ChangAn CM8 spotted in Malaysia!

ChangAn CM8

UPDATE: The CM8 has been launched in Malaysia as the Chana Era CM8, the cheapest 7-seater in Malaysia with a price tag starting from under RM40k.

A long time ago back in December 2005, there was an agreement signed between a Malaysian company and ChangAn Auto Group, based in Chongqing, China to assemble the ChangAn CM8 in Malaysia. It’s been one and a half years since, and I bet that most of us have forgotten about this.

ChanganBut today, reader Edward sent in these shots of a ChangAn CM8 with a tradeplate spotted in Subang Jaya on Jalan Kewajipan turning out from the Kesas Highway, This could either be a CBU ChangAn CM8, or a locally assembled one. Whichever it is, we could see a competitor to the Toyota Avanza, Suzuki E-RV, and the upcoming Nissan Livina soon, as the ChangAn CM8 would likely fall into that segment and price range.

Just some backgrounder on ChangAn: ChangAn is an automotive group in China whose ventures include ChangAn Ford, ChangAn Ford Mazda Engine, ChangAn Suzuki, and even Jiangling, which most of you would have known by now because of the controversial Jiangling Landwind crash test results.

Two more photos after the jump, and check out the related posts for clearer product shots of the ChangAn CM8.

ChangAn CM8 to be assembled in Malaysia

ChangAn CM8

ChangAn CM8

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• indigo (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 2:50 am

I believe this is the same car I saw a Gurun highway. But it was duck taped.

• szw (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 3:14 am

eww… so ugly .

• Charger (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 3:26 am

Let's keep a count on how many get sold and how many of those on the road that turned turtle.

It looks like it's gonna topple at 20km/h 90deg turn.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 4:25 am

make it below 30k then people will buy

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 4:25 am

nice for imported family cars … but this one …. yuks … what price is it ?? i think only avanza & citra …r family choose …

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 4:48 am

No comment about the design and the look of the car. What I worry about is the safety. Just like the Jiangling Landwind, look quite ok but fail in the crash test. The A-Pillar of the car totally bend till B-Pillar section.It was so bad that even airbags were deemed useless. The passenger cabin completely collapsed on collision.

The ChangAn CM8…. the A-Pillar just located few inches from the bumper (so near to the front)…. if the car doesn't built strong enough, I guess once it crash via EuroNCAP, it might completely collapse to the center / middle part of the car…. Anyway, would like to see the real test and real world when it is on the road.

If some of you guys still say Proton cars (Waja, Gen.2, Savvy, and Satria Neo) are built just like Milo Tin, no safety bla bla bla. Think about it again. The Proton Waja launched in year 2000 and received 3-Star by EuroNCAP. The Chevy Aveo (2006 model) received only 1-Star. Look at the Chevy Aveo's A-Pillar…. bend! – dangerous so you can imagine the inside cabin caused by that impact and the door seems very difficult to open etc. For Proton Waja at least the A-Pillar still good with some interior collapsed in to the cabin especially near brake padel which is dangerous plus front door a bit difficult to open etc.

Cheers everyone.

• drM (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 4:48 am

it cannot sell well for a few reasons:

1) its hideous. ugly.

2) whats the point of making a tiny car that lack of width and very tall? more head room but only for 2 people?

these chinese aren't that concern about curves and good looking is it? no imagination at all.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 4:59 am

Not Toyota Avanza competitor. People still will choose Toyota Avanza than this ChangAn CM8. Well, if the price almost the same as Perodua ViVa – Perodua Myvi (or same class with it)…. I don't think people will buy this ChangAn CM8.

I always drive and pass by the showroom which sell the China's Chery QQ. Nobody want to see that car. Still remember Chery QQ launched about two weeks before the launched of the Perodua Viva here at my place. People choose to see Perodua Viva than the Chery QQ. Look at the crash test result…. terrible! Please read my post above. Additional of the crash results…. TQ.

• kevyeoh (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 5:13 am

i don't think can be competitor for avanza or any other brand la…

the only car i think worst than this car is the Proton Juara….

RM50k? RM30k? if you ask me…i'd rather buy a proton wira or waja rather than get this ChangAn mPV…

• japankiller (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 5:36 am

this is unwise to compare the car base on their price,in fact you should compare it on the same catogory.

