BMW might sell engines to other manufacturers

small_bmw_logo.jpgBMW is considering selling their engines to other car manufacturers who would like to use them in their cars. This new plan is spearheaded by new CEO Norbert Reithofer, in efforts to increase BMW earnings. BMW has already started doing engine sharing projects, like it’s turbocharged and normally aspirated 1.4 and 1.6 litre engines that are used in both BMW’s own MINI brand and some PSA Peugeot Citroen cars.

Earlier this year, BMW announced it would further collaborate with PSA on engines because of the success of the MINI engine collaboration. Something tells me the next engine BMW and PSA would somehow use together is the newly announced 4-cylinder twin turbodiesel engine.

It’s not that BMW has not done this before though, it probably only means such engine selling or development sharing projects will be done more often. The McLaren F1 has a BMW V12 engine in it, and Range Rovers have had BMW M62 V8 engines in them for quite some time, though not anymore in the latest versions.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sewell (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 1:32 am

is a good news to BMW, where BMW engines had award some best engine. did proton intend to get BMW engine power their proton? haha

• xg9 (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 3:38 am

proton! proton! proton! proton!

• mystvearn (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 3:52 am

proton can put a 1.8L into a Neo GTi

• jedkoh (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 6:26 am

Imagine:

Proton: Eh, Bimmer. You should seriously sell me some of your engines dude. Matter fact, it is your IN your benefit and most IMPORTANTLY your honour to put your engines in the most prestigious car marques in Malaysia!

Bimmer: Leck mich am arsch. Mach es dir selber.

• jedkoh (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 6:29 am

For German translations, please look here:
    http://www.insultmonger.com/swearing/german.htm

• nmh (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 8:50 am

proton shud take a chance…just scrap campro

• si-fu (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 10:56 pm

wats wrong wit the campro engine? first u guys tak puas hati wit the company….then wit the goverment…then with their cars…now wit their engine?…common la….give them a break la…u guys shud be proud at least ur country has its own engine….and for everybody's information, in the future there is a foreign country who wish to buy the campro engine for their use in their local car….sorry to say, all of ur hopes and dreams of proton closing down wont happen…plans have been made for the next 10 years for proton….there are many new and interesting projects coming up…so its imposiblle proton will shut down!!! Cheers!

• w_lighter (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 11:42 pm

Dream la u si-fu… hahahaha

• si-fu (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 12:59 am

w_lighter if you dont trust me….wait n c!!!! hahahahahahahahahah. You guys think i am joking rite….huhuhuhuh….i am sure all of us wud be around for the next few years to c wats gonna happen…Cheers!!!

• jedkoh (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 1:53 am

Well, for me I will see how Proton is going to pull itself from its financial mess. If they are doing it by using tax payers' money, sorry Proton still deserves to close down IMHO. (Yes, I know the goberment said they aint gonna help Proton, but goberment's credibility is well known too)

• shooter (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 4:37 am

woi si-fu, kita dah ada la enjin yg world-class-the EO1W/EO1 from Petronas. word has it Petronas did offer the tech to protong, at at price of course, but protong tak mau, diaorang dah sunk too much into CAMPRO- yet they still ada RM2billion to spend on Tj Malim facility….. now rumor has it the koreans are interested in that enjin.

• shooter (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 4:52 am

so other car company akan use CAMPRO enjin? i doubt so, the current version is just another common, one in a gazillion, garden variety, DOHC inline4, and tak ada pun 'cam profile switching'- protong talk for variable cam phasing/timing. thats it and thats all. ask anybody, that enjin nothing special pun. with the resources available, they should've leaped frog further.i tau diaorang ada prototype yang ada all the bells and whistles, but its just that, prototype(s) nak buat enjin world class apa bendenye? dash board pun macam sial…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 4:30 pm

all talk no action.. the fact of the matter is, bmw engines will cost significantly more than even their japanese counterparts, or french counterparts. In terms of sheer volume, bmw is still a lot less as compared to the french and japanese.

If proton were to buy a bmw engine, the cost will be astronomical.

I'm pretty sure most of you talking here will not a)buy the car, or b) afford it.

so be careful what you wish for.

and forget the EO1 engines from petronas. thats a old boring story. the engine is only a prototype and isn't even close to being a mass manufactured engine yet. not proven.

