Perodua Viva and Perodua Myvi Loan Comparison

Perodua Viva HDR Narrower

We can assume if you buy a Perodua, you’re most likely going to be a very price-sensitive person. If you haven’t read my previous comparison of the Perodua Myvi and Perodua Viva, please click here to read it first. This blog entry focuses on the financial details if you buy a Perodua Viva or a Perodua Myvi.

First, we look at how much the car would cost in monthly repayments over a period of 3, 5 or 7 years assuming a 10% downpayment and 3.88% interest rate. The two variants of the Viva and Myvi I am using here are the Perodua Viva 1000cc Premium with Airbags and ABS, and the Perodua Myvi 1.3 litre Premium with Airbags and ABS. Both are of the automatic transmission variant with metallic paint.

Comparison Table

First, let’s look at how much the two cars cost monthly. Over a 5-year loan which is what most people would take, the difference in monthly repayment between the Viva and the Myvi is about RM91.62 a month, or RM1099.44 a year. Over a 7-year loan, it is RM69.70 a month – or RM836.40 a year. If you think of it in monthly terms, an extra RM91.62 a month gets you an upgrade from A-segment to B-segment, more interior width so the rear bench is more comfortable with 3 people seated, and a smoother 4-cylinder engine that makes more power, together with a better power to weight ratio.

But let’s not forget what upgrading to a bigger 1.3 litre 4-cylinder engine will do – increase your fuel consumption. For this one, it’s a little bit tricky. We’ve got two different km per litre figures to play with – Perodua’s optimum situation claims as well as estimated real life scenarios for the Viva, as well as the average reported fuel consumption for the Myvi from the Myvi owners I’ve asked. We also assume a traveling distance of 1500km a month (50km to and fro work daily, times 30 to factor for other misc traveling during weekdays and weekends), and the current RON97 petrol price of RM1.92 per litre.

Using the optimum fuel consumption calculation – you’ll save RM22.60 a month driving the Viva compared to driving a Perodua Myvi. Using the estimated real life scenario fuel consumption calculation, you’ll save RM31.42 a month. This brings the the amount you have to fork out every month for a Viva to RM1,022.02 a month inclusive of 5-year loan monthly installment and fuel expenditure, and for the Myvi – RM1,145.06. Damn, even though these are supposed to be affordable, these cars are looking pretty expensive to run now. The difference between the Myvi and Viva for a 5-year loan in this case is RM123.04, or RM1476.48 a year.

This is of course, a calculation for the first year where your road tax and insurance premium has already been covered in the purchase price. But let’s just keep things simple for the moment. The Myvi has a higher insured value and a larger engine, thus the two items will be more expensive, further widening that RM123.04 gap but it won’t be too big a difference. In terms of percentage, it’s about a 12 percent difference.

Comparison Graph

What’s RM123.04, or a savings of 12 percent worth to you? Is it worth the upgrade from the Viva to a Myvi? I’m not here to decide for you, just presenting to you the figures so you can decide for yourself.

Perodua Myvi vs Perodua Viva – Equipment and Specs Comparison
New Perodua Viva Full Details, Photos and Price!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• NiceCar (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 4:21 pm

Good comparison… but still hard to do the decision..

damn it =P

Once the Viva price canbe lower a bit, then canbe make a best decision to buy Viva or Myvi..

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 4:23 pm

Many thanks, Paul!

• BrakeFader (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 4:52 pm

Most of these fuel consumption figures are taken on base case scenario, such as flat surface throughout the test and maybe just the driver in the vehicle. If you load up a Viva and Myvi with full capacity (5 ppl), the results would be different. The Viva 1.0L powerplant might work extra hard to move the vehicle compared to the Myvi. Good comparison above for the loan figures, but most fuel consumption figures are depend on driving style. Based on the 7 year loan, RM70 a month is a worthy upgrade.

• kinwawa (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 5:56 pm

MyVi is more worth it. Viva is really too expensive for the 1000CC Premium. If it's priced at 40K, almost 10K difference then decision can be made easier and the price gap between an A-segment car and a B-segment car will be more significant. Coupled with Inokom Atos current promotion and lower interest, Viva is really too expensive.

