BMW 6-series skinned to look like Volga GAZ-21

Weird BMW M6

This retro-looking coupe is actually reskinned BMW 6-series. It’s design cues are based on an old Russian sporty car, the Volga GAZ-21 from the 1950s. The result is this Volga 6-series Cabrio. The original Volga GAZ-21 was a 4-door car, but it has now been turned into a 2-door cabriolet, not like that’s a bad thing.

Volgas were built to last in the harsh climate and rough roads of the then Soviet Union, complete with high ground clearance, a rugged suspension, a strong and abusable engine, and rustproofing on a scale unheard of in the 1950s. It was the most luxurious car any Soviet citizen was permitted to own, anything more expensive and you’d have to be more than a citizen – I don’t really know the rules of a communist. Volgas generally share a much much better brand perception than say, a Lada.

More photos after the jump, as well as a photo of the original Volga GAZ-21.

Weird BMW M6

Volga GAZ-21

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 4:22 pm

HOTTTT!!!!!!

What a BEAUTY!!!

Like a LBD!!!

• kington (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 4:26 pm

Wow.. never knew they could revive this brand like this…. i guess this new concept of re-modelling and/or re-engineering is getting more and more acceptable since it's easier than conceiving a car from scratch.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 4:26 pm

a perfect drive-by shooting car.

• graceshu (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 4:39 pm

ooooooh! me likey muchos!

• aesthari (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 4:43 pm

Stunning, and although the original is already beautiful in it's own right, this one is beautiful to another level.

• KelvC (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 5:40 pm

Unbelievably beautiful! If this ain’t beautiful then I don’t know what is. Look at the smooth lines….sexy! If they only mass produce the “new” version…hmm…would Beemer consider buying over the Volga ala reincarnating the Beetle/Mini? Hmm…. Worth considering.

Checking wallet…..elek! Now have to buy jackpot or Toto…..what’s the price money??? *cheeky* ;)

• sxe10r (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 5:42 pm

It is BMW M6 ??? oh my god …. redesign the old model to new age … the interior is cool man !! but the outlook like MG !! erm the interior looks didn't match the exterior … but anywhere new model ~ clasis sport but Paul what inside the bonnet ?? i means the engine it use ?

• digiman (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 5:43 pm

wait.. is this just computer generated graphic? or for real BMW did really have a car of such? paul, care to clarify?

man would be nice if i can have my hand on this… imagine of driving it along the eastern coast line or even in langkawi (the closest we can have to miami or san diego or the great ocean road coast line driving)…

swosh!

• cbljkkj (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 5:58 pm

I remember seeing this concept a long time ago, it should be a one off customer car probably done out of the factory by a private fabricator and not BMW.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 6:12 pm

Ouh.. What i hope my father's old VW beetle can turn into this hot babe.. Even classic looks with new technology can make this car go WoW.. Compare to others Ehm.. Classic looks with classic engine (Guess?).. thats sucks!

• TheGunner (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 6:22 pm

I don't think it's an M6. This car has an auto gearbox.

• BrakeFader (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 6:27 pm

Wow!! Something like what Mitsuokas are doing. This is seriously cool.

• bebe (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 6:39 pm

Looks Good. Better than the latest Protons or future ones. Proton Boleh…

• azrai (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 7:07 pm

How' on earth they do it! This is superb.

• cosmohybrid (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 7:23 pm

'sexy and sleek' is da word!

a real chick magnet… :D

• drM (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 7:23 pm

this must be an art by any of the ex-KGB man. i'm pretty sure about it.

LOL

• digiman (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 7:34 pm

cbljkkj.. in your case.. high possibility it could be putin's or roman's then…

• pekan (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 7:35 pm

wait a tick… russian sports car? probably only used by the bolsheviks since no ordinary citizen would buy it.. haha.. but very nice..