If to say 30 or 50k you rather buy wira or waja, then i would say with this price i could better get a Myvi, sound silly?

This car is not bad though,atleast they are progressing faster than our proton,how long proton has been release to Malaysia?how long it takes for Proton going offshore market?And until today established more than 20 years Proton are still consider an infant industry in Malaysia,for a man, 20 years old you already learned how to Fxxk,but Proton still Fxxk up on his own.

Then look at those Chinese make car, although they are crap,i dont know,cos most of the people say that,but one day i am sure they will be getting ahead of Malaysian own Proton. Never look down on other,when you will never know what is going to happen next.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 5:57 am

so, dont be sure that they are going to have losses…….

• transformer (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 6:20 am

really affraid CM8 would topple!

Livina would be the shortest within the same range, next Avanza and Suzuki APV would be the tallest…. Guess how tall are this CM8 be ? :)

IMHO, APV are the better one in that category, all round performer, space, suspension, comfort, handling! (exclude Livina & CM8, never driven one yet)

If i had the $, i simply take APV over the best seller!

• eezarm (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 6:29 am

what a crap…ugly design…

what about quality?

i wont drive it with my family in it..

• mmcwei (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 7:12 am

china brand! dun buy better…rather buy proton or perodua…as you can landwind get ZERO for the crash test result…ZERO!!! no mercy man….

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 7:24 am

plz go back to china..thnk u very much….we hav enought of crap rubbish and garbage china quality from electronics to clothes,to shoes and many many more……thy r cheap yes,bt for a obvious reason….lets all sign a petition ! for godness sake dont even be tempted….!

• w_lighter (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 7:51 am

ChangAn beli lain… ChangAn saya kasi tau u. ChangAn main2. Ini ChangAn manyak ChangGih. Lu beli eni ChangAn wa kasi satu LongAnn~~ Nanti olang tengok lu pun manyak ChengLess….

Ahahahaha… funny name… cant stop laughing

• armandd (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 7:54 am

a 35km/h crosswind would topple this poor thing..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 9:12 am

"Freak twin" of P1's Juara!

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 11:25 am

dang, i wont feel safe crashing in that one….

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 5:51 pm

As you said Japankiller. Never look down on other, when you will never know what is going to happen next. So, you don't know what happen next to Proton. They might return as one of the best.

By the way, China's products almost a copycat. They willing to spend money to buy electronics appliances, or even cars, dismantle it for study. Later, do some minor R&D, create prototype, testing then wah lah…. come out with there own names. Some of their car manufacturer come out car which totally look alike Mercedes Benz C-Class, Honda CR-V etc. Still remember? If Proton does the same way for sure already bashing by many people.

Please use polite way to write your comment here, japankiller. DO NOT use bad word, please. TQ.

• familyman (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 6:20 pm

yup.. butt ugly….

overtake one this morning on way to work at the putrajaya highway..

some duct tape on the rear and front

its quite tall for a small vehicle… reminds me of that awd suzuki van…

• ynnad (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 6:21 pm

ah… i actually trailed this vehicle in early may on my way back from KLIA

handling wise, i was quite surprised for a mini-van that tall on the highway. An overhead bridge just after Makro Shah Alam to join the NKVE which is sweeping right followed by a left to join the NKVE. That minvan took it at speeds around 80km… the driver really got balls foing that on such a tall car

• layman (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 6:41 pm

Better looking than Avanza.

• arcana (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 8:04 pm

well if it cant even handle 80km/h speeds of mild bends, then its a complete failure. looks already gave bad perception of handling since its high and skinny…..plus the brand from china makes it even worse…..we know how bad it is anyway and our own cinapek also bash it ahah….no point commenting it.

at first i thought the new toyota hiace was bad enuf since its freaking tall……looks like we got another winner.

• HenryChang (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 10:37 pm

haha this car is kindda weird look!!!

But i think that it's more suitable for hawker used and those pasar malam dealer!!!

I totally agree with what The Unicons said……

Safety Fixture is the most important for car like this one.

Im more curious bout this car's handling , it's too tall i presume…

Don't know will be a "rolling stone" a not if drifting?!

