New Mercedes AMG supercar coming up soon

McLaren Mercedes SLR

Mercedes Benz is planning a new supercar, but this time it will not have anything to do with McLaren. A new step-sibling for the McLaren-Mercedes SLR (photo above) will be built by HWA AG, a spin-off of Mercedes Benz’s AMG performance arm.

The new car will compete with Audi’s R8 as well as BMW’s upcoming competitor for the R8. It will be powered by an existing 6.2 litre V8 from AMG’s stables, and will carry the Mercedes AMG badge.

HWA AG is mainly a race and sports car manufacturer for now, and it’s race-built cars, naturally based on Mercedes Benz models, have been particularly successful in the DTM (Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters, or German Touring Car Championship).

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jun 11, 2007 at 10:59 pm

WOWWWWWWWW

What a super nice car!!!

• BW (Member) on Jun 11, 2007 at 11:15 pm

One of my neighbour have this car…. Its black in colour… I'm in kuching and the plate number of the car is start with W… that means its from west Malaysia… Quite nice la the car…

• msmar_453 (Member) on Jun 11, 2007 at 11:40 pm

that photo related to McLaren loh! The Article is not related to the photo mah!

that car photo in not related-lah! Haiyo!!

Hopefully new Merc supercar will be different design.

Like very much R8 design.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 12:20 am

hey have y'all seen the open top mclaren ? nice man………….(not related)

• Irkeez (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 12:40 am

Shy on you Mr Paul Tan. You are so materialistic. You sacrifice your blog for BMW advertisement only for the money. You are not the real man who love your blog. All of the audience of your blog now "sakit mata" with your advertisement in this blog… If you want money, go to work la…ok.

• afroiq (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 12:59 am

huhu irkeez..what wrong with the ads..just leave it there..not all visitor dont like to watch the ads..

i think all website now have an ads..

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 1:04 am

yeah….no need to be so tough on him…..if its only u and nobody cared about it….just leave it alone….

• aaron_38my (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 1:17 am

Ooh la la…AMG'ed SLR is tasty enough but to be derived again from an AMG state is simply mind boggling.This HWA AG must be some highly respectable tuner.Man…

BW, you're lucky.At least you get to see a real one.I only get to see it in pictures. So, have you seated in it already? Ecstatic man…

• Irkeez (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 1:27 am

Sorry to all. I just want to make sure this blog will be the best in their way. I just give a comment. Don't you see the 300×250 BMW advertisement in the first page already disturb the arrangement of this blog. Don't you see it…. "Sakit Mata La".

• tantart (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 1:27 am

i think this Irkeez must hav some personnel issue problem mental problem…hey Irkeez, take ur medicine yet?go hav ur medicine ok?

• Paul Tan on Jun 12, 2007 at 1:39 am

Irkeez: Sorry if it has inconvenienced you. How is it sakit mata? Do give me more details. I am sure there is a way for the ad to exist and to be not sakit mata at the same time, otherwise the whole internet publishing industry will not work.

Contrary to what you've mentioned, I love my blog so much that I have 3 hosting accounts, with one of them being a dedicated server to keep up with the bandwidth and traffic requirements. Sure, I could use services like Flickr, Imageshack, or Photobucket to host the images, as well as Youtube to host the videos, but as we all know TMNet Streamyx is really bad with the international speeds. So for the benefit of the viewers, I host them all myself in servers that are in Malaysia. You have to wait ages to stream Youtube videos, but not with the videos on this site.

Hosting currently costs over RM700 a month, which is more than what I am paying for my car loan, putting it into perspective. I hope you understand that keeping this site free and fast costs money. Even with all of that expenditure for hosting, the site still went down for a few hours during the day after the Perodua Viva launch. It is growing, and I need the revenue to scale up with the growth too.

• szw (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 3:08 am

mercedes are good in luxury cars , not sport cars.

the mclaren-mercedes SLR is not a nice supercar , its just look nice only .

• ragnahse (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 7:34 am

keep up the good work, paul…really love this blog site..got hooked on it since ,y first visit…btw, why dun u start selling souvenirs like t-shirt n car stickers ala a fan club..i wouldnt mind parting w my money for purposes like this…just my two cents..

• Irkeez (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 4:54 pm

Mr Paul Tan: I'm sorry to what I have said to you. From your explaination, then I realize… Actually I just shock with your ads in first page that disturb the arrangement of your blog. I never want to hurt you because I am your blog fan for the past 3 years. I love this blog so much… I have nominate your blog to the
    http://www.bloggerschoiceawards.com/.

• Irkeez (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 4:57 pm

Sorry. I not nominate but I vote for your blog. I,m the firt one who vote for your blog : )

• Irkeez (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 4:59 pm

Mr Paul Tan: Please claim your blog at http://www.bloggerschoiceawards.com/

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 7:45 pm

Sorry lah geng, this is still my fav Merc car of all time………and to see it flying across Le Mans is astonishing………..

1998 CLK-GTR……

http://www.rsportscars.com/eng/cars/mercedes_clk-…

• proton12vauto (Member) on Jun 12, 2007 at 11:29 pm

we can pull the ads out from this blog by putting some our money in.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 12:47 am

is it my eye or is it that the comment above has 2?

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 12:48 am

in other post that is……..

• weijun (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 1:30 am

Hey guys.. i wonder .. will one of this crash someday in Malaysian highway ?

cause .. the driver must be wanting to get to the limit.. and if it rains.. i wonder if this car will get out of control at a speed of 250kph+?

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 4:19 am

Wow..Good for Merc. But for this kind of car, hehe i will always go for the P.. The Porsche…yeah THERE IS NO SUBSTITUTE…Yeehaww !!!!

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 13, 2007 at 9:08 am

with so many hits a month i am pretty sure that 700rm is peanuts for you paul. you're the most ultra modest person ive come across. which is good.

that amg in kuching is a bit of a waste. but then again if he has one in kuching, he would have alot more elsewhere in the world.

• gangully on Apr 27, 2009 at 9:20 pm

hameed koyakuti, the CLK-GTR is not based on the SLR, it is based on the CLK. totally different car.

and that is not the HWA AMG supercar in the photo above…