Clearer Proton BLM Side Profile Spyshots

Clear_Proton_BLM_Spyshot_1.jpg

These clear photos were shot by KM_Survivor of the Lensa Malaysia forums, a Malaysian photography forum, which explains why the photos are of such good quality! It shows the side profile of the new Proton BLM very clearly, so we can have a rough idea of headroom and interior space as well as the general proportions of the car.

Just a recap for those who are not in the loop – the Proton BLM is supposed to be Proton’s base line model, a replacement for the aging Proton Saga/Proton Iswara model. It is said to be based on a modified Proton Savvy platform.

Two more photos after the jump.

Is this the new Proton BLM?
Proton BLM Artist’s Impression

Clear_Proton_BLM_Spyshot_2.jpg

Clear_Proton_BLM_Spyshot_3.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 11:31 pm

the back looks very flat leh?

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 11:32 pm

i think dat the number plate is positioned at the boot..not the bumper..c

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 11:34 pm

owh! forgot to c the 1st pic…..

the frotn looks good!

have slight cues from the neo…..headroom quite good also.

• proton.com (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 11:39 pm

It didn't look like savvy at all although it use the same platform.

• andre128 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 11:44 pm

FRONT LIKE GENT 2

REAR LIKE WAJA (UPPER) + GEN 2 (LOWER)

NOT VERY NICE….

• cutester (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 11:46 pm

The back door looks like Savvy a bit. But the back so flat and no curve at all! What's wrong with their designers??

• superman (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 11:49 pm

it's still has it's "mask" on. Wait till it's revealed properly la, before judging the looks.

I'm more concerned by the quality. Proton has yet to launch a glitch-free car.

• Paul Tan on Jun 28, 2007 at 11:49 pm

its disguised. the curve might be hidden.

• Infinitt (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 11:53 pm

Agreed..no use to judge now how the desgn looks..50% with mask la…

• Xoomie (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 11:54 pm

BLM?

• Xoomie (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 11:58 pm

Isn't that the Gen2 Sedan ?

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 11:59 pm

BASE LINE MODEL…..

• proton GL (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 12:00 am

rear boot lid actually been heavily stuffed up,

the actual is not that flat and thick,

the first proton without lower bumper cut-out for exhaust tip

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 12:01 am

of course not! u see the lines clearly……and compare woith the gen2 sedan post…

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 12:02 am

ah….just like the savvy with a boot as mentioned earlier. funny little car.

• kennhyn (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 12:02 am

look more like neo sedan then savvy….

• freeze (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 12:08 am

The boot is covered with something obviously because the back is so misaligned.

The number plate is actually on the boot lid. They taped it on the bumper. Rear door windows are pretty big.

But take a look at the front fender. The bottom does not end straight, it eats into the runningboard panel, Whats that about?

Anyway does look good, unless they had covered up all the ugly parts.

I really like the rims.

• freeze (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 12:10 am

The rear from far reminds me of Ford focus sedan.

• Paul Tan on Jun 29, 2007 at 12:14 am

dude, i think the rims are normal black steel rims.

• motoaku (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 12:14 am

yeah…gud proton…

pray for good price meh…

n good quality also.

last new model was neo….the quality quite good,hopefully this one going to the same line

• mr. proton (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 12:17 am

ahaha.. bashers… ur nigtmare is here…. c'mon la.. siang malam u all bashing je keje apa dapat… why not giv comment on wat it shud like.. not jus "not nice" la.. xcantik la".. its under testing.. so proton still hav chance to make it more bold and adoreable…

• mr. proton (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 12:21 am

paul.. its still testing… for sure use steel rim… they already made it. the rim … u shud tell proton how to make it more nicer.. bcos maybe ur voice more listened bcos u r so famous.. everyone knows u

• Hikaru (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 12:22 am

The front looks alright but i reserve my opinion on the back since it is so heavily taped. But there is only that much one can hide and from the looks of it, it needs more work…….and a VW badge. muaha ha ha ha !

• motoaku (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 12:24 am

yeah..agree with u mr.proton….

come on bebeh….if making car like making nasik lemak/cekodok..

then i will be the basher for free…heheh…

• w_lighter (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 12:25 am

Looks uninspiring~~ sigh

• F430CS (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 12:26 am

the back is interesting indeed. I don't think it is bad. Hope the design lasts for a long time.

• motoaku (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 12:28 am

ok..mr proton..

hopefully the rim will be 6/7 spoc….heheh

with glovebox….

mp3 player + usb…

abs + ebd + air bag for front…

then…viva should bungkus…heheh…

but first …price la…tolong la…kalo bley nk bli keta pakai smpai mati…heheh….9 years bru utang abis…huhuh….kesian kita

• farghmee (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 12:29 am

ok~

how about the body strength this time? got any clue?

roll steel may be the same. what does "platform" really based on?

:)

• mr. proton (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 12:33 am

fargmee.. if it uses the savvy platform for sure the body strenth tpugh like savvy…

motoaku…

u rite… price this car cheaper than pricey viva with all the nice features.. viva can be blahla……..

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 12:40 am

agreed that mr.proton..

make me wanna vomit hearing those bashing…

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 1:09 am

proton.com said,

June 28, 2007 @ 3:39 pm

It didn’t look like savvy at all although it use the same platform

———————–

–> volvo S40 dont look like ford Focus although it uses the same platform.

• hush (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 1:17 am

the design n overall shape looks ok to me… not particularly nice but at least better than the current saga/iswara… A step forward taken by proton… the side doors do resemble the door of savvy especially the front door…

• sacker85 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 1:21 am

haha, like a matches box for rear, if the wheel arch is bigger must be cool… haha… nice try, but no good

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 1:23 am

Looks kinda like sedan version of Daihatsu Charade

• kambalingam (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 1:29 am

Looks so cacat…………..

• azhar167 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 1:32 am

The sawi is priced at rm40k, so this BLM to be priced more than rm40k too??

Then the p2 viva will run rings around it too, like the myvi run rings around the sawi…

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 1:38 am

wish there was front shots, then our beloved friend can render the front!

• daze (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 1:47 am

Hope it turn out nice..

although is heavily masked and tape.. the only portion i worry is the C frame top curvature.. it look a bit not nicely done aesthetically.(from pic 01)

hope i'm wrong…

and the oil cap…shouldn't it shape something else to suit the whole car design???

