Proton GEN2 Facelift Spotted!

Proton_GEN2_Facelift_1.jpg

[ UPDATE #2: Proton Waja CPS 1.6 now in showrooms! Read the link for more details and photos. ]

[ UPDATE: The facelifted Proton GEN2 with the Campro CPS engine has been unveiled at the 2007 Thailand Motor Expo. Click here for more details and specifications! ]

Reader apexg2 sent in these forums posted on the Team Campro forums, of the latest facelift of the Proton GEN2 5-door aeroback. Note this is the aeroback, not the sedan. There has been some changes to the front bumper as well as the grille, which is noticeably larger now. There are no photos of the rear, but it is reported that the wordings CPS 1.6 is written on the rear, which could mean the Campro will finally be coming with the long awaited CPS (Cam Profile Switching) feature! apexg2 also noted that the engine sound was quite different from other Campro engines.

Sources say that the exterior will not be the biggest change with the GEN2 Facelift, but more of the interior and under the engine bay. The interior is said to be vastly improved in terms of build and ergonomics over the current GEN2’s.

BTW, just a word for the generous contributor of these photos, the Team Campro forums is a forum that focuses on the discussion of the S4PH and S4PE Campro engines and the cars that are powered by these two engines.

Two more photos after the jump.

Proton_GEN2_Facelift_2.jpg

Proton_GEN2_Facelift_3.jpg

The original GEN2 Aeroback:

Original GEN2 Aeroback

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ricardoz (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 1:49 am

Hi Paul,

What's the advantage of CPS vs. current Campro?

• Paul Tan on May 01, 2007 at 1:51 am

more power, opportunity to have a better torque curve

• gmtgoh (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 1:52 am

This one call spy shot???

Malaysia every where also got what! GEN 2 ! how we know is sedan?

• Hikaru (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 1:57 am

I think what proton needs is a selleable car and not an endless pursuit of performance at the expense of comfort or refine. Toyota sells not because they can outperform anyone but because they have targeted a group of people who buy cars without much knowledge of them and only want to get from A to B. Proton need to work on the average luxury market more. CPS only serves to show how backward proton is and how much catching up it needs to do.

On a positive note, the front actually looks much better and maybe a bit of work on the back Gen-2 might look good. that's why the other area to work on is refinement and not CPS.

• Paul Tan on May 01, 2007 at 2:03 am

gmtgoh: this is not the sedan. and cant u see the front looks different now?

• 8918 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 2:06 am

Very very minor touch of facelift,the rim looks very ah beng!

• gmtgoh (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 2:14 am

wat diff

?

• gmtgoh (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 2:15 am

no t realise?

• Paul Tan on May 01, 2007 at 2:19 am

i wrote in my post

"There has been some changes to the front bumper as well as the grille, which is noticeably larger now."

• proton GL (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 2:28 am

"Proton Campro CPS – Still under development, said to be based on Lotus technology which developed Porsche's VarioCam."-wiki,

-they did it,

• pausch (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 2:28 am

Looks like Golf GTi like dat ha??

• silverfish (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 2:44 am

Worse than it was.

On the other had, a Campro that actually has Cam Profile Switching is good news. Although it is several years late.

But then again, this and the face lift to the Gen 2 isn't really going to solve Proton's problems.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 2:44 am

hmm… looks like it will follow the Saga's style. change a bit here n there call face lift. but not sure of the details yet. this is my 1st impression.. anyway, most of the people do not know about car engine… they know more of the quality. as long as maintenance is affordable and not too complicated shu b ok la. but to most people, it is still remembered as Gen-2 with a cacat door and it not a popular car!! i think if they can come up with All-New Wira, might have a diff impact!!

• neurra (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 2:47 am

facelift again?

and reducing the size of the rims again? who's voice are they hearing man~

• gmtgoh (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 2:47 am

This is why proton failed ler if u don provide old poto i tell u ……..

No Diff lah!

Youngster like me see no diff and u all just imagine…….

P1 spend thousand and million just to change that grill>?

Wat that?

• NiceCar (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 2:53 am

only minor changes..

but pls dont telling me that this also consider "NEW" car from P1?

is this car also 1 of the 2 new cars that will release by P1 in this year that announce by P1?

• tokmoh (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 2:56 am

Well, well, they listened to James May's advice: "I'd gladly trade my Lotus-developed suspension for a…Toyota-developed door trim."

I'll be eager to see the improved interior :D.

• juggernaut (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 2:57 am

…what ever…..once i can sit in the rear of this proton car i will be happy…

Ps( 6' 2") i can sit ok in Waja, and saga ('91 1.5 auto) both with head two cm away from ceiling

• proton GL (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 3:14 am

it is said that CPS come with VIM, will it..

by the way, looks like blackout inner headlight casing.

• encik98 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 3:27 am

Ditto on the interior (Sooo much pasar malam looking plastic on soo many jigsaw puzzle parts of the dashboard)- that plus a more efficient engine (Hopefully the EVE Gen2 will produce a more efficient transmission someday). If they throw in an iPod I'll probably buy the sedan, and put in an NGV unit in the trunk to save rising fuel costs.

• KelvC (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 3:27 am

i think many would agree with me on this:

1. It's not the exterior design many are bashing about (generally) although some head (space?) needs a little up-lift,

2. It's the interior that needs major revamp and ASAP too,

3. It's the Campro without the cam profiling

If the above "spy" report turns out true then Proton has indeed resolved the 2 main challenge that they have against the Gen2.

Oh, perhaps to add a #4 to the above: How about ditching that Gen2 name, it's not really a global branding if they are really serious to go for WW sales?

• Wai (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 3:35 am

omg it looks like an integrated bullbar upfront now, like those in the ford truck lineup >_

• encik98 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 3:36 am

Yes, the name never really captured my imagination…perhaps if UK and Australia are the main overseas markets then perhaps get them to come up with a name (Although why we can't think of a decent name escapes me)…maybe a more mat salleh friendly one…

• encik98 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 3:42 am

Am I the only one that noticed the bigger grill above looks different than the Gen2 sedan spyshots posted earlier (With the Chrysler-like logo and metal extensions)?

• KelvC (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 3:49 am

I reminiscence of the previous Myvi launch, once again Perodua will be launching their product far earlier than Proton. Two years ago, Myvi took a huge bite of the market before Savvy was launched plagued with numerous delays.