• acbc (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 6:05 pm

MyVi: RM 123.04 x 12 = RM 1476.48 per year, save another RM 4k and u can afford an original Toyota Passo bodykit. Save more after 2-3 years, out goes the stock K3-VE and in goes the K3-VET.

Viva: I supposed the turbocharged engine from Daihatsu Cuore will fit nicely under the hood with minimal mods. Can't wait to see early adopters turbo charging it.

• proton.com (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 6:15 pm

P2 should not introduce many model in the same price range. Although you get some option/choice, people still get confuse what to buy.

Paul,

You should add second hand value factor, resale value.

If you ask me, i would not buy Viva. So many 'kancil' feeling inside, not a RM44200 type of vehicle.

• EddyHyip (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 6:22 pm

Paul, can you do the same comparison between myvi and neo and also between viva and savvy. I think it would be interesting as all of them are competitively priced.

• azrai (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 6:36 pm

Different people different needs..How about VIOS? Rebate on downpayment up to RM4200 + RM1500 free maintenance cuopon + 2.55% interest for 9 years?

• johanbey (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 6:39 pm

Buying a new car is more of the thrill than the practicality of it. If anyone trying to maximize every single penny in thier wallet, 2nd car maybe a better option.

44k is almost double the price of a Kancil and similar to a Wira. I must confess Im a proton basher. But looking at this Viva hype, I think P2 is begin to milk the rakyat like P1. They have every right to do so due to the fact they have really delivered what most malaysian want, quality built car at sub-50k price.

And I can help but to ogle at the Viva everytime the ad appears on TV, the "love" factor just get everyone going as to compare to "Desire Has A New Name" sounds almost pornographic. Haha! P2 marketing and creative team do their homework well.

I'm selling my beloved 1 1/2 years Avanza due to personal reasons, anyone?

• kennhyn (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 6:41 pm

Can I said something, Malaysia are to desperate for Car. A lot of them buy this car even without test-drive it. Is good that we place trust in Malaysia Product, but how come people don't see that the price is so expensive. We should boycott all local car manufacture untill they drop the car price down. I'm so sad about Malaysia buyer that make this company can put high price, and the consumer still buy it. Car without power window, no power steering, low quality cushion, what is all this? Be a Good Consumer, buy wisely, not because they are cheapest in the market mean they worth the money.

• Leely on Apr 09, 2010 at 6:03 pm

Kenny, you got your point. I believe most of the Malaysian aware of the situation that Malaysian buying a local car without power window, no power steering, low quality cushion so on.
      But could you name me a quality oversea car that Malaysian can buy within the budget of RM45k?

• ganz (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 6:44 pm

thanks.. i just read and just found out about the dilemma ..how can i don't see this..

my sister is going to buy a car… she already book myvi AT 1.3 last month.. and perodua sales agent call her last week that she can change her booking to viva if she want to..and SA suggest the VIVA premium.. in which cheaper by RM2000..++ (both solid color)..

mmmm… i might ask her to opt premium one…(viva)

• eezarm (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 7:17 pm

better go for MyVi..

surely, wont regret one…

it has better engine, more spacious and comfortable too for driver and passenger…also reliable for long distance driving when needed…

viva is just like a kancil/kelisa…only fit for 4 people in it.

i've tried viva..that's why i said, just go for MyVi…

• SarawakDAP (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 7:25 pm

The price comparison? But Still Peoples Still Buying The PRO2. Not Much can do. Hehe.

• eezarm (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 7:39 pm

When Proton gonna come out with its model with signal lamp to its side mirrors?

the latest facelift waja should have this…

MyVi has this..now viva has this too…

aircond for back seat passenger is another additional part that proton should consider..

~monday blues~

• intermilan (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 8:48 pm

for me, the choices P2 offer make one more confuse, which might be their objective coz when the line (between Myvi and Viva) in terms of price, feature, look & feel is blur, customers in the end might just tembak saja, as even now, we see that the trend of potential customers seem to have the difficulties choosing between both models.

maybe P2 is trying to retain and expand their customer base by making people 'see' that they are offering 'unlimited chioces' of models within the entry-level market. the price of available options within one models and if merged both models are so near to each other, its tend to make decision-making harder then let say comparing myvi & savvy.

when people keep trying to figure out the pros and cons between myvi vs. viva and they get 'pening' while doing it, they then might just forget abt other offering in the market (e.g. such as what P1 have). maybe.

in the end booking for either myvi or viva doesn't make such different to P2.

smartass huh?