Good Luck Proton.

wish u all d Best

• e-by (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 1:48 am

The Gen2 sedan price I heard cheaper than Gen2 HB. If the 1.3HB price is RM46K, the Gen2 Sedan 1.3M should be around RM43. If the Gen2 1.3 Sedan is RM43, then the BLM must be RM40K. I expect the base M version will be around RM35-37K.

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 1:58 am

Come on, proton. Changes in design alone does not going to help. Must have better engines, gearboxes and suspension. Why Proton didn't uprade the campro lately?

• szw (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 2:06 am

i think its a savvy sedan .

• motoaku (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 2:09 am

heheh…mckk….campro already have 2/3 variant….normal,cps,vim, gas direct injection…

only time is against us…heheh,saba beb…tp tula…lelama sgt pon boring jadik nye…heheh,biasala….mentaliti demanding rakyat malaysia….proton speed it up…show us…

define better engine,better gearbox,suspension…

for model gen2 n above,suspension is better i would say….stakat bumper kecik2 tu takyah slowdown pon…..heheh,

gearbox jek lom buat sendrik….

• khimfoh (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 2:16 am

Hmmmm….the front looks slight longer than that of the Savvy..

Gone are the pull up type door lever handle

Gone is the centrally located muffler…

Gone is the front door downward slope…

And I think gone is the Renault engine…replaced by the Campro 1.3 engine..

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 2:41 am

Ala motoaku, faham2 jelah kereta proton sekarang ni. belum habis warranty lagi ade tanda nak rosak , macam mana tak geram? enjin macam siput, gearbox macan nak tolak batu, suspension macam selipar buruk. sepatutnya proton buat kereta lebih berkualiti. Ada Lotus Cars, suruh buat facelift je . Mana Boleh?

• 707 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 3:07 am

i like the grab handles!

• J (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 3:22 am

Anyone think the built quality has been improved for this round ?

• moto_moto (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 3:24 am

i must say this proton ala-ala vios.Not bad. thumb up..i like that seat design compare to gen2 bucket seat.buruk! if interior's quality good and it doesn't fit in with campro engine, i dont mind to buy this for 40+K or even 50K. i hate campro! i test drive neo 1.6, it's under power. Should throw that campro to sungai sarawak! Hopefully this time proton do it right :)

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 3:29 am

i tink the back bonnet has sting stick to it with the black tape….giving it that odd shape…very clear sting like a piece of plastic moulding on top of the rear bonnet…i tink not to give away too much in terms of how it looks like…also notice that the car sits quite low..thers very little space between the tyres and the fenders…looks like using 13inch tyres ! curious and itching to c the front though

• lx2cyruz (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 3:34 am

proton design s..t looking cars.

• thomaxis (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:04 am

no wonder it looked so small… feels like iswara has a "larger" feel…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:04 am

Savvy sedan comfirm! What i know is for sure using old campro 1.3L engine with 5-speed manual, and auto 4-speed also in consideration!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:05 am

mr. proton said,

June 28, 2007 @ 4:17 pm

ahaha.. bashers… ur nigtmare is here…. c’mon la.. siang malam u all bashing je keje apa dapat… why not giv comment on wat it shud like.. not jus “not nice” la.. xcantik la”.. its under testing.. so proton still hav chance to make it more bold and adoreable…

——————

"Lawn mover" on the road – more bold and adoreable! Aiya, ……….

• chery (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:28 am

walau! the side profile looks so cheap, like the Dacia Logan! they should blacken the B-pillar instead.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:53 am

What ever. I'll just wait until the models out. As long as all the car manufacturers doing well and in this case Proton, so that goverment no need to help and protect them via our money. If not someone out there will continue the same old story.

• KelvC (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 5:41 am

folks, i guess you would have noticed by now that the back lid is rather unnaturally straight hence it might not be the actual product. Overall, i believe, the BLM is targeted to mass market which is pretty much of Proton's formation intention that is to form a "People's Car" car manufacturer (ironically similar to VW back in the 40s).

To many commenters out there, please stick to the topic and be realistic and fair in your comments.

The overall quality of debate has gone down significantly if compared to couple of years ago. The use sms text is great however it should be used within text messaging context. A single noun or a one liner comment could be expanded to enable other readers to better understand your thoughts at that point of time. Let's make this a constructive forum for everyone's betterment.

Cheers!

• normaluser (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 6:19 am

i agree with chery. the B-pillar should be blackened. Notice that the Vios & Volvo S60 have body colored B-pillar which spoiled the side profile look.

the rims & tyres are so small and skinny too. I hope that Proton don't use those. The wheel arch is also less aggressive than the savvy.

I have a feeling that this car will be no more spacious than the Vios, which is pretty dissapointing.

• mits27 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 6:20 am

It looks ugly…

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 6:35 am

just wait for it to come out..then we will know how the design will actually look like….

• ariff (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 6:45 am

#

kei9 said,

June 28, 2007 @ 10:35 pm

just wait for it to come out..then we will know how the design will actually look like….

yeah..yeah..true…

• ys (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 6:54 am

sorry to say but i feel the design is disgusting.

hopefully the real production one will be better.

Quality, low cost.. have you place them in this car, Proton?

• nmh (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 7:19 am

another sibling for civic and latio sedan. Looks awfull from any angle

• nmh (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 7:20 am

not civic…i mean city….sorry

• NiceCar (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 7:25 am

Noticed that every1 with user name having a word "proton" alway mentioned "this basher" and "those basher"???

is it too sensitive when u hear some1 post to say their not like the proton car? or you are one of the proton tauke??? hahaha…

Every1 have their own opinions for the proton car mah… and this blog purposely to share opinion mah..

back to topic, just as The Unicons say: just wait until the models out.. then we judge it..

• ilmondo (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 7:34 am

i think d doors shuld b a little higher, wit smaller windows.

but overall i think its more than a decent design, hope its nice!

retains its savvy quality plz, increase its interior space n add some other nice bits. n dun 4get savvy's character. 5yrs warranty is welcoming! cant wait 4 r3!