Except this time Proton seized a sizable portion of potential customer from Perodua with the Merdeka sale to entice customer with their entry level sedan. With that target market seized, Proton would have a good chance to make a comeback with their upper segment products; i.e. Gen2 FL with CPS including refurnished interior (please!) and old problems resolved (praying,…seems wrong to pray to a car).

So Proton, what is this going to be? One way ticket to the sunset or readying for that second wind?

And yes Proton, before i get shot needlessly tonight, please change the name. Engage a serious (forget about the politically correct ones) branding co and get it done and FAST! PRONTO! Hey how's that for a name? Anyway, if Kia is rebranding their cars, more so should Proton to stay with the game…or at least within the game for the short term until they could short their internal "whatever" out once and for all.

Decide once and for all whether they should be in the car business or to be politically correct business. Without this sorted out, they're in the quagmire for the long haul.

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 3:59 am

facelift? boring….. but the sedan Gen2 is quite good, at least for rakyat to have more choices.

should learn from Perodua, the Myvi facelift is a TRUE facelift!!!

• tokmoh (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 4:25 am

What Myvi FL? Or u're referrin to the SE ie Special Edition.

@KelvC

Well said, even those Top Gear crew hardly mentioned anythin too bad abt Gen2, other than the joke they made abt putting their director on the driver seat n The Stig at the passenger's seat, lol. Although that does nt mean they hv anythin nice to say abt it either. James May's (often mistaken as JC who made this statement) only thing against it is the cheapskate interior.

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 4:47 am

front seriously looks ALOT like the Golf GTI grill…headlights look like thy r smoked….so which one is gonna be introduced first..facelift or sedan? abit confusing….

• kei9 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 4:55 am

huh? id like the headlight better if its using projector type………e-nabill i think dat they will introduce 2 of'em at once! but whats confusing is that will the sedan version be having this facelift? what do yall think?

• ab (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 5:07 am

reason it looked like a golf gti is the black disguise tapes

• ATOMECHTRONICZ (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 5:14 am

dun do something that useless …pls learn from japanese car ! We need good quality but not engines HP cuz we r not often driving more than 200km/h ! N need to save fuel not waste fuel for more Hp….

• kei9 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 5:37 am

hahahaha! ab ur abselutely right!

• mystvearn (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 5:52 am

p1 making VW grilles now? same case with new waja. this one like the golf gti.

• DG (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 6:21 am

Change of grill due to engine size? Maybe? or for cooling purposes? ……. its for us to find out and for proton to know….lolz

• jehutyz (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 6:23 am

Another GREAT facelifted by Proton.

• mofo (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 6:38 am

What a junk.

Others facelift makes it look better, this make look more worst. That's why you losing the market percentage%

Btw Paul, how the "talk" deal ? went into sea ? Anyone have news about it. My 6th sense told me Naza might on the way on it.

• cyborgx (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 6:49 am

I dont think anyone gonna "buy" it. The brand itself, Proton already stinks like shiet.

My personal opinion though :/

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 7:38 am

Yahoo… Perodua Viva is gonna kick this model butt out.. LOL! But if this car is with new engine and sedan.. maybe it can sell better a bit then the original Gen.2. But i prefer Waja than this Gen.2. My father (180cm) hit his head when entering this car, and he hates it until now.. Never think of tall ppl.. And i think the new engine should be fitted with chain drive system.. Pls laa already got ppl Gen.2 timing belt putus just at 80,000Km, Wah lau ehh… That person Kan P1 car like kanasai! Low quality timing belt, say can last 100,000km…

• aesthari (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 8:12 am

Nice, they finally did away with the stupid wau motifs; they got rid of it from the Waja, then the Savvy, finally Gen 2.

• El Goodoo (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 8:19 am

yeah, saw this car in proton tanjung malim…. the one i saw was a solid/chilli red and a silver gen2…the interior will have a black/ dark grey trimming… (no more beige) with airbags… and the material used is of higher quality than the current one… they used soft plastic… those spungy type that u see in japs car

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 8:41 am

i seriously tink that those new grills of this gen2 and the waja campro are due to the unusual heat campro produces….my gen2 gets very hot,alot hotter than my old satria..although its made to withstand the heat…bt i tink those biggeer grills are for cooling purposes…notice how the R3 bumper are designed….i jus hope….with the CPS finally out..proton finally diches those old mitsu gearboxes….donot match the high rev campro at all,manual or auto…i hope thy get the sting beter…

another hope? DO NOT USE SIEMENS ECU ! thy are very restrictive….bt otherwise…this 1.6 wil trounce alot of those curent 1.8cc ! any idea wats the wight of the car? need to calculate wight/power ratio…curent gen2 is around 1180kg auto

• demio121 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 8:52 am

that spied car… being red and black masking tape over the nose really look like VW Golf GTI.

If the above Gen2 have a better interior and some real valve timing technology, then its a welcome news, though its like 3yrs late. Apart from re-doing the interior, they better be giving out better plastic (not some LEGO type plastic) and also better color scheme for the inside.

At least now, Proton is listening to what the consumer say.

• mits27 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 8:55 am

Too bad, cannot see the rear site, the front only has very minor change.

• cbljkkj (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 12:06 pm

Hmm, is it just me or does anyone else notice that the headlamps have been blacked out on the inside? Thoughts anyone?

• cacing (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 3:11 pm

haha…..actually……LEGO plastic is probably better built.

I grew up spending time with LEGOs, and i reckoned they are better quality plastics then the P1 dashboards.

• theking (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 3:51 pm

Guys,

The WAJA MC3 Campro 1.6 CPS will be out in July '07.

Then Gen2 Hatchback facelift Campro 1.6 CPS will be out in Aug '07.

• tokmoh (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 5:30 pm

mofo said,

April 30, 2007 @ 10:38 pm

What a junk.

Others facelift makes it look better, this make look more worst. That’s why you losing the market percentage%

Btw Paul, how the “talk” deal ? went into sea ? Anyone have news about it. My 6th sense told me Naza might on the way on it.

———————————————–

Nobody I think praised the FL Accord, the Mercedes copycat. In fact, I personally dun like the 2004 FL Altis (I prefer the older pre-fl looks) or the 2006 Vios, those 2 cars also look better in its original form.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 5:47 pm

This car has a major defect in its design, try asking someone who is 5'8" and above to sit in the back.

The design is very much mazda-6 like but no where near.

The only solution to ensure this car would sell is: 5 year free maintenance, free service and full warranty.

What is goin on between VW and P1? I passed by VW showroom everyday goin for lunch break, swallowing saliva everytime seeing passat…..