• ganz (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 8:54 pm

honestly.. the only thing good about viva is that the she got a smaller A$$.. :).. easy to park.. as she also won't require any long journey..(if she do.. she's got mine)

my sister already test it .. the things is that she worried about the first production lab-rat experiment.. the first production might have some defect.. :)

by the way.. as per previous edition.. most of the models were given malay name.. kelisa, kancil, rusa, kenari, savy, gen2.. it seem that.. english name are more attractive..

• ganz (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 9:03 pm

kennyhem..

it true on your comment.. i have try.. stop buying car for almost 4 years.. but the price of the car won't drop at all.. price stagger at at least 70k for non local cars such as vios or city ..and far from my capability.

my job demand a car.. to travel long distance… i choose a "i don't know" second hand decent car but end up it just a junk at all.. i trade in for a brand new car.. thanks god.. i survive for any trouble at least for past 2 years now..(it proton)

second hand car means higher interest rate.. my option at that time was honda ej/ek or any toyota se.. but i have to fork up lots of down payment..not everyone luck enough to have lots of money ..

not everyone got a time to survey one by one car.. i already survey at least 6 car prior the purchase.. but only god know better why.

if i opt not to buy a car.. what option do i have?

quit job or get fired by a boss. because i'm to proud stand on my own principle?

or .. just follow the others..

sad.. but it true..

• kruzer (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 9:16 pm

If this comparison is anything to go by, Viva could face the stiffest competition from big bro MyVi!!

• happymeal (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 9:27 pm

bro… can put in table form ah??… just like in typical financial analysis :P

or pie chart, bar graph…etc…

would definitely explain things much fast and simpler!

• KY (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 9:34 pm

I think MyVi still provides a better value, especially considering the resale value

• jvjva06 (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 10:17 pm

viva will conqure the "small" car just like kancil _ which have 79% of Malaysia market at the moment _ that mean, ViVa will atract the "mat rempit" to become "mat DRIFT" – just kidding !

BRAVO TO ViVa

• jvjva06 (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 10:19 pm

BRAVO ! its will be a BOOOOOM demand from this entire country, just like the kancil.

• nmh (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 10:37 pm

plus myvi is good looking too…..toyota gen beb. But I just prefer a new ranger……powerful 4×4 and economical and tax heaven and huge and macho and comfort at just around 1k/month

• kinwawa (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 10:39 pm

I think Paul should make a Poll….then v'll c which car is the preferred choice based on public opinion hehehhehe

• Hanz.. (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 10:41 pm

don't wori,.. I will make My ViVA drifting next year..hehehehe… jangan jelous..hehehe. just like my Demon kancil… GO PERODUA!!!!

• foxtrotecho (Member) on May 14, 2007 at 11:54 pm

"There’s no 9 year option here because I don’t advocate 9 year loans, which I will explain why in a future post if I have time."

"I’m not here to decide for you, just presenting to you the figures so you can decide for yourself."

Paul, not that I wanna burst your bubble, but if you're gonna be posting an "informative" post, dont contradict yourself. If you're gonna be "presenting the figures", present all available options to your readers.

Just because you dont advocate 9 years loans, does not mean everyone else can afford a 3 / 5 year either.

• Paul Tan on May 15, 2007 at 12:54 am

Sorry, I guess I should have explained in the post why immediately. I was going to wait until a separate post to put up an Excel sheet thingy to calculate amount you owe the bank vs. depreciation of the car. The reason 9 year loans are dangerous are because the car will depreciate faster than you can pay off the car. If shit happens like the car gets stolen, or you wreck it (like I've done before) you're in deep trouble. You can opt for a 7 year, it's safer. I did provide calculations for a 7-year loan.

Edit: Just added 9-year loan calculation.

• sir_roll (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 1:10 am

why there so many list of price,rm28k-rm40k for the same car…even the price is 40k,its still viva..same bdy,dimension….only engine….fuh…bttr buy the cheap one

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 2:16 am

More choices, but still pretty expensive for me considering it is an older model than the current line up of daihatsu. RM42K for a K-car? national car some more. As for the RM28K one, 660cc, 3 cylinders engine, no force induction? larger than kelisa size – even kelisa got 850cc engine.. seriously this is no good bargain, just a strategy from perodua to beat stupid proton saga price. Phetaticaly it may sound, but i rather choose that old stupid 'kereta kebal saga 1.3' rather than this and its only RM27K. Surely if jeremy clarkson want to blow up cars in top gear, this would be one of it.

