Proton BLM Artist’s Impression by Maru

Maru_Proton_BLM_Small

These renderings of what Proton’s upcoming base line Saga Replacement Model, or “Proton BLM” could look like were done by reader maru/chaku, who based it on a Proton Savvy modified to be a three box sedan instead of a hatchback. You can click the image to view a larger version.

Previously, regular photoshopped image contributor Theophilus Chin had also whipped up a sedanized Proton Savvy, viewable in the related posts below.

Proton Savvy Sedan Photoshop

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 7:09 pm

bro chaku, u did a good job, i reckon the tail lamps resemble a bit like altezza rear lights, maybe u could fix that

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 7:12 pm

No rear door window step … good!

• superman (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 7:17 pm

lil sedan. would be fun car.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 7:18 pm

it is slightly longer than theo's rendition, this size is much better, can compete with vios and city

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 7:59 pm

Good job maru/chaku. Simple but clear for us to see the design. Design basically good, hopefully the quality, fit and finish, stronger platform / chasis then Gen.2, Savvy and Satria Neo, basic safety features plus materials and colour used in the cabin good. Only that, the car can compete with cars like Vios and City.

All the best…. Cheers.

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 8:17 pm

Nice! Especially the butt, which looks like it came from a BMW.

• joe203 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 8:21 pm

Nice. Nobody dare to speculate on how the front looks like yet?

• ilmondo (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 9:24 pm

rm30+-k would b fine.. wit savvy's character!!

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 10:11 pm

nice but liked the lights to be bu=igger and without those ugly yellow lenses…..ugh!

• chaku/maru (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 11:40 pm

#

joe203 said,

June 22, 2007 @ 12:21 pm

no clear pic of the front .Actually the front view already been rendered,but i need more clearer spyshot to complete it.I can't figure out the shape of the headlight.

• chaku/maru (Member) on Jun 22, 2007 at 11:46 pm

joe203 said,

Jun 22, 2007 @ 12:21 pm

i already rendered 90% of the front view..need clearer spyshot on the headlight and bumper.Then we will have the front impression of the BLM.

• chaku/maru (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:11 am

joe203 said,

June 22, 2007 @ 12:21 pm

90% done already,but im waiting for clearer headlight pic to refer

• chaku/maru (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:13 am

sorry for flooding. my internet line sux.so i dont really sure if my cmment posted or not..Paul can u delete un-necessary repeated comments

• armandd (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:15 am

no more funny rear windows, good job!

• armandd (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:23 am

u could email this to proton

• BW (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:36 am

Aduh… Savvy with a butt? Blueks!! Should have put Satria Neo with a butt…

• BW (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:39 am

But at least it looks better than the ordinary Savvy… Rear headroom so low…

• BW (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:40 am

And no rear window step also hehe

• hypermount (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:42 am

Here's the front portion..can uploaed these…credit to chaku's work

http://img223.imageshack.us/img223/6315/savvyseda…

http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/4338/savvyseda…

• chaku/maru (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:46 am

hypermount.those pic merely a savvy sedan.im preparing the alteration of those pic to fit the spyshot pic…

• lowprofile (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 1:23 am

great stuff. but with the standard renault engine? hmmm, what do you guys think?

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 1:25 am

hypermount said,

June 22, 2007 @ 4:42 pm

++

Dear hypermount, kudos to you.

The links provided do help a lot. Then, i could see the design from different perspectives. Leastwise it helps to subdue a bit my harsh curiosity and anxious on how the car might looks like. Frankly speaking, the design touched by Maru/Chaku is not that bad. Bravo !! Now who said Malaysians aren't competent enough in car's designation spectrum.

The only does matter is whether the real car designed by Proton's authorized "expert" is on par, better or…. worse than Maru/Chaku's design.

Hehe..looking forward.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 1:32 am

Uhh.. Savvy sedan.. I think wont be Renault engine, might be using the old 1.3 campro engine with 5-speed manual to save cost…

• nizam80 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 2:01 am

Simple yet nice to look at. Those Savvy doors matches the car. Ample headroom for tall people like me. Hope Proton will retain the "SAGA" name. Haha… after 20 years, we finally get a 2nd generation SAGA. But, i don't mind at all. :) Good job.

• chaku/maru (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 2:29 am

pls retain the SAGA name.just SAGA is enough,no need other additional name.

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 2:34 am

hopefully my manager from overseas will stop bashing our P1 cars,don't like what the comment that came out from his mouth that always admire the Audi car..hopefully he will change from Audi to P1 as his future car some day:)

and to u all for those who posted a pic of how the car will look alike..Well done and good job,hopefully u all will be a supporter for our local automotive industries..

Now, i'm really proud to be Malaysia..50yrs ma:)

• myv6 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 2:52 am

bro chaku, could u do me a favor? can u make a picture of a waja coupe? I think waja is also intended to be a coupe, i guess.. can u?

• 1NZFE (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 3:15 am

There is too much compact car already in P1. waja, gen 2, sastria neo n now proton blm n gen 2 sedan…

Other car manufacturers doesn't have like that…

Where is mpv,suv n large family car?????

