Voluntary Car Scrap Policy

According to Berita Harian, apparently the proposal to scrap cars more than 15 years old will go ahead but on voluntary basis only, an effort to help improve the sales of new cars which have been in a slump this year so far and has only seen a small pick-up in May.

One who chooses to scrap his car that is older than 15 years old will be reimbursed a maximum of RM5,000 in the form of a voucher that counts towards the sales and excise duty of the new car purchased. Note it says a MAX of RM5,000 – this means it might be lower if whoever decides the value of the voucher thinks your car is worth lower.

Apparently studies have shown that if the scrapping policy is implemented, new car sales will increase by 50,000 to 100,000 cars a year.

Being someone who owns a car more than 15 years old, I am directly someone who falls under the target market of this scheme, and in my opinion, it does not entice me to get rid of my 23-year old Nissan Sunny and buy a new car at all.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• benGkhorkhor (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 7:15 am

Not an attractive offer as of now,maybe should include lower interest rates and discounts on road tax and sales tax.

• nmh (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 7:25 am

Scrap car, no way, We love car both old and new. We are motorhead. Scrap all those excise duty and all whatever ridiculous duty. Scap NAP. numbnut DUTYhead

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 8:01 am

HOW MANY MORE SUCH IDIOTIC STUFFS HAVE TO COME OUT FROM OUR GOVERNMENT TO EMBARESSED US?

The following cars are 15 years old.

http://images.securedwebform.com/reviews/images/0… http://img.alibaba.com/photo/10849554/Toyota_Supr…

Scrap em, good.

Get rid of:

Mazda RX7

Mazda MX5

Toyota Supra

Nissan Skyline GTR 32/33

Isuzu Vehicross

Toyota RAV4 MK1

BMW 3Series E36

Audi A4 B5

And replace with Savvy, Saga, Wira, Gen2 …… yawn…..

Seriously thou, 130y's already a road hazard. :p

B5.5 anyone ?

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 8:22 am

yah i agree with nmh!!scrap the unwanted tax and all la..y wanna scrap old cars!!i rather trade in!!when i buy a new car!!dumb idea la!!we are not in japan,saudi or US!!here care are not cheap!!and old cars still hv gud value!!max of rm 5 k??my dads 1992 honda accord was sold for rm 24 K this year..n how can car value depreciate so much when da new car price is so f**king expensive????the G is coming up with more stupid idea everyday….now even rubbish they might charge us…

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 8:29 am

no way i'm letting go of my 1970 vw for rm5k… let alone let it become scrap! we luv our lil cars more than 5k man!

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 8:32 am

this plan will only work if cars were priced about 30,000 for an entry level budget car like corollas or nissan sentra. the fact that these cars are about 80,000 means this plan will fall flat on its face like the savvy and neo have.

• wpq (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 8:40 am

Prem3377,

is not G idea. it is from Persekutuan Persatuan Syarikat Kenderaan dan Kredit Malaysia (FMCCAM).

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 8:59 am

Well.. has anyone here forget about global warming?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 9:15 am

So, G come with funny idea again to help P1?

It is like there are 2/3 of U graduate are female, many of them can't find male or male avoid them and unable to get married. So, G can solve their problem by scrap old wife policy with more than 15 years and above "voluntarily" and get new young wife!

• cetait (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 9:18 am

Problem is nobody cares enough about global warming to practically give away their car. Doubt even getting 5k will be so easy, i'm sure most people will end up being offered 3-4 max. Besides, a 15 year old well maintained Honda (for instance) can have equal or better emissions than newer Proton (for instance) that uses outdated technology.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 9:24 am

this is the most stupid proposal ever made. my mother 1994 honda accord is oledi over 15 years old and they wanna scrap it for under 5k instead of 20k. no way. no no no way. that car until now is still good in condition and FC.

wan to change the car with some sucking proton car ah??? after change also hv to maintain because of bad quality. always spoil here spoil there.

better scrap proton and let it close shop la. no sucking people money oledi

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 9:25 am

OMG! My friend, his family/extended family has 7 cars, ALL are minimum 17 years old and up! As topgunthang mentioned, it only works for entry level cars. For non-national or even cars like Wira, people now whose loan applications are rejected (now reportedly up to 70% of all car loan approvals are being rejected) will need something more substantial.

IMHO all in all, the scrapping thing seems to be more like a bandage on the knee as a cure for a headache!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 9:30 am

This idea of "max RM 5K" is to put them in advantage position and car owner at the most diadvantage position that subject to G whim and fancy to manipulate the car price?

Good example is Prem3377 case, if scrap voluntarily, the value is RM 5K but the street value is still RM 24K. Say car like Tiara or Juara after 15 years, the value might be scrap metal value 1 ton x RM 1.00 per Kg = RM 1K! So, they won't pay u RM 5K but RM 1K.

Later if the cronies lobby the G and might become "force or compulsory voluntarily" just like last time P1 "compulsory optional accesories" case, so many will be value at RM 500, then sold it to scrap metal dealer to make themselve RM 500 per car. If scrap say median 75,000 car per year, this cronies make handsome RM 37.50 million.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 10:21 am

sounds like this idea came abt in one minute of madness and whoeva came up with the idea,was either too bz watching movies or god knows wat….the idea of scrap value a good..as its implemented successfully in many countries…bt not in such poor way n such terrible planning…thy mite as well hav not said anyting abt it..thy mite hav gained a small amount of respect….and so many cars are worth so much more than a miserable rm5k…best way is not to give vouchers…bt to offer a low interest rate,low insurance premium,low road tax on ur next purchase if u decide to scrap ur car…..makes more sence to me that wat…..