I'm quite dissapointed with perodua with their price tags and the things they offerred with viva.

• kennhyn (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 2:43 am

Totally Agree with u Joe. But people still flock to buy. If everyone boycott like they boycott Proton. I believe the price sure go down. To be honest, the saga is a good buy, but nothing to proud about. As long the price is right, we won't have any objection on it. But too bad, people will see as, this is a good buy and bargain. Sad!

• acbc (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 4:43 am

My mechanic friend would buy the base model and slowly soup it up after all, he can get all the necessary parts cheaply. By the time he spends RM 20k, the car itself would be able to eat the 1.0 Premium for breakfast already…

• BrakeFader (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 5:14 am

Unfortunately, people still go for 9 year loan. After 3 years, they plan to sell and they found out that the settlement figure is way far away from market value, thus paying more to get rid of their old car.

To make matters worse, government servants can get up to 10 years loan!!

If you plan to keep the car until end of life go for 9 years if you don't mind the bank interest. If you plan to sell your car after 4-5 years, be prepared to lose a lot.

• sxe10r (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 5:31 am

Myvi & Viva ….. this two car can't compare la …… after i see the car at showroom those two car diffrent at ….

MYVI VIVA

space Bigger Between Kenali & Myvi

Interior More Comfortable Looks not good quality

body Solid Soft

Engine P 1.3DOHC DVVT 1.0DOHC DVVT

Power Nice Normal

Suspension Soft & Nice Soft

saftly device ABS SRS Same

Everyone know to choose the nice car ? I still choose MYVI … everthing MYVI have VIVA can't do it ….

• ingolstadt (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 5:31 am

KUDOS PAUL !!!

This is what i expect local car journalist to do. BRAVO AND KUDOS !

Chris Yap/Chris Wee – Learn from Paul ok? Don't always say every car is good.

• mits27 (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 6:17 am

Better get Mvi, only RM 5k different, still think RM44k for viva is too pricey…

• mystvearn (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 6:29 am

So malaysians most obese asian people, go with kancil, you may be skinny now, but not sure 5 years time:P

• Wai (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 6:46 am

Well analyzed and neutral report, bravo to you Paul Tan.

• cyee29 (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 8:44 am

We can only get Viva with $44K… whereby $44K can get RX300 in most western country already … pathetic m'sia is it

• holy_cow (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 3:48 pm

"Paul, not that I wanna burst your bubble, but if you’re gonna be posting an “informative” post, dont contradict yourself. If you’re gonna be “presenting the figures”, present all available options to your readers.

Just because you dont advocate 9 years loans, does not mean everyone else can afford a 3 / 5 year either."

foxtrotecho…he didn't contradict himself. He just excluded information on an option which would only be considered a serious option by idiots. He already said he plans to explain in a future post why 9 year loans are stupid, and I feel that's entirely a justifiable stand to take – it's not like his exclusion is arbitrary or, even worse, based on the assumption that everyone can afford a 3/5/7 year loan, as you baselessly implied. He's since been so kind as to explain in this comments thread why he rules out 9 year loans – I personally think he's given the question more attention than it deserves within this context, but I guess he's just a nice guy, nicer than I'm willing to be anyway.

Here's what I believe – if a person wants one of these cars and yet needs a 9 year loan to own it, then that person is simply in the unfortunate position of wanting something she can't afford. And if she continues to consider a 9 year loan as an option, then she's in the additional unfortunate position of being a moron. I'd rather not have my favourite reads on the net start catering to morons, thanks very much. Yes, it's selfish. No, I don't care.

• ganz (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 5:09 pm

then moron i'm…

• tokmoh (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 7:05 pm

That graph is much more helpful. So it's kinda obvious in the long run Viva's cheaper to maintain?

• floyd (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 8:43 pm

holy_cow said,

May 15, 2007 @ 7:48 am

"…then that person is simply in the unfortunate position of wanting something she can’t afford. And if she continues to consider a 9 year loan as an option, then she’s in the…"

==> Ayooo, now you r using women as reference. Sufice it to say 'that person' instead of 'she' larrr.

