New Subaru Impreza launched in Japan

The new Subaru Impreza has been launched in Japan, and we now know that the JDM market only gets the hatchback. Apparently the sedan is exclusively for the US market only, though I am sure some units will somehow find it’s way here into Malaysia.

An all-new third generation chassis is not all that’s new with the Impreza – the WRX suffix has now been dropped from the 2.0 litre turbocharged Impreza (the US market gets a 2.5 litre turbo). Subaru has decided to keep the WRX name for STi models only.

This “warm” 250 horsepower Subaru Impreza variant will be called the Subaru Impreza S-GT instead. To get something with the WRX badge on it, you now have to go for the WRX STi, expected to come with more than 300 horses on top.

More photos of the 2008 Subaru Impreza Version 10

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• J (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 12:13 pm

If Subaru can plan for a mini-Impreza 1.6 Turbo with 160 HP in future … that's my dream

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 12:42 pm

absoulte horror …looks like 1980 datsun….amazingly terrible looks…btw,wil; the wrx finally goes tiptronic intead of pure manual gearbox??

• NiceCar (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 3:41 pm

until now i still not believe this is the latest Impreza..

somemore having WRX STi badge on this car…

hmmm… for me is more like crossover vehicle..

• normaluser (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 4:34 pm

Ugly design overall, with front design like the Spectra & rear like the Harrier.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 4:38 pm

i could'nt describe it……good or bad….

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 4:44 pm

erm why the new WRX design change very far from last model ??? really looks ugly at all …. no more Rally feel n sport cars feel like a normal sedan with a great engine … it is change new designer ??? the new Evo lancer also looks bad .. but better then WRx….. like the mazda 323 wagon ….

• waimak (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 4:59 pm

After so many years, the look gets worse and Subaru made another mistake. What a bad taste.

• proton.com (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 5:17 pm

the front end look ugly. Also the rear end. Worst than the previous one.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 6:22 pm

Toyota take over some share of Subaru a few years back.. Maybe the designers also losing their main purpose of designing more sportier cars? I hate the design, especially the front grill.. If they have a 2.5L turbochaged 300hp for hatched back.. Maybe i will considered to buy it. but after open market laa.. Haha..

• J (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 6:27 pm

name should be changed Subaru to Sulama :)

• bugbear (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 10:50 pm

wat a dissapointment…

but since impreza changed from sedan to hatchback..

hopefully can improve its result in World Rally Championship..

• shooter (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 11:15 pm

somebody should shoot the guy who approved this design.

• kimmy (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 1:38 am

The scooby is as ugly as ever…

• szw (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 3:37 am

yucks !

don try to make it here.

looks so boring…

another typical japanese car.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 4:33 am

I like the power, not the exterior. Don't think people having station wagons going to go that fast anyway.

• narrowband (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 4:45 am

Unbelievable!! They're killing the Impreza brand!!

• bpkid (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 5:24 am

NOOOOOO!!!! THIS IS NOT IMPREZA!!!! *takes a sledge hammer and smack that red Impreza hatch!!*

• I my (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 5:27 am

If this v10 is just a normal day to day car like the Altis that seem ok lah… w/o the scoop. but if we talk about the scooby power this is not the way it should be… or may be need some body kit?

Let see when S'pore MI bring them it….

mystvearn,

the Audi RS4 (B5) is a "station wagon" too leh….. & they can run "fast".

• ab (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 5:44 am

subaru gone mad!!!!!!

• transformer (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 6:13 am

THIS ONE ARE DAMN UGLY !

prefer S204 that had cleaner looks!

Mitsu Lancer looks better…. or wait for the next EVO-X …..

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 6:14 am

majority of y'all x like the design eh? same with me too……sigh……..

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 6:50 pm

It's a shame the Japanese don't get the better looking sedan. The sedan's front, at least, is not entirely hopeless in the looks department with a nice kit slapped on. The hatchback has a hideous Harrier-like tail which would be hard to beautify.

• ab (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 1:25 am

ok, the hatch looks like a cockroach, but sedan better looking?…….err hav u seen the rear? looks like a kia rio, only much much uglier.