Mitsubishi Galant Fortis for JDM market

Galant Fortis

Mitsubishi has introduced the latest Mitsubishi Lancer into the Japanese JDM market, however it will not be called a Lancer. Instead, most likely because of the Lancer’s increase in size and Japan’s regulations with car dimensions, it will be known as the Mitsubishi Galant Fortis. As you all know, the Galant is a class larger than the Lancer, and a version has made it’s way into Proton stables as the Perdana.

This is probably the same reason as why there is a smaller Toyota Corolla Axio in the Japanese market, and another larger Corolla Altis which is wider and longer than the Axio, otherwise tax brackets would change or something like that.

However, the same Lancer in it’s high performance 4WD form will still be called the Lancer, the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X to be exact. The standard gearbox for this car will be a 6-speed automated manual transmission – it would be interesting to see how this automated manual transmissions performs compared to other automated manual technology leaders like Volkswagen DSG.

Galant Fortis

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• digiman (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 12:59 am

hei… sexy.. hm.. looks like Mitsu is on the way to cost cutting for the car design section… off topic.. can someone confirm me if i am wrong.. but is magna an aussie breed Mitsu?

• azrai (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 1:00 am

No wonder this new Lancer look so much like Galant VR4 if the JDM market call it Galant Fortis. Just look at that signature shark nose.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 1:18 am

Bigger size so call it like its bigger model. Japanese regulation sure is weird. So if the colt one day becomes bigger, they might just upgrade it to Lancer status.

Digiman: Magna is another name for Galant. Just like how they call Cefiro as Maxima.

• Din (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 1:21 am

Dear Mitsubishi,

I have been a good boy all year. If you bring this car in after July and price it under 95k, I promise to buy it.

Sincerely,

Din.

• carisacar (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 1:42 am

Not too shabby, Mitsu, but what's up with the "dropped-jaw" front grill that's almost a complete plagiarim from Audi? Hello, some originality pls.

• carisacar (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 1:43 am

Not too shabby, Mitsu, but what's up with the "dropped-jaw" front grill that's almost a complete plagiarim from Audi? Hello, some originality pls. Mitsu has done such a fantabulous job on the new Outlander, they shd stop the copy cat thing on the Lancer.

• aksMs (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 2:28 am

The front bonnet slope like a Volvo. I guess it has something to do with pedestrian safety. A bit S40-ish to me though. It is in different level than the Volvo S40, but I'd prefer the Volvo look though.

• 707 (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 3:06 am

my oh my….im in love all over again….

• avanza (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 3:07 am

Mitsubishi is really screwed up. Calling the Lancer a Galant. That's about the lamest thing a car company can do. I thought they are supposed to come up with a new Galant??? Or is it the Lancer!

• trustgtr (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 3:21 am

looks like the right directional tires are wrongly placed..better looking than the previous model..evo..i can't wait..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 3:24 am

Well lancer in Japan are categorize as mid-budget car, their cc are usually from 1.3L-1.8L. If this car is placed at 2.0L i think is under the Accord, Camry, Mazda 6 category.. So i think they have to change the name to suit the Japan automobile rules and regulation. I think it will be good, coz there will be new Lancer to come out for Asian countries. I will love to have this car compare to the new Subaru..

• transformer (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 3:43 am

yeah! this had shades of the old GALLANT! Macho indeed!

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 3:48 am

THis is going to be a good buy:) Like the looks. Nice to put turbo in that thing:D

• gtmaniac (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 3:57 am

avanza,

Mitsubishi did not screwed up, and it is not a new thing for a manufacturer to shuffle model names in their stable. Some previous examples:

1.Nissan – in certain market (especially Japan) they badged their N16 sentra as bluebird; but in Malaysia both are different class of car.

(and in older case, a Sunny 130Y known as nissan Laurel);

2.Honda case, the SO4 civic also marketed as an Integra SJ in Japan/Africa, even though we knew they as a different car here.

• civ96110 (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 4:07 am

I've been reading this blog for almost, but there's still some abbrev. that I don't know. Pray tell, what does JDM stand for?

• jzkzlz (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 4:16 am

wow…wat a nice car..

don't know when this JDM (Japanese Domestic Market) car can bring in to our country..