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 7:49 am

why this time around so little bashers??boringnya!!!

my uncle gave me sum info(he knows sum ppl in proton)so hope its reliable info..if not pls forgive me.

it is a savvy sedan..torsional rigidity is equal to savvy..so ride and handling shud be better..

slighty heavier than savvy..lighter than gen2

interior has been redesign and QUALITY OF MATERIALS has been improved(not really sure bout this..really hoping its true!!!then most bashers boleh diam)

front has been modified to fit campro engines!!gearbox is not amt:-(

they said two engine choices but i dont know what will they fit in!!proton got no 1.5 so anyone have any idea??1.2 and 1.3 its impossible??so???

interior is dark…good news

it is more expensive than savvy but cheaper than myvi..it is directed at myvi..not viva!!

head unit still havent been considered..but most probably wif ipod jack but mp3??dont know yet…but it is targeted for young ppl..so shud be good head unit….

i am so looking forward for it!!!

is there any cps version for campro 1.3????hope there is…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 8:03 am

I think 2 kind of tramission, manual or auto.. more then 2 kind of engines.. Already got Gen.2, Satria neo & Waja have 1.6L.. Savvy sedan also got? I dont think so.. I think only for 1.3L old campro.. Since it is cheap, budjet car i dont think that expensive renault engine & AMT is in that savvy sedan!

• mzfnd (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 9:06 am

Seriously hoping that back end is a mask. If that's its real boot lid then we will have another Proton with a butt ugly err.. butt. The front end could be its saving grace though.

And Malaysians, let's pray this one looks good. Because, since it's BLM, most likely we are going to see lots of them on the streets.

• aizat84 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 9:30 am

It is not the final touch yet. I bet that is not the real rear bonnet. it is definately waja's bonnet that why we can see 2 place to put no. plate .. and i think the final plate place is at the bottom.

And the from bumper at the picture is using current gen-2 bumpers. that's why they disguise with using the black tape. it is not the final design yet. I quiet sure about that.

engine? no idea. maybe 1.3 campro.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 11:25 am

i see many comparing this model to Vios, why? Vios is 80k, BLM about 40k.

• armandd (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 1:40 pm

this BLM and vios are from the same class of car, that's why people compare them. vios is RM80k because of the ridiculous tax and excise duty, otherwise it would cost about 35-45k.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 2:52 pm

I'd say Vios is closer to Gen.2 than the BLM/Savvy… but then i might be wrong

anyhow, tax be damned, the Vios is priced at 80k, simple as that. Thats why it should not be compared…. it sucks, but yeah, foreign cars are pricier than it should be and we as consumer have to accept that and do a fair comparision instead.

People looking to buy the BLM when it comes out will be buying it becos they cant afford anything that cost 60k and above.. if u can afford a Vios, u wont even be looking at the BLM at all, no?

• azrai (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 3:26 pm

Actually, Proton already have bad reputation. Imagine this, a man who once stole something from his friend and get caught. Maybe after that, he never steal again. If his friend lose something again the next time, who's gonna be the suspect? Proton have poor quality before. Almost all Malaysian have experience with Proton's cars. What make thing worst is, foreign make cars are going cheaper and cheaper. People not reluctant to invest more money as long as they are satisfied because cars in Malaysia is overpriced. By the way, I think it's a good initiative from Proton to come out with mass produced car. It will help them a lot. Just make sure the pricing is right. And please, no continential parts again. Just look at Tiara and Savvy. People are quite 'scared' to own them. :)

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:15 pm

haha it is savvy sedan ??? when it will sell in market ??? any spec for the engine looks cute small body sedan …

• 1NZFE (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:49 pm

Still come out with uncompetative model. P1 has a history which always came out with uncompetative model.

1) Tiara

2) Juara

3) Arena

4) Sastria Neo

I think this new model will included in this list.

• e-by (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:55 pm

Frankly speaking, I like the design and I really don't mind of buying one. For me the most important thing is the price. This car price should be lower than RM40K (around RM35K (M)-RM38K (A). If they got HLine version, then it is ok to price is slightly above RM40K.

Anything above that will be hard to sell as I would rather buy a Gen2 Sedan for an extra RM3K-RM4K.

Savvy price must be slashed down to maybe RM32K (M) and RM35K (AMT).

If Proton can do this, I'm pretty sure Perodua will start lose the game really badly. I'm sick watching Perodua's antics and greed especially after the success of MyVi. The has become so greedy. Just look at how they price the Viva. It is way overpriced.

• e-by (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:57 pm

ankly speaking, I like the design and I really don't mind of buying one. For me the most important thing is the price. This car price should be lower than RM40K (around RM35K (M)-RM38K (A). If they got HLine version, then it is ok to price is slightly above RM40K.

Anything above that will be hard to sell as I would rather buy a Gen2 Sedan for an extra RM3K-RM4K.

Savvy price must be slashed down to maybe RM32K (M) and RM35K (AMT).

If Proton can do this, I'm pretty sure Perodua will start lose the game really badly. I'm sick watching Perodua's antics and greed especially after the success of MyVi. The has become so greedy. Just look at how they price the Viva. It is way overpriced.

• si-fu (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:57 pm

Guys, guys, guys (and also any ladies out there)…..hold your horses!!!!

First of all, this car is still in prototype stage( P-0 stage). There is still lot of things need to be done to this car. Secondly the car is heavily camoufludged, so pls dont judge it so quicly. Thirdly, the car uses a savvy elongated platform but the exterior design is totally new. The car comes in 2 variants, 1.3 A.T and M.T. The M.T comes with a new transmission which i can't reveal ( not Mitsu's one) and the A.T uses the Mitsu trans. The exterior and interior is well designed with proportionate boot space, ample amount of leg room at the back and good interior built and quality. The car will be using the latest technology of drive-by-wire and added safety features. The most interesting past of all this is, the pricing; it will be priced around the old saga/iswara (around 30K).

Hopefully this info is sufficient for everybody out there. Cheers!!!

p/s: Pls dont judge it by just looking at it, worst to say looking at the camoufludge one. Wait till its launched, then judge it. Btw it is scheduled to be launched end of december or early january 2008. Have a nice day!

• theking (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:58 pm

The car will replace Saga and will be on sale Dec 2007.

Engine will be Campro 1.3 + VIM.

NGV also available for taxi.

• proton.com (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 5:05 pm

The boot must be big, since it has option for NGV. Taxi operator will like this.

• waimak (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 5:15 pm

This one doesnt impress me much, probably it's under heavy 'masking'. However even with 'masking', one can always tell roughly how the design is. Well. this one, doesnt impress me much, so sorry. 1NZFE, I'm with you.

• Alifz (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 5:27 pm

I think most of you don't understand what is the function of the disguise. All this 'black' thing is the method on shaping the car using existing platform before transfer it to final mould. Looking at the current state of the BLM this process is yet finished, and need more time to finish the cues. So hope you all understand now.