• chaku/maru (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 4:11 am

myv6 said,

June 22, 2007 @ 6:52 pm

bro chaku, could u do me a favor? can u make a picture of a waja coupe? I think waja is also intended to be a coupe, i guess.. can u?

i've already did that long time ago…

check this link

http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/6830/wajacoupe…

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 4:22 am

there were pictures of waja coupe being circulated out before, i think there was one that can be found in satrianeoclub.com , just a hint

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 4:34 am

Hopefully they change the taillights to something as aggressive as the front lights. Use that Lotus APX if you have to P1

• chaku/maru (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 5:02 am

i doubt they will change the rear light.but if the will…that means back to drawing board…n these step will cause BLM launch date will postponed maybe a year

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:04 am

To 1NZFE. If everything is going well with Proton, the MPV / SUV will be out sometime in 2009.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:12 am

so many proton models in a short period…fantastic!

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:25 am

cant wait 2 c the neo gti

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:34 am

err…raybrig85, y dont you post ur comment at the GTI post? so woerd lar…or u afraid no one see ur comments? hehehe……..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:58 am

haiya….when u said so many proton models in short period…so i cont to say dat i cant wait to c the neo gti…haiya…dun b blur ma…n dun b serious ma…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 9:16 am

Dj_VaniLLa said,

June 22, 2007 @ 6:34 pm

hopefully my manager from overseas will stop bashing our P1 cars,don’t like what the comment that came out from his mouth that always admire the Audi car..hopefully he will change from Audi to P1 as his future car some day:)

and to u all for those who posted a pic of how the car will look alike..Well done and good job,hopefully u all will be a supporter for our local automotive industries..

Now, i’m really proud to be Malaysia..50yrs ma:)

——————————————–

I think ur boss will only change his audi to P1 is after VW take over P1.. LOL! But i think not also.. Audi usually is 4 wheel drive.. i think ur boss wont be suit to FF engine cars… I think most is BMW or Merc.. Audi is cheaper coz of VW.. They are like middle class, while high class is bentley cars…

• payjoel (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 12:19 pm

uih..banyak cantekk…saya mau order 2..kasi loan maximum..9 tahun boleh ka?

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 4:12 pm

The body of savvy original one is small like k cars … but if become sedan … the body size will increse ?? coz looks nice at here .. what engine they will use ?? the 1.3 Dohc with CVT gear box .. hope so .. pls stop the saga now really malu still selling the 20 year old product …

hypermount said,

June 22, 2007 @ 4:42 pm

Here’s the front portion..can uploaed these…credit to chaku’s work

http://img223.imageshack.us/img223/6315/savvyseda…

http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/4338/savvyseda…

• myv6 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 6:45 pm

cool!! but i was thinking alfa brera-like coupe, where the rear windshield is elongated till the end of the trunk lid, but your work (the waja coupe) is still impressive!! if we were in america, surely a waja coupe will come out!! Xp

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 9:53 pm

so many know about the waja coupe…where did yall get those info's huh?

raybrig85 said,

June 22, 2007 @ 10:58 pm

haiya….when u said so many proton models in short period…so i cont to say dat i cant wait to c the neo gti…haiya…dun b blur ma…n dun b serious ma…

—————————————————————-

hahaha…..im really bad at jokes..hahaha..u dun get it….haih..oh well lets get some milo in tins!!

• chaku/maru (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 10:31 pm

o..but i think brera is more to hatchback rather than coupe.

• nizam80 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 4:13 am

chaku/maru,

Those rims are from the Savvy, rite? Looks nice with the lowered ride height.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 6:14 am

the rims i think have a little modifications right? spokes looks wider……

• chaku/maru (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 10:25 am

nizam80: yes the rims are straight copy n paste from savvy..but i enlarged it..in real life.it should be around 15"..or [erhaps 16".

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 24, 2007 at 10:05 pm

i dun think dat they would put 16' on it…..,…low cost car maaa…

• chaku/maru (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 10:11 am

no way they're gonna put 16'.too big.will touch fender lo.if the wheel arch same size as savvy's la.

• Kalam (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 5:34 pm

Tidur Jangan Mimpi Apa-Apa.

• Alifz (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 8:04 pm

This BLM model is not for soon release from P1, they still working with the bodywork. Maybe it take one and half years to complete it from now, thank for somebody genius inside there using the other modified P1 components. Don't expect the car could be cheaper as Saga cause the high qualty steel, and also approved sales price from G. Viva was suppose to have same price like Kancil but P2 price proposal rejected by the G.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 10:17 pm

high quality steel?? izzit the same one found on the savvy? if it is..it'll be also "tougher than you think" slogan.

• jcw9960 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 5:29 pm

I like it! A "very small" sedan would be neat. The Savvy looks kinda wierd to me. Most of this wierdness comes form the rear – the rump looks abrupt while the front looks rather nice. So, bu adding a boot (and removing that strange rear hatch styling), the Savvy sedan could look kinda nice. It already drives pretty well and the 1.2L engine is quite good too. Interesting package, wouldn't you think?

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 3:10 am

The car would be better if it is a coupe.

• IamVladTheImpaler (Member) on Jul 31, 2007 at 12:04 pm

coupe cant sell nowadays, even with a powerfull engine, its still a niche market.
    as for the BLM, is gonna be a budjet car. Info i gathered from Proton is that its going to be aounrd OTR $35,000….
    is cheap!! its suppose to replace the iswara models, so the positioning have to be within Iswara segment.

• synchro_k (Member) on Nov 01, 2007 at 3:33 am

dude i think this is too good :P

• unnamed on Aug 06, 2009 at 12:21 am

shit of design..stop copying da old 1..n get new ideas la..cheepo betul..the car needs 2 be more wide n solid looking..this blm is 2 small n unstable looking..