• KelvC (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 5:55 pm

After a good night sleep last nite (TGILD!), took a good look at the spy pictures above. I'm just wondering whether the silver (?) stripe on the front end of the hood is absolutely necessary? I'm trying to see it from the designer's point of view, I'm sure they have one and if you're in here, the idea of having that stripe is to refocusing the viewer's eyes to that area. However, what is the selling point there? Honeycomb grille? Is it possible to do away with that stripe? and, even if the stripe is ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY, is it possible to reduce the height of the stripe to reduce the thickness and bulky/clumsy yet flimsy look?

Bro Theo, are you available to do the hood minus that stripe? Bet it will look better than what they're proposing now.

• peYno (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 6:33 pm

mitlanevo said,

April 30, 2007 @ 7:59 pm

facelift? boring….. but the sedan Gen2 is quite good, at least for rakyat to have more choices.

============================

change bumper and front bumper u called it true facelifted????

prrrfthh.. unless u hv never seen Toyota passo Bodykit…

• proton GL (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 7:13 pm

theking said,

May 1, 2007 @ 7:51 am

Guys,

The WAJA MC3 Campro 1.6 CPS will be out in July ‘07.

Then Gen2 Hatchback facelift Campro 1.6 CPS will be out in Aug ‘07.

——————————————————–

theking

any news or clue on the GTI?

• nizam80 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 7:25 pm

Everyone knows Proton quality sucks, but i'm aware that they are trying their best to improve. Oh yes, its TRUE. I notice that most new Proton cars nowadays come with Dual Airbags and ABS, as standard. Soon, u'll see them standard in all their product line up (including the 1.3). Now, finally, the CPS is out! Of course everywhere u can hear people WHINING that its 3 yrs late or whatever…. but…. who cares…… It's made by MALAYSIANS!!!

• bestofamat (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 8:03 pm

Paultan,

Hope good news in the engine's bay will be true.

I got info from my "bapak sedara", he told me at his factory (he's working there), is producing a safety net/device that will be installed under the new gen2 roof. He said the net is to give more/additional protection to the occupants in the car. The factory is in batu pahat. Those guys said new changes in the interior, I am looking forward for that.

About the new front grill, why they don't rid off the upper silver plastic. I don't like it. Coz, Gen2 is more towards budget car and not exclusive car. Let Waja be an exclusive car.

And what happen to the front lamp. I read www.motortrader.com.my, they noticed that there are changes and looks more round shape. So, Proton is producing 2 variant cars. Frankly, I dont like the current Gen2 front lamp.

Lastly, I agree with those guys, the Gen2 name should be changed……

• infinity (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 8:03 pm

mitlanevo said,

April 30, 2007 @ 7:59 pm

============================

come on mitlanevo, u call the MyVi SE a TRUE facelift?it's only mere changes in the on the bumpers, addition of skirting and a spoiler..and also rims..u call tat TRUE facelift?OMG!

if u 12 compare, this Gen2 is "TRUE-ER" facelift as it involves changes in the engine, and major changes in the interior (as claimed by team campro)…

though i agree tat the headroom at the rear need more improvement..

• peYno (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 8:28 pm

agree w infinity

mitlanevo really make me laugh

if just additional Bodykit.is the true facelift

then acc brothers shop can make the super real facelift of Myvi

prrrfthhh

• KelvC (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 8:34 pm

To echo what has been highlighted here in this thread:

1. What constitute a FL? i.e. a new front & back bumper? a new skirting? New tire rims? Interior change? new audio head unit? a new front grille? Etc? Or the whole shebang?

2. What constitute a new generation change? i.e. whole chassis change? anyway this is self explanatory.

3. Most importantly and yet confusing, what is the category which is neither FL nor new generation? Perhaps should be aptly called as "Special Edition" which is not meant to be positioned as the base model of a particular car and a short term fling.

The category #3 above is essential us car enthusiast alike simply because I see the similarity of the MPV categorization here in Malaysia which a non MPV is labeled as MPV simply because for the artificial prestige and of course pricing as well.

• infinity (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 8:52 pm

i believe a good facelift is wat perodua has done to its kancil..the chasis is still the same, but it looks totally different, both interior and exterior…

i might be wrong though…

• schdmitz (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 9:34 pm

Wat so special????wasting PPL's $$$$$how much they're going to waste????doing something not profit ppl….better scrap it and get volks to do the joblah….look at skoda and seat…..should learn from them….

• encik98 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 9:34 pm

i’m pretty sure i didn’t say that. i really don’t care if the myvi does better than the sirion. i put hamster’s quote there to point out that perodua’s efforts are all facelifts, as you said earlier.

what i really wonder is if the govt would support brothers if they tweaked a volkswagon golf, rebadged it ‘bestari sri hartamas’ (whatever), and call it a national car, worthy of all the perks associated with that title. but that is another debate for another day.

• kei9 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 9:38 pm

oh man! backstabbed by their own partners! that suck!

• KelvC (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 9:54 pm

schdmitz, ask 10 blokes on the street and 9 of them will tell VW is the way and the light at the end of the tunnel (until someone can show a second tunnel with a light that is). However until the negotiation is indeed completed, life must go on therefore a "new" product release is to ensure continuity and viability of the organization as a whole. I, too, truly believe VW would provide the 1+1=synergy (I got to thank my long ago lecturer for this if you're reading this…if you're still doing your Masters in UK!) however they too have problems of their own. With "new" (not so new but higher shares majority since last year) master’s direction might, if not have, shifted to new motives. Even SEAT might be feeling hot under the seat lately.

Even in GEs, while the masters battling it out on the field, the civil servants continue with services to ensure the ball is not dropped which will cause a total standstill in our daily lives.

To sum it up, bottomline, life must go.

• encik98 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 9:59 pm

the EVE gen2? that’s just a concept car – not much to comment on…but if you look through the net it suggests it basically makes use of many different technologies developed by many parties eg ZF Ecotronic CVT, Cobasys battery pack, etc. So again, from an engineering perspective, it looks like proton/lotus did a demonstration of ‘system integration’ (I was actually hoping it was proprietary technology malaysia could earn some intellectual property royalties from – now that would make me go out and wave the flag silly). don’t get me wrong, ‘system integration’ is not as easy as making a rojak, its definitely more difficult than say, designing a headlight or a bodykit…but i have not read anything that suggests the EVE Gen2 is basically testing a suite of items that can be incorporated and sold as a future version of Gen2…so no comment apart from “If its just for a demo, then couldn’t that money go into improving build quality technology?”.