For sure BLM going to use the Campro 1.3 engine. If not why they start to use Renault engine for Waja 1.8 and Savvy, and buy Clio's technology to make Savvy and Satria Neo? Renault has already helping Proton sincerely to achieve P1's goal, not like those culprit Mitsu and Citroen, and most of you out there still wanna contribute to them by buying their goods? Mitsu is the first person argue about Proton intention to establish R&D department, and together with Citroen giving to P1 geat investment loss with Tiara and Juara's platform. Lucky P1 managed to save the Juara's paltform and develod this for new Juara Replacement Model.

So just hope this BLM model will be good as Savvy, and P1's will bring new more model soon.

To 1NZFE, Arena(Jumbuck),Savvy and Satria Neo is fast selling model out of Malaysia especially in UK and OZ.

P.S. : Waiting for Putra Relacement Model hehe :->

• xstan (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 5:53 pm

Like The King said…I believe it released by year end as Govt said b4. I reserved by comments right after I see the final designed stage. At this stage, our eye deceived us as it was masked & they could be bodily change again.

I just hope it turn out simple & with contempary designed since the target market is for affordabale income demographic segment. It will definately would not please everyone especially the Bashers as they only pray for Protons early death & anticipate it turn out bad. Bashers just luv to curse & never pray for recovery. They will cheer if the designed fail as thier mission to kill is met. Issnt it…they are typical Baddies who just wish the sick guy to die.

• si-fu (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 5:54 pm

Alifz, just to clarify some things that u have said,…..the black 'thingy' that is pasted on the car are not used to shape the car….its a special scotch tape, used to only camoufludge the car. This tape can withstand high temperatures and has a good bond on the body of the car. The 'boxy' effect at rear end is done using polybox, sticked together with this scotch tape and then sprayed black. This car's exterior design has been finalized, only the interior is yet to be finalized. The stage that u were talking about, is the styling stage where clay models are used to refine the design either by hand or milling machine. Hope this info helps u. As i mentioned above, since this car is heavily camoufludged ( lots of boxy effect at rear and front), so pls dont judge it so early. It might suprise all of you once the product is launched. Cheers!!!

p/s: For futher info on this model, pls refer to my previous post. Thx.

• moto_moto (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 5:54 pm

campro?! alamak.. not this engine plz. if campro hopefully its with VIM or CPS.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 6:17 pm

Well in this case when the car comes out i'd rather get a 2005 Saga or a Gen2 CPS…which i won't anyway. Still waiting for a used Volvo S60 price to come down he he he

People who buy this 'elongated Savvy' are certainly patriotic, and don't know much about cars (well given the vast choices that we have but stupid enough to go for 9 year Loan)

• proton.com (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 6:24 pm

To si-fu,

Lots of information. Internal source?

anyway the 30k pricing seems a little bit hard to achieve. Since all car now except Saga and kancil (do we still have kancil now?) is higher than 30k.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 6:26 pm

1NZFE said,

June 29, 2007 @ 8:49 am

Still come out with uncompetative model. P1 has a history which always came out with uncompetative model.

1) Tiara

2) Juara

3) Arena

4) Sastria Neo

I think this new model will included in this list.

=> Well, too early to say as this model not even on sale yet. Just wait see how this model perform and most important the quality of the end product and pricing. By the way, doesn't mean these models as you mentioned didn't sell well in Malaysia so as other countries such as middle east countries etc. Even the Mercedes Benz new R-Class didn't sale well worldwide since the launched. However, other models sell well. So cheers OK?

• avanza (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 6:35 pm

Does anyone really know why proton can't sell in thailand and indonesia?

Paul? Do you have any theories?

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 6:37 pm

ITS A NEO SEDAN laaaaa………..

• si-fu (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 6:39 pm

Mr. proton.com…..hmmm about where i get the info, tak payah citer la….hehehehe. But wats the important ting is, how true and reliable is my info. Wat i can say is, my info is very very very reliable and about the pricing, thats the most latest info that i got. Proton is trying hard to price it around 30K. Intially, it was aimed to be arnd 35-38K, but then since this model is gng to replace the aging saga/iswara, they decided to price it around that. Hope this info helpes. Cheers!!!

• xstan (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 7:05 pm

I know is not relevant..but wiseman SiFu ..any hint on how much the Waja CPS pricing would be ah?? Heard is almost close RM70K?? Sorry guys ..I really donno how to send them personal mails??

• Jay (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 7:08 pm

Can't everybody see ! the R & D are very low in creative thinking. Another lousy product !

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 7:33 pm

Jay said,

June 29, 2007 @ 11:08 am

Can’t everybody see ! the R & D are very low in creative thinking. Another lousy product !

=> please tell us more what actually you want to say. tq

• si-fu (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 7:38 pm

Bofere i answer xstan query, with wat basis Jay are u claiming that the R&D is low in creative thinking and the product is lousy??? For Mr. Xstan thx for reading my comment. the Waja CPS pricing is not finalized yet. But most probably it will be priced below 70K. Maybe arnd 65 – 68K. I am only assuming on this….hope this helpes. Cheers!!!

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 7:38 pm

hameed koyakuti said,

June 29, 2007 @ 10:37 am

ITS A NEO SEDAN laaaaa………..

=> It's not neo sedan.

• proton.com (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 7:46 pm

Claiming that Proton RnD is low in creative thinking is serious accusations.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 7:51 pm

avanza said,

June 29, 2007 @ 10:35 am

Does anyone really know why proton can’t sell in thailand and indonesia?

Paul? Do you have any theories?

=> Proton not yet enter Thailand market. However, Proton already entered to Indonesia market and expanded it range with Gen.2 and Savvy back in 17 March 2007.

• longdongsilver (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 7:57 pm

Good, better late than never. Proton should be commended. i hope they at last phase out the Saga. It has done enough damage to them. Hopefully it is Priced in the mid 30s or low 40s since it has to fill the void left by the Saga. Too high and they will lose the market the Saga was meant to cater to.

Good luck to them. Looks good.

• Infinitt (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 8:10 pm

Neo sales quite good. their market are for young ppl n not like u mr INZFE (poor old produced toyota engine hehe..). G luck proton with this blm as the price really good.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 8:12 pm

I want the interior looks of this car. hahaha…. hopefully someone out there able to get it…. :)

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 8:40 pm

Please P1,make a response from our opinion..

built somethin that reliable for us to ride..

hopefully then,will make us proud of u…

P1 Boleh..

• owaief (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 9:37 pm

cant wait…

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 10:30 pm

what do yall thnik it will be called?

