Nissan Latio Sedan and Latio Sport Prices

Nissan_Latio_Sedan_Sport.jpg

Just as previously promised, the Nissan Latio is now in Edaran Tan Chong Motor showrooms nationwide. The following are the prices for the Nissan Latio sedan and the Nissan Latio Sport hatchback, non-inclusive of insurance.

Nissan Latio 1.6 ST (M) – RM79,900.00
Nissan Latio 1.6 ST (A) – RM85,300.00
Nissan Latio 1.6 ST-L (A) – RM90,300.00
Nissan Latio 1.8 Ti (A) – RM97,100.00
Nissan Latio Sport 1.6 ST-L (A) – RM92,900.00

Too bad the sporty hatchback only comes with the HR16DE 1.6 litre engine, as the 1.8 litre would have been more excited and suited to the car’s sporty appearance. The manual model comes equipped with a 5-speed manual, while the automatic models have 4-speed auto gearboxes. Anyway, only the 1.8 Ti sedan and 1.6 ST-L hatchback model has Nissan’s intelligent key system for keyless entry and start. The 1.8 Ti also has bi-xenon headlamps, with an auto headlights system which turns the headlamps on automatically when it is required.

All variants come with a predominantly beige interior, however the lower end models use tricot seat and door trim, as well as silver trim for the instrument panel and shift knob, while the higher ened ST-L and Ti models use wood trim.

As a quick recap – some performance stats. The 1.6 litre HR16DE-equipped cars make 109PS at 6,000rpm and 153Nm of torque at 4,400rpm. The 1.8 litre MR18DE-equipped cars put out 126 horsepower at 5,200rpm, and 174Nm of torque at 4,800rpm. Both engines have 16 valves, twin cams, and continuously variable valve timing.

Supercharger kit for Nissan Latio Sport

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 6:57 pm

Very competitive pricing schemes.. big trouble for Vios & City.

• longjaafar (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 7:11 pm

As a package, the 1.8 is better than the Honda Civic. However, the Malaysian public has this perception that the Honda carries with it more 'prestige'. That's why the CRV gets away with only a 2 litre engine, pricing it the same as the Xtrail's 2.5 litre.

In a sense, our market is till not matured, and manufacturers and dealers can get away with selling lemons to a gullible section of the market.

• mmcwei (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 7:12 pm

kinda love with the hatch back model..not too pricey compare between vios and city…what i like about nissan latio is that it has newer and better technology than vios and city and even toyota altis….like the intelligent key systems…and the 1.8 model comes with Bi-xenon headlamp with adaptive control…not bad! i think this model will beat most types sedan or hatch back…can't wait to see and have a test drive of this new nissan latio! i have to say that nissan did a very good job!

• khimfoh (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 7:42 pm

Judging from the pricing of the Latio, it is definitely within the Vios/City price range.

Can't wait for PT's test drive review of the Latio. :-)

• arcana (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 7:55 pm

you cant blame the public for poor perception, look at how well toyota and honda are doing…..new models everytime and a wide variety. nissan on the other hand is suffering….lack of new models and also they only rely on pricing to sell for sentra and xtrail….the rest are just as good as dead.

brand carries a huge price and people are willing to pay for it….at the end of the day when u sell the car….resale value favors good brands and thats where u stand to gain from others.

latio sedan looks like a honda city to me in terms of shape. the size looks small from photos compared to the sentra….maybe real thing looks better.

pricing has been the same since sentra days…should be competitive for 1.6 category….surprisingly 1.8 sentras were cheap but not many on the road.

package wise….for 1.8 vehicles i dont think anyone will lose out compared to the latio. besides the xenon lights and keyless go, other competitors offer traction control, vehicle stability assist/control, 5 speed auto, illuminated display, auto climate control, LED lamps, better powered engine….probably the list goes on….

• mmcwei (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 8:07 pm

Paul,

nissan latio using renault or nissan engine?

• intermilan (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 8:53 pm

finally… noe lets see how the reception from the market..

• ilmondo (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 9:01 pm

TI sounds so ambitious.. remember those glorious alfa romeo TI range?

unique design indeed..

• drebar (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 9:06 pm

very competitive pricing!! vios and city watch out!!

unfortunately, all models interior is beige… i prefer black…

and the intelligent key is only availble for the 1.8L….

overall, i think the sales for latio gonna be good… saw an ad in nissan website on latios bodykit… it's gorgeous! especially in white…

good price and good model from nissan, shift_the future…

• arcana (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 9:22 pm

with vios comin soon….time will tell who wins the battle…..price & spec (latio) vs brand (vios)

• transformer (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 9:27 pm

Finally another new to compete in small sedan range!!!