• kei9 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 10:01 pm

yeah, i think so too…….

• encik98 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 10:03 pm

i stand corrected – it appears it is expected to go into a production proton in the next 2 years (According to Yahoo report below)!!!

http://uk.cars.yahoo.com/15032007/45/lotus-s-electrifying-hybrid-0.html

• KelvC (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 10:09 pm

Correction: To sum it up, bottomline, life must go on.

• kei9 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 10:32 pm

at least they make some improvements…….not just wasting money. by the way, those headlights are from the gen-2 R3 concept……….but i have seen a modified one dats modified by subi, almost the same styling……

• Bbingbong (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 10:48 pm

will wait and c..hmm

• peYno (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 11:35 pm

actually… all perodua products are facelifed from original version…

Kancil=Mira facelift

Kenari =Move facelift

stupid FL ever= Kelisa IMAGO..

prrrfthhh

• encik98 (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 11:56 pm

'actually… all perodua products are facelifed from original version…'

Finally, someone points out the obvious…

To quote Richard Hammond ('The Hamster' from Top Gear),

"No jokes, this is a good-looking car. But if it looks familiar, that’s because this is a Daihatsu Sirion in all but name. You see it costs billions to develop a new car – you design them on computers then build lots of them to crash into walls. So Perodua let someone else do it and spent their money sticking a new badge on it. But they kept a bit back to spend on styling. Which is why, even though it shares bits and pieces with the Sirion, the Myvi is better looking."

• khimfoh (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 1:32 am

Wow,

Didn't know that a PT's posting of the GEN 2 face-lift with CPS can generate so many comments. :-)

• Charger (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 1:32 am

Not another Golf GTI-esque look, I hope! :D

• tokmoh (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 2:18 am

Now that u mentioned it, the headlamp do look a little bit different, more round-ish like the R3 ones.

@kelvC

that 1 out of 10 would then want what? Naza? Hoho, an easy way to find a gahmen supporter nden bash him, heheh.

• normaluser (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 3:15 am

I have a positive feeling that the interior (especially the door trim) has been redesigned and improved with better & quality materials. Hopefully, they manage to put a glovebox & change the stereo and the center console with better quality switches.

If not, then the facelift will become a waste. When buying cars, Malaysians have become more matured than before; thet are not looking for exterior looks only.

• peYno (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 4:40 am

encik98 said,

May 1, 2007 @ 3:56 pm

‘actually… all perodua products are facelifed from original version…’

Finally, someone points out the obvious…

To quote Richard Hammond (’The Hamster’ from Top Gear),

“No jokes, this is a good-looking car. But if it looks familiar, that’s because this is a Daihatsu Sirion in all but name. You see it costs billions to develop a new car – you design them on computers then build lots of them to crash into walls. So Perodua let someone else do it and spent their money sticking a new badge on it. But they kept a bit back to spend on styling. Which is why, even though it shares bits and pieces with the Sirion, the Myvi is better look

=========================

Hamster (Top gear) opinion is just his personal opinion and did not represent UK ppl's view..

just look at Savvy vs myvi sales figure in UK… then u will know

• encik98 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 5:05 am

how is it his personal opinion? did perodua do more just tweak a daihatsu sirion?

sales performance is a result of many things and is a separate debate altogether (from how much engineering work goes into a gen2 or a myvi). in fact, from an engineering perspective (Which not everyone cares for, i understand), he may say the same about naza and their recycled peugot 206, etc.

• kei9 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 5:09 am

well p2 will never enter the japanese market cos BASICALLY its a rebadged daihatsu!

• kei9 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 5:22 am

so what do uguys think have the higher sale….sirion or myvi? tough ha?

• peYno (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 5:27 am

according to encik98 statement, it seems like Myvi has better sales than sirion in UK

prrrrfthhhhhh

• kei9 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 5:41 am

oh ! thats a relieve! by the way encik98 u got comments on the EVE gen2

• kei9 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 6:21 am

what! r u kidding me!? i think they are going to penetrate the international market now……..

• encik98 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 6:31 am

forget the international market – i'd buy one now! hope the LCD screen is replaced with something that doesn't look so 80s (From the pics). especially if its in the vios/city price range. also, now that we are so friendly with singapore, i'm surprised they haven't gotten together with Creative to bundle together an MP3 player (Instead of iPod) or a Personal Media Player (Probably with better LCD).

• theking (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 6:40 am

proton gl,

there is one neo with vw engine at proton s.alam maybe gti option.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 7:45 am

Face lift? "Crap show"! Losing by million a day still got time to change-here-and-there for the sake of changing on failed and unpopular model!

• infinity (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 7:59 am

i think tat proton is serious in its quality issues…best example, the facelifted waja and savvy…interior is way better..especially the savvy which was launched about a year before it was facelifted..

• infinity (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 8:01 am

i think tat proton is serious in its quality issues…best example, the facelifted waja and savvy…interior is way better..especially the savvy which was launched about a year before it was facelifted..

• nizam80 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 8:02 am

theking said,

"proton gl,

there is one neo with vw engine at proton s.alam maybe gti option."

——————————————————-

theking, any ideas why the upcoming Waja CPS is called the Waja MC3?

• the man (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 8:15 am

soon p1 will launch this engine so called CPS. this bumper shown with black tape as camouflage for the r&d team checking cooling performance of the engine, they should meet some target performance setting like highway, hill climbing etc. so that the new engine will not cause overheat later…..hopefully

• nizam80 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 8:22 am

Is Proton going to use the CPS in all its product line up soon? (including the Savvy?)

• bestofamat (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 8:31 am

so no CVT (continous variable transmition) in the new Gen2? SO when PP1 will install CVT? anyone?

• kody (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 6:47 pm

Wahlaueh…

This is a pre-failed model to be lauched. I personally don't like GEN2 overall look & shape. I prefer the WAJA (not latest one),& wira Aeroback SE .

The wira Aeroback SE is anytime good looking & spacious than this GEN2. The downsides are only the low quality & ages engine below the hood. Since Wira always stay at top of P1 sales figure… why don't they put the CPS CAMPRO under wira & upgrage overall interior quality & design. I believe this idea can help to boast better figure than this ugly GEN2.

P1 please concentrate to bring down WAJA price to RM29999 & better quality then…. haha… i believe P2 cannot even smoke from far distance…hahaa :)

• BettaSplendens (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 10:04 pm

no matter wat, Gen2 is still jus Gen2, won attract me at all even put in Ferrari engine…jus my personal view ;)

P1 boleeeeeeeh!