• Alifz (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 10:31 pm

I don't understand why most of the comment condemn the design of the Proton cars. If Proton's design is too bad why Satria Neo and Gen-2 get a whelming response from the Japanese at last Tokyo Autoshow? Don't you compare it with Juara and Savvy, because the base model is old fashioned vehichle.

Anyway I love Waja design, very evergreen (also like Merc W124 coupe model). Maybe Proton could develop FR Waja Coupe.

• Wai (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 10:37 pm

new car, new design….but all will be lost if they use the existing engines available such as 4GxxP, Campro without the PRO, Renault SOHC.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 10:42 pm

i think that japanese never tested the cars…….so they donno what to think about the cars…..

but they like the design though.

• farizal13 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 11:09 pm

no wonder P1 not make much profit…..bad design…

• thecrash (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 11:22 pm

agree with si-fu. Most people dont know development and production stage in automotive sector. Only know how tu complain n complain. This model still under testing. Black tape just to make people curious. Yup some changes could be happened but the not much from what you see now.. Its powered by CAMPRO. I'm using neo and know how good drive-by-wire tech. So just wait for this car release.

• Ang8888 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 11:22 pm

Bad Design? Isn't it too early to judge?

I reserve my thought. Without the camourflage, it will look totally different.

• normaluser (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 11:34 pm

Really hope P1 can price it below RM 35K. For sure it will eat the overpriced Myvi & Viva for good.

• ... (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 11:58 pm

what can i say…

to be frank most malaysians are bashers. who types without knowledge of the subject.

That is a prototype mule. it is heavily taped to disguise its real shape. underneath the tape they usually put plastic corrugated sheets to hide the curves of the body. you can see it on the boot and front fenders (to hide the front headlamp shape).

How can you judge the shape by seeing this taped-up mule?

PS. anyone caught glimpse of a more heavily taped car running currently around malaysia?

• aj3377 (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 12:33 am

wahhhhhhhh… everytime proton car goes in this blog…. sure gaduh punya…. kekekekeee

• longdongsilver (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 12:35 am

The front end has a slightly longer Neo look. This may be to clear the Campro engine which had clearance issues when installed in the Savvy. The roof line is definately from the Savvy. With the VIM by Bosch, the Campro should be an excellent all round engine.

Since this is a sedan, when priced in the 30K range, it would give some serious competition to the Perodua cars. I hope it goes this way. Pricing it above the 35K mark would be a bad idea. Some people might even be silly enough to buy a Viva over the BLM even though they are in different maket segments.

Perodua's strength is that they managed to have so many trim levels for Myvi (and Viva although overpriced), that they were able to cater to many people with different budgets. Proton should do this to with a bare bones car to a high trim level car between 33,999 to 43,999 (Saga was sold at an all time low of RM28K I think). Since the cost of developing the Campro is probably amortized (hopefully!!!), they can keep the cost lower than the Renault engined Savvy.

They should copy Perodua's business model and come out with both guns loaded. Don't try to reinvent the wheel, if Perodua made it work with the Malaysian public, then Proton should copy that.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 1:07 am

mr. proton said,

"wat i want giv some morale suport for them to ensure less complaint and criticsm when this car unveil."

————-

If this statement honestly come out from heart, this time I agree and salute you for what you stand. But I still do not respect what P1 do to it consumers for more than 10 years even for issue like "open door pay tol"! That why P1 will specifically lost one more P1 loyal "Joe Ooi" consumer once I decided to change to Hilux when get new vehicle in future!

Moral support? Rakyat give almost everything from tax payer monies to NAP yet get low quality cars from P1 lol, but they still tidur!

• transformer (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 1:17 am

hopes P1 better be good this time or else….

• kody (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 1:29 am

wahlaueh…

Look at what si-fu said the BLM seen to be quite promising if really keep at low price & comfort ride… please keep the quality as top priority in order to gain people confident…

please design to have enough head room… not like Neo (at front), GEN2 (at back)

• e-by (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 1:32 am

For me, design is already ok if not excellent. The main thing is the pricing. If the price is RM30K as what has been said by our insider here, it is a very good news to the public. I'm also very sure Perodua will suffer becoz they've become too greedy since the success of MyVi by pricing the Viva at the ridiculously high price. I won't surprise if Proton will eventually beat Perodua by 1Q 2008.

To Sifu, I guess you're working with Proton. Pls tell your R&D engineers not to mess up again with all the mistakes happened in your Gen2. Pls make sure your interior quality at least at par with Myvi. Don't ever do silly mistakes like no glove box, PW switches at the middle (it should be at the door!), seat design and fabric quality etc. etc. I owned a Gen2 since 2004 and I can list down to you 101 mistakes Proton engineers did to the Gen2. Sometimes the mistakes was soo obvious until I thought the Proton R&D people are working with no brains. Maybe Tg Mahaleel does not pay attention into build quality since he only interested in racing. Hopefully your new CEO won't be like him.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 1:37 am

longdongsilver said,

June 29, 2007 @ 4:35 pm

'Since this is a sedan, when priced in the 30K range, it would give some serious competition to the Perodua cars. I hope it goes this way. Pricing it above the 35K mark would be a bad idea. Some people might even be silly enough to buy a Viva over the BLM even though they are in different maket segments.'

==please read again ur above statement. something not rite!

agreed it might have competition to P2 cars. the pricing around 30K to 40K is still ok compared to Viva. A new option/choice for comsumers. People buying viva over this model is not silly. rephase again, "not silly". this model haven't launch yet and don't know when. Can be compared at the moment. moreover, is individual taste, need, budget, running cost, etc… a simple question for u, will u buy a smart forfour 1.3 over a myvi 1.3 or gen2 1.3? someone does.

so is irrelevant claim, mate. hahaha………think again please, will u?

• dzat46 (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 1:52 am

Price it arnd RM25K…that what this type of car real price is….really disgusted wt our artificially tax inflated prices.

• Kalam (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 2:15 am

Hope this time, no more "Proton Cacat" (poorly built car) or "Poton Lalat" (high vibration, noise and harshness cabin)…

RAISE YOUR STANDARDS!…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 2:22 am

proton.com said,

June 29, 2007 @ 11:46 am

Claiming that Proton RnD is low in creative thinking is serious accusations.

————————-

What is this serious accusation? It is indeed BASELESS accusation.

It should read as "Claiming that Proton RnD is low in INNOVATION thinking is seriously is a FACT".

Highly engineering or technological products always talk about innovation (science). For non-technological products like fashion, painting, then it is always refer to creative/artistic (art) products.

