Honda City i-DSI gets 26.2km per liter in fuel economy challenge

Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd demonstrated the fuel efficiency of their Honda City i-DSI last weekend, in an event they called the F.E.A.T., or the Fuel Efficiency Automobile Test. And a feat it was, because the results were very impressive indeed.

Sixteen participants took part in the challenge which required participants to only adhere to an average highway speed limit of 80km/hour while retaining other the attributes of an everyday-sedan such as having the air-conditioning switched on during the drive, and luggage and spare tyre in the cargo area.

The challenge took them from Honda Malaysia Sdn. Bhd. in Petaling Jaya to Cameron Highlands situated 5440ft above sea level, and to Bukit Merah. After a night’s rest, the journey back to Honda’s headquarters resumed. Conditions were set as if it was a vacation trip with friends or family. Each Honda City had four occupants besides a car boot full of typical items like vacation luggage.

The whole route stretched more than 660km, but the aim was to complete it using less than one full tank of a Honda City’s petrol tank, which was 42 litres, or RM80.64. AAM officials were present to measure the fuel level before and after the journey.

The result? The few teams got different levels of fuel consumption according to individual driving style, but all managed to complete the 660km journey using only the petrol in the fuel tank. The winning team comprising of Jimmy Ng, 27; Eric Goh, 29; Sim Chee Kun, 30 and Edwin Ng, 28 – they managed 662.5km on only 25.29 litres of petrol! That’s slightly more than half a fuel tank, or 26.2km per litre of fuel! Most of the journey to the destination involves the use of highways, but going to Cameron Highlands involves alot of uphill roads as well. They took back RM4,000 worth of prizes comprising Honda watches, RM1,000 worth of petrol vouchers, Honda Racing umbrellas and caps.

Much more than just a gimmick or a publicity stunt, this is the real deal. I am impressed that Honda is confident enough with it’s i-DSI technology to attempt this challenge with real world situations where the results actually matters. No one goes around driving with the windows winded up and air conditioning off at the same time, etc as with alot of the fuel mileage challenges out there.

More photos after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• khimfoh (Member) on Jun 11, 2007 at 7:13 pm

Now this is what I call a real-world challenge. Kudos to Honda Malaysia!!!

• Ricc (Member) on Jun 11, 2007 at 7:18 pm

Is there any website show the ranking of malaysian car in term of fuel economic? I know the winner will be honda city, but wut comes 2nd?? Kelisa, Kancil, Vios, Wira and etc etc???

• longjaafar (Member) on Jun 11, 2007 at 7:24 pm

This is a very significant event. I notice that local road tests very rarely have fuel consumption figures. That is why diesel has not made it's mark in this country. The culprit is really our govt. that is oblivious to development in the automobile sector where diesel has overtaken petrol in the sale of many models. This is because of the use of clean diesel. Here, even to raise our level to euro 2 was such a difficult process. That shows that in spite of all kinds of "study tours" by our officials, we are still way behind. And we have the audacity to say that we are a car producing country!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 11, 2007 at 7:35 pm

I think i have read it on the new edition of Autocar asean this june that the new diesel in Europe is almost like water and smell like water too.. And the emission of Co2 and sulfer drop more compare to euro4, maybe is the new euro5 and shell already using it on its Vpower Diesel.. In malaysia we only got Vpower petrol.. other country already got Vpower Diesel… Anyway come back to Honda city IDSI, I have already knew that the Honda city IDSI is really good in FC, U see it's engine have 2 spark plugs on each cylinder.. So the total plugs they use is 8! If the combustion is complete, then the FC will be more better… Another thing contribute to the FC is the CVT gearbox.. CVT already proven to be more FC then the normal 4-AT gearbox… What i think is if u own a IDSI city and u have more $$$, change the spark plugs to Iridium or platinum plugs, use fully or semi synthetic old like 0-40w or 5-50w oil, Change the air filter to K&N or HKS high flow filter.. I bet ur car will have more FC then before.. I have tested on my Wira and it proves to gain more better.. FC..

• marmitecrab (Member) on Jun 11, 2007 at 8:22 pm

I remember a Honda salesman telling me the Jazz has better fuel consumption than the City.

Anyone can comment?

• Jay (Member) on Jun 11, 2007 at 8:29 pm

The Honda City is definitely an attractive bargain. I'm going to get 1 as my second car. Vios is not an option anymore because of the comfort is so limited. City is definitely better eventhough down in terms of looks compared to the VIOS ! Who cares anyway…….26.2km/l & comfort…that's what you want in this current market situation !