Great to see competition! Better for consumer….

but more car sold, more tax being sucked!!!

• transformer (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 9:29 pm

Exterior wise, new Vios(Belta) looks larger than Latio!

Vios has more rounded exterior

IMHO, new Vios are larger(exterior wise)

• winson123 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 9:51 pm

i am having a test drive on the sedan version yesterday night (stability, cornering and sound proof all the best in its class)…the baby looks gorgeous with the bodykit ( extra RM1250) …we cant really compare it to vios and city ( city and vios are both special build for Asean country) ..but for this latio… it is selling world wide according to the sale agent . With it latest technology and build quality, i think we can compare it again altis and civic. One more thing he told me, the car is equipped with some thing that can absorb your car vibration..which make your more stable…

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 10:33 pm

the vios is too bubbly lar…………

• bobdbilder (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 10:36 pm

Lets hope it Nissan build quality and not Renault's or Dacia's. So why is the more material/cost-efficient hatch is the most expensive? My guess is Logan=Sedan, Clio=Hatch.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 10:51 pm

I could fall in love with a Latio 3-door ~

• kennhyn (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 10:54 pm

I just came back from the showroom….the car really look good. Very impressive, the hatch and the sedan look better in real thing then in picture, too bad my lunch break not that long, if no I would have waited 45 minute for the test drive….haha

• oec88 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 10:59 pm

i believe more and more topic will come out soon

latio VS vios VS city

lol? comparing again, that's boring.

then ppl will ask, which car got better fuel consumption?

the hatchback version will fight with yaris and jazz…let's see ppl will cr8 a topic and ask again latio hatchback VS yaris VS jazz = =

anyway, nice car and looking for latio hatchback, i like it.

• dzat46 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 11:16 pm

This will be good, more competition fr vios & city. Based from what i've seen of the spore registered latio, the car should be gud.

But spore version mostly 1.5 liter wt CVT gearbox….built quality look good too.

• spianz (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:05 am

Went for a test drive just now. Tested the Latio sport 1.6, engine very responsive while the cabin and boot is very spacious!! Vios and City no fight at all, can sit 5 person very comfortably ! Impressive !! Only downside is 4 speed gear and no steering's audio control. Center console is just moderate, nothing special.

• bs (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:18 am

Just been to the showroom today, to have a closer look at the Latio.

Overview, the hatchback design is much better than the sedan. From the rear the hatch has some renault dna styling. One interesting feature in the hatch is the back seat being able to recline for more comfortable…will surely work for long journey.

Interior quality is good/OK, soft plastic-rubber type dashboard. Nice layout of intruments. But the meters are std, NO optitron, NO mirror signal, NO led lights…

Looking at the price, i don't think it will out sell the City or Vios, since Nissan has always been 3rd choice for many people interms of Japanese make.

And if Toyota launch the new Vios, Latio will face an even tougher road ahead.

In my opinion, the Latio launch did not have the WOW factor like other launches, example the Civic, with its new styling and concept. Latio seems a bit too late to appear in Malaysia… and i am not surprise, since this model exists quite some time already in other countries. Hence, it is like launching an old car to be sold in Malaysia, nothing new, rather that we can just buy it now… that's all.

I hope Nissan can launch something that is REALLY new.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:59 am

agreed with bs.. this car has been selling in the market since 2005 if i not mistaken. I think this car will sell good if TCM bring it in as soon as it being lauched worldwide.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 1:16 am

I just test drive the new Latio 1.8 Ti model… what i found out is the engine is responsive thx to its massive torque, but the rear of the car is bumby like honda city.. Same suspension system? I like the space in the car and boot, is more spacious compare to City and Vois!

The engine is responsive for what i know the CVTC is both the intake and output cam have VVT on it, so the technology is almost the same with the Toyota Dual VVT-i system.. The torque is high compare to altis, old sentra even honda at same category, but they have to sacrifice the Hp.. It a ULEV engine.. the draw back is no CVT tranmission.. The same old excuse, the CVT technology is expensive..

The smart key is good, bi-xenon light also nice can adjust the brightness and the height inside the car.. the back seat can fold down.. But i saw 1 weakness on the boot, just push a button the boot will come up, it is easy but if ppl want to curi ur things behind ur car just push and steal it.. Louzy button Boot!

The safety of Latio is 6 star in Japan which is the highest in their category.. Test the front bumper Steel bar, u will be shock how big and strong the steel!

