Volkswagen looking at Indonesia instead?

A piece of news by Edmunds Inside Line carries some very bad news. Edmunds picked up the story of the government saying it will not be providing any financial bailout to Proton, whose cash reserves are expected to be depleted by early 2009 or so. What Edmunds has added on is what it’s heard from some government officials of Indonesia in Jakarta.

Edmunds reports that Volkswagen has abandoned Proton tie-up plans altogether, and will be looking at establishing a regional assembly plant in Indonesia instead, or tie-up with a local assembly partner in Indonesia.

Whichever it is, it looks like another Geely tragedy has happened – the NAP has chased away another potential investor to Indonesia. If what Edmunds says is true, the only way for Proton to partner up with Volkswagen somehow is jointly operating the PT Proton Tracoma plant in Indonesia. Perhaps that is why Proton bought out all 100% of PT Proton Tracoma shares back in January 2007?

Of course, the Edmunds article mentions no concrete sources, so we just have to hope, and hope, and hope… that something good will come out of all of this.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 28, 2007 at 10:20 pm

NAP chase away something good, and Indon got it! Yah we are really BOLEH!

• xxrrxx2002 (Member) on May 28, 2007 at 10:45 pm

Ohhh…NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• aksMs (Member) on May 28, 2007 at 11:18 pm

I just want to shout this…

"FIRE THE CHAIRMAN!!!!!!!

&*@#^*(&%!(&^!@%!(@%^*&#$ stupid f**ker!"

• ec (Member) on May 28, 2007 at 11:22 pm

Tiring and Tired! so all VW discussion went into the trashbin in Malaysia!

Maybe the Malaysian Govert has thier limitation and constaint that would never be known by us rakyat.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on May 28, 2007 at 11:43 pm

no more reasonably priced quality cars in malaysia, hopes broken, but everytime i hear they wanna break malaysian spirits by annoucing no possible VW tie ups, but honestly, lets hope GM would consider too

• seperlinky (Member) on May 28, 2007 at 11:52 pm

Business is business, not point holding your pride.

Bring your pride to your grave

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 28, 2007 at 11:52 pm

Haiz… Naza, Sime Derby and GM is on the way… Haiz Pak Lah, I really disappointed about u! All are wasted, cakap KOSONG! The source posted say: " KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia — The Malaysian government, which controls automaker Proton, said it will not provide a financial bailout for the struggling company, now that it appears discussions have broken off once again with Volkswagen. "

"Proton of Malaysia, not currently thriving, is apparently not getting help either from Volkswagen or from the Malaysian government."

So P1, i think not long bye bye laa… but i don't think G will not help, sure last minute pump our money into it 1… Haiz there goes my GOLF GTI, WAH! T.T , t('',t) to the greedy G!

• wookie00 (Member) on May 28, 2007 at 11:53 pm

Hahahahahaha….. just shut down the bloody company. Why fight so hard for it. We're paying through our noses for cars because of Proton.

• tec96248 (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 1:16 am

hahaha, some ppl are happy and some are sad will be. too bad, it might no VW taste on the road. but the mechanics/workshop will be happy still can do business, with so much poor quality cars on the road, as well as the spare parts suppliers. is bad for me, no VW golf/jetta/vento/ or malaysian name.

• 2fast (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 1:30 am

what a tragedy….if it's true

• bugbear (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 1:43 am

no more partnership, then a new enemy lo.. very soon~!!!

• sewell (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 1:48 am

ask the government noneed to discuss anymore. since Malaysia boleh! give all those malaysia company do it ! Mofaz, or naza or DRB Hicom took over will do. then at the monent this company colloborate with other company can MAKAN more!

• ab (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 2:02 am

if proton stuffed up the deal with vw, they deserve to extinct

• digiman (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 2:12 am

something smells fishy here.. coming from an indonesian officials.. why would it come from indonesia? shouldnt this be coming from local officials? i mean even if its hold no truth in it… at least better eligibility compared to an indon… really fishy… or is this indonesian tactic to drive up some of its govt held share prices?

• avanza (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 2:32 am

In the end all the neighbouring asean countries will turn out better than malaysia. wtf is the govt doing? just bcos of one f**king car company, sacrify the whole country!

• pw (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 2:56 am

who says "one f**king car company, sacrify the whole country!" .

P1 is the life line of a bunch of related suppliers who is dependent on P1 to suck up all their substandard parts which will break apart the moment it is ship to P1. So its not one f**king car company!! Its "one f**king car company" and its f**king suppliers which the Goberman protecting. So how can they sell just like that !!

Must wait until the situation where they will sell the f**king car company for RM 1. Then everyone is happy. See that happening by 2008 already!!

• mystvearn (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 3:56 am

Election is near, show your displeasure to the Gov

• transformer (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 4:36 am

Its between Thailand, Philipines and Indonesia. Bolehland should be out of this rings already…. Bolehland don't attact car makers bcoz of NAP, bcoz of P1…

• alpha0201 (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 4:39 am

There goes the opportunity. I was hoping P1 would shine together with VW but it was all hopeless. Thanks to their waste of time delaying and their stupendous stubborness, I could not see their future. Getting rid of old Sagas & Wiras in their lot won't able to save them.

• kevyeoh (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 5:08 am

well…let us all wait patiently la… :D

the time sure come wan ma… don't worry…be happy…

i'm enjoying my wira ride as long as i can first… until i got the money or the price reduce for better cars…then that will be the time i change car…

until then…wira it is…

:D yippie yippie yay yay…

• floyd (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 6:11 am

It's been a case of "sacrifice the majority 51% stakeholding, and get a strategic partner" all along. But protong & the govt think thats not in the best interest of us m'sian. The result? No partner, no new deal, losing ground!