• si-fu (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 4:54 pm

Shooter….u see the problem with the Petronas engine is tat is 2.0 liter…if lets say Proton buys it and put in the Waja and Gen-2, and it costs 70-80k. Would u buy it? and like BanyakMasukWorkshop said, the engine is only prototype and petronas doesn't have the facility to mass produce it…. so if at that time Proton bought it, Proton had to mass produce themselves and still pay royalty to Petronas….everybody plss dont accuse without facts and think before u blog…if you guys waiting for the CPS and the VIM system in the Campro….wait no more, it will be in the market in July. Just be patient. Shooter, u can doubt all u wan, but this country is in serious talks to buy the Campro from Proton. Lets say this country is planning to produce their own car like Proton did 20 yrs ago and it used the Mitsu's 4G series. I cant reveal more then that. Up to you guys wheather wanna beleive or not. For everybody's info, no Koreans are interested in Petronas engine, Petronas will be selling its engine design and manufacturing rights to the Koreans(only to manufacture it) if Proton is going to use it. There are talks going on between Proton and Petronas to mass produce the engine for Proton's use in their future projects ( projects involving engine above 2 liter). It would be a succes only if the cost doesnt rocket sky high up. Bloggers here, pls get ur facts right before blogging and psoting rubbish here! Cheers!!!

• shooter (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 9:39 pm

all and good si-fu, it would be great if u and all of the other agents enlighten us from time to time, however my beef with protong is that after 2 decades it cant even stand on it own 2 feet, here in M'sia. so we all can forget bout penetrating the biggest market (US), which even the Koreans seems to be able to do= theyre overtaking us… and general public is fed-up with having to settle with products that are substandard(protong) and artificially-overpriced(imports), as i understand it the tax protection given to P1 should be temporary (just as Harley-Davidson requested from the US G in the 70's in the face of strong Jap competition), but now has become an income source that our G is not about to relinquish. and because of that i cant afford my Golf GTI. i know i'm to be proud of M'sia producing cars and all, but if its not economically viable, and if we cant compete on a level playing field, why bother?

• shooter (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 10:01 pm

lets face it protong cars suck.it dont matter if the engine is the latest campro or BMW's or that the chassis is Lotus tuned with Brembo brakes…. the overall package= exterior, interior, ergonomics, safety, sex appeal, brand ethos,reliability, storage facilities, fit and finish, materials used for components that come into contact with the occupants etc…. are all lacking= it sucks. and the general public knows it could be better, it doesnt cost more to have a properly fitted/ assembled vehicle with an exhaust that is not senget. but we have no choice its the only 'affordable' brand here. it gives me no pleasure when i'm driving my Camry to know that in most countries, that Camry cost 1/3 less. and that currently i'm paying more in order to protect a 20 yr old company in the red and its stake holders.

• si-fu (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 10:14 pm

Shooter, first of all everybody needs to understand that Proton has been making its own cars only for the past 10 years. The previous 10 years, it has been only manufacturing and rebadging cars from Mitsu. The first 10 yrs as a assembler, Proton felt that it should learn from the japs on how to make their own car, unfortunately the Japs are quite stingy in sharing their knowledge. After 10 yrs of frustation, they decided to start making their own car, that was the Waja. Wat proton had decided tat time to learn from mistakes and to do continous improvement based on feedback. Since they r trying on their own, definitely there wud be some hiccups. Regarding on the quality issue, Proton often get 'conned' by vendors who at development stage provide quality materials, but when mass producing they tend to neglect the quality of their part. In order to counter this problem, Proton has changed many vendors and reduce the amount of middle person involved. In terms of car pricing, Proton couldn't do much since for each model Proton is only taking about 20% profit and Edar abt 10% profit for each model. The cost is high because of the volume sold are low. Averagely, Proton cars are sold around 100,000 units a year. Comparing lets say Toyota, they could sell up to 1 million units per year. The reason why Proton could not increase their sales, just because thier market demand locally is small and is also shared by Perodua. Their oveseas market also is quite small. Due to this, wat the goverment has done is, they impose taxes on foreign cars to promote sales of local cars, not force them. By doing this, the goverment actually is buying some time for the local manufacturers especially Proton to expand their market and increase their products demand. Lots of effort is being made by Proton to export their cars to overseas markets. Once Proton can expand their market and stabilize it self, only then the goverment will reduce the taxes of foreign cars. To prove Proton's effort, within the next 7 months, there are 3 new varients of the current models and a new model going to be launched. Cheers!!!

• shooter (Member) on May 31, 2007 at 4:59 am

hey Si-fu, U sure sound like one of those fancy PR people from one of them big corporations. anyway I might have gotten carried away on my comments, but i was just saying it as it is from my corner and i'm sure my sentiments are shared with a great number of people.i just hope the liberalisation of the market happens in my lifetime. thanks for the heads-up.I'll be looking forward to see improvements, but i'm not holding my breath. the day protong can knock on uncle Sam's door, i'll buy one (more)…

• Infinitt (Member) on May 31, 2007 at 9:51 pm

In the end Petronas with collaborate with Proton of their designed engine..due to facilities n shares they have with Proton. I love Proton. I love Petronas.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 03, 2007 at 1:21 am

sucking potong. sucking petronas.

if really considering putting a BMW engine into the heart of those potong cars then these cars will be broken into 2 parts because the BMW engine is so much powerful and these cars are so soft like milo tin