• azrai (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 3:24 pm

Ridiculous. Scrap proton 1st.

• azrai (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 3:26 pm

Better scrap this idea of new policy.

• arcana (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 3:37 pm

well this is voluntary……if dont wanna scrap then just continue driving it.

the plan may only work for ppl who wanna change cars but car value less than 5k from their current vehicle. u can opt to scrap if thats the case coz its the same thing as trading in anyway.

for bigger cars than is more than 15 years its not worth to scrap since it has more value than that…..possibly for small cars like kancil, tiara which has values of less than 5k after those years. but tiara aint 15 yet lol.

• Infinitt (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:09 pm

Its just an idea..u dont want dont take the offer..its easy. may be positive to those ppls who dont want their old car parking nearby. at least they got 5K rather than been stolen by besi buruk guys..good for emission too due too old piping exhaust system n no catalyst.just an option loh..

• farghmee (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:26 pm

Heheheh…i love my '83 civic still. Say if it is gazetted, then no old Porsches, old Beetle, aged F40? :-p

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:30 pm

Come on, it's only on voluntary basis only and not compulsory. It's not government. Besides, old cars produce lots more polluter than new car. New cars emission level lower than old cars. As LittleFire85 said, global warming. Please think about it.

Global car sell generally also decreased-lah. So you can scrap off your old say Honda to buy new Honda NOT necessary Proton right? By the way, only on voluntary basis only and not compulsory. Why everytime put on because of Proton? It's part of the global step to minimal the pollution.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:32 pm

Hah… Watch it flop.

littlefire85, care about the environment?

Why dont you ask the govn't to scrap ALL TAXES on suposely "green" cars. Then perhaps, people will "care" about the environment more. Right now, the average malaysian CANNOT AFFORD to be more environmentally friendly.

If, for example, Honda sells thier Civic hybrid at fair market prices, tax free (or Smart or any microcar that gets over 40mpg City), everyone will flock to it. Why not then, well, because Proton doesn't have "green" technology yet other than that prototype hybrid Gen2.

For me, it doesn't bother me, even if they eventually BAN 15yr old cars off the road. I will still keep mine for track duty….

As per that comment on Tiaras you wont get 5k for it. 5K is the Maximum you would get.

This wont work. Next step after this flops, they will try to influence the Govn't to implement Singapore's CoE…which will flop also because you'd get screaming hordes of people….but then again, as per any thing that gets done here, i'm sure there will be exceptions to certain demographics.

• ys (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:36 pm

dont even think of scraping yr car.

this crap idea is to make money from Malaysian.

let just calm and wait…

sooner or later,..we will see G cannot "tahan" and lower the tax.

Do you know how much G making from the car tax

Example.

Nissan Sentra 1.6SG-L (full spec)

Selling price RM 94500

NSP RM42190

Excise Duty RM22206

Sales tax RM5949

the rest are standard accessories, road tax/insurance, and other fees

so.. our G is making RM 28155 for every new sentra we buy.. and this is excluding the tax on Tan Chong…

impresive huh.. i think i prefer a sentra at RM50k

lets dream for it.

• rexis (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:40 pm

LOL, scrap a 15 years old car and buy a 20+ years old technology? Wheres the logic?

We have repeated the same thing endless time – PEOPLE WILL WANT TO CHANGE CAR IF THEY CAN AFFORD IT. damn it, thsoe latest merc/bmw owners in the office has always failed to reconize the obvious.

• Infinitt (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:44 pm

PTAllTheBest said,

June 25, 2007 @ 1:24 am

this is the most stupid proposal ever made. my mother 1994 honda accord is oledi over 15 years old and they wanna scrap it for under 5k instead of 20k. no way. no no no way. that car until now is still good in condition and FC.

wan to change the car with some sucking proton car ah??? after change also hv to maintain because of bad quality. always spoil here spoil there.

better scrap proton and let it close shop la. no sucking people money oledi

………………………………………………………………………..

Dont be so stupid friend..u can also change your mother car to Honda too..but its just an option..u dont want just keep it..dont show to us that u r really stupid in this blog..boring ok…n dont change to proton..its easy..u r not force to.

• raverus (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:50 pm

Honda expensive la my friend…….

Elo, scrap my old car yet new car are so expensive with AP taxes…bla bla.

So u need the citizens to keep buying and make u G richer is it?

• mofo (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:52 pm

"new car sales will increase by 50,000 to 100,000 cars a year." OMG, imao.. That's huge amount, do they realize ? AND Max is 5k, they could pay you lesser and its voluntary.

Dude, think about it. What's the different of selling the car after 15 years ? It's SCrAP /SeLL ?

I think offer 50% discount on Excise Duty after 15 years of ownership of a car will be have greater impact.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:55 pm

As government / Persekutuan Persatuan Syarikat Kenderaan dan Kredit Malaysia (FMCCAM) said, it is only on voluntary basis only and not compulsory.