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 11, 2007 at 8:58 pm

To my knowledge, city i-dsi and the jazz i-dsi shares the same engine, and gearbox and platform, so fuel consumption should be similar.

as for city vs vios? i feel the city has more space, and better space utilisation. interior quality in the city is better also imho. ahah.. but then again, what do i know? i drive a car that does about 8km per litre in KL conditions, not exactly 'green' car of the year.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 11, 2007 at 9:47 pm

erm sound really crazy !! 26km/l really the most save fuel cars … but anywhere …. if plus with monthly payment of the car … will be rm1k plus per month ??? … now i using damn fc 3speed AT wira … monthly rm200 petrol … plus payment = rm550 per month … if change to honda city …. the monthly petrol only Rm 40 per month … + car payment = 1040 per month ??? erm i will think about the used city …

• arcana (Member) on Jun 11, 2007 at 11:50 pm

indeed superb, but in real situation of everyday driving….who would actually drive 80km/h on NKVE for more than 200km lol. thats ridiculously slow and also drivers tend to get impatient and drive faster.

i've tried driving at 80-90km/h on 1.6 altis and got almost 17km/l using LDP everyday off peak hours which means no jam. to achieve 26km/l, ultimate patience is required. most of us drive under stop and go situations, no doubt honda city saves more fuel it still doesnt give u 26km/l, a proper driving habit should return 15-17km/l and thats very good for town driving.

• Irkeez (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 12:41 am

Shy on you Mr Paul Tan. You are so materialistic. You sacrifice your blog for BMW advertisement only for the money. You are not the real man who love your blog. All of the audience of your blog now "sakit mata" with your advertisement in this blog… If you want money, go to work la…ok.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 12:53 am

Irkeez u have the same msg all the way…..no need to be so many……

• aaron_38my (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 1:44 am

You must be a BMW fanatic.I keep seeing that message.No need to get so uptight.Paul Tan do his right to do whatever he want whether profitable or not.

• kington (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 3:20 am

My cousin drives an i-DSI City and though the fuel efficiency of the car is indeed good, it does come with a list of shortcomings. From the cars i've tested thus far, the difference between the Vios and City in terms of fuel consumption isn't much.

The City is indeed comfortable but you do sacrifice a couple of things, the seats are hard and on long journeys, many have complained. The ride is kinda choppy when tackling the corners with undulations and the electric power steering does feel very numb, detaching the driver from the feedback required to sense the road conditions. Remember, the ultimate carpet ride is not about 100% insulation for the driver and passengers. In this area, the Jazz has a better ride than the City.

CVT gearboxes are very efficient but it's very hard to repair, and rumors have confirmed that Honda is now giving out free replacement gearboxes for its CVT boxes which are found faulty.

• layman (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 6:04 am

So, which car has the highest fuel consumption in Malaysia road?

Naza ria or Wira auto gear?

• bugbear (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 6:55 am

ok.. heres my question..

who is tht girl on d last picture? grin"""

• Paul Tan on Jun 12, 2007 at 7:02 am

Her name is Angie ;)

• drgn86 (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 7:39 am

ah ha, paul is interested in something else other than the fc of the city……. by looks of the last picture there……. well, my comments are that the fc is really wow and that girl looks attractive……:-)

• chanel (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 8:57 am

Hey Irkeez

FYI, you have no right to comment anything Paul would do to his blog, just read his blogs or bungkus to others site.

• infinity (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 9:54 am

Hey Irkeez

wat's worng with earning some money and do something u like at the same time?with the extra income,paul will be more motivated to hv more post in his blog..wouldn't tat be a better thing?come on Irkeez..i dun feel "sakit mata" with the ad..

on another note…26.2km to the liter is really great…it comes to about 7.3sen/km…which is about half of kelisa's fuel consumption…so, wat happen to the savvy's malaysia book of records?dethroned?hahaha

• armandd (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 10:43 am

the gurl in the last pic is demn cun! =D

• drM (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 5:54 pm

and…this Angie can work how many days with me on a liter of petrol ;)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 6:50 pm

Irkeez,

This is Pauls blog. its not some underground, down on commercialism, punk rock alternative whatever.. its a car blog(and a darn good one). and to keep it running the way paul is doing, he needs to get some income to pay for his server bills.. without this blog, you have nothing. you cant read about cars, proton bashing, joe ooi, and most importantly, you cant complain about advertising.

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 7:20 pm

No money how to host this blog……….???

TQ BMW for sponsoring this blog……….and giving Paul the recognition of his efforts…….

Hehehe……who wants Angie's henfon number……..??? PM me……..

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 10:25 pm

nah….too old for me..hehehe

• Ricc (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 10:36 pm

Irkeez,

I think u've no right to critized Paul for putting Ad on HIS blog.. He can do wutever he wan to HIS own blog.. If u doesnt like the Ad, u can visit another car blog.. For me, I'll do the same also.. But so far, here is acceptable.. :p

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 10:47 pm

Ricc..u can see irkeez comments on merc amg post…

• proton12vauto (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 11:38 pm

we can pull the ads out from this blog by putting some our money in.

