Caparo T1 – an F1 car for the streets

Caparo T1

Ever heard of the Caparo T1? Well, now you have. It’s what you might consider calling a two-seater F1 car for the road. It’s powered by a 2.4 litre high revving V8 engine, similiar to an F1 car, and it makes up to 700 horsepower (only after some extra tuning though – some say only around 500hp at stock levels) at an astronomical 10,200rpm. Now that is a huge amount of horsepower for a car expected to weigh just under 470kg.

It can also corner almost like an F1 car – 3Gs of cornering force is achievable compared to an F1 car’s 4.5Gs. 0-100km/h takes only 2.5 seconds, but the most impressive feature is it’s braking ability – 0kmh to 160kmh and back to 0kmh in 8.5 seconds. That’s only 3.5 seconds to brake from 160kmh to a stand still, thanks to it’s 6-piston billet machined race calipers on steel brakes for the front, and 4-piston calipers for the rear.

The Caparo team consists of engineering legends like Gordon Murray, whom some of you might know as he is a columnist of Evo magazine. He was responsible for the McLaren F1. And that is enough to make you an engineering legend. The other team members are mostly ex-McLaren employees

A video after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Illuminate (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 12:14 pm

Wow.. A road going F1.. Hmm.. Lolz..

Tasty.. xD

• NiceCar (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 3:36 pm

wau!! would it really possibility that this car can drive on road??

but i sure that it may not suit to M'sia since our road here lubang sini & lubang sana, sure a lot of damage / scratches on the car platform =P

• normaluser (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 3:39 pm

Road legal? Doesn't look like it can go past a road bump. Neither does it has roof, like the Caterham.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 4:19 pm

300,000 USD. Thats a bargain for the engineering pedigree.

However, UK does have some other "road legal" track cars that are quite much cheaper like the Radicals….which is easily as insane to drive.

• ab (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 4:46 pm

like those radicals, the ultimate trackcar

• kei9 (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 5:33 pm

4G63T DSM said,

May 16, 2007 @ 8:19 am

300,000 USD. Thats a bargain for the engineering pedigree.

However, UK does have some other “road legal” track cars that are quite much cheaper like the Radicals….which is easily as insane to drive.

like the Atom 'forgot what the name' also.it got a barebone body with wrap around steelbars.

• kei9 (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 5:37 pm

they are produced by wrightspeed roadsters

• siputt (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 7:37 pm

errr paul…its not 2.4L V8…2.4L is for supercharge version …its been upgrade to 3.5L V8 natural aspirated

• drM (Member) on May 16, 2007 at 9:45 pm

hah..

a new form of rempits will come upon.

but, these rempits will be good.

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 12:36 am

No way jose………..

The nearest rival will be Hulme F1 car from New Zealand…….mass pro in 2008……..

Not much info available, but pics can be found here http://www.rapidcars.com/hulme.php

Anybody got any other info……..???

• kody (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 1:21 am

wahlaueh…

Can it tahan our bolehland's pot holes… i am sure the front suspensions support piping wouldn't last long…

driver will say 'hey man, can tolong to angkat my super car stuck in pot hole'

• rhoma (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 4:30 am

this car was featured in top gear

• dawgHause (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 8:28 am

its the first road legal car to reach 1000bhp per ton.

quite an achievement, since the first F1 car to reach that power to weight was a 80s F1 car.

this is Gordon Murray's pet project he has been talking about since he left McLaren cars. while you are at it, go check out his earlier efforts, a car that goes by the name of LCC Rocket.

its quite cheap compared to his previous project, one-third its price, and half the price of a well…Pagani Zonda.

Road legal means that the rules allow it to be driven on to normal roads, doesn't mean that you would want to take it onto normal roads. Thats why supercars aren't a wise choice of cars in Malaysia, most of them gets bought and transported on the back of lorries to Sepang.

From what i heard, if you install a roll cage into your car in Malaysia, your car is no longer road legal. Not sure if that is true.

• xenith (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 9:39 am

yummy…

• Illuminate (Member) on May 17, 2007 at 11:13 am

IIRC, It does have a roof.. Hmm..

Now the potholes are seriously bad for this.. Lolz..

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 12:56 am

Full cage no, half cage yes, especially if you have an open top.

The Ariel Atom.

• kei9 (Member) on May 18, 2007 at 6:19 am

4G63T DSM said,

May 17, 2007 @ 4:56 pm

Full cage no, half cage yes, especially if you have an open top.

The Ariel Atom.

hey theres even a ariel atom battery powered! faster than the porsche carrera gt! can you believe dat?!

• armandd (Member) on May 19, 2007 at 3:55 am

#dawgHause said,

May 17, 2007 @ 12:28 am

"From what i heard, if you install a roll cage into your car in Malaysia, your car is no longer road legal. Not sure if that is true."

—————————————————————

can anyone confirm this?