If you want, you still can keep your 15 years and above old car. Why start complaining as it just like a compulsory? Nobody ask you to scrap off your Honda (example) to buy Proton.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 4:58 pm

Better for government to cut down the current car taxes as too high. So more people can buy car and scrap off the old one. That I will agree.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 5:03 pm

its very clear that many of the replies here are way too emotional and not based on rational thought.

didn't any of you guys notice the word "VOLUNTARY"??? if you dont wanna scrap, you can sell it. the point is, if you can't sell it, at least you can scrap it. I think its a good policy. There is no way in the world, the government will force people to scrap their cars.

So just whats all the emotion about? just get on with life, and enjoy your car and stop whining about something that didn't even happen.

also, are all of you living in la-la land or something.. the whole car industry is in a slump, not just proton. the 2nd hand market is practically falling to bits.

• denfire (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 5:09 pm

This is just the first step of Government want to do, later they will sure says that it is compulsory for 15 year old car to be scrap. This is totally a shitty idea in order to help proton, if they really want made this kind of policy, just make all the cars to be a better value laa, then the policy can run. But not just because to help proton sell their "Good New Car". That is a shame of the country.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 5:15 pm

To BanyakMasukWorkshop. Agreed. Perhaps they don't understand English?

Voluntary-lah people. Why some of you guys give cooments like our government is forcing us to scrap of our 15yr+ cars? Every topics connect to Proton? Come on, as I said earlier global car sell generally also decreased and,

BanyakMasukWorkshop did said it too ….the whole car industry is in a slump, not just proton. the 2nd hand market is practically falling to bits.

• arcana (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 5:43 pm

government cant force us to scrap cars….look at those kampungs and small town…..so many old cars running around, if they gonna force to scrap who can afford to buy new ones let alone second hand. the entire kampung and small town will end up with only motorcycles and bicycles if thats the case lol.

even if they try to force, we can voice out our opinion…..if im not mistaken they did consider such proposal but it was condemned badly by huge majority.

• kiff (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 5:50 pm

Being someone who owns a car more than 15 years old, I am directly someone who falls under the target market of this scheme, and in my opinion, it does not entice me to get rid of my 23-year old Nissan Sunny and buy a new car at all

Just like me, i own 1983 nissan march and will not choose this way to dispose my car. still enjoy my superturbo charged engine. i also agree with BanyakMasukWorkshop that it only optional and we have to wait for detail info.

• kody (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 5:59 pm

wahlaueh…

read from news, the G may raise excise duties & all other auto related duty to compensate for the car scrap vourcer… does this mean car prices will raise up again…???

this is another trick to earn more $$$ in some individual pockets…!!! Stupid ideal & stupid act to protect P1 !!

scarp car may cost RM1k to owner …. give you vourcer RM1k… hahaa…. finally….some cronies with scarp car company (own by somebody with G related…) earn all the $$… owner get nothing & waste $$ & time to scrap the car… & pay new loans… haha… what a excellent ideal to fill up the pockets & get easy money….

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 6:51 pm

Fxxx G …. all the cars 15year old have to replace ??? this 1st citizen will say Fxxx U G ….. only can reimbursed 5k only ?? damn this no make sence … now day the car selling in malaysia no cheep n the import car also 150% g tax … even P1 also no cheep at all … how ppl will affort to buy a new car with a low salary ?? damn u G … the bmw / benz / at other old model luxuly car just only rebate 5k … Fxxx u M … G u r nuts … u will kill citizen make more citizen to hate u …

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 7:26 pm

Well if this is implemented.. Dont think that even u have a merc, volvo, BMW or what expensive car.. the secondhand dealer will makan ur car at RM5k only.. Coz they will say the scrap only RM5k.. Singapore cars also expensive, why they can scrap after 5-10 years? I say global warming, coz a lot of cars n transportation before that are using caburrated or old diesel engines.. and a lot are coming a lot of white n black smoke.. Even some car already rusted like hell.. The G say, they will not force u to scrap.. If u want to keep ur sport car, keep it.. I am going to buy an old tiara, at 3k and sell it to scrap at 5k to get a new car if implemented lol…

• mofo (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 7:43 pm

Dear BanyakMasukWorkshop + The Unicons,

Yes i do understand the Voluntary. Where the money comes from, it might just create another "Water Pipe" only.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 7:58 pm

We'll see what happen next ok? Just stop talking nonsense and everything related to government's faults, Proton, NAP etc. I know some of the guys here will say is their opinion but please use better words to put in instead of S word, F word to name a few.

If hate the government so much. No choice, move to other place. Besides, our world might end 2060, read the news?

• Alifz (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 8:13 pm

Dear Unicorns,

Now all local car manufactures has work out to bring good stuff for their product, but the problem now is the car price now was governed and approved by the G. Now there is something wrong with the current G, making plenty money with even local cars.What i'm prposing here now start buying old cars, so that the G will not get profit from car sales, then they will restructure for the tax and excise duty.That is the good solution.

Anyway 2060 is not yet the end of the world, it just Malaysia will be extict and be replace by the only one government.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 8:25 pm

Dear Alifz, in my previous post I did say:

The Unicons said,

June 25, 2007 @ 8:58 am

Better for government to cut down the current car taxes as too high. So more people can buy car and scrap off the old one. That I will agree.

So cheers….