• bs (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 11:42 pm

To be realistic,… to get 26KM / litre is impossible in normal driving, i.e in KL or city roads. Anything more than 13KM / litre, can be considered the most fuel efficient car available…for normal driving.

This is very much a controlled driving being perform by a team (with target to reserve fuel) to win some prizes. e.g. keeping constant at 80KM/h, freeing the gear during down hill.

Look at it this way, if you have the patient, you can drive down from Cameron Highlands using free gear all the way and just maintain a slow steady speed. Very minimal fuel is use, hence you will get an excellent mileage…

In summary, this is no more than of a HONDA marketing stunt.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 11:42 pm

easier said then done, the moment you ask a room full of malaysians for some money to help you out of a tough spot, the room will quickly empty ;)

• Paul Tan on Jun 13, 2007 at 12:05 am

bs: Yes, achieving 26km per liter is impossible in day to day driving. But look at it this way, Honda did not hide the journey and destination. We are able to tell by ourselves what kind of driving conditions are involved. Plus it would not be any different from a normal family taking a vacation. Full loaded car with air conditioning.

• alamak (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 12:42 am

BS said "Look at it this way, if you have the patient, you can drive down from Cameron Highlands using free gear all the way and just maintain a slow steady speed. Very minimal fuel is use, hence you will get an excellent mileage…"

But you still gotta drive up the hill right first right? With 4 passengers and full boot and aircon on..

It is impressive…

• pausch (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 2:22 am

Hello everybody..I own a Honda Jazz 1.4 iDSI..the fuel consumption for everyday traffic (Klang valley with the jams and such) gives me on average 15km/l. It used to give me 17km/l earlier in its life..Perfect for city driving but will leave you feeling wanting on long journeys..I agree with some of you mentioning the seats are rather hard..actually the suspension too..Damn! I should have gotten the VTEC version..

• dzat46 (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 3:39 am

I drove the city idsi for a year now, city driving can easily get 16km/liter….hgway if maintain 110kph can easily achieve 18km/l….my record to date is 20km/l. This is not a publicity stunt, if drive 80kph like they did in this contest…26km/l is really achievable. The city idsi got diesel like characteristic wt very high torque at low rpm. rpm btw 1.5k – 2.5k sufficient for daily drive. Seldom rev beyond 3k rpm….110kph can be achieve at 2.5k rpm.

• jeanloo (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 3:52 am

Irkeez, read for free you also want to complain.No wonder so many ppl give up on doing a good job or even try to hold a job and prefer to be robbers and snatch thiefs. It's not only a matter of $$$ here, to me it's an honour to have BMW putting their ad's here; and Paul really deserve the recognition. Try start your own car blog, see who you can attract to advertise in your page.

Bs, I don't think even the Flying Singh can drive down Cameron Highlands using free gear lar. Your breakshoe gonna get burnt and you gonna end up in the ravine if you attempt to do that. Don't you know you have to engage low gear when you drive down hills? Nno wonder so many car end up in the ravine because got driver like you.

• ys (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 5:49 pm

Irkeez,

who are you to comment on Paul blog?

did Paul charge you on viewing his blog?

if not then keep you bloody mouth shut.

i hate this type of irresponsible blog viewer. Use yr brain not yr ass to think.

by the way, 26km/l is a very very impresive figure.

i hope my 10yrs old sentra can do the same.

my personal best is 17km/l with cruising at 110km (manual transmission)

• cavino (Member) on Jun 15, 2007 at 12:41 am

As for Angie, she already has a very nice good looking boyfriend at that. As for too old…..she's quite young and better looking in real person..Hands off coloured-wolves ;)

As for Pausch, if iDSI suspension is already too hard for u, better think again for VTEC coz its even harder.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jun 15, 2007 at 1:09 am

Irkeez…. get a life!!!

26km/l… wow :)

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 17, 2007 at 3:44 am

suddenly savvy all senyap about this…

I tried my best using the savvy and one tank I only got 420KM, not more than that

• upsetcity (Member) on Jun 18, 2007 at 4:38 am

I wonder how it worked out to 26.2 km/liter. IF the fuel tank is nearly empty by the end of the 660km journey, the comsumption should be 660/42 = 15.7 liter/km

For the number to read 26.2 km/liter, the car needs to have 16.8 liter petrol left or 16.8/42 = 40% fuel left in the tank. As a City owner, i can't believe this. Can someone clarify?

Regarding Honda replacing faulty gearbox, is that valid even after warranty? They should, to restore public confidence on Honda reputation.

• Paul Tan on Jun 18, 2007 at 9:08 am

the winning team did not use all the petrol in the fuel tank. they got 662.5km on 25.29 liters of petrol… not the whole tank.