• kei9 (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 11:16 pm

haih! so much mysteries bout p1.boring me out! =( they should hav make some new models

• mr. proton (Member) on May 02, 2007 at 11:55 pm

betta splenden…u r the pure n genuine protn basher.. no matter wat they do u will talk bullshit… jus shut ur mouth if u hate it…

• infinity (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 12:46 am

mr. proton said,

May 2, 2007 @ 3:55 pm

betta splenden…u r the pure n genuine protn basher.. no matter wat they do u will talk bullshit… jus shut ur mouth if u hate it…

———————————————-

mr proton,u got my vote…some critics are good..so tat there'll be improvement..but bashing without any base or facts is very unconstructive..

• BettaSplendens (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 1:23 am

Do ppl need to point out the fact & problems of P1 here?? dont u guys see & experienced enough?

well, i believe in life progression and improvement…i do respect others ppl option no matter how….

cheers & all the best wiv ur P1 ok?

• kei9 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 2:13 am

p1 it our pride ….IF the are good……..

• infinity (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 4:09 am

experience wise, i admit tat proton produced poor quality cars in the past…but cant u see that proton is improving?i dun support proton blindly…take gen2for example, i too complained bout the rear headroom and the cheap interior…but, from wat i c now, ie the new waja and savvy, dun u think tat they r trying every bit to improve their quality?wait till this new gen2 being launched..i believe tat the quality will be much better..not sure bout the rear headroom though..for the sedan, i think the rear headroom will be better…

• kei9 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 5:22 am

good comment infinity! i agree also! but my support on p1 is 50:50………..

• newblogger (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 7:09 am

No surprise at all! I think new Gen2 can break the Savvy Lowest Selling Record!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 8:30 am

There are Protonians out there claim P1 got improvement simply because of there is upgrade/facelift or cosmetic change or improve quality to certain models, and dare to jump into conclusions that P1 bashers is unconstructive!

Sigh, pathetic, do you think improve in quality like the dashboard with "less plasticky" is consider as truely improvement! The fact is this is not improvement, just resolve problems that suppose should not exist in the first place!

From R & D perspective, improvement by world class standard is producing entirely NEW PRODUCT(S)/model with better design, aesthetic feature, safety aspects, better quality, competitve price and othes traits that meet market expectation.

Don't put up crap talk by claim improve here a bit there a bit simply because change the more interesting gear knob, no more power window failure, no creaking sound or other 1001 quality problems! this is just solve unnecessary problems that should be non-existence in the first place! If P1 worker manage to resolve power window failure that persist for the last 20 years, that doesn't mean improve in quality! But solve STUPID problems only!

• nizam80 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 8:44 am

newblogger said,

"No surprise at all! I think new Gen2 can break the Savvy Lowest Selling Record!"

Yes, Savvy sales are quite teruk. But, a rebadged 4 door frog lookalike car, being the best selling car in a country like Malaysia, doesn't surprise me at all.

• nizam80 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 9:16 am

P1 quality is improving.

• mr. proton (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 12:02 pm

fuyo la… kody.. u r the deputy for betta splenden, i know wat i can afford n wat my taste. admit it proton had improved since savvy n neo in term of quality. u can ask savvy owner. not so much complaint.. why u never credit proton when they done good job

• peYno (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 12:40 pm

nizam80 said,

May 3, 2007 @ 12:44 am

newblogger said,

“No surprise at all! I think new Gen2 can break the Savvy Lowest Selling Record!”

Yes, Savvy sales are quite teruk. But, a rebadged 4 door frog lookalike car, being the best selling car in a country like Malaysia, doesn’t surprise me at all.

===================

poor malaysian taste ma… that frog design only can be sold in Malaysia… not in other country… Juara kampung…prrrfthhhh

• mr. proton (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 7:30 pm

againn to all of u(the damn bashers)…. jus duduk diam2.. u hav more money buy the foreign car. but for us not kaya one.. we still depend on national car. jgn cakap banyak saje.. but the fact is u r all empty tin milo…hahaha

• kody (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 7:44 pm

wahlaueh…

mr. proton , just think about this… why you only can afford for national car?? If we dont have national car, anytime with same amount of money you can buy foreign car or better quality car. Rational thinking. Think man. use your brain!! dont blindly blaim or bash proton bashers. I am not kaya also & have to spend my $ for P1 lousy product. If P1 really good do you think anyone will simply bash P1. You are adult, just use your brain to think for the logics behind. Dont blindly just support for what you can affort, you should go or think for what you should get with what you can afford to pay! think again….

• mr. proton (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 8:02 pm

fuyo la… kody.. u r the deputy for betta splenden, i know wat i can afford n wat my taste. admit it proton had improved since savvy n neo in term of quality. u can ask savvy owner. not so much complaint.. why u never credit proton when they done good job

• nizam80 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 8:18 pm

kody said,

"mr. proton , just think about this… why you only can afford for national car?? If we dont have national car, anytime with same amount of money you can buy foreign car or better quality car."

kody, the issue where Proton existense is the cause of expensive cars is old story already lah. People already know about this situation. I'm sick of hearing the same old story.

All i want now is NOT to see Proton disappear, but to see Proton make AFFORDABLE, superb, QUALITY cars for us Malaysians, and EXPORT and SELL MORE to other countries, and compete GLOBALLY!! Now, THAT can make us proud.

• intermilan (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 8:44 pm

nizam80,

if the above is you your hope & dream.. then you and the rest of potong lover out there gonna die standing. kekekeke..

• mr. proton (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 8:59 pm

intermilan… u r blind basher.. u ask the savvy n neo owner. moreover the fl waja got all the safety features as standards.. why u didnt puji on that,…

• intermilan (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 9:14 pm

kekeke..

jangan marah proton lover…

boy, if u dont know someone, better dont jump into you little short-fused conclusion .. you are repeating it several times already in this single post / topic.

• farizal13 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 9:20 pm

but again it too minor change…why not the sedan one put the R3 bodykits…….BOOMMM….

• mr. proton (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 9:50 pm

intermilan… pity you……

• Infinitt (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 10:08 pm

So many comments when there is Proton issues…bad n good..anyway it is good coz ppl still cares n read bout proton.past..today..n future..hehe…good luck the only truly malaysian car maker..

