Toyota Premio for the JDM market

The Toyota Premio is an edgier, more aggressive, and more chromy version of the Toyota Allion, but is essentially the same car, with difference mostly with the exterior only. The interior is pretty much the same, with similiar trim design too.

It is also the same under the hood, using a 109 horsepower 1.5 litre 1NZ-FE that we’ve all come to be familiar with as the same 1.5 litre unit is used in our local Toyota Vios. The larger 1.8 litre engine option is of Toyota’s new Dual VVT-i flagship family – the 2ZR-FE which puts out 136 horses.

There is so much model overlap in the JDM market for almost all manufacturers. The bigger players can usually afford to make a few base models, a niche model, one or two premium models, all for the same segment, competing with each other as well as outside competition. But it is necessary as the Japanese are an advanced market, and over there the situation favours the consumer.

More photos after the jump.

Toyota launches new 2007 Toyota Allion for JDM

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 11:47 am

huge tail-light there! which the Japs like i guess….

• J (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 3:17 pm

Look very nice to me !

Hopefully Toyota can add one more choice between VIOS and Altis (or between Altis and Camry)

• Sleepyhollow (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 4:00 pm

Its a mini CROWN.

NICE!

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 4:18 pm

Quite ugly actually compare to Camry

• Alston Smidt on Aug 16, 2011 at 4:35 pm

If so i should say u have no taste when it comes to classy cars.

• kody (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 4:21 pm

wahlaueh…

not bad.

Even if the engine is same as VIOS here, but from the pic you can see the auto transmission is different thus i believe this is more fuel efficient than our local VIOS.

The steering wheel is too big & center air-con ventilation hoses are position too high… not effective at bolehland…

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 4:23 pm

quite a bit of resemblence to its bro, camry…..

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 4:51 pm

The Body looks Heavy …. 1.5 VVti can pick it up ?? …. premio is corona it is ? … in japan spec it using 2.0 vvti …. erm 1.5 VVti it is malaysian style ??

• normaluser (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 4:57 pm

UMW should bring this car here and brand it as the new Corolla. Looks much better than the plain looking new Corolla. Got many Camry DNAs and design cues.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 5:28 pm

Why all the models from TOYOTA looks the SAME?

What is ALLION, CROWN, CAMRY,……CARROLLA…..All similar style and shape.

Toyota is OUT of new style now.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 5:42 pm

This model look like a shrink Toyota Crown! Maybe the size of Altis.. Anywayz in Japan they already using CVT-i gearbox while in other country still using 4-speed or 5-speed auto due to high cost of the new gearbox… CVT gearbox is smoother and fuel efficient.. That why most Japan car including Daihatsu also using CVT gearbox now…

• avanza (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 6:13 pm

LxWxH = 4600x1695x1475mm.

Wheelbase = 2700. Waja/Altis = 2600. Civic = 2700. Wira = 2500

Tracks F/R = 1480/1460. Waja = 1475/1470. Wira = 1450/1460

Shoulder width = 1450. Wira and MyVi = 1400.

This car is NOT of B-segment!

• Xoomie (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 6:35 pm

1.5 car never looked so luxury as this

• Mayonaise (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 7:02 pm

Eeewww… It's FUGLY…

• nuajon (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 7:07 pm

almost cars now with the same shape! bored!!!

• msmar_453 (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 7:52 pm

Got wiper at the back eh?

• J (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 9:12 pm

ya… to sapu the snow :)

• bugbear (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 9:43 pm

agree to sxe10r…

1.5litre powerplant for such a huge body?

• tariq (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 10:22 pm

gosh..fening kapla ana.

• Phisto (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 10:42 pm

Strange looking wiper looks outta place. Its a 5 door sedan isnt it? The front and inside looks classy though.. But 1.5…. boleh tahan the size or not?

• ckengyo (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 1:06 am

umw wont bring this car over unless brand as something familiar over here so that the marketing cost 4 this car could cost less. obviously cannot brand as vios cos we have know that the coming 1 is base on belta. if brand as new name also don't expect u get all those luxury over here from umw 4 pricing competitiveness. only hope that naza would bring it in if they think this is marketable. especially the 1.8 4wd model. u can have luxurios & sporty vertion. aftermarket even have a supercharge from blitz 4 this engine.

• mmcwei (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 2:13 am

nice interior! wonder if this model come to malaysia ho…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 5:02 am

mini crown with camry back lights:)

• nmh (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 6:53 am

still fwd…….duhh

• LCH (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 8:32 am

em….It looks like Europe Camry especially the real lamps.But did't any guys know that Naza World is now bringing Europe Camry to M'sia???It's beautiful. www.naza.com.my

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 4:56 pm

u know the europe camry is top in the usa…….i likt the styling….cannot choose which is better though..

• transformer (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 6:45 am

DULL… from 80's with extra dosage of bling-blings!

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 7:21 pm

Better looking, but the front is still weird.

• One3rd_guy (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 4:41 am

Its like fitting a BOEING with a Kancil Engine…

Look at the size, i change the rims for my Vios itself my car a bit struggling..

But by the look vise in deed nice.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 02, 2008 at 5:26 pm

nissan sylphy…

• Md. Kafiluddin Mahmu on Jul 17, 2009 at 4:48 am

Please, which no. of color is Toyota_Premio_2. It is inthe Top of the page.

Khanks a lot.

• hassan on Mar 04, 2010 at 10:20 am

Its a exellent vehical resembels to mersdes E250.i love this car personaly i hope from god that he will give me soon

• DR ZAHED on Jul 29, 2010 at 3:06 am

TOYOTA PREMIO IS A MINI LUXURY CAR.

• Tito kk on Aug 07, 2010 at 4:14 pm

I think premio is a stylish car. I need one suitable for kenyan roads. It looks strong. a must get…

• noor.. on Mar 12, 2011 at 4:17 am

Awsome….! car, its truely a luxurious sadan:)

• twaheer on Jul 09, 2013 at 7:31 pm

Hello
    what is the dimensions of the rims?
    is it 15 or 16 inches?