• rexis (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 10:00 pm

The article said

"According to Berita Harian, apparently the proposal to scrap cars more than 15 years old will go ahead but on voluntary basis only, an effort to help improve the sales of new cars "

We did notice the *voluntary* and most of us has show that how little our intension to scrap our cars for that pity "maximum RM5000". And I also read "an effort to help improve the sales", and I am trying to prove that how irrelevant it is to car sales and car scrap – car sales down not because of too many cars, people will always want to buy a newer model, just we cant affort, dammit, WE CANT AFFORT.

And again, we dont dig those cash voucher out from underground, it has to come from somewhere. And also, cash voucher to buy what car? Toyota? In your dream.

• BobSam (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 10:44 pm

If the car that we use is worth less than RM5,000, AND if the government decides to give a rebate of RM5,000 for the junked car.

I GUARANTEE you that you will bite.

If the owner of a Datsun 1200, 120Y or Toyota Corolla, Volvo 144, Ford Laser/Escort that is worth RM1,000 or less has the choice of upgrading his car, with a rebate of RM3 to 4M (depending on the worth of his car), I m sure he will carefully weigh his options.

Kindly note that the above mentioned cars would most probably be more than 20 years of age. I drive a 13 year old car. Probably when it is 25 years old, I would take this up.

I would.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 11:11 pm

I think the offer only for local cars like Japan also.. their national car also got a lot of discount if u scrap ur car and buy new national cars.. Anywayz i just saw the discovery channel, in US more then 50 years old building also being scrap! In Malaysia… rumah boleh duduk sampai roboh laa..

• acbc (Member) on Jun 25, 2007 at 11:47 pm

I love my '90 Mitsubishi Galant VR-4. The only way they will take it off me is by prying off my cold dead fingers!

SAY TAK NAK to PROTON!

• bs (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 12:06 am

Actually CBU cars are very cheap without the high taxes.

Check out the port prices of CBU cars, you'll be surprise to see all low COST.

Cars like CRV/ Odsessey is only RM65K

Camry only = RM58K.

Cars from Korea are worth nothing at cost…but people are paying so high for Sonata…COST = RM32K

http://www.customs.gov.my/html/cbu2006warta.htm

Have fun looking for your car…

• rexis (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 1:00 am

Just wait till it become "Automatic Car Scrap Policy"… but hey if the car owners are being conpensated properly, many will be more then willing to scrap their old carz for a new one!

• farghmee (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 1:11 am

"voluntary"…yeah that's the catch :p

• bs (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 1:16 am

The only reason for this "Car Scrap Policy" is to spur the sales of new cars.

But to generate higher sales figure, there is only 1 way, which is to lower the prices of new cars. However way you see it, or from which angle… it is all about buying a cheap car, be it more discount, more features, less tax, more promotion….

Looking at the Port Prices of CBU cars (ref above), i think it is easiest and most effective to reduce tax to lower car prices.

Only 1 BIG problem. All local car manufacturers will be in deep trouble. And due to this 1 reason, we Malaysian will never see cheaper cars…period.

• RM (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 1:22 am

This is another crazy idea which has no valid basis save for resuscitating the automotive industry which is still grappling with the uncertainties triggered by the haphazard NAP.

Its a value game now. I want to buy a car and at the same time I want the value of my car to depreciate based on its accepted wear and tear, NOT because of an overnight change in government policy. Seriously, what were they thinking when they forced prices down on new vehicles just because they decided to be kind and lower effective taxes, damn, it triggered a market wide correction. Almost overnight, didn't we all lose.How many used-car dealers have folded since. How many of us saw our loans outstrip our car value. Yes, the public wanted cheaper cars but were not prepared for the trade-off.

Yes, scrapping can work but its got to be "economically viable" and if not, should be made mandatory. Otherwise, just forget it. If the past is anything to go by, then in the following intervening years, we'll probably see different GOV scrap values, or maybe even a complete scrapping of the policy and yet again many of us are gonna be at the loosing end. What's with AP's for CBU's after 2010? Are CKD taxes gonna be reduced further? When will the national cars preferential tax structure be dispensed away? Its anybody's guess today. How can these uncertainties be allowed to fester? Can't they see that it is manifesting itself into pent-up demand and poor automotive sales ?

Scrapping? I have a better idea….Come out with clearer policies and affirmations of the same and there will be a light at the end of the tunnel. Problem is the folks in Putrajaya know this. So what's up? Uncertainties creating opportunities for those in the know? Hope not cos' if my insinuation is correct then its gonna be a a long and 'bompy' ride.

• p1basher (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 1:29 am

bs said,

June 25, 2007 @ 5:16 pm

Check out the kia rio price, 24k, and of coz picanto 18k!!!o_O

• zafedz (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 3:41 am

Yeah..I am 100% support this idea but with one condition.

For the next few years we can drive back Proton Passat,Proton

Golf and Proton Toureg around 20K ~ 25K at least.

Long live PROTON………..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 4:27 am

That why i say our G will always late then others.. even vision 2020 i think cant make it on time..

• Javanese (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 5:19 am

Mr Tan, to be honest your sunny is absolute rubbish (yes, I used to own one a looooooong time ago), even a wira is a better car than that tin can; memories or no memories.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 5:21 am

1st thing gov should do is scrap NAP policy before thai and indon go increase their tax for malaysian produce cars.