• intermilan (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 10:13 pm

no.. pity YOU.. mr. potong .. for refusing to acknowledge the obvious.

to argue and defend potong products in relations to quality, competitiveness, image etc is akin to engage in unsurmount battle (battle that can't be won).

in fact, pity you more if currently you owned a potong. totally in the vicious loop. to all other potong owners out there, hopefully potong is / will come good for you. many people might benefit if potong could prosper. Might.

The hard fact is millions of ordinary normal rakyat have been forced to buy and maintain this sub-standard product for far too long. And for what? Pride? Technological advancement in engineering? or enriching the rich?

See who are benefitting the most in this potong agenda to look for the real culprit. Car owners are all pawns. But at least be aware of your place and the real situation.

• mr. proton (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 10:22 pm

bro intermilan. the cps n vim technology stil not a improvement ker? why u so typical m'sian that only know to complaint. n bash… u the poor guy…. proton supporters..show ur support to damn bashers.. they r nothing..

• mr. proton (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 10:28 pm

correction i mean jus support proton no matter wat the bashers said… go proton. go.. ignore the bashers. but prove that u really improve. mr. paul.. wat about iswra replacement spyshot?

• tec96248 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 11:48 pm

wondering why that's arguement over proton in here? supposedly talking about this Gen2 model? And why care so much about proton or not? Just think we are drivers, a daily drivers and drive a reliable car that cause less headache. wouldn't it be nice to enjoy and relax while driving. stop worrying of car breakdown. am i right?

• tec96248 (Member) on May 03, 2007 at 11:50 pm

wondering why that's arguement over proton in here? supposedly talking about this Gen2 model? And why care so much about proton or not? Just think we are drivers, a daily drivers and drive a reliable car that cause less headache. wouldn't it be nice to enjoy and relax while driving. just stop worrying of car breakdown, whether is national or foreign car. am i right?

• intermilan (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 12:02 am

its quite clear you don't get the whole point.. so i'll leave you alone after this post.

CPS was supposed to be there 3 years ago. To use the name campro for an engine without CPS is pure absurd.

So now after 3 year of usage a daylight-robbery engine (i.e. the cam x pro) in gen2 and waja, only the real slim shady arrived?

What they are doing now might be improvement in your eye but as joe ooi mentioned before, all these are something that should be there in the first place when they launch the products. They owe their customer, Malaysia and the whole world these long overdue 'improvements'.

Just look at the DEGREE of decrease in sales and market share suffered by potong as indication of customer preference, confidence and satisfaction towards potong.

Without people who comment feverishly about their products, potong ain't gonna introduce constructive improvement to their product line. they'll just happily and comfortably churning out the same old products years after years. and you might driving such product yourself.

The gigantic slide in market share due to mass but silent dissatisfaction about their products (people just don't buy and don't care) finally forced potong to buckle up but what are they showing us so far?

What ever it is, Not enough. Must be more. that why the sales is still sliding.

Open your eyes, if not now… later when you are ready to accept to see potong agenda as a whole, not mere 'improvements' such as facelift and what not.

—-

a point for you, VVT was first developed way back in the late 60's and mid 70's.. CPS although different, intent to obtain the same result as what VVT or AVCS or AVLS or CVVT or Valvetronic or VTEC or (you name it) does i.e. more efficient engine -> better fuel economy, improved driveability and increased horsepower. and we might finally see the FIRST potong engine with it in year 2007. And that not taking into consideration the possibility that the engine might not be reliable or not refined.

the point is, potong is very very late with this one and it might not be that important anymore when they have the capacity to mass-produced it.

and that is bcoz the auto industry and consumer requirements are always on the move. potong as usual are always left behind and give thousand excuses.

Who want to be associated with such perennial loser?

You, perhaps? stop being a blind bollocks, just because you think you have to be one will ya?

• kody (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 12:12 am

wahlaueh…

mr.proton, just grow up… the improvements don't come with cost effective… like WAJA previously cut price 1~2k now jack up the price again because of some improvements… that all improvements shall be in place long while ago… (initial my father's own wira)15 years for continue & retry (i buy another new wira again, 10yrs later) on same P1 product also giving the same dissappointments, how can i praise on them easily… mr.proton you can spend your money as you like & i just sharing my experience. Not everyone can afford to change new car so often after get dissappoinment from P1. You have to live with it until you can afford for others.

Some owners not complaint on P1 cars may not because of no problems, it may because of not enough sensitive to the sound of music creted by P1 products. I am very particular on weird sounds coming out from my car & that's why i need to upgrade my in car entertainment to cover up the noise….!!

The improvements only came when market shares drop & losses in money. That's nothing to be proud of as a NATIONAL pride. The improvements should be in place in early stage in order to survive in AFTA.

• kei9 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 12:48 am

endless………………..

• kody (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 1:29 am

hot topic lah…

• kody (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 2:51 am

wahlaueh…

mr proton, for ur info, my vendor which work served P1 before told me, some machines in p1 even down for 6yrs but never repair… can you imagine how they work??

quality improvement with TUV certified…. haha…. this is for their suppliers not P1 itself…. P1 is OEM company so… who is auditing them?? Menteri?? you or me… no one…& that why the quality sucks… top management only care for own pockets…

The impovements P1 have involve cost increase which will impose to customer & do you call it improvements?? add on airbag , ABS then add on CPS… increase few k in price. haha…. long story…. welcome to debate.

• nizam80 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 4:40 am

kody said,

"The impovements P1 have involve cost increase which will impose to customer & do you call it improvements?? add on airbag , ABS then add on CPS… increase few k in price. haha…. long story…. welcome to debate."

Remember, previously when Proton did not equip ABS and Dual Airbags in their cars as standard, people complained and kept on whining that there are not enough safety features and this and that and so on….. Same goes for the original Campro.

But now, when Proton put ABS and Airbags as standard, and the CPS engine going to be out soon, people still complain. I'm not surprised bout those complains. I'm sure Proton would not increase the price. Just take a look at the current Waja Campro Manual. It has ABS Airbags, but price still the same as the previous one. RM59K if i'm not mistaken. Lets just wait shall we.

• DtG (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 5:09 am

Is Proton great or what??!! I thought the big debates were reserved for the big guns in the industry but look at this, Proton you never cease to amaze(for the worse that is)!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 6:22 am

Kody said,

The improvements only came when market shares drop & losses in money. That’s nothing to be proud of as a NATIONAL pride. The improvements should be in place in early stage in order to survive in AFTA.