• bs (Member) on Jun 18, 2007 at 7:34 pm

Hi alamak, you said: "But you still gotta drive up the hill right first right? With 4 passengers and full boot and aircon on.."

Yes, of course up the hill you still need fuel, but coming down if you cheat a bit, you hardly need any fuel, so your mileage is actually x2 the distance for the same fuel. And x2 makes a lot of difference.

Hi Paul,

Yes it looks impressive with 4 person and air-con fully loaded on a holiday (with a mission in mind: to use as little fuel as possible), but too bad it is only a HONDA event, get i what i mean? :-)

If this is an open competition with all other brands, i.e Toyota, Nissan, Perodua, Proton or etc…then maybe if CITY still wins…. then it is worth crowning it the BEST OF THE BEST…

But who dares to have this challenge?

BS.

• syedakt (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 2:51 am

Hi All, I'm currently using the earlier City IDSi model, not the latest one (don't know the model name though). But anyway, I'm currently using Cyclone and the Nanotech fuel additive by Cosway. The savings is even more impressive.

I intend to put in NGV and some other smaller refinements so that I can cut fuel costs, reduce pollution and save my savings for something else.

If I ever change this car, it'll be a Hybrid. But so damn long waiting, never know when it would reach Malaysian shores.

• Deevon (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 7:11 pm

After reading (almost) all the posts in this blog AND after test driving Vios and Honda City at all the sales center in Penang – I've finally made a decision. Honda City IDSI – silverish blue (2.36% interest rate). Need to wait for 1 month though. 2K booking fees paid. Just would like to thanks Paul Tan for this wonderful blog and the many postings from its member. I must say, 90% of my decisions are based on postings here (not in this thread particularly). Why Honda ? Just more space. And I don't like fake wood. Not so much different when driving. And the new City is not ugly anymore.

• fadhlan23 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 7:28 pm

wow..really 26.2km/l?

my kelisa is just 19km/l man..

• SuperBaby (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 3:33 am

I have heard from a couple salesmen that they decided to sell their Honda City as the gearbox was giving problems and it would cost RM24,000 to repair. Is this true? Does this still happen to the current models?

I have also saw some complaints in the Internet regarding a special coating (on dashboard and area near to the window buttons) in Honda City peeling/fading off when in contact with certain chemicals such as cosmetics and alcohol. Real?

What is the audio quality between Vios 1.5G and Honda City VTEC?

• rizman (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 6:25 pm

i am driving a honda city idsi year dec 2005 (latest). initially, the fuel consumption was impressive, but lately it is going down. for town use, full tank is around RM 67-70 ( full tank approx. 37 L) and can achieve 400-420 km only ( approx.11 km/L) . i am puzzled as our friend dzat46 mentioned for his honda city idsi’s city driving can achieve 16 km/L.

can someone give me advice on this matter?

thanks.

• KingHenry14 (Member) on Aug 28, 2007 at 3:57 pm

Hi Rizman,
    Check your tyres pressure and make sure your RPM not exceed 3K, else your FE will drop significantly. That’s what I experienced.

• ckhar (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 5:23 am

I heard some rumuor that new honda city will be lanching next year 2008. Any body know what would be the new design looks like? And I also heard that Honda City clearing old stock with special / further discount, is that true?

• Masharaz butt on Aug 27, 2014 at 1:48 pm

i have Honda i-dsi and its consumpation of fuel on city 18km/litter and on highway 29km/litter.on cng in city 22km/kg and on highway 33km/kg…unbelieveable

• I am impressed to read up comment. How u get this avg. As I have also 2007 city auto. But it gave me 11 on highway. After computeized tuning. Help me how to solve this matter.
      thx

• Moncler Jacob Vente on Dec 19, 2014 at 7:00 pm

Waktu tu orang yang saya langgar tu pakai shades acah-acah handsome je????Starting dari situ la saya jatuh hati dengan awak,Badanku pun sudah berasa sakit-sakit.Tiada lagi rasa takut malah aku berasa sungguh teruja. Aku ceritakan segala yang berlaku kepada Adriana.” Namun aku segera beristifar untuk tidak menyalahkan takdir di atas segala yang telah menimpaku.” Ruzair menyusun kata menutup debaran di hati yang kian bergolak. Ruzair suka menghilang secara mengejut. biarlah aku nampak gelojoh, Aku ingin menjadi cucu Wan yang kuat dan gagah seperti Wan.alhamdulillah.
    Moncler Jacob Vente http://www.energychinaforum.com/briannacherry.asp?Moncler-Jacob-Vente-c-11.asp

• I am using City 2005 but having problem that on above 100KM/h heat light on and after reducing speed its off.

• Vnesh on Oct 10, 2015 at 8:54 am

Only idsi fuel save, or vtec also same????