• indigo (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 4:17 am

JDM = Japan Domestic Market, Americans like to call that.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 4:22 am

versus Subaru Legacy? hmmm……

btw, still cant let go my Evo IX….

• albagmane (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 5:23 am

hmm… well i was expecting it to have LED rear lights since many new cars recently uses LED technology… but still not this lancer…

• L (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 5:34 am

This is surely nice from Mitsu..

• ab (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 6:04 am

Great design, finally owning a standard lancer (non-evo) is cool!

• motherker (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 6:15 am

omg!! the front sucks..

and why is the front longer than the rear? side view is terrible!! long nose with jaw dropping look, short and stunted rear.. wat happened to the sense of style which previous evos possessed?

• cosmohybrid (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 6:18 am

the six speed automated manual gearbox will most likely be engineered with a joint-ventured with magneti marreli.. the current automated manual clutch used by the evo on team mitsubishi is also by magneti marreli…

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 6:36 am

In US called lancer, in Japan called galant…because of size, but it is not that big compare to civic…

• cracktech (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 7:12 am

I thought the lines represent a PROTON design center WIRA replacement. seen about 2/3 years back.

Delayed or Screwed due to politicians playing "Boleh Sepak" with the PROTON management and organisation line-up.

Correct me.

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 5:11 pm

Ooooh! It's evil in black! It's even got a protruding butt! I think renaming the Lancer and calling it a Galant is a lame move by Mitsubishi, since those are cars of different classes to begin with, they should have came up with a new Galant.

• Tommy Peters (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 7:09 pm

Note the 'aggression' when the grill is flush with the fender – Audi led the way followed by BMW's 6 series. I believe, as seen in Paul's earlier post, this 'in your face' aggression will be seen in the new 3 series. The minimalist rear lights are typically 'Italian' as opposed to the Germans and Swedes who are maximising theirs.

• AmSouth (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 5:34 pm

Wow…. I am in love again!…. Really hope MMM will sell this gorgeous car by this year … If yes, say goodbye to Civic….Lancer/Galant (whatever the name is, doesn't matter) will be my next baby….

• flrsjl (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 7:27 pm

front: S40

rear: Alfa

side: Mazda 3

My Personal view only……

• Tracks (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 8:49 pm

I noted that the directional treads tyres are installed differrently on the left and right. The orientation on the left side of the car is the current normal practice for such a tyre tread. I wonder is this a new format for installation of such tyres???

• kei9 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 5:18 am

ahh! i9m scared! the front looks fierce! but still i liked the previous model more…anyone agree?

• acbc (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 6:32 pm

Nice. I'm aiming for new car late this year or early next year… either Evo X or Galant Fortis or something smaller such as Colt Turbo or "i" depending on budget. My current Galant VR4 will be for weekend use only. Once I've reached my intended upgrade to 300WHP, it will retire.

• kody (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 9:39 pm

wahlaueh…

Excellent… stylish. Imagine if white in colour.

• kaiza (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 11:26 pm

so nice compared with the current lancer.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 5:04 pm

Alfa 159/Brera rear……aiyoooohhhhhh

• ramikaze on Apr 21, 2009 at 11:34 pm

i have a galant fortis which i imported into syria in the middle east and my multi communication system is all in japanese can any one help me with translating this to english, do i need software?? or is there a way i can change the language in the settings menu

i cant do anything because its all in japanese and i dont understand anything

rami

• hi rami
      do u still have ur galant fortis, see we both have the same problem,or did u get to understand the communication system. ?
      hill

• lbfam on Apr 18, 2010 at 3:49 pm

Hi,

I wish to change the language where the Trip Display information is shown from Japanese to English. Any idea how to do this?

Also, is the Lancer owner manual the same as the Fortis? And if so, where can I purchase one?

• Trudy on Feb 27, 2012 at 11:23 pm

Wow, still no answer to this after 3 years. Just got an 08 Galant Fortis. Now I’m worried I’ll never be able to use any of the things as they are all in Japanese.

• hi am in love with the 2007 galant fortis (the brave) but am not so sharp on understanding the multi-communication system that it has in .i want to delete some songs that is on the system but cant cause instructions are in jap. there is not a handbook as yet i was told, can someone tell me how to. thanks– hillary