2nd, it should be min RM5K and max RM15k. Those old toyota, honda cars 30 years>> older are still sold for around RM5k, you scrap these cars, how poor people going to afford new cars? If put scrap 15K, then they need another 5K++ for entry level car which actually works wonders rather than let the car rot there. Base of RM5k is necessary to entice people to send the car for scrapping the first place and rather the car being one with the scenery overgrown with weeds.

• nmh (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 5:28 am

Gov want to buy cheaper 'besi buruk' since the price increase recently. Tats why gov agree with the proposal. Gov banyak untung maa.

• Paul Tan on Jun 26, 2007 at 5:38 am

Javanese: i would ask you what you mean by rubbish but to be honest, your opinion doesn't matter to me. it gets my mother from home to the market perfectly fine. seat are comfy, engine is smooth.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 5:53 am

every ppl got thier own thinkings right? yeah.

• vandenlye (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 6:00 am

Those people‘pocketed’ a lot of money, until can change new Mercedes every year. What about us? Don’t even dare to think change new car after finish old car installment. And now they can’t make more easy money, turn up to aim our hard earn money again, what’s a policy on this earth!!!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 8:18 am

Emm… Actually scraping a car, the real payment for 1 car is about RM300-350… Ask the metal scrap shop and see… the G is using the sales tax money to pay.. but still i felt too little compare to what they earn from us.. Anyways in some countries.. If ur car is more then 10 years old and bad condition.. u have to pay them to scrap, not they pay money for u…

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 4:20 pm

it is clear that the G got some problems and i agree with most of the ppl in here. scrapping proposal to increase new car sales is just incredible. probably just wan 2 increase the new p1 car sales with this forking idea to suck ppl money.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 4:25 pm

hahaha…u can gt dat price at langkawi…eerr…with d price of d murano i bought..i can gt the bmw m5….s**t…f**k…bodo tol…wut to do…G wants to protect national car…

btw…this proposal refer 2 wut type of car??certain or all??if all…ppl who own the old ferrari also had to scrap la…huahuahua…funnyla G…stupid…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 4:28 pm

G alwiz suck rakyat money…n the cronies alwiz wan 2 kayekan cronies…n the idea of this proposal..i bet u la…increasing the new car sales is nt d main reason…bt increasing their saving n bsarkan prut yang mmg da bsar tu is their reason…f**king G…

• kody (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 5:28 pm

wahlaueh…

———————————–

LittleFire85 said,

June 26, 2007 @ 12:18 am

Anyways in some countries.. If ur car is more then 10 years old and bad condition.. u have to pay them to scrap, not they pay money for u…

————————————-

Your sentense only can apply if the new car price is relatively low as compare to what rakyat earn. For example, Japanese may be able to settle kancil payment with only 1 or 2 month of their salary…. we pay years of installments to settle it.

In the end this scrap policy may majority benefit P2 only because most of the people who keep old car are not high earning group & current;y only P2 new cars are considerable 'cheap' price.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 6:21 pm

Acutally P2 car still expensive.. If u cheak their Daihatsu Mira, change their currency to ours.. The car only cost RM15k-25k only… And u can get turbo version also…

• volvolover (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 8:04 pm

paul: You still keep your nissan sunny? Why is that? I though you got a perdana already?

• volvolover (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 8:04 pm

paul: You still keep your nissan sunny? Why is that? I though you got a perdana already? How long do you plan to keep that nissan sunny?

• Paul Tan on Jun 26, 2007 at 8:11 pm

volvolover: my other family members need a car too. how to pay a few car loans at once?

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 8:18 pm

Javanese said,

June 25, 2007 @ 9:19 pm

Mr Tan, to be honest your sunny is absolute rubbish (yes, I used to own one a looooooong time ago), even a wira is a better car than that tin can; memories or no memories.

==eh……..have ur wira been hit by a sunny? sunny 130Y? hahaha. ur mouth can't close because what? sure u know….the wira is damn softer than a sunny. don't worry, when i drive sunny i usually hit wira because too many on the road yet so soft. hahahaha. too bad when i drive wira or waja, avoid sunny. so please think before u spilt out rubbish…….ok kid. hahahha.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 8:31 pm

nissan sunny 130Y is a nice car eventhough is old. if u find out more about this car, u have few engine options to choose yet little modification to be done. to keep it is better than scrap it. it have engines that even out perform proton saga, the 22 years old production. if u happen to find the original electronic carb, even boost better hp, torque, emission control.

this voluntary scrap policy is for those who has hard time selling off their old car, too much problem of old car or worth not more than rm5k. i really hope that ladies and gentlemen please too look into the bright side and further……is an offer only. That's the reason 'voluntary'. don't behave like kid, making me laugh only….hahaha. what do u think Paul?

• myst (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 9:33 pm

I ride motorcycle loh..No need 2 penin² think about scrappy thing..No xtra tax nor Excise Duty to pay..Chill..Life goes on

• super_dragger (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 10:36 pm

but the good thing is, if u guys have like really2 old rusty car that dont use anymore, can scrap for some cash :P

• kody (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 10:42 pm

wahlaueh…

————–

LittleFire85 said,

June 26, 2007 @ 10:21 am

Acutally P2 car still expensive.. If u cheak their Daihatsu Mira, change their currency to ours.. The car only cost RM15k-25k only… And u can get turbo version also…

—————

saw my special remark 'cheap' (cheap for new car in bolehland)… In Japan Mira do cost as what you mention, they can easily buy a car.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 11:11 pm

pricing of cars here is expensive i may say……

• volvolover (Member) on Jun 26, 2007 at 11:40 pm

myst: ride a motorcycle means your life very cheap. One hit by another car and you are dead. At least car there is some protection. Even the saga milo tin is better than a bike. It's not a lot of protection just some. Something is better than nothing right?

