Honda Malaysia 2 day Safety Driving Course

Honda Malaysia organised a 2-day Safety Driving Course at the Asia Pacific Auction Centre Subang in appreciation to customers continuous support. 30 lucky people got to participate – 15 customers and 15 guests of customers, and everyone were given the opportunity to learn safety techniques in both theory and practical applications. There was ample instructors around – one instructor per two participants to ensure everyone got the attention they needed. The trainers were from Bukit Batok Driving Centre (BBDC).

They learnt new techniques and identified the six adverse conditions that lead to the cause of traffic conditions. By learning to understand the relationships between the driver and vehicle limitations, they now know what to avoid and what to adopt. The main concepts like blind spots, driving posture, steering wheel control, braking & avoidance, speed & cornering and etc. were covered thoroughly to ensure participants grasp the importance of practical that can save their lives on the road. Such a course is a priceless lesson that most drivers take for granted.

The vehicles available for drive during the session were all of the local Honda offerings, however the customers also got to try out the Integra Type-R, Honda Legend and the Honda MDX, cars that not many Malaysian can say they’ve driven.

“Many drivers think they have all the practice and skills equipped to avoid accidents. Always go back to the basics where you keep reminding yourself to be cautious. Frequent drivers have their own habitual manner of driving and it makes them less defensive on the road,” said Chief Trainer Jonathan Tang.

“This course is refreshing and it is a useful bonding session with my mom. I find it very beneficial especially for female drivers to learn more on safety skills. The course has opened our eyes in identifying the threats of safety and I will apply the practical training Ive learnt from now onwards!” said Shirl from Cheras, who owns a 2006 Honda Civic.

More photos after the jump.

Trainer giving instructions to participant during the practical session of Honda Safety Driving Course 2007

Practical Session during Honda Safety Driving Course 2007

Mr. and Mrs. Asmadi at the Practical Session in the Honda Safety Driving Course 2007

Honda’s COO Mr. Kamaruddin (1st from Left) & BBDC’s Trainer Mr. Umesawa Katsuaki (Second from Right) Giving Out Certificates to Participants during the closing of Honda Safety Driving Course 2007

Ms. Shirl & her mother was sharing with us their experience during the Honda Safety Driving Course 2007

Honda MDX

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on May 09, 2007 at 12:32 am

Good thing

• Infinitt (Member) on May 09, 2007 at 12:49 am

Benefit to them n indirectly to all of us while on the road.

• happymeal (Member) on May 09, 2007 at 1:15 am

i wished they open this to the public as well… very interested.

the BMW driver training is premium priced, rm1500 for a full day course! ok la, u get to use current 325i's and sepang track as venue… but 1500 still alot of moolah.

there was a defensive driving article written in a local paper few weeks back, and they mentioned proton provided driving courses as well… sad to say i havent received any response from them.

• longdongsilver (Member) on May 09, 2007 at 1:55 am

Proton provides defensive driving as well as advanced driving training to their employees. Very good stuff and for free too. The best part is that they do it on their testing facilities in Shah Alam.

• Mayonaise (Member) on May 09, 2007 at 4:11 am

Speaking of the BMW Driver Instructor recruitment drive a few months back, I was actually shortlisted to attend the 1st interview. As expected, I didn't make it to the 2nd interview. The competition was fierce, but it was a good experience.

• happymeal (Member) on May 09, 2007 at 6:40 am

long john…oh wait… bigdongs :P… any more info u can provide me regarding this proton training? how can they cater for paying customers…

paul, funny u didnt mention BBDC is actually from SG land… from google earth, their training centre is quite big…

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on May 09, 2007 at 11:31 am

do they teach you to drift too? just kidding, dun flame me!

• hondadriver (Member) on May 09, 2007 at 6:23 pm

I believe proton has also held defensive driver training to official proton club members as well.

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on May 09, 2007 at 6:28 pm

P1 do arrange for driving courses to public too. The fees is much more cheaper around Rm 200 ~ 500. It was advertised in the Star a few weeks back. The even teach u how to drift ( extra lesson la…..u hv to bodek the instructor) U have to contact Proton iCare to enrol. Its done every weekend.

Any of u guys interested? I try to arrange something if received a good response.

• tanasi (Member) on May 09, 2007 at 7:28 pm

For Proton advance driver training – check this out.

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/hpc-high-p…

This is the training course with the manufacturer itself, not with Proton car clubs or any subsidiaries.

Cost is around RM700. 2 days with theory and practical session using track prepared cars at Proton Shah Alam proving ground.

• happymeal (Member) on May 09, 2007 at 8:14 pm

hameed… i m interested :)

my car no power to drift leh …

HPC event .. looks like will have to check that forum more regularly for their upcoming event…

• Cire (Member) on May 09, 2007 at 11:38 pm

Surprised at the so so people turned-out for the event. Honda being a popular brand in Msia, I would have thought that at least 40-50 pax in the group. Or at least a few sessions held to accomodate the demand.

As usual, such beneficial information is not available until after an event is over. Maybe that's why the turn out is so low.

Defensive driving. Some called such training events, is essential to every drivers outthere. If everyone is trained to have a habit to look out for the other party's faults or mistake during on the road, the number of accidents could be reduced.

Most of the motorist were motocyclist before graduating to car drivers. The mentality and behaviour of the motorcyclist on the road is therefore "transferred" or practiced during their command of the motor vehicle. They would turn into a side road irregardless of the motorist behind, they would overtake from the left even when on gravels, they would zig zagged from left to right on the road irregardless of other motorist. These are all trademarks of a motorcyclist that you could see everyday.

Anyways, lets hope the driving school's curriculum would be changed to add in defensive driving basics.

• mischiev (Member) on May 10, 2007 at 5:01 pm

maybe the event was held at a not-so-big area. so that's why maybe, they could not accomodate so many people. i'm sure they have their reasons.

• ceteh (Member) on Aug 22, 2007 at 2:55 pm

It was limited to 15 x 2 pax only.