All ABS and air bag are standart! Just the interior and sport rim not same between the h-line and base models… 1.8 Ti model have full spec. The price they offer now is promotion price, i heard after next month the price will rise 3-4k for each model… Louzy NTCM! Ur market already so lump and still want rise the car price?!?

• jehutyz (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 2:14 am

Finally Latio is here.

The price is slightly higher as it is 1.6 compare with Vios and City that is 1.5. Is it spacious than City or Vios this really need to check it out.

For the upcoming Vios, from Toyota salesman it will be release somewhere Oct. The price will be 8%-10% higher than current. Some able to check it out at JPN and their comment is …. is not as nice as in picture.

• szw (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 2:28 am

good pricing

• nmh (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 2:38 am

Vios shud not worry…bcoz they are ugly. And City has new cousin

• ys (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 3:27 am

Em..i feel the price is much higher then it surpose to be. i think it only cost around RM40k exclude the G tax…

RM70k+ should be a good start.

anyway, like most of u, i have also been to TCM to view this babe.

but surpricingly no discount for the car… but the sales person offer 4K discount for sentra….

just that my old sentra (97 Manual) only valued for RM14k..

what a joke..

i think i still rather stick to my old babe…

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 4:25 am

this is the exact car that hiro nakamura (masi oka) drove in the american popular series HEROES. i would defintely get the blue one, so chicks would admire my cuteness, lol

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 4:36 am

I agree with arcana, Brand plays a lot in the car

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 5:01 am

dis car is really nice…now nissan gt a lot of interesting cars like murani,qashqai,rogue,quest,presage n cefiro…tan chong shud bring all of them…

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:32 am

KeV….UR SO DETAILED ABOUT THE HEROES SERIES…….a fan? SAME WITH ME..HEHEHE. SUKAII – DES!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:39 am

jus saw one in ampang point.hatchback….i mus say it looks very impressive.theres so much space inside specially the rear seats…althought the bought is not great….n everyting looks of good quality…and also its good news that the 1.6 is offered in manual..usually nissans only sell in auto box….one of the very few nissans that looks good n worth considering..although the engine still unknown despite the spec sheet numbers

• nmh (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 7:14 am

i really dissappointed with the production unit compare to the prototype. hopeless

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 7:30 am

Prototype always make it big 1 laa.. Put 20 inch rims, whole bodykit but in reality ur car will be sluggish thx to the massive rims which is heavy!

I ask about the latio bodykit, is not from nismo.. Cost RM1250 to add on.. Anyway YS, If u tell him u dont want the nismo kit on the sentra u still can get RM5k of discount.. Anywayz i got a free latio cap, i heard only cost RM6 if bought by salesman themself… New car NTCM wont discount 1, like new Toyota camry also no have discount.. Anywayz i just saw the new vois just beside my neighbour, his relative just came back from singapore.. I ask him he say only the rear is longer and spacious compare to the old vios, Engine and tranmission is still the same!

• chanlman (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 8:06 am

Check out the Aerokit Nissan is offering. 50% off from RM2500. Worth it?

http://chanlman.multiply.com/journal/item/57

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 8:32 am

I think better keep the RM1250 on bodykit, change the sport rim or tune the engine with high flow filter or iridium plugs.. I think even chun then the bodykit latio if with 17 inch rims.. i dont like the bodykit.. look weired.. the impul bodykit more better, go to their website on Japs and see it. COOL! especially Tiida Latio sport!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:15 pm

so now buying the car depends on the bodykit?? godness me !

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 4:15 pm

Nissan Latio 1.6 ST-L (A) – RM90,300.00

Nissan Latio 1.8 Ti (A) – RM97,100.00

Nissan Latio Sport 1.6 ST-L (A) – RM92,900.00

Paul which one is sedan price & which one is hatch back ?? ST for sedan & Ti for hatch back ??

• avanza (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 4:40 pm

1.6 only 109HP. Vios and City's 1.5 already 109HP. Come on lah Nissan. Even Gen2's non-CPS 1.6 can muster out 110HP.

The 1.8 is also disappointing. Only 126HP. The Altis1.8 can muster out 136HP and the Civic 1.8 does140HP.