Are you agree with me? if not then I would to hear from you!

• longdongsilver (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 3:34 am

tec96248,

it is my opinion. Viva is not worth the money. I also happen to know that the BLM is a good car (at least for testing). Quality will dictate whether the production model is good. Just not sure about the price. I think the track record of the Savvy would be good enough to vouch for the BLM.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 3:41 am

From the pics, the dash board meter no longer have the Ladies Bra Type Design…Must be following the design like Savvy. good efford from Proton. Hopefully, they will do away with those Bra Type design in future.. looks really ugly. N unlike savvy, hopefully they will not have a square hole on the pasengger dash board, looks like a tong sampah. just close it neatly like myvvi without airbag.

• peYno (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 4:34 am

longdongsilver said,

June 29, 2007 @ 4:35 pm

They should copy Perodua’s business model and come out with both guns loaded. Don’t try to reinvent the wheel, if Perodua made it work with the Malaysian public, then Proton should copy that.

================

perodua mde it works becoz the company run by Japanese.. .. no matter how good the car.. if it's run by Malaysia,.. ppl wudn't trust it.. believe me

• moto_moto (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 4:37 am

whoaaa…panas.mcm oven.guys, dun be such ridiculous. to bashers, dun bash blindly just because its p1. to be honestly, I'm not a p1 supporter either.my family own peroduas, neither 1 of us bought proton,because we prefer the quality. But this time if u say this BLM ugly u are Bodo! Thats too much. I used to bashed proton oso. If this car come out within price of 40k in s'wak, i choose this rather than viva. If u say viva cantek, i don think so. Now P1 do it right i must support. P2 sudah naik kepala with overprice viva, sorry..i must say no! and 1 more thing, myvi is good so protonian oso must admit it. I still have faith on you proton. Keep up!:) but plz upgrade your quality! i repeat it again:Plz no campro in this!:) peace to proton and perodua:)

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 5:11 am

To moto_moto. I agree with you.

Don't just write what ever we like BLINDLY. Got correct facts never mind.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 5:12 am

To kei9. Have you read the comment from hameed koyakuti for me? The one he said ….. It is a NEO Sedan. Lu budak2 apa tau……….( Highly classisfied infomation ). What do you think?

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 5:31 am

Relax mr.proton. cool down because it's saturday then sunday again. relax.

• moto_moto (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 5:36 am

look carefully at the 1st photo, It using wira front bumper. so, the final design is not done yet. i have the instinct saying this is not neo sedan. If yes why don they put on neo bumpers intead of wira's right?i dont think its a savvy sedan neither because it doesnt inherit savvy's 'characters' at all. Correct me if im wrong.i would say its totally a new design. just my 2sen. btw, isn't that wira head lamp oso? Anyway better wait for the finalize design

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 5:47 am

looks like i already know which is the really p1 supporters.

i will give good comment on this if they are really produce a good quality cars with good parts and did not have to maintain frequently. but if they still staying in the old way for sure i will bash them for the rest of my life.

to djvanilla:

malaysian. i'm not malaysian. i'm very ashamed to be malaysian because of the G. no proud at all.

and now another p1 basher is coming!

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 5:52 am

To eeheng. How about Buka Lu Mata (BLM) meaning ask you to open your eyes. Please wake up! This is not old models and old technology which you found in old models from Proton (excluding savvy & satria neo) as the last two models, improved a lot than ever before. so stay tune.

This one could be even better. So please don't simply write negative things. Think possitive at least a bit.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 6:00 am

To PTAllTheBest. Sorry if I'm wrong on this as your message just after mine. If you saying about me, sorry I'm not Proton supporter. Just an ordinary car fans.

• nizam80 (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 6:01 am

Some smarty pants here says it’s a Neo Sedan. Wahlauweii!!! Neo sedan got high roof line meh???

Guys, as the headlamps are heavily taped, I noticed the headlamps look larger than usual. If u look carefully, it looks similar to the Savvy’s headlamps, except for the position of the turn signal indicators which are integrated to the inner side of each headlamp.

Si-fu,

I know its fitted with the Campro (without CPS), but does it include the Variable Intake Manifold as well? New gearbox? Not from Mitsubishi? Is it from PROTON????? Please tell us. My mouth watering already.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 6:06 am

hi nizam80. long time no hear. thanks for the imput. some "SMART" guys with his/her "Highly classisfied infomation" want to argue with me. I'll see how he/she answer my questions

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 6:09 am

To nizam80. I don't think the gearbox (transmission system) is from Proton itself as to build the gearbox it really need very high costs to build. Even BMW gets some of its gearbox from ZF.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 6:16 am

hey..this BLM's back have a stark resemblance with dacia logan….

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/480062/+60

im the one posting the thread….

• theking (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 6:17 am

nizam80,

The BLM will use Campro 1.3 with Variable Intake Manifold(VIM/IAFM) only.

This is an entry model car to replace existing SAGA.

Anyway the upcoming WAJA MC3 Phase 2 and Gen2 Hatchback FaceLift next month will have Campro 1.6 with CPS.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 6:23 am

to the unicons:

sorry if i have offend u and if u r not a real p1 supporter. i just only log in late.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 6:35 am

Anywayz.. VIM is mated with CPS to improve low torque at Campro.. If BLM want to be cheap i dont think VIM also in the engine, is useless to put in and i think the torque may only improve a bit.. Campro 1.3 is the best on its category, i dont think having VIM will help him cut cost.. VIM is from bosch, so having it is like paying license to Bosch on each VIM.. Only what i know CPS is from Lotus.. So big chances for cheap budjet car is just a old campro 1.3 engine with manual tranmission..

• moto_moto (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 6:48 am

proton! if really u will fit this with Campro make sure u campor with VIM other wise u will bungkus. Campro really bad low end torque.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 6:54 am

Can I say for example this car look at naked eye, the backside is dummy as it is tap all over and look like "one-piece" stick to the hatchback as Paul indicate it is based on modified Savvy platform, that in turn modified from Clio II that Savvy acquired it outmoded D4F 1.2L engine.

Log on below and see how the similarity between this BLM (minus buttock) and Clio II: –

http://www.cars-directory.net/gallery/renault/cli…

http://www.cars-directory.net/history/renault/cli…

Claimed to be the most powerful engine in it class by some ignorant Protonian out there. But the true fact is this engine is the smallest "lawn mover" and "entry level" capacity for Clio II. Clio engine portfolio included 1.4L, 1.6L, 1.8L, 1.9L & 2.0L.