• floyd (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 8:49 pm

I think it is too little a difference for a car of Viva's size. If you want to go for P2, Myvi is still worth & it is the better choice. Omit some of the 'luxurious' items in the Myvi Premium and compensate them with better driving attitude and you could get the Myvi at RM44k, just the same amount you pay for Viva Premium.

• kei9 (Member) on May 15, 2007 at 10:41 pm

like i say………..just stick to the myvi if you want to buy the 1000cc viva…….for the others u can go ahead ….

• tec96248 (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 1:09 am

#

Joe v2.0 said,

May 14, 2007 @ 6:16 pm

More choices, but still pretty expensive for me considering it is an older model than the current line up of daihatsu. RM42K for a K-car? national car some more. As for the RM28K one, 660cc, 3 cylinders engine, no force induction? larger than kelisa size – even kelisa got 850cc engine.. seriously this is no good bargain, just a strategy from perodua to beat stupid proton saga price. Phetaticaly it may sound, but i rather choose that old stupid ‘kereta kebal saga 1.3′ rather than this and its only RM27K. Surely if jeremy clarkson want to blow up cars in top gear, this would be one of it.

I’m quite dissapointed with perodua with their price tags and the things they offerred with viva.

==hahaha, don't worry JC would blow up saga 1.3l first then only the viva 0.66l. after all, one is old and one is high price. forget about both. and get the myvi.

• tec96248 (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 1:24 am

#

holy_cow said,

May 15, 2007 @ 7:48 am

“Paul, not that I wanna burst your bubble, but if you’re gonna be posting an “informative” post, dont contradict yourself. If you’re gonna be “presenting the figures”, present all available options to your readers.

Just because you dont advocate 9 years loans, does not mean everyone else can afford a 3 / 5 year either.”

foxtrotecho…he didn’t contradict himself. He just excluded information on an option which would only be considered a serious option by idiots. He already said he plans to explain in a future post why 9 year loans are stupid, and I feel that’s entirely a justifiable stand to take – it’s not like his exclusion is arbitrary or, even worse, based on the assumption that everyone can afford a 3/5/7 year loan, as you baselessly implied. He’s since been so kind as to explain in this comments thread why he rules out 9 year loans – I personally think he’s given the question more attention than it deserves within this context, but I guess he’s just a nice guy, nicer than I’m willing to be anyway.

Here’s what I believe – if a person wants one of these cars and yet needs a 9 year loan to own it, then that person is simply in the unfortunate position of wanting something she can’t afford. And if she continues to consider a 9 year loan as an option, then she’s in the additional unfortunate position of being a moron. I’d rather not have my favourite reads on the net start catering to morons, thanks very much. Yes, it’s selfish. No, I don’t care.

==Paul advise is quite right. is not advisable to take more than 7 years loan. is it better not more than 5 years to me. others take 9 years is not unfortunate or moron. your comments is a rubbish to me. the moron suit u most. there's demand there's offer. some purchase cars, to own maybe for 10years. nobody knows, there's one reason also, quite a number of old cars more than 10years old around in Malaysia. think first please….moron. at least having a simple car better than public transports in some areas.

• pciericagp (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 2:16 pm

Excellent comparison from Paul. Certainly agree your comment. We have no option, price are controlled. Cannot go further down because of our nation excise duty and sales tax. For Perodua Viva 1.0EZi Full Spec should be less than RM 40K in my opinion. As what I estimated, Perodua Viva 1.0EZ with 13-inch rim will get at least 13.5KM/L in FC where else Perodua Viva 1.0EZi with 14-inch rim will get only 12.5KM/L in FC. Pretty difficult to save more nowadays. Even previous excellent condition Proton Wira 1.6 auto able to clocked at 11.5KM/L.

• aliBaPa (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 8:01 pm

Thanks, Paul, a really helpful chart.

Certainly get myvi, no point take viva.

• pedro on May 01, 2009 at 1:00 am

i think myvi is suitable compare 2 viva..you may be pay a little bit more than viva but its o.k.look at the design, fuel and room in the car..

• khokan on May 06, 2010 at 12:19 am

Thanks viva

• which is why now, the new myvi is pushing it self out of Viva’s price range