Haha^^

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 11:06 pm

who would go to 100kmh in this? none!

• proton GL (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 4:15 am

terbaru, kemas, lampunya anggun, hampir bulih berdiri dalam, enjin kemas, warna pilihan menarik, pasti meluncur laju

• BW (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 6:15 am

Erm…. Kinda ugly le…

• tamannegara (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 6:20 am

Orientation of MPW

New Concept of MPW — ChangAn CM8 MPW

Combining Life with Work. Tasting Mood and Fun.

The strenuous demands of city life require constant versatility from you. You need a ChangAn CM8, a partner around these demands in your life and work. Allow an MPW to help alleviate the pressures of your lifestyle.

Concept of MPW

An MPW is a new concept on changes and combinations in cities. "MP" stands for multipurpose while "W" represents agility and space. It lends itself to city life perfectly, breaking any traditional decorations and redundancy, and also distinguishes itself from traditional multi-purpose vehicles (MPV's). The all-new ChangAn CM8 represents a revolutionary approach in the auto market, and is destined to become a new choice for customers.

Theory of CELF

The design theory of the ChangAn CM8 is CELF, which stands for City, Eco, Life and Fashion. It is fashionable, convenient, agile and functional, meeting all customers' demands for city MPW's. The ChangAn CM8 wants your wants and dreams your dreams. For urban families, it truly is the dream car.

The 1.3 or 1.6-liter engine is ideal for quick starts and rapid acceleration. Its 3.8 meter middle-class size makes it suitable for a wide variety of terrains and driving conditions. Its car-suitable wheelbase plus flexible space configurations can meet any requirement in life and work. It simply represents what we've been dreaming of!

The ChangAn CM8 is endowed with wonderful engine performance and fuel economy. Its emission level is up to Euro III standards. Its exclusive engine and low level of fuel consumption are much better than models in the same class.

The ChangAn CM8 embodies a user-centric design in every aspect and in every possible way. A variable interior space, comfortable seats and great safety performance make you free of worry and anxiety.

One of the best designers Italy has to offer designed The ChangAn CM8. Its fashionable and stylish appearance will surely initiate a new auto trend!

http://www.worldstyling.com/web/product_detail.ph…

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 6:23 am

italian design it? dont really know………but ughlee!

• proton GL (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 7:38 am

personally i will never, ever, or what so ever,

….waste my money on this, rather spend a bit more for batter looking and handle with confident,

imagine how tippy u are when driving this,

-enter the corner, eeee eek wooo wo woo, wo (brake release brake release, then start to turn wide), …no way.

• armandd (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:28 am

there's no way it's an italian design!

• proton GL (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 1:15 am

italian desiger, pininfarina ,ital design , marcello gandini, …..whoever ever

if given a tall propotion, up right position of the match box shape,

certainly giving them a hard time to produce nice thing,

i think

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 6:46 am

bertone? the great designer? not !

• Xylan (Member) on Dec 17, 2007 at 10:43 am

is this juara’s twin?

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 03, 2008 at 5:59 pm

Pls dun disgrace the Juara by saying things like “twin”. At least the Juara is CBU unit from Japan with a solid reputation of being the top selling MPV there.

• christina tan (Member) on Jun 27, 2008 at 11:48 am

Never give comments to anything that you don’t have or own it, becuase you doesn’t know how is the interior & only give value less of outlook comments…
    just wondering have your ever thinks Malaysia BOLEH in what way?????

• thank god, finally there are mpv sold with the good price suitable for those midle class working people. Even malaysia product cannot compare this price. Now days, only the upper class peolpe can afford the mpv. You all people only know how to complain but never think that there are people that can have benifit from this new mpv espicially those who have many childreen. The proton and produa should think twice or more for their new mpv price. Since the efection of the "safe-belt" thing the midle class people with more than 3 childreen are facing this problem to go together on a family trip. I think this is one of the sulution for them. Most of the Malaysian are working people whore earn around 1000 to 1800. If he/she have kids and the spouse are not working ( housewife) i'm sure they cannot afford to pay mpv that worth Rm 800 up-ward. If trere are mpv low than rm 800 it must be second hand. then when will tese people can use the new one…….

• mahby on Jul 09, 2009 at 3:46 am

changan beli