Honda City Modulo Special Edition

Honda City Modulo

A new special edition Honda City VTEC is now available in Honda showrooms – the Honda City Modulo Special Edition. Only 120 units of this special edition will be made available. It’s basically a Honda City VTEC with Honda’s Modulo kit which consists of front, side and rear skirts, a ducktail rear spoiler, and an edgier, sportier front grille. The kit is more than just aesthetics though – the Modulo kit has been wind-tunnel developed and is proven to make the car more aerodynamic, though I am not sure by how much.

The Honda City Modulo Special Edition is available only with the VTEC engine option, and comes in either Alabaster Silver or Nighthawk Black. While the normal City VTEC is priced at RM84,800, the Honda City Modulo Special Edition comes with a higher price tag of RM88,800. That’s pretty value if you want to buy a City and slap on a Modulo kit anyway, as the Modulo kit costs RM7,000 on it’s own.

More shots of the car after the jump.

Honda City Modulo

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 9:07 am

Well the bodykits looks cool then normal honda city.. i think the aerodynamic are fully used when high cruising.. But i have a mindset that some bodykits are heavy and may cause FC even worst while driving in city… Maybe they are all light weight material in used? Anywayz i still like the old version city spoiler.. this 1 looks weired.. like "brothers, RABK" custom spoiler…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 9:36 am

not nice.looks like one of those cheap looking fiber bodykits available in sunway…or izzit the car itself have weird proportions? skip this one !

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 9:57 am

Getting better

• exodust (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 1:39 pm

I'm curious, what do manufacturers actually mean when they improve aerodynamics? Do they improve drag co-efficiency so the car moves faster in the straight line, or do they increase downforce at the front/rear to improve cornering speeds?

• mofo (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 4:25 pm

With 4k different, i think 4k i could get a Sport Rim + Bodykits (With Paint). Anyone agree ?

• msmar_453 (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 4:49 pm

Tak suka.. tak suka!!

Opinion : Honda better produce new model for City / Aria.

Toyota already have new Belta/Vios.

(have seen the actual one with Thailand registration at KUANTAN..

Peh! bigger (or Gemuk?) than current model, have new Camry DNA)

NICE (looks better than picture)

• izaman (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 6:31 pm

this for those who wants modulo bodykit for a cheap price. i'm expecting a facelift for city. any news regarding the new face lift?

4k for full spec modulo ok la. because modulo bodykit material is made from material the same thing from the bumper. so, suppose it would be stronger. that's what the honda sc technician said la. any other opinion?

• raverus (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 6:35 pm

good work but too expensive, waste my time honda!

• civ96110 (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 6:45 pm

ugh….still ugly. You can't slap on some bodykit and make an ugly car pretty.

• andre128 (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 6:53 pm

better called "limited edition" cos only 120

nothing "special" :p

• Xoomie (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 7:18 pm

Is this a sign that a new gen City coming…

• Montana (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 7:35 pm

this car totally looks so ugly…honda need to produce new city to compete with vios…lol…

• tiuniasing (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 10:49 pm

"the Modulo kit has been wind-tunnel developed and is proven to make the car more aerodynamic"

When you see Honda team performance in Formula One, you will know if their car aerodynamic works.

• albagmane (Member) on Jun 14, 2007 at 11:58 pm

its time to have new chasis of city le… better not in this kinda shape lor…

• proton GL (Member) on Jun 15, 2007 at 12:29 am

bentuk cantik, bau harum, skirtnya hebat, kerusinya empuk kain, dalam cerah, canggih, enjin lawa, lampu reverse pink

• szw (Member) on Jun 15, 2007 at 2:53 am

hmm…

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jun 15, 2007 at 4:22 am

Ummm Paul, shouldn't "Abalaster" be spelt Alabaster?

• nmh (Member) on Jun 15, 2007 at 4:32 am

ugly always

• transformer (Member) on Jun 15, 2007 at 5:04 am

i bet it would sells with the recent F.E.A.T challenge of FC savings and special edition kits

NO THANKS! ITS STILL AN UGLY DUCKLING !

especially from the 45deg rear view! yuks!

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 15, 2007 at 6:16 am

yeah me too….i serously dislike the short overhang…..not macho at all…but oh well….its a practical car though.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 15, 2007 at 5:26 pm

definitely looks like a sign that there is a new city coming soon….

• Jay (Member) on Jun 15, 2007 at 6:48 pm

Pls change the stupid name "Modulo" What a lousy name !

• transformer (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 3:30 am

100% agree with Jay

Modulo reminds me of a villain in He-man/She-ra many-many years ago…

Modulok, two head, two arm but one consist of hammer like hand which can rotate(whole arm) to hit enemy

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Masters_of_t…
    go 1985, under Evil Horde

Modulo, its time for a change?

• b4nd3r (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 4:08 am

izaman said -"This for those who wants modulo bodykit for a cheap price. i’m expecting a facelift for city. any news regarding the new face lift?"

• mmcwei (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 6:33 am

honestly, nothing special and it cost rm3000-4000 more the original spec…with that figure, i could find nicer bodykit than the modulo ones…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jun 16, 2007 at 5:54 pm

If this is Honda Access Japan developed, maybe they have a wind tunnel over there. But the bulky look makes the kit look more like it's from Honda Access Thailand. Maybe no wind tunnel there. Paul sure or not it's developed using wind tunnel? Is that what Honda Malaysia mentioned?

• Paul Tan on Jun 16, 2007 at 10:33 pm

maibatsu_thunder: yes, from honda msia press release

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 17, 2007 at 3:05 am

makes the car looks nicer good job.

• chrisbangle (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 3:00 pm

This will only entice those good folks at teamcity club.

Wind tunnel testing? Hahahahahahahhahahahahahahahah. Dream on. Only Mugen will wind tunnel test their products, and not all actually.

These are all cosmetics. Access Japan, or Thailand, are produced for looks rather than performance. Actually, they are produced to get money out from your wallet and into their bank account.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 7:57 pm

Mugen & HAC-J (Honda Access Japan) have access to wind tunnel, if they can book it. How far they can improve things is a good question. This bulky look kit is definitely HAC-T (Honda Access Thailand) and I do not believe they have access to wind tunnels over there. Unless of course, HAC-T went to Japan but I doubt it. What's more important is how the kit is mounted to the body, the quality of fitment, performance under normal driving conditions, noise, vibration, climate, cost & warranty/aftersales backup. That's what you normally pay for when buying GENUINE accessories as opposed to corner shop.

• hakuna on Oct 27, 2009 at 5:13 pm

i love it. i prefer city with modulo over tricycle