—————–

Well said, just to compliment further, do you think P1 will add in all these features if they can sell their car as from earlier 1990s prior to financial crisis in 1997. This is not improvement in true sense simply on the following reasons: –

1. Customers dissatisfaction and avoiding buying P1 car that lead to its hulabaloo existence force Proton to add in these safety features to entice buyers but still fail misely.

2. What to boost on improvement since it is solving stupid problems that shouldn't exist in the first place, either in response to customer complaint or to fight with competitor.

3. Most of the features (what Protonian so call "improvement") is actually available in P1 export model to UK or Australia! Just because of currently P1 facing difficulty to sell in local market, they just "upgrade" to export model quality! What a big fuss except bring a "little comfort" or "half bread better than non" situation to local customer that is long overdue, but not ahead of its time/competitor.

4. Talk about CPS in Campro, do it really new tech that coming out from P1's R & D, if so, compare to VVTI or the like, do it perform on par or better?

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 6:33 am

nizam80

"RM59K if i’m not mistaken. Lets just wait shall we"

LOL… u talking about that WAJA with the new FLAT FACE? come on…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 6:44 am

mr. proton said,

May 3, 2007 @ 11:30 am

againn to all of u(the damn bashers)…. jus duduk diam2.. u hav more money buy the foreign car. but for us not kaya one.. we still depend on national car. jgn cakap banyak saje.. but the fact is u r all empty tin milo…hahaha

———-

Poor soul Protonian, with crap classical Protonomic mentality. Those who can afford to buy a car above RM 35K or USD 10K like Waja, Gen-2, Savvy, Wira or Satria Neo is not consider as "not kaya one", also not consider as rich but typical "Mr. Average" middle class in Malaysia. But the sad truth facts is Protonomic under suck NAP make you feel as poor as what you perceive about your self.

In all time since P1 inception, it is NOT we still depend on national car, but it is the opposite. Without P1 we have plenty of choices and will prosper and enjoying wide range of auto product that are value for money. If P1 without us the rakyat/consumers, it is a sure die scenario.

You even don't have a basic demand and supply knowledge, the relationship between customer and product under free market is without customer there is no sale, so there is no demand and defintely no supply (products).

You are the one that need to duduk diam-diam and read also use a little bit logical thinking to digest what Proton bashers said.

Pity you poor soul Protonian that make poor by P1!

• the man (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 6:56 am

I've seen the latest proton waja . Yeah it seem the quality on appearance is up but not sure the whole package..rattling noise…power window jammed etc….btw..to gain back confident of rakyat…may be take more than quality improvement….and all the affordable wira/waja buyers are prefer honda city and vios…even though they must fork out thousands ringgit more. just check on the year proton sale going down…2003…and the counting begin…hehehehhe..

• kei9 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 6:58 am

its getting hot in here……

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 7:07 am

Let the horse come and let it hotter ……..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 7:18 am

mr. proton said,

May 3, 2007 @ 2:22 pm

bro intermilan. the cps n vim technology stil not a improvement ker? why u so typical m’sian that only know to complaint. n bash… u the poor guy….

———————

Is it really these technology is an improvement, but why Toyota not use it, or if really good, then P1 have good reasons to ramp up production at Tg Malim plant to 1 million units and export to all over the world to earn foreign currencies like Yen, Yuan, Rupee, USD, GBP, etc to enrich Bolehland. But the sad naked truth is P1 still suck local RM under NAP, that may lead to one of the reason for the statement ……"u the poor guy"…….

Don't always act like jaguh kampong to tell Malaysian P1 improve-this-improve-that. P1 must become world class player with "latest CPS Campro" to tell the whole world that they are the best and conquer the world market just like Toyota. Tapi apa yang sebenarnya berlaku ialah cakap tak serupa bikin!

• the man (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 7:58 am

Back to reality to all protonian….

your beloved proton for the first three quarters of Financial year2007 already net LOSS RM 590.45 million. sales for domestic only 40%. soon toyota will come out with belta (new vios) sure will give another hard time for proton….

without VW at the back…proton will tottering to last cash. Khazanah better sell now to VW, otherwise the proton share may be worthless…

• infinity (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 9:31 am

it is very hard to change the perspective of others for cars tat are already mass produced then facelifted..like the waja and gen2..bad means bad..though the quality improves, the bad feeling is still there…like once a thief, always a thief…so proton should replace all the "Bad" models with new ones…like the satria neo which get good remarks..hopefully, the coming BLM will be up to the mark…for the facelifted gen2, well, hope for the best..

• kody (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 4:11 pm

wahlaueh…

——————————————————–

Nizam80 said,

I’m sure Proton would not increase the price. Just take a look at the current Waja Campro Manual. It has ABS Airbags, but price still the same as the previous one. RM59K if i’m not mistaken. Lets just wait shall we.

——————————————————–

hi Nizam80 bro, i am pretty sure you are not updating P1 car prices for very long time… DO you still remember a total all models price cut for P1…. it just happens back somewhere in last year, WAJA auto ~59k only… manual ~56k now with such call improvements , the manual became ~59k again. P1 just always taking chances to increase the selling price of their products. Do you know what is the 1st generation wira cost??, it's ~40k only, now +/- 54k. P1 main intention is only milking from rakyat not really benefit us fully.

• kody (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 4:18 pm

wahalueh…

hi bro infinity, satria neo may be good, but for a 178cm guy to fit at driver seat, you have no headroom at all. my head is touching the rooftop without any spacing at all. I think all P1 designer should be ~165cm only that's why Gen2 & neo get such design…. I wonder how can mat saller in Aus can fit in this satria neo…???

• mr. proton (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 4:59 pm

the bad name of proton causes by one man name tm. the new mgmt lead by datuk syed zainal. for sure u cant make profit to company by 1 n half years. giv him chance to place proton back in profit land. n for this gen2 fl,why not u all just wait till it unveil. its better for u t bash if its true all the all problems still appear

• kody (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 5:14 pm

wahlaueh…

mr.proton, it's not i am not trusting new datuk syed capabilities, the problems are thru years around & all the 'tak apa' attitudes had been buried deep in P1 soul… If no 'tak apa' attitude, i can guranteed 100% P1 will not face the conditions like now, I am pretty sure it will still the market shares leader. I am pitty for datuk syed on chasing the giant snake to move like a dragon… The bad name for P1 not actually only cause by TM only, the company's bad practising attitudes did it.

it's nothing wrong if we bash P1 here. We all get excited on P1 topic, are't we? haha…:)

• the man (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 6:00 pm

need to know more about proton actual condition ? just ask proton vendor…..even DRB-Hicom biggest vendor and main bussiness in Auto industry also want to exit automotive sector if the G did not give the proton share to them…that desperate of the auto industries nowadays.

