Nurburgring: Yamaha R1 vs Porsche 911 GT3

2007 Yamaha R1

This is an interesting video for those who love track videos. Two brothers take on the Nurburgring – Michael Neeves rides a Yamaha R1 superbike while his brother Ben follows him in a Porsche 911 GT3. Video after jump.

Video: Nurburgring: Yamaha R1 vs Porsche 911 GT3

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 1:04 pm

wow.

powerful bike with powerful car

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 1:44 pm

Can see the video. Not sure why

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 2:08 pm

haha… the M3 guy put up a valiant fight but then still got overtook… GT3 is such a babe… not an R1 fan tho, prefer Kawasakis or Honda better ;-)

• dzat46 (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 4:03 pm

Huahh!!!,…very skillfull rider & driver!!…sportsbikes always win on acceleration due to it power to weight ratio advantage which we can see clearly in ths video when both RI & GTS accelerate from corners…R1 soo fast but the GTS have advantage in braking & corner…GTS = higher corner speed & late braking…since the R1 would need to brake early & lean the bike in corner….R1 very minimal rubber/traction in corners…GTS high rubber contact/traction in corner due to 4 fat tyres…

thats why F1 car lap time are faster than Motogp bikes…the advantage are in corners eventhough both top speed are almost the same & bikes quicker acceleration

• I my (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 5:02 pm

wow! some more the Porsche dirver is boosting his car streao too…

• khimfoh (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 5:28 pm

Great video indeed. *Two thumbs up *

Too bad though the track was quite 'busy' with other drivers and riders. Had the track been cleared, I reckon the Yamaha R1 would have beaten the Porsche.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 5:29 pm

siok laa their track.. even old cars can go in and race… Sepang is expensive to go in to drive.. i heard 1 time go in drive cost RM200? Wah.. look at their track so fun 1.. i think i want to drive my fathers old 1.3L VW beetle over there and look at others car overtake me LOL!

• avanza (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 5:47 pm

Why are there so many cars, even an mpv, on this track. Is it even a track or some public road.

• Ricc (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 6:13 pm

It seemd to me like the GT3 doesnt wan to overtake the R1.. It just wan to chase it.. thats all..

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 7:02 pm

How nice if we have more tracks here in Malaysia, and with affordable entry prices too. Sepang is expensive, and is so freakin far from here.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 7:27 pm

i think dat its RM 80k's quite expensive….same as other sports bike…..

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 11:08 pm

no . i think the gt3 was trying very hard not to overtake the r1. unless of course the rider can film himself chasing the gt3

• layman (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 12:05 am

The bike is much faster, from the start of the video can see very clearly that the bike even in the wheelie position can pull off so fast compare to the car. And that 318i is fast !!!

• wookie00 (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 1:25 am

Seems to me the brother in the Porsche 911 GT3 isn't going to take over coz he might just knock his other brother in the Yamaha down. Cars and bikes don't mix on the race tracks… just one nib from the Porche can send the biker swivelling and flying out of the track at high speeds… plus.. maybe break his neck.

• szw (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 4:29 am

rich kids

• mmcwei (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 5:10 am

can see porsche GT3 kick off BMW M3 easily during corner..that's what i like about porsche…good handling…

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 7:33 am

hehe of course gt3 beats the m3. its in a better class. the m3 is also best in its class.

bike is only fast on acceleration but cannot maintain momentum while cornering. hard to say if they were really trying hard to go fast. they could be just playing arond.

the porsche was also carrying an extra passenger and maybe a third guy or maybe the camera is fixed. dont think there are doggy seats in the gt3.

• japankiller (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 9:55 am

If the Yamaha rider is Rossi i think 911 can't tail gaye the bike

• aaron_38my (Member) on Jun 08, 2007 at 5:26 pm

d^mmmnnnn….man…..the whole video sounded as if i was playing Playstation's GT.ecstasy man….ecstasy….no words to describe those beautiful whailing of a Porsche.

• aksMs (Member) on Jun 09, 2007 at 4:42 am

szw said,

June 7, 2007 @ 8:29 pm

rich kids

——————

What's that suppose to mean? Is it a sin if one is born rich? And so what if they are rich? So what if they could buy an R1 and a 911 GT3? Haiya…grow up la bro.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 09, 2007 at 5:38 am

u dont wanna grew up but grow up……..wierd…

• h2k (Member) on Jun 10, 2007 at 12:16 am

ah…the famous nurburgring…challenging track…

the porsche guy is not a really good driver…he seems to down shift too early, overrevving his engine in the process…

• ianshen (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 12:41 am

hey you two brothers. you are great and i love this. awsome!

• dzat46 (Member) on Jun 17, 2007 at 5:56 pm

btw, u can buy 10 R1 for a price of a GT3, the R1 is value for money wt same performance of the GT3, but not everybody can ride like that. Superbikes need lots of skill/fitness to ride fast, squid will just kill themself if try to ride fast w/out proper skills….guess the GT3 should be safer for normal ppl instead of an R1….

• popovic on Mar 31, 2009 at 9:44 am

nu se compara nimik cu o Yamaha R1 de 100 mai tare

• popovic on Mar 31, 2009 at 9:50 am

what the hell! nothing compares with a Yamaha motorcycle

• sandeep on Aug 11, 2009 at 8:38 pm

btw, u can buy 10 R1 for a price of a GT3, the R1 is value for money wt same performance of the GT3, but not everybody can ride like that. Superbikes need lots of skill/fitness to ride fast, squid will just kill themself if try to ride fast w/out proper skills….guess the GT3 should be safer for normal ppl instead of an R1

• ya its a yamaha sports bike.

• amer siala on Mar 27, 2010 at 1:33 pm

i love r1 i have r1

• SHARATH on Apr 23, 2010 at 2:58 pm

i lik it

• coucou on May 03, 2010 at 5:33 pm

I LOVE IT ^^

• mcpherson barber on May 31, 2010 at 7:56 pm

morning to you all i dont mind what people say come on take r goo look at that bike look haw sweet that i have r 2005 r1 and boy that the bike i love am looking to get r new and younger one now its going to b r 2010 r1 no one can stop the looks and sweetness of the r1 that my bikes have r good day friends that ride and love bikes take good care on the road

• GHAUS ALI on Jul 10, 2010 at 2:09 pm

very best

• nice! wish i have that one also

• chanti.d on Nov 28, 2010 at 8:19 pm

very nice