2008 Ford Flex

When I first had a look at the Ford Flex, I immediately thought it was very clever of Ford to introduce a vehicle of this kind into the market. The only other vehicle I know of this format is the new Honda Odyssey available in our market and Japan, not the USDM Odyssey. Basically a low-rider MPV – more of a stationwagon with extra rear seats than a lowered MPV.

Combining the design elements of an SUV with the people carrying capability of an MPV with the driving dynamics of a sedan, the Ford Flex is powered by a 3.5 litre V6 engine with 260 horsepower and 332Nm of torque. Unique creature comforts include a refrigerator mounted between the second-row captains chairs and a 7-color programmable ambient lighting system. The passengers get to experience an airy-feeling interior thanks to the Multi-Panel Vista Roof.

This is what people carriers should be. More photos after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• stephen_ksf (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 2:06 am

WOW!!!….a versartile yet good looking vehicle

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 2:32 am

Cool looking MPV. The rear different tone tail gate makes the car look retro. The speedo display is a modern classic. The type of old wagon cars in the US where they had external wooden panels.

• sarawakguy (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 2:38 am

Really BOXY looking indeed..!!! And a bigger luggage space at the rear too…!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 2:46 am

I think is a six-seater to me.. look like the center console is using the Volvo floating concept.. But i dont think this car can sell in Asian countries, except for rich ppl.. the road tax and maintainence already can kill me already.. For me a Serena, Wish and Stream considered very good to me already.. If i am rich i will buy the Nissan Algrand for sure.. Damn wide!

• zav (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 2:52 am

The front looks pretty like a range rover sport, overall it looks like a lower and stretched range rover , if ud look carefully the steering also seems lifted frm the range rover sport series

• ab (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 3:02 am

i want one!!!

• bugbear (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 3:10 am

wow~ the front looks like a range rover…

• legacy88 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 3:19 am

Boxy and attractive. Lowered stance make it looks good. Very nice!

• albagmane (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 3:58 am

i don think this car suits my taste… would rather pick the odyssey more to this one… feel like a coffin car lar, especially from the side view…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 4:22 am

Huge engine though, 3.5L V6!

• eezarm (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 4:27 am

To me, the design is good

it looks like a Mini Cooper + Range Rover

Interior is simple but elegance

Pity, only 6 ppl can fit in it

hey paul, saw an article bout u in a magazine just now.

bout ur blog huh?

cool…

• silverfish (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 4:29 am

That's a Range Rover design ripoff if I've ever seen one. But, then again Ford do own Land Rover.

• eezarm (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 4:31 am

eh, i counted, there are only 6 seat in this car…

where's the other one?

thought this is a 7 seater car/mpv

• armandd (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 4:35 am

i'm sceptical about the 'driving dynamics of a sedan' claim.. heheh

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 4:39 am

looks nice, but I think drag coefficient is nothing like the honda :P

• kevyeoh (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 4:50 am

wah lau eh…ugly ugly ugly !!!!

• drM (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 6:07 am

you know what this is, dont you?

this is the next escalade.

soon, all the black people, and footballers will buy that. another escalade.

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 6:34 am

i freaki'n like it! adore the boxy look……..wished it would come here……

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 6:50 am

Is this an American model? Cause it looks like one. I like the interior a lot, really seems comfortable, I feel like hugging the thick B and C pillars to sleep :p Hope this gets here soon, we badly need variety here.

• ukexpat (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 6:53 am

Ford heads back to the 50s – jeez that thing is ugly. One more nail in the coffin.

• transformer (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 7:01 am

Its so grand! So large!

but still prefer a V70(boxy type)..

• motherker (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 7:26 am

stretched range rover.. lolz..

the dash seems to sport a close resemblance to the volvo dash..

btw, is 3.5l gonna be enuff to pull that massive amount of metal??

• 707 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 8:04 am

very 70s

• armandd (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 8:17 am

~ kereta mayat ~

• toxicboy (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 8:20 am

modern and also old skool! awesome..

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 8:50 am

im getting bored with honda oddyseys's and estimas, we need something new

i see this as a low-rider suv, like a wide range rover

just not as boring as i see the japanese rides on the road

• familyman (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 9:39 am

hahahahaha

sweet…. bling me on!!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 4:11 pm

LOL

"armandd said,

April 27, 2007 @ 12:17 am

~ kereta mayat ~"

What sort of mentality is this?

Manufacturers are going back to Wagons as a more practical means of people carriers. The fashion of SUVs were so yesterday, as people learn the reality of poor driving dynamics, horrendous fuel consumption, expensive maintenance and to be honest, not that much more space than a hatchback or wagon.

Sport/performance wagons are en vogue nowadays (credit to be given to the Volvo 850T5). Unfortunately just not in Malaysia, as as our friend puts it, quite clearly does not see or appreciate the utility and practicality of a wagon.

As for the number of seats, I'm sure Ford has bench seat options for the 2nd row on other trim levels. Following standard Ford modle nomenclature, the "captains" chairs are for the "Limited" trim level, SE Trims will probably have bench for the 2nd row.

And yes, it does look like an upsized Mini, or a downsized Range Rover depending on how you look at it.

Weird that no one has mentioned the Chrysler Pacifica (although that is nowhere near low and sleek), which was one of the non-minivan passenger orientated vehicle. We also have the Mercedes R Class, and if we go further back, older station wagons from Volvo, Benz, Ford all had 3rd row options, (abeit rear facing) for thier Stationwagons.

• azrai (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 4:35 pm

Very masculine and macho.

• jazz1011 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 5:14 pm

Interesting design.

Very spacious interior – and loved the steering wheel.

Looks more like a mutated version of between an MPV and SUV.

• normaluser (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 5:40 pm

Looks like a Scion xB on steroids. Overall, good effort from the designers. The interior looks very upmarket and premium.

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 7:11 pm

No comment, but this is right damned good looking car…

just imagine if i take a ride with my parent, ooohh…musti happy meh..forever..ever…

heh…do Proton try to get along with Ford org;) just kidding…

Hopefully soon our proton mpv will look like this…i'll buy 1 meh:)

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 7:28 pm

Actually, im pimping my Ford Escape to follow this. Hehehe………comel tak……..???

• haroldz (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 9:34 pm

so boxy n very big engine

those american…….pollute our earth but nvr admit

• mad_guy (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 9:54 pm

it doesn't attract me in the 1st place………..coz look like a coffin car……..but the more u look at it……..the more u like it (although look like coffin car)………..interior is spacious………hihi…..i don think we r able to own it……..coz the engine capacity oledi told us………

• Infinitt (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 10:23 pm

Nice !!

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 10:53 pm

Just imagine u make it black on black………awesome!!!!!!!!

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 11:08 pm

JUst imagine u make it white on white……….extremely awesome!!!!

• ingolstadt (Member) on Apr 29, 2007 at 3:35 am

It's nice, but that's like a complete rip off of Land Rover…..

• hksp (Member) on Dec 11, 2008 at 12:13 pm

this is good, the next escalade

i want 1 and pimp it out