• Paul Tan on Jun 27, 2007 at 12:02 am

it is not scrap for cash. it is scrap for a voucher that can be used for another new car purchase.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 1:08 am

Paul tan, so if use voucher, means all new car will be increase by up to RM 5k. Those who don't scrap car but buy new car also need to pay extra RM 5K?

• myst (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 3:16 am

Volvolover: Come on la weh..I've know such dat thing..Every transportation have their own risk..Different is big or small..Thanks for dat reminder..Plus, i just live in small Kampung..Max speed 40km/h..Wearing all safety equipment (arai helmet, elbow n knee protectn etc..) Safe enuf for me though..Chill..For others, plz be realistic..Go back to 'Tadika'.. Learn wut 'Voluntary Basis' is all about…Seems dumb enuf to argue but contribute nothing to help change da policy..No offence..Cheers!!

• transformer (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 4:07 am

I won't congrats old Saga/Iswara owner!

scrap old P1 for a new P1 ? ?

but still have to pay installment and interest…… Stupid!

better I'll keep my 13 years old Nissan for another 10years!

• kevyeoh (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 4:17 am

crab…ketam…crab…ketam and crab…and ketam and crab !

it's all crap !!!

• familyman (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 4:36 am

hey guys..

that http://www.customs.gov.my/html/cbu2006warta.htm thing eh.. it says

"Nilai Cost Insurance Freight (CIF) /CIF Value (RM)"

so is that the actual car price before custom tax or is it the insurance cost of shipping the car here???

• Javanese (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 5:39 am

I dont care if my opinion matters no anyone or not. I dont care. FAct of the matter is if your yardstick for a car is something that can carry someone home without breaking down, I guess a rusty 30 year old datsun with no headlights can be considered safe as long as it got a roadtax. Personally I wont gamble other ppl (esp my family) life in a 20year old japanese rust bucket. Thats for ppl who hate their family.

I still find it laughable for ppl who said "insert-any-car-name" car is soft. Ever heard of crumple zone? Without it you'll be dead. Cars like the old Lancers are purposely designed to crumple all the way up to the engine. Ever seen a sunny got t-boned? Wow, it amazing too see how any of its occupants survived. (lived near a police HQ, so have seen almost everything). Stop giving me bullcrap about 120y absober bumper and pre 80s volvo hard shell, I've owned those cars.

Sorry if my post sound offensive/authoritive, still working on my superiority complex syndrom :-(

• Paul Tan on Jun 27, 2007 at 5:44 am

You're lucky to be able to afford something better then. Someone in Malaysia who can only drive an old Sunny in the first place would not be able to buy a much safer car even with the RM5,000 voucher, unless you think the RM27,000 Saga has been extensively reengineered. You seem to think that alot of people are holding on to their old cars by choice. You are wrong.

• Javanese (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 5:51 am

Fortunately, yes. But the used car market in malaysia are littered with good affordable and reliable cars under 15k. If you took a credit loan, I think it's less than RM200 per month for what, 4 years? I'm sure you can find a good deal. But I guessing you sunny is in immaculate condition with hardly anything wrong with it sooo… c'est la vie.

• Javanese (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 5:59 am

I think most ppl in malaysia hold on to their old car by choice one way or another… the reason? That'll be a long discussion into the human psyche, a subject that I rather not talk on a computer due to my MSD condition. Plus we'll be diverting from the topic :-)

Anywho, I respect ppl decision does not seek to change them. But I have my own opinion and I rather like voicing them from time to time, whether ppl like it or not.

• Paul Tan on Jun 27, 2007 at 6:09 am

You can give opinions but rude comments such as "those who let their family drive old cars hate their family"? Does your claimed "superiority complex" give you the right to do that? Do you know everything about their financial background?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 6:13 am

Some ppl have spent a lot on their old cars. How to justify getting another old one under 15k? Must spend even more. Makes no sense.

• Javanese (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 6:14 am

I dont… but growing up in a house that didnt even have piped water let alone electricity till late 1994 and making it all the way up here gives me a yardstick/general idea of what can be achieved if you have the will.

• Paul Tan on Jun 27, 2007 at 6:17 am

maibatsu_thunder raised an interesting point. how much newer and safer (taking both points into consideration) can a car under 15k be?

• soporific (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 6:18 am

A florst van once made a u-turn from the opposing direction but before he could complete it, i hit him on the side. he obviously never looked out for incoming traffic.

i remember braking, but it was impossibly to bring my car to a halt from over 110km/h. the front of the car did crumble, all the way to about where the wheel arch was.

so i could get out, meaning the door could still open and my cabin cell was intact.

it was a nissan sunny 130y. then i had a churchmate who had a head-on collision in a wira. he was in a wheelchair for nearly a year and had to reconstruct his face.

my cousin had a head-on in his satria, nearly lost use of his eye.

their accidents were worse, although mine wasn't 'small' either – the van spun and turned turtle – and i think in hindsight, if i had that accident in my current satria, i would definitely have spent some hospital time.

however, there are other issues at hand when buying a car, besides safety, and that's why i splashed out rm40k for the satria, instead of looking for another rm8k 130y. even though it means i'm still paying the loan.

if like paul, you can't afford the loan, there's no shame in giving your mother a car instead of telling her to take the bus.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 6:18 am

Wow that sucks bro. I myself can't stand toilets outside of my own home let alone one without running water. I would dread the thought every time I had to go do a 'big job'. :( That's really sad. Glad you're here with us now.