Well, I think that is now an objective well achieved! Congrats protong!

and ..to whoever it may concern, CONTINUE WITH YOUR MAJORITY SHAREHOLDING STUBBORN POLICY and i'm dead sure you'll get no partner in 100 years time. You've not been able to stand on your own in the last 20 years, what makes you think you will now!!??

• mofo (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 6:45 am

As expected, What P1 could offer to VW. Nothing !

However, we could see P1 struggle hard to get out from this deep hole. P1 wont close door, its either merge with another players. We could see how previous case study as banks merge to struggle during crisis.

G will not leave thing as what we seen now (I believe) I expected some good news from G end of this year/next year that bring automotive industry alive back that promising good future ahead for local and oversea players.

just a 2 cents.

• shooter (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 8:21 am

u all bising kat sini pun tak guna, u all patut sound direct kat u punya MP, or as MYSTVEARN said, 'show ur displeasure' in the next GE. I tell U, these people in the G just couldnt care less about we all punya comment kat sini, I dont think they even know about this blog, and we all are just talking on deaf ears, sedih la…. even so, I nak ambil peluang ni to say t(",t) to protong for 20 f@#!ked yrs of forcing us to buy substandard products, padan muka tak dapat $$ dari G, and also to G itself, kerana for behaving 'bodoh-sombong' about a great many things and protong being one of them;dah le tak reti, nak pandai2 pulak! lepas tu ego lebih! b@t#h lu…..

• japankiller (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 8:40 am

Good Move VW

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 9:02 am

Even the G see this blog also no use.. they sure say all of us talk lies and don't believe in things that have no prove… Why BN always win.. Coz of $$$, private sector support… Each time election which pump so much money on advertisement? TNB, Telekom, and the most earning company petronas… The petronas is the worst to talk.. Have any one know that G take control of Petronas without letting our people know how they manage the money it earns? They always say if we win we pump money to ur area to develops.. Well it just made more money for those BP contractors n the officer pocket $$$… All are cronies, Even BPR head is head of Rasuah… Let me ask u one thing.. When in Dr.M era, have u heard a lot of racism.. Pak Lah just merely 3 years already got women discrimination "Bocor issue" and racism content in the Parlimen n no taken serious action to them.. Look at youtube.. search for Malaysian politics by sangharimau .. i felt shame of the BP officer commenting inside parlimen.. that's why they dont want siaran langsung out for public… 3rd world country mentality, one day sure become like Afghanistan or Iraq torn by war if continue to racism like this…

• the man (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 9:26 am

The G is trying very hard to protect the interest of their supplier (a.k.a. cronies) in proton. VW already warned, if they got P1, all the lousy supplier with crappy "10years old never solve power window" vendor, brittle door handle and thousand of cost reduction (a.ka. safety reduction) parts will be shown their exit. but that will not happen in our bolehland . so the best of what rakyat can do…just boikot P1. don't buy any P1 model and let's see how long they will hold…what a waste..

• normaluser (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 3:43 pm

Lets keep this post clean from govt bashing and stick to the topic. I don't want to see paultan.org blacklisted by the G. ^_^

But its really sad to see how business mixed up with politics so badly here in malaysia.

• kody (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 4:35 pm

Wahlaueh…

Congratulation to VW to have a wise move to Indon. It's a way that's Proton deserve to go down… Even the proton close down.. the cronies sure will grap for last drop from Proton & rakyat… Stupid G sure will pump in capital for compensations… National Shame!! I think G will sure feel the unpleasure from rakyat in next E. Since Pak lah came in… the flame just hot in 3minutes… all rasuah…. shit things just go as usual or even worst…

• KL-ATR (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 7:08 pm

I'm not surprised. Honest. With so many greedy people in the chain, how can they let go of this wonderful cash cow? So what if the company is losing money? Goman will just use tax-payer's money to keep it running and they will continue with their dracula sucking!

Someone in another post said that he/she don't care about what fittings or price Proton sells in the UK coz it doesn't affect him/her. Well, please crawl out from your tiny shell and look at the wide, wide world! Every car that Proton sells is subsidised by every Malaysian who pays taxes to Goman. If you're still a student, then your PARENTS are paying. Not only are we paying for this trashed up company, it also prevented other manufacturers from coming into Malaysia. Factories that could have created tens of thousands of jobs and MILLIONS of Ringgit coming into the country every year!!!

So, instead of the country making more money, we lost jobs, income AND we still have to feed this wonderful company called Proton. Bravo. I am so proud of this Goman company.

My biggest question is if Perodua can do so well, WHY NOT PROTON??? If I'm shopping for a car, I will definitely buy a Perodua.

• KL-ATR (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 7:22 pm

@shooter, bising kat MP buat apa? Semua takut je. Nanti kena jerit "Shut up and do your work!". Hanya PM je yang boleh buat decision. Ops, maaf. KJ lagi power.

• floyd (Member) on May 29, 2007 at 8:03 pm

Okay larr!! we should stick to the topic, otherwise Paul will get chased by some hunting dogs. Kesian plak Paul nanti.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 12:04 am

Well if paul got chase we got issue to debate later… The unfair, discriminate n racism G on pursude of a chinse guy.. sad…

• mits27 (Member) on May 30, 2007 at 6:36 am

NAP policy did chase away a lot of good opportunity…we have given away the name "Detroit of Asean" to Thailand…sad…

• acbc (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 7:55 am

Forget it. U can't never do business with G-man here… they always want something back in black and white. Since when businesses can guarantee profits? If so, everyone else would have been millionaires! Stupid dumb G asses!