• nizam80 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 7:02 pm

kody said,

May 4, 2007 @ 8:11 am

"Do you know what is the 1st generation wira cost??, it’s ~40k only, now +/- 54k."

A brand new Wira sedan now cost bout RM46K and a Wira SE is about RM49K.

• tec96248 (Member) on May 04, 2007 at 10:39 pm

can anyone tell me why commented on G, Price, TM, etc of P1? thought was about the car look, exterior design, interior design. what about the engine specification? how powerful it will be? why care so much bashing p1?

A daily driver needs only a reliable car for daily usage. what's our criteria for having our own car? want a car to last for how long? 5, 10, 15 or 20 years?

i m wondering what is the lifespan of this machine to last. 5 or 10 years?

most important, reliable car.

• mr. proton (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 1:03 am

tec96248..

u rite.. dis is about the gen2 story.. why the bashers only know to bash.. why not try to figure out the specs and the interior look…

• tokmoh (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 1:27 am

mr. proton said,

May 4, 2007 @ 8:59 am

the bad name of proton causes by one man name tm. the new mgmt lead by datuk syed zainal. for sure u cant make profit to company by 1 n half years. giv him chance to place proton back in profit land. n for this gen2 fl,why not u all just wait till it unveil. its better for u t bash if its true all the all problems still appear

—————————————-

Absolutely agreed wit u, that is somethin everyone shud know n realise!!

I almost gave up on Proton until Syed Zainal Abidin came in, all of a sudden, I can feel that Proton is finally doin something to clear the dusts under the carpet. You can see he's aware that Proton is closely associated to poor QC. You can see that just like what Joe Ooi said, Proton is addressing the problems which are suposed to nvr exist, bt happen cuz tm is such a biatch.

Bt of course, despite that, the damage hv been done. Bashers can nvr be cooled down until Proton dies. As I said in another post, Proton is immortal for as long as BN is ruling the country. What to do, they can nvr turn back anymore, they can nvr be rational anymore. Any improvement ( or should it be repairs) by Proton will nvr be acknowledged, in fact, it will be bashed. Even IF VW did tie up wit PRoton, these bashers will still say w/e kind of things, mayb PADAN MUKA or w/e, for sure, they're the sore losers, while the politicians will be enjoying themselves laughing their way to the bank.

Proton's product seems to constantly improve since Syed Zainal Abidin came into the office, bt of course, their biggest challenge would be to counter Myvi, Vios, City n Avanza. Truth be said, by merit, I think Satria Neo is better than Myvi, bt of course, ppl would still pick the myvi cuz it's "reliable, n it's nt a Proton"

• kody (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 2:40 am

wahalueh,

Nizam80,

A brand new Wira sedan now cost bout RM46K and a Wira SE is about RM49K.

————————————————–

the time i purchased wira SE auto51k+, manual 49k+

non SE aeroback with full spec auto 54k plus…

may be i am out a bit on wira pricing, i am observing for WAJA pricings.

Hi tokmoh bro, yes some improvements are in place for P1, but the facts are P1 should improve the materials used in the cars, E.g. for savvy, full spec with aerokit when close the doors you can have good feel (soft slamping sound), while non-aerokit one still using cheap door rubber seal !! While MYVI have typical foreign car feel when shutting door close.

• nizam80 (Member) on May 05, 2007 at 7:18 am

kody said,

May 4, 2007 @ 6:40 pm

"…….some improvements are in place for P1, but the facts are P1 should improve the materials used in the cars, E.g. for savvy, full spec with aerokit when close the doors you can have good feel (soft slamping sound), while non-aerokit one still using cheap door rubber seal !! While MYVI have typical foreign car feel when shutting door close."

I have to disagree slightly with u on this one. My Savvy is a the non-aerokit version, however the door have a good feel when closing. I tested the zerokit version too, and the feel is also similar. My Savvy was purchased during the TM era. This shows that during his era, quality was inconsistent, as some owners got decent quality car, while some unlucky owners got the reverse. I have to agree with u 100% that the doors of the MYVI have typical foreign feel when shutting the door close, as i have test driven it bout 1 year ago when choosing between a SAVVY and a MYVI. Sadly, the MYVI doesn't even have a foreign feel when driven. It feels light and floaty. I'm going to test drive the VIVA when it launches, and i'm pretty sure it'll have the same light and floaty feel too.

• hush (Member) on May 06, 2007 at 7:40 pm

if the CPS and VIM is under the bonnet of the new F/L GEN 2, this is a seriously a car worth considering… it would be better if the quality of the interior can improve and glovebox can be added…

• waimak (Member) on May 07, 2007 at 5:28 pm

The Gen2 going 'Golf'ing I see..

• BettaSplendens (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 3:16 am

Be it Hatchback or Sedan, Campro or Campur, CPS or CPU, it jus could not make it & won hav any impact to the car market.

Gen 2 Sedan wiv Campro CPS? wats the big deal??

P1 boooooooooleeeeeeeeh :D

• kopial (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 11:02 am

Well, with those larger grille it seems that the UK designed Campro CPS engine couldn't stand the heat in malaysia haha!! But again, it could mean the engine is more sophisticated. So many possibilities and reasons.

With profile switching…the intake and exhaust header should have more than 1 path for each cylinder (you'll see longer and shorter pipes), at the same time needs to cram those extra pipes into the gen2 engine compartment might also means it needed more cooling air.

Again, with profile switching, air flow management in the engine gets better! Just like the v-tec, vvt, mivec, etc. Means they need to be able to supply more air into the engine…which also explains the larger front grille.

Hmmm…expecting some 5-10% increase in max power with the CPS, as well as higher torque throughout the rpm range. But nowadays i seem to leave my passion for more power…in the other aspect, should be able to get better mpg in highway driving. Not so sure about town driving though, normally the higher the lower end torque (mostly cars with max rpm

• anj97 (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 11:32 pm

hello my dear proton lovers.

what kind of stupid idiot does a face lift on a car but its actually or basically nothing has been done? Gen 2 basically looks like a fatten pig.No plus point of calling a automobile status.Big disgrace to automoblie industry.On top of that the great GEN 2 extention aka Persona.Why many ppl support this type of rotten car.All locally manufactured but sell like foreign car.Just to feed the bumis.terrorist act!!!