• Javanese (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 6:24 am

Most of the citroen(xantia, ZX) and peugeots (306/405). if those two gave out too much problem, then a volvo (a 740 or a 940) is cheap to maintain and pretty reliable too.

• Paul Tan on Jun 27, 2007 at 6:29 am

You do realize you're recommending European cars with expensive parts and fuel-guzzlings Volvo to a hypothetical person who already has to fork out extra money that he can barely afford to replace his old car with another old car.

• Javanese (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 6:36 am

Hey, you cant have everything Mr Tan, it's either safety, space, speed or economy, cramp and tinfoils. It's up to you. If you dont like europeans I'm sure you can find decent Honda accord CB for less than 15k. The choice is endless.

I'm sorry if I have offended/flamed anyone. I have to stop typing now, my tendons are getting pretty hot and started to hurt. The price you pay for a work in IT sector :-(.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 7:40 am

Javanese i think u should get some ergonomics mouse and keyboard to use… I got 1 microsoft on my computer table.. well my tendon not so hurt compare to my old keyboard.. Maybe ur chair also need 1.. LOL! I also work in IT industri, but i am only a technition and a noob programmer.. haiz..

• Paul Tan on Jun 27, 2007 at 7:46 am

It is nothing to do with whether this hypothetical person likes Europeans or not. Even if he loves them, it would be very bad advice to get him to buy one as he would not be able to afford to maintain them.

We are not talking about me here, but people who have to stay with their old cars in general. I keep saying "hypothetical person" but you keep referring to me.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 3:53 pm

well mr. tan. i think there is no need to argue so much. if u feel that ppl is offending u then u can ignore them. y need to layan them? u can continue 2 work on ur blog and brings out more interesting news so we other ppl can have more knowledge.

for some ppl that still keeping their old car does not matter that your car is cheap or not as long as it can serve you well thats enough and no need to scrap it and afford another expensive and low quality car. just wasting money to our s**king G.

• stewpid (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 4:05 pm

at last i'm start thinking… if this idea come from FMCCAM..jeng jeng jeng…

it must also voice out from second hand car dealer.. they wanna get rid their junk at showroom field. just waste space. nobody wanna buy their junk, so just write-off then. got some money rm5000 per junk.am i right?

• bs (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 7:14 pm

Author: familyman
    "Nilai Cost Insurance Freight (CIF) /CIF Value (RM)"

Hi familyman,

This CIF is cost of car transfer at port including carriage (shipping) and insurance paid by the seller already.

Hence, if not mistaken it is the value cost of the cars imported before any internal G taxes applied to it.

No wonder we see many BIG luxury cars in KL, if you can escape this G taxes and buy at cost… it is so cheap lah.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 8:26 pm

Javanese said,

June 26, 2007 @ 9:39 pm

==hmm………crumple zone? hahaha. construction of crumple zone is not simple, not one theory and it's not new. believe u don't know much and don't understand of it much. please don't give such a 'it' comment since u r it fellow.

mentioned only 130Y, and is not 120Y. got it? true it is old, most of it almost 20years old, started rusting or worst. but is it funny if scrap it for rm5k and have a rm27k new car start rusting, isn't it? another funny thing is scrap 20years old car technolgy to have a new car 20years old technolgy or a supersmall car, and with the price at least 5 times more which might be the cheapest. one really making me laugh, scrap the car below rm5k and get a car around rm15k, those car almost 10 years old or more. such an opinion given? my goodness, please don't give such 'it' comments. this is very wide yet subjective to automotive industries.

one nonsense, the idea of what can be achieved if you have the will. everyone is working hard to achieve something, everyone also wanna own a bmw, merc, lexus, etc if can. tell me who wanna drives old car for life?

i don't see any superiority complex syndrom, is more like having down syndrom. hahaha…….just can't stop laughing. hahaha. ('it' = idiot theory)

Paul, he just can't get the whole picture of it, understand the automotive industries and the engineering of it. so need not required to explain to him.

• Javanese (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 9:03 pm

I too am not talking about you Mr Tan. I rather like adressing someone in my post as it help me focus. My post can be adressed to the general public you subtitute the word "you" with "anybody".

Please dont tell me a 16 year old CB accord is worse than a datsun, a corolla KE, mazda whatever or any japanese car with RWD (not the new ones). a quick check on the MTrader, you can get a mazda 323, merc 230e (gas guzzler but cheaper to maintain than a wira), charade, honda civic and blah blah. Most of these cars are much better than their 25 year old counterparts.

Oh btw LFire85, I'm using a RM350+ MS keyboard and a RM300 ergomouse. My MSD are pretty mild, all I can do right now are reducing the stress to the hand.