• proton GL (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 7:37 pm

this will never go outdated,

• mmcwei (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 8:00 pm

nice interior…hehe…

• mattyboy (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 8:06 pm

So it seems I am alone in thinking this is the single ugliest car I have ever seen – what a waste of a perfectly good M6!!!

• armandd (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 8:44 pm

i've seen this in autoblog last year. the car reminds us to russian mobs, heheh.. very sharp-looking though.

• e-nabilll (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 9:03 pm

cleaning those rims wil take longer than skinning the whole car i assume ! 1 million spokes!

• albagmane (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 9:50 pm

brilliant work! it gives me a mafia feeling though, makes everyone afraid of the driver inside this car… i love it!!!

• kei9 (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 10:10 pm

WTF!!! sweet lOOOOking ride man!

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 10:47 pm

Holy @#$%!!!!!!!!! This is COOOOOOOL !!!!!!!!!!

Oh man, I want this car!!!!!!

If the wheels are the spinner type, then it will be the coolest ride in my town!!!!

Maybe later can convert 6-Series into a Camaro or Mustang? lol~

• kei9 (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 10:54 pm

spinner? it'll cut ur hands off! ugh! nasty1

if u wanna see the camaro…go and see transformers the movie on 2 june……got a new camaro….sweet…

• nmh (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 11:13 pm

cooler than a hot rod or any muscle car

• DtG (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 11:16 pm

Fantastic remodelling work… Never thought such a transformation would turn out so good. The interior is hardly altered though..

• alpha0201 (Member) on May 21, 2007 at 11:18 pm

A thing of beauty. Beautiful Russian body design & brilliant German engineering.

Simply an exquisite car.

• granturismo (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 12:08 am

Damn cool………….. looks quite a bit like Sylvester Stallone's car in the movie Cobra

• ed0r (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 12:54 am

Two thumbs up! Nuff said lol.

• KelvC (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 2:14 am

proton GL said,

May 21, 2007 @ 11:37 am

"this will never go outdated,"

-> One word dude…"TIMELESS"

"cosmohybrid said,

May 21, 2007 @ 11:23 am

’sexy and sleek’ is da word!

a real chick magnet… "

-> Yes I know! Now I'll need figure out the 6 digit combo for the next SuperToto…this week is 1.5mil, not sure it's enough for this sweet ride…maybe hit two Toto in the row, now that might be enough to pay for the "facelift" and fly it over to Malaysia (3rd Toto to pay for airfreight and tax). Hah!

*My preciouss………*

Favourite quote from Home Alone 1:

"Hey! I tell you what I'm gonna give you, Snakes. I'm gonna give you to the count of 10 to get your ugly, yellow, no-good keister off my property before I pump your guts full of lead! One, two, ten!" *machine gun fire* HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHH!

Now, I'll need to change the house gate to fit this sweet sweeeeeet ride, my precious (might as well change the whole house to fit the King of Rides (note to self: 4th Toto required).

• dawgHause (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 4:28 am

looks a whole lot better than a 6-series.

shoot yourself adrian

• mystvearn (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 4:51 am

Yep, its very very nice. I think looks better than a 6-series,

• mzfnd (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 5:21 am

A pinstripe suit, a hat and a cigar would go fine with this.

Now, where's my tommy gun…

• Illuminate (Member) on May 22, 2007 at 5:46 am

Not a M6, but rather a 6-Series.

And yes, I did read it in Autoblog about a year ago too.. =)

Fairly nice, but retro is what I'm not.. xD

• normaluser (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 3:51 pm

Wow.. a truely 'Godfather' car…

• RichGal (Member) on May 24, 2007 at 12:05 am

Mattyboy! Dont worry u are not alone!! wat an ugly invention..they must be ran out of idea… i adore Merc benz, always comes out with the most sleek, elegant and luxurious design. Fell so craaaaazy in love wit their latest CLK,SL and CLS !!!

• Barron on May 11, 2010 at 7:05 am

Nice retro style. Different wheels and perhaps dropping the rear end a bit, but not bad.