Why don't this P1's junk acquired 1991 1.8L 16-valve engine producing 137hp capable of reaching 125mph (200 km/h)?

• wucie (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 7:06 am

for me, proton still dont have a good ideas to beat toyota or honda especially the design…so many of us, who have a little budget 'terpaksa' buy this car to show their own stylish..hahaha

• king (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 8:43 am

agreed with normaluser and longdongsilver,

if this car priced between 30k-35k ppl still buy super overpriced 1.0L 44k viva….then they are not only silly but brainless as well. coz dis is 1.3L category. of course it is still too early to say until we see the actual car.

but based on current info….only the price n built quality will determine whether it will eat perodua katak/viva alive….ahhaha

unfortunately….there are many brainless ppl around….

i once asked a friend (girl) whether she prefers a new mercedez slk200k or p2 myvi if both cars selling at rm50k. guess what was her answer? she prefer p2 myvi.

reason??????

coz she said no need maintenence (low maintenence)

typical 3rd world mentality of malaysians….sigh

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 9:45 am

king, I have no intention of being rude, though my statement may sound sexist, it is a fact that women should NEVER EVER deny: when it comes to car, women are pathetic. Oh sure, the papers are trying to change that thought by featuring some hot-looking celebrities, models, or w/e saying "I desire for M6", "I wished for Enzo Ferrari", "Golf GTi is my choice", but that changes nothing.

I showed my classmate before a picture of my (ex-)dream car, Murcielago (now it's the one with LP640 spyder at the back ;)), and she thought it was useless w/o space for shopping/kids. I decided to NEVER EVER talk abt cars with any women at all since then.

Now, abt the spy pic. It does look like it's based on the Savvy's platform, which is good thing. Only, I'm just afraid they might repeat the mistake in Gen2: horrid interior which uses "WIN!! FREE!! SAVE!!" materials. Then, on a more careful inspection, the 3rd brake light doesn't look like LED to me, though I hope I'm wrong at this.

Just make sure it can fit in the Campro instead of the Renault engine, and it'll be great. Also, I'm sure they'll offer a H-line model with ABS and airbag, a strong selling point of a car in Msia. This is indeed, a commendable effort by Proton in their serious attempt to become even with the rest of the field.

And yet.

I'm gonna agree with king. Sorry Proton, you've worked hard, and yet you're nt forgiven by the Msians thanks to the old management and the gahmen. We are a country who couldn't give a sheez abt Lotus RnH, tough bodyshell, etc, we just selfishly want a "washing machine with 4 wheels" which is ultra reliable (as if), cheap (yeah right), and made in Japan or anything associated with it (absolute statement).

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 9:58 am

what kind of shit design is that? just might beat the savvy in terms of the ugliest car in the world.

no hope man this proton. management who allow this to be made deserve to be shot. 10 times.

• peYno (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 2:21 pm

The Unicons said,

June 29, 2007 @ 9:52 pm

To eeheng. How about Buka Lu Mata (BLM) meaning ask you to open your eyes. Please wake up! This is not old models and old technology which you found in old models from Proton (excluding savvy & satria neo) as the last two models, improved a lot than ever before. so stay tune.

====================================

well said bro..eventho ..last 2 models(savvy n neo) has good track, those blind bashes keep talking about power windows/ saga/wira problems..

prrrfthh

pity them

• nizam80 (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 3:36 pm

The Unicons, and theking,

Thanks for your reply. If the gearbox is not from Mitsubishi, then probably, it’ll be from Renault (And is VW a possibility too?). Of course I’m only guessing here.

However, is it possible to match the Campro engine with the Renault gearbox, as from my knowledge, Campro engines are only design to be match with Mitsubishi gearboxes, as the development of the Campro engine (S4PH and S4PE) itself is based on the Mitsu’s 4G18 engine. Anybody is free to correct me if I’m wrong.

• king (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 5:02 pm

mr. topgun,

still a little too early to condemn the design, right?

myvi ain't an award winner in terms of design but it still sell like hot cakes. In fact, if there was an award for ugliest car in think myvi could win top 3 position. sadly, ppl here dun give a damn bout design. thats y my eye sakit see so many ugly,bulky,boxy cars around.

designwise i think p1 beats p2 hands down in recent models. can't say the same bout built quality/space though.

• king (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 5:09 pm

well said tokmoh

• moto_moto (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 7:40 pm

back to topic. my opinion:

1)this car – ok for this moment

2)savvy – ugly.no matter u wanna call it lotus or wat ever. i dun wan to sit in this car.malu!

3)myvi – good bargain. for me the burit is acceptable.

4)viva – No!

current saga – ok if budget and need a car

kancil – ok but drive kfully because its a cheap car and don belagak drive laju2. know it capability.

vios – very good! but expensive.i cant afford.

gen2 – disaster!

neo – ok.better built quality.but down by campro engine. plus its 2 door. i need 4 door sedan. maybe u need only 2 door.:) fine.

perdana – good car but org gila only want to spend 100K for this:)

and lastly, second hand imported brand – maybe u can use. but not me.u know y?because who knows maybe the previous owner carried mayat. or for malays to consider, wat if mayb previous owner carried babi. Maybe the driver korek hidung in his car and grabbed steering.u buy u grab oso.muahaha. Maybe the previous owner had sex in his car, sperm splashed all over.u buy u smell his sperm.muahaha. no offence yo!

• moto_moto (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 8:57 pm

back to topic. MY OPINION:

1)this car – the design is ok for this moment.quality is still a questian mark.

2)savvy – ugly.no matter u wanna call it lotus or wat ever. i dun wan to sit in this car.malu!

3)myvi – good bargain. for me the burit is acceptable.

4)viva – No!

5)current saga – ok if budget and need a car

6)kancil – ok but drive kfully because its a cheap car and don belagak drive laju2. know it capability.

7)vios – very good! my dream car.but expensive.i cant afford.

8)gen2 – disaster!

9)neo – ok.better built quality.but down by campro engine. plus its 2 door. i need 4 door sedan. maybe u need only 2 door.:) fine.

10)perdana – good car but org gila only want to spend 100K for this:)

and lastly, second hand imported brand – maybe u can use. but not me.u know y?because who knows maybe the previous owner carried mayat. or for malays to consider, wat if mayb previous owner carried babi. Maybe the driver korek hidung in his car and grabbed steering.u buy u touch his taik idung oso.muahaha. Maybe the previous owner had sex in his car, sperm splashed all over.u buy u smell his sperm.muahaha.