Oh btw tec144893215498, I dont have a single clue what you're on about. Your post sounded like gibberish. Please post when you learn to type/speak coherently. You cant even spot a joke. Wait…I cant believe I just wasted 5 minutes my time responding back to you. THAT is a joke in case you didn't get it.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 9:52 pm

Cool down, tec96248. I know how you feel right now. hahah…. cool down.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 10:48 pm

i believe that the article clearly stated VOLUNTARY scrapping. so guys, let's be positive about this lah. if you want to keep your old cars, like i do, then we just keep lah. it's just a storm in a teacup guys. but to be fair, the G does want to help the industry, whether P1, P2 or honda, toyota etc. so, perhaps we could follow singapore's model for car scrapping? i think they too have a voluntary scrapping policy where those who choose to keep their old cars have to pay a slightly higher tax and they need to go for a yearly inspection or something like that. but i'm not so sure about the policy there. can anyone fill us in on that and we can perhaps decide if it is good for us.

understandaly, we don't want to increase our motoring costs (me included) but may i suggest that we perhaps look at the bigger picture?

also, scrapping cars is not just one measure alone. it has to be combined with higher personal disposable incomes (wonder if our bosses think we should be paid more!) better road systems, better public transport, and the whole 9 yards. looks like it is going to be another pipe dream. imho.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 27, 2007 at 11:15 pm

#

Javanese said,

June 27, 2007 @ 1:03 pm

Oh btw tec144893215498, I dont have a single clue what you’re on about. Your post sounded like gibberish. Please post when you learn to type/speak coherently. You cant even spot a joke. Wait…I cant believe I just wasted 5 minutes my time responding back to you. THAT is a joke in case you didn’t get it.

==hahahaha, very funny indeed. of course i spotted ur joke. too bad, it is a lousy joke. please try to read again all ur writes. seems u don't even have a single clue. i couldn't type coherently because i can't stop laughing while thinking. not speaking, ok? or maybe u don't understand the local automotive industries? or maybe u couldn't get it? hahaha.

to unicons, no worries. won't be angry at all infact really make me enjoying it because reading it, is better than taking laughing pills. shall we enjoy it? whahaha….

• schdmitz (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 2:17 am

think logically….if a guy bought a Lexus for 700k after 15 years ask him to scrap the car for 5k???? Who want??Crazy and stupd idea!!!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 3:15 am

If that car is from pak lah or other rich guy, scrap laa! so what? I am rich, 700k is nothing for me! A lot of rich people sales their old merc only RM10k above, and buy new merc for RM600k.. Well if money no problem, scrap is nothing also to them.. What they want is to run more tax from G from taking it from their company by paying less tax on car…

• droll (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 6:18 am

why would i take rm5k in voucher when i can sell it outside for rm5k of cash that gives me freedom to use it in whatever way i want to buy a new car??? add in body kit, new rims, put in as downpayment, upgrade ICE, etc.

would the rm5k voucher be honoured by all car manufacturers? come to think of it, for 15 year old car owners, i would hazard a guess a lot of them can only afford to buy a proton. this is to save proton more than anything else.

• sacker85 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 10:35 am

STUPID IDEA LA, if scrap these old car that means v can't see any antique car anymore lo? as i known, THOSE JPJ'S PAJERO IN PERAK IS MORE THAN 15YRS OLD, IF WANT SCRAP, THEN SCRAP THEIR CAR 1ST LO,i still can see some police driving A VERY (NEW) MODEL PROTON ISWARA(SEDAN) PATROL CAR MA,WHAT U GUYS THINK? RIDICULOUS RITE? HAHA!! THIS IDEA MEANS G IS TOO FREE NOW, THEY WANTED TO DO SOMETHING THAT IS OUT OF THEIR MIND, wanna follow up as what singapore and japan's goverment doing? PLAN WELL AND CONCERN ABOUT ANAK ANAK MALAYSIA MA…HAIZ………. TOO CHILDISH AND TOO EARLY LA,EXCEPT IF THE GOVERMENT WOULD PAY US***(INCLUDING PRIVATE COMPANY AND SOLE PROP.) ***XTRA BASIC SALARY TO 5K/MONTH ++ EVERY YEAR END BONUS AT LEAST 10K ANUALLY, I GUESS PPL WOULD THINK ABOUT IT.

• kody (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 4:52 pm

wahlaueh…

everyone… this is just another water pipe idea to milk some $$ from rakyat & G. if G want to support the ideal to scrap by change all G old vehicles then another opportunity for someone to earn more by helping G to source new cars….

You see.. everytime when a ridiculous ideal coming out, sure there will be a plentty ways for someone to suck $$…

Again… stupid ideal from stupid asshxxe…

• chrisbangle (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 7:21 am

Dear Paul….I dont think you have the lsightest idea of what our automotive indsutry is facing. Your disagree with the suggestion and I am okay with that. But as an owner of a popular blog, you have the power of infirmation in your hands. By crying out in protest, you are not helping anybody.

As a good editor, you should suggest. If not, you are unfit to become one. Everybody can complain.

Learn more.

• Paul Tan on Jul 01, 2007 at 7:38 am

I do not disagree with the voluntary scrapping suggestion, I am just saying it is not attractive enough to me from the point of view as someone who has an old car. Unfortunately, I do not have any suggestions, sorry! It is like a stalemate situation to me. Maybe I can think of something later, maybe I won't. I am from the IT industry. Do you have any suggestions?