings with actors full of ego and themselves going against each other at all cost might have negative spill effects (influence) on the immature youth…. and potrayal of drifting-for-money is free promotion for gambling and an illegal one too. congratz idham, sure a blockbuster.

i might sound like muhammad rahmat.. but that the first impression i got watching the trailer.

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 3:49 am

Another photostat machine

• toxicboy (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 4:45 am

Oo? Those drifters, i saw some at D1GP..On some local drift website too..I think. Few known drifters.. movie? interesting. Can't wait to hear more comment when it's out..

• transformer (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 5:32 am

impressive!

any Mini cooper ? or a turbo Kancil ?

would really wish to see Myvi rear doing a drift!!!!!

• wuichi (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 5:44 am

man this people are really influenced by Tokyo drift heheh

• bestofamat (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 6:11 am

just copycat film but I hoped that the photography is good or otherwise it will be one of stupid film to be watched……..

p/s: do you know one of the actors has lost his EVO which he has spend more than RM300k.

• rushmode (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 6:48 am

copycat? i dont know… didn't initial D movie are a bad ripoff of the ori japanese manga?

fast and furious? dunno about u guys but if i'm a yakuza boss i definately chop the kids hands off when he asked me to settle a score by drifting… hehe

this impak maksima movie is somewhat an over the top bolehland version of it..

• avanza (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 7:01 am

This kind of shows should be banned as they encourages street racing!

• monomania (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 8:16 am

/quote:

This kind of shows should be banned as they encourages street racing!

now that's the problem on malaysian mentality… did you goto cinema to watch fast & furious? when dont have we complain, when we got that time we don't appreciate, how do we expect our industry to grow?!!?

• jtshin (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 10:53 am

ARGHHHH!!!!! How can I get it here?????? not in Malaysia leh…… i'll find a way to watch it!! must!!

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 2:31 pm

waah.. so many posting….

• rosdi (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 4:08 pm

Myvi? Drift?… these two words cannot be next to each other.. it is like water and oil, cannot mix one.

Two days ago a naive newbie myvi driver bumped onto my car, she was on the rightmost lane which can only turn right. But she tried to drive straight and needless to say bumped onto my right tail lamp. The worst part is she blame me for the mishap and ask me to how to 'setel'.. wtf?

Her new shiny myvi car got some paint peeled of.. mine do not even have a scratch (she bumped on my bumper). Haha… since she did not even apologise so I made a report.. haha kena RM300 saman padan muka. Hopefully she did not make a report so she will kena another RM300 for a total of RM600 haha lagi padan muka!…. some people can only learn the hard way. opps.. I am babbling….

• h2k (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 5:00 pm

what's with the fake engine revving sound? i hope it sounds real in the actual movie…

sigh…looks like movie version of x-tuned hahahah!!

• mynnDAWG (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 6:43 pm

whoa nice…good effort for local movie scene…:)

• bugbear (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 7:15 pm

omg… is so funny..

gona let all my friend know about this…

• ganz (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 1:20 am

hahah, if this kind of respond.. better ask all malaysian just sit back and sleep at home.. pls do nothing.. coz anything u do definitely condemned by others..

• AmiR (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 2:39 am

damn…i dont really care bout the actor nor actress…the car sucky la…its not "cool"…..whatever la…btw, wat is the song name la?…damn cun the song

• faizulamin (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 5:27 am

#

aesthari said,

April 23, 2007 @ 10:25 am

Wow, looking good! The fighting scene is so hilarious, totally exageratted moves. Nice line:

“Lain kali kalau tak ada duit.. jadi mat rempit sajalah..”

–> agree wif u.. even Remp-It fighting scene is not bad! peace!

• gigganet (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 5:49 am

“Lain kali kalau tak ada duit.. jadi mat rempit sajalah..”- very funny.

after this movie is shown, i bet the mat rempits will upgrade their ride to drift cars, by stealing them, of course. lol.

• neurra (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 3:44 am

not bad.. hoping got some euro cars drifting too.. mat rempits shud be feeling something from this movie.. heheh..

no cars on the road coz of course police block the roads la.. but they should've at least put SOME normal citizens on the road la for normality sake..

and the trailer could've been better rather than doing it with Flash only.. xD

• DonovanLTS (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 3:57 am

the fighting omg…. like 'hey my enemy, before we meet and fight let's plan the styles to kick each other so we both still look cool even if one of use lose'

the drifts r good… the engine sounds so loud like they put the mic under the hood right next to the engine….

but overall i salute this movie for being different even though obviously it's like wat most people say…. copycat

they shud put some drunk chicks dat just came back from clubbing around the road…

• kacman (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 5:09 am

if only i can drift my lame kancil

• impakmaksima (Member) on Aug 10, 2007 at 4:36 pm

official website for this Impak Maksima film.. log on to
    http://www.impakmaksimathemovie.com

• bonaventure on Oct 06, 2009 at 7:25 pm

cubalah buat filem tu pakai kereta nasional…banggalah negara dan rakyat tengok…nie tk,pakai kereta luar negara