• drebar (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 5:07 pm

Nissan Latio = sedan

Nissan Latio Sports = hatchback

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 5:42 pm

Hello Avanza… This is a city car, compare the torque with others car see.. Hp is not a true issue nowadays.. What matter the FC is the torque, u can check the new engine in Toyota Japan, their new Dual VVT-i engine almost the same with Nissan CVTC. Also Hp less but torque high.. This engine is green engine so normally green engine dont act like high performance angine.. Honda are famous for performance and their i-vtec is sure more better in HP. Anywayz from nissan old sunny 130y until now, have u heard nissan cars are worst in FC?!? Even my friend old 130y sunny can beat my wira 1.6L in FC!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 5:47 pm

And 1 things others like Vios & City & even Civic, do not have. The engine is made of All Aluminum Alloy! So is more quiet, cooler and lighter. If the weight is lighter so does the pickup will be good.. Anywayz the trye n rims they use is 15' wif 185/65 R15. This trye size is expensive n only bridgestone have it…

• mofo (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 5:59 pm

Not really convinced by the price tag on the Hatchback. Indeed the car quality better than Vios + City. However i'm concern about on FC and maintenance fee.

With these price kinda i would have quite wide range of car to select, Mazda 3 CBU model at 99.5k that's look more sporty. I spotted that all models come with drum brakes at rear even 1.8, does it have ABS ?(please clarify i'm doubt on this)

For those interested, Nissan offer 2.3% interest rate.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:09 pm

Yes, Drum also have ABS. The AE111 of Toyota Corolla 1.6L also use drum ABS. All ABS are on 4 wheels, not like old times only 2 wheels.. Drum is cheaper, and since this is a city car and the hp is not high, rear disk is not so necessary. The rear disk is better of coz for better breaking but expensive..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:17 pm

Anywayz i must adware that the safety of Nissan is the best in their category. U can check that Toyota and Honda safety are worst then Nissan in same category in Japan.. Buying a car is buying ur life a more security on road, dont u want to drive a milo tin car on the road? or a 6 star-rated Latio safety in japan? All safety issue are implemented on this car, the only thing they are different from japan is the air-bags are only 2 while their cousin is 6 air-bags..

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 7:57 pm

LittleFire85 said,

June 23, 2007 @ 9:42 am

Hello Avanza… This is a city car, compare the torque with others car see.. Hp is not a true issue nowadays.. What matter the FC is the torque, u can check the new engine in Toyota Japan, their new Dual VVT-i engine almost the same with Nissan CVTC. Also Hp less but torque high.. This engine is green engine so normally green engine dont act like high performance angine.. Honda are famous for performance and their i-vtec is sure more better in HP. Anywayz from nissan old sunny 130y until now, have u heard nissan cars are worst in FC?!? Even my friend old 130y sunny can beat my wira 1.6L in FC!

Agree with u little fire ~ 130y really save fuel & the P1 1.3 iswara also save ….coz my fren using for work i know that … my last time iswara also save fuel … after change wira 3speed at …. really regreat …. now look for used vios ….

• jehutyz (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 8:18 pm

Just back from test drive.

Tested 1.6 Sedan

Good car. Powerful also.

Based on them, this engine save petrol also. So is goot in term of FC.

Price for hatchback is good as compare with Sedan just 2K+ different and the different is the keyless.

Suprise with the spacios. I myself is a tall guy, 180+cm. very comfortable on driver and even passenger seat.

• LCH (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 1:09 am

I actually like latio sedan 1.6, but i dun like latio sedan 1.8. Is because the 1.8 pricing was not good enough. It sult be pricing at the level of Toyota Altis & Honda Civic. Then it will have a better comparison. Latio actually is compar with these two cars in other countiries & Latio sould have leather seat in 1.8 model because normally those 1.8 cars will have leather seat on it. Tan Chong Motor actually hav well done and also hav take a little bit mistake. Hope it get full well done at the next car , Grand Livina.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 1:58 am

sxe10r, used Sentra XE 1.6 (A) from 2001 also cheap just between RM50k, the FC is also good and used VTC engine. The space is more better then Vois.. Just considered it. My friend bought it a few months ago and no complain about it.

• kevyeoh (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 5:09 pm

paul,

are you going to test drive latio ar?

• LCH (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 12:36 am

just came back from the showroom . HAHAHAHAHHA. It fun !!! Althought i said the price of Latio 1.8 is not good enough … BUt hehehe!! My mum has order one Latio 1.8 white colour with body kit , price, RM99999 n body kit RM1250. Very happy

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:20 am

Congrats.. but the real price is 99,900+1250 is about = RM101150.. Are u sure they sell u 99,999? I think the sales man already earn more RM100 in his pocket… Anywayz i ask the commision only RM500 percar for salesman.. So sad for them..

• LCH (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 8:51 am

ops!!! i make a mistake !! sorry !!! but i still hav to thanks your congrats!!!!