VW Cars opens new showroom in Penang

Volkswagen Passat

VW Cars Sdn Bhd has just opened a new branch in Penang. It’s latest showroom in the northern region is located at 193, Jalan Sungai Pinang, 10150 Penang. This is the fourth showroom established by VW Cars in Malaysia.

To commemorate the launch, VW Cars Sdn Bhd will be holding a two-day test drive event beginning May 1st 2007 at the Jalan Sungai Pinang showroom. You will be able to test drive all the usual Volkswagen favourites such as the Volkswagen Touareg 3.6 V6, the Volkswagen Passat 2.0 TFSI, the delicious 200 horsepower Volkswagen Golf GTI 2.0 TFSI with DSG gearbox and the Volkswagen New Beetle.

So yes, Penang folks who are fans of the Golf GTI, head on to the showroom from May 1-2 to check the hot hatch out! Even non-fans may apply, you’ll be converted for sure.

For more details, please contact branch manager Edwin Koh at 019-5411452, or the branch at 04-2888868, or fax at 04-2888863.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Shavvy (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 12:37 pm

anyone know how much is..Golf GTi in Malaysia? enligthen me me plz..

• jazz1011 (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 5:21 pm

Look as though VW is spreading its wings further and further.

It's a good sign. VW are really nice cars and we longed to see more of their showrooms mushrooming here.

Cheers!

• Hikaru (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 7:37 pm

Somehow, i don't think VW generates taht much interest in Malaysia as the pricing just makes it not worth it to buy them. I beetle 1.6 looks tempting but it can be some wat kemp to drive that car.

• chun (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 12:34 am

I don't think it's ao much a matter of pricing, as much as it is about branding. Simply put, there aren't enough savy people who are aware of VW in Malaysia. If you look at the Passat, it's priced comparably with a C180K and a 318, yet the specs and performance are much better. Same with the GTI, you can't buy anything with better handling or performance at or below that price.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 3:57 am

What are the prices of VW cars also do they have a malaysian website for it?

• civ96110 (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 4:14 am

VW Golf GTi RM198,888.00. Barmy price, not astoundingly good looking car, supposedly sublime performance and handling.

• japankiller (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 5:03 am

horraayyy!!!!finally it comes here…..getting one soon..

• jhuan (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 7:12 am

I noticed there will be another VW showroom coming up in JB. Located in Tampoi, in between Honda & Hyundai showrooms. Looks like VW is heating up to promote its brand, esp in bigger cities.

I simply love VW Touareg!! Muscular yet so refine. Great SUV!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 8:24 am

Err.. Maybe after few months, P1 brand will be replaced by VW? Well, anything can happend in boleh land right? But i like the Gold GTI.. Cool car with DSG, i like that.

• nmh (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 8:28 am

hope the showroom will convert to proton soon…or sell proton under one roof

• chun (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 8:31 pm

You can find all the details fo VW cars and their prices at www.vw.com.my

• juggernaut (Member) on Apr 29, 2007 at 1:59 am

look here… most malaysians are idiots….. they wouldn't know a good car when it is propped up in front of them….. do you think your bawah pokok mekanik can handle good equipment like this…. hmmph….. stick to your 124 and 126 mercs… you all know who i am talking about… which people….. it is a fact that whatever this particular people want… price will be high…. that is why fiat and to certain extent alfa has no resale….

A car is a liability and a disposable….. not an asset foo's!

• s60t (Member) on Apr 30, 2007 at 5:55 am

Had a look at the passat. Very comfy and spacious. 200hp engine! beats the BMW 318 and C180K (which is due for replacement anyway). If I could keep tha car for 10 years then it would be a good buy. really value for money at RM 230 K. But if you get fed up with it you'll have a tough time disposing it at a decent price. Also don't know about the after sales service. (I just sold my 3 year old peugeot 307SW cos no one in Ipoh seems to be able to repair my jerky tiptronic gear. ) Also if there is a tie up with proton and they assemble it here the price will drop instantly.

• kei9 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 5:23 am

passat is a good car!

• ebenezer on Nov 20, 2015 at 6:10 am

i think this is the best company in the world interms of cars.tuareg is the car i ever wanted in my lyf.