Roewe W2 Concept

Roewe W2 Concept 1

Roewe is basically what Rover has become after SAIC took over, and the models currently on sale are basically rehashed versions of the 75 and TF, but this might indicate Roewe’s new design direction. This is the Roewe W2 concept, which looks decent enough on the outside but features a cool LED touch screen control module on the inside, as well as a funky meter panel.

It is the result of a collaboration between SAIC’s own team and ex-Rover and ex-MG designers. The Roewe W2 is slated to be Roewe’s new C-segment mid-range car and will join Roewe’s line-up in 2008.

Roewe W2 Concept 5

Roewe W2 Concept 2

Roewe W2 Concept 3

Roewe W2 Concept 4

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 7:37 am

Btw, how to spell the name…

• zephyr (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 7:39 am

learn P1! LEARN!

• DtG (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 8:11 am

Very odd looking… Fresh designs but not in an appealing way. The interior colour scheme's a little cacat for me….

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 8:13 am

Car for future mass market.

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 8:15 am

The exterior's very nice, especially the rear which looks like a Toyota Mark X. Interior is fresh, but bland.

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 8:38 am

in search of identity, ,,which is good…but infront there are elements from waja and gen 2 if i generalised it,

rear body line a bit contradicting with its rear light,

interior not bad though, a little sense of german, or Opel-ness,

anyway for the effort – not bad,

(i read somewhere,, the word 'roewe' pronounced as 'wrong way' in chinese)

• sarawakguy (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 1:33 pm

Well…,at least the Chinese car makers are going somewhere and doing something…and boy…they are GOOD at it…!!! Pity someone else back home here saying the Chinese are doing "craps"…..I bet in the next 19 years,the Chinese will be ahead of us Bolehlads…

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 2:15 pm

Wah LCD control panel display unit!

Maybe the screen can be modified for you to play PS3 software. While waiting for your Gal, you can play Racing games software in the real car. Cools right?

The interior: Not a bad idea to have something different from other OEM, but not sure how reliable of the system is. If the screen black out someday, its could be expensive to replace it.

Exterior: A bit Out dated. The Audi Big Nose bumper style should be used.

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 4:28 pm

The design is light years ahead of proton or maybe proton is not worth to make any comparison.

• kody (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 5:05 pm

wahlaueh..

Wauu… this car is really suite my taste, futuristic yet sporty & many Wow… factors in this car. The side mirrors look tiny in size & not sure about the practical usage on road… The wheel stering size is a bit too oversize, i meant the diameter too big to drive comfortly by one hand to make any turning. Personally i like the wheel stering of WAJA & city, the size is just nice not too small or too big.

Is SAIC China car manufacturer?

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 5:07 pm

i guess point is this is a concept…we'll see how much of this "wow-ness" will make it to mass-production

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 5:17 pm

I hate to say this, but I really do like this! The interior design looks more updated. Only comment is the front end which looks too busy. Like a Holden Astra front gotten confused and ended up in the wrong factory. The centre touch screen console looks cool! Just hopefully there won't be any system crash while driving.

• renyeo (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 5:25 pm

Make it make it!

• silverfish (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 5:33 pm

Roewe? What's the point of buying over Rover if you aren't even going to use the name as well? It's akin to buying over Aston Martin and renaming it Atan Masin.

The car looks alright. Typical looking sedan nowadays.

• normaluser (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 5:42 pm

The interior looks like a 3D computer image rendering, not real one. So, how can we be sure the real interior will look & feel like what was shown artistically?

If this brand becoming successful in China, Dato Cam Soh should bring this marque here instead of Chery. And there's one more this China car brand which produces BMW platform-sourced cars, i can't remember the name.

• juggernaut (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 6:02 pm

Roewe cannot use rover name… problems with Ford… and the car is ok… for a pseudo-euro design…..

interior was prolly shopped… and the car could use a little more catchet then being ex-rover designed…

Ps: Brilliance assembles bmws in china… quality is variable… some as good as M'sia CKD(5 series) some worse…(3 and 1 series)

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 6:44 pm

Damn!!! This is a nice car!!!!

Wheels, headlights, meter panel, front, rear, side, interior, exterior, everything just cool and perfect!!!

• layman (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 7:18 pm

This car is nice, exterior looks solid and the interior is awesome, new innovative meter cluster, BMW's Idrive, navigation system, Lexus's LCD display.

Just can not imagine how fast the China company is progressing. Some people mentioned they will overtake us, too bad we are still dreaming, they are already way ahead of us.

• lone_rider (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 8:08 pm

This is wut we call "Wow"..

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 8:49 pm

Looks like Waja with a facelift. With a very good designer of course.

• mad_guy (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 10:15 pm

WOOOOO……this car from china again???? look nice…….now the 'copy cat' is running faster then the 'sick tiger'……..dono wat the hell is the management in proton doing……. makan, tidur saja??? every month wait for their pay cheque oni???? WAKE UP!!!!!!!

• bpkid (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 11:05 pm

The LCD panel is absolutely cool :D, yet the temperature and fuel gauge are somehow confusing a bit for me at first. :

• haroldz (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 12:26 am

is dat d real interior layout?

wow! kagum nyer…..

• pigass20 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 2:54 am

Looks like a Lexus IS body.

Really great. doesnt look like a china one.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 4:51 am

Alfa design?

I bet you the final version will not look anything like this and will not have that futuristic interior

• aizat84 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 5:06 am

First time look at the picture .. i tot it is the new waja .. heh .. im so wrong ma ..

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 6:22 am

i want one!!!!!……..dont ya all wonder that p1 dont even do a concept car? by the way this car rocks my style!

• transformer (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 7:07 am

NICE! Great job by Roewe!

very cool dash and panel…. especially the mediaplayer themed ODO's!

try Blue or Amber next time…

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 11:26 am

I swear to God I shouted "IS THAT THE NEW WAJA?!?!!" the moment I see this pic.

Seriously, I can't believe I'm typing this either, that I actually think this isn't an odd Chinese car, and somehow, it is quite good-looking. Notice the door handle reeks from a Porsche.

This is probably the real beginning of a wave of competitive Chinese cars', unlike Proton, I guess they won't screw up. I remember seeing an Aston Martin-like Proton concept which nvr took off, a shame indeed. Omedeto, Roewe. Start your mission to fill this world with Chinese cars. History is abt to repeat iself, just like it was when the Japs n Korean started the invasion against the mighty Americans n European makes.

I'm worried now……..

• azrai (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 4:33 pm

Gen2 influenced.

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 7:06 pm

Damnnnnn cunnnn………not bad for a starter, will eat P1 alive for main course………..

• pekan (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 10:13 pm

how did pronounce the name again?

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 11:14 pm

roe……….we !!!!

• narrowband (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 12:39 am

LOL@the "wrong way" pronunciation. It could be simply "rou wei".

Anyway I like this concept. The side-profile is very nice.

• kei9 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 5:34 am

no its more like WRONG WAY hehehe