But if wanna buy second hand car because u cant afford new 1, then it become your best choice. no offence yo!

• moto_moto (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 9:31 pm

Lets back to the topic. my opinion:

1)BLM – the design is ok for me at this moment but quality still a question mark. 1.3 is enuf for me.

2)current saga – ok for budget buyer

3)savvy – ugly.no matter u wanna call it lotus or wat ever. i dun 1 to sit in this car.embarrassing!

4)myvi – i like. good bargain. for me the burit is acceptable. u don like just say NO and leave.

5)viva – No! overpriced. the width too narrow compare to its long.

6)kancil – ok but drive kfully because its a cheap car and don belagak drive laju2. know it capability.

7)vios – very good! my dream car but expensive.i cant afford at this time.

8)gen2 – disaster!

9)neo – ok.better built quality.but down by campro engine. plus its 2 door. i need 4 door sedan because im a family guy.maybe u need only 2 door.:) fine.

10)perdana – Very good car but org gila only want to spend 100K for this:) Sori paul if u drive perdan:)

and lastly,

11)2nd hand imported brand – maybe u can use. but not for me.u know y?because who knows maybe the previous owner carried mayat. or for malays to consider, wat if mayb previous owner carried babi. Or consider this situation where the driver korek hidung in his car and grabbed steering/gera knob.u buy u touch oso.muahaha. Or maybe the previous owner had sex in his car, sperm splashed all over.u buy u smell his sperm. u tumpang ur gf,ur gf oso smell other man's sperm.muahaha. I envy for those who able to live with second hand car. for me those factors keep haunted me.

no offence yo! So, a second hand definitely not a solution for me.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 9:40 pm

dats what i call a full review…

• AboutJane (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 9:59 pm

asal keta proton ajer, mesti panas jer forum ni disebabkan oleh basher2 yg membuta-tuli je bash. macam org putus cinta. x kira apa improvement yg cuba dibuat oleh proton etc. mesti kena bash giler. even part kecik2 pun komplen..kereta nye tak kuar lagipun. sigh. bila protonians came and SHARE and EXPLAIN the facts that diaorg tahu about what proton doing…..sampai lubang cacing cari silap proton/flaws. isk isk isk. now aku paham napa bebudak proton mestila melenting…x nyempat2 bash. come on la…balik2 isu power window, quality…etc.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 10:53 pm

dear mr joe ooi,

come on man…you love to argue..u love to show off and u love to brag and and u LOVE TO BASH PROTON!!

if u say other are not logic…what about u then???lawn mover,milo tin and etc is it logic??

let The Unicons say out his opinion…we are not write and essay…or this is not an english club forum..so we dont have to be accurate in grammar and etc..and who told you positive and negative is only applicable for mathematics man???check any dictionary and u will know it!!

i own a proton waja..infact i was the 1st few to drive it and its already going to be 7 years this october.i travelled 195324 kilometers already.the problems i had…power window failure once for driver side..and once the rear left door..after i change it..touch wood..i still dont have any power window failure.

then rear door handles were broken..changed it..so its still working fine…front left halogen bulb once..rest is of the problem was in the engine..but that also lately only..because of the age of the car..but its still handling well…i am still using it till today everyday and its part of my daily life..it is so attached to me..and most people here are the same..so how can you call something that have served me well for 7 years a milo tin and junk???

and futhermore proton starting from waja is using much stronger steel for their body panel compared to japanese makes!!this is the fact!!if i am wrong please prove me wrong!!the G hace been sucking our money but the victim is company such as proton and etc..toyota,honda and other car makes were not great cars when they first came out..and experience do count when it come to innovation…

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 11:17 pm

#

longdongsilver said,

June 29, 2007 @ 7:34 pm

tec96248,

it is my opinion. Viva is not worth the money. I also happen to know that the BLM is a good car (at least for testing). Quality will dictate whether the production model is good. Just not sure about the price. I think the track record of the Savvy would be good enough to vouch for the BLM.

==hmm……..i know is ur opinion but have to be made sense also, rite? this blm model hasn't out yet and we don't know the price for sure. as i mentioned earlier can't be compare with viva at the moment. but viva is a choice to buy other than the existing proton saga. as i hv said earlier, it is very subjective and own individual needs. example: if u like it, u buy it eventhough it is expensive. fair statement? somehow hopefully will benefit us, since consumer will have more choices and options . ok?

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 2:01 am

What can I say. Very interesting forum indeed. Once there is about Proton, I can see many people will come here to give their opinions and so on. Other topics about the Merz, BMW etc. not that hot! ~ Laugh ~

Happy new week everyone.

• bmpower (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 2:24 am

nizam80. I like your style.. really balanced commentor.

And the typical Oiiii oiiiii.. barking as usual.. like my neighbour dog (that i'ved smash with kayu last month). *you think you so pointfull hah!?

FYI.. i just tested 'tin milo myvi' YES! it's softer than savvy. Don't believe it? try it.. go check ur self.. push little bit hard on the door.. let see what happen then.. (then runaway from that car :D )

So.. i think.. after the savvy model.. all proton is not tin milo yet.. but the p2 goin to be milo tin..

anyway.. this BLM look FUGLY in my eye. Evo wannabe? Pleaseeee.. no!.. Not everyone like evo mah… Ok.. i'll wait to bash after the real model launch.. wish this is not the final one..

• Paul Tan on Jul 01, 2007 at 4:28 am

I just spent ages trimming the comments in this post from 190+ down to 150+. that's 40 unrelated comments full of people just insulting each other just because they are in disagreement with each other's opinions.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 5:49 am

wow paul, u actually took the time to trim the comments, poor u!

anyways, i wonder if they are gonna call it a 2nd generation something, like satria -> satria neo, wira -> gen 2, saga -> nextgen saga?

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 6:12 am

typo

i think it wll still be called as saga..without any add ons…..hey guys..paul done all than for us…so be considerate.

• fastcx (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 7:12 am

From the pic, my feeling tells me the headlight might b the same as savvy…overall the car looks ok, 1.3 campro with vim would be a good engine for this car, as the car isnt heavy i guess, if its at savvy level. AMT is impossible, then CVT also impossible if it's placed at rm30k~40k…would b a nice car when this kid come out

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 7:47 am

Wow Paul, do house keeping! A lot more tidy and fresh clean air. No more polluted by bashers and protonian! Must be shed some fat.

Pricing for BLM below RM 40 K is impossible if all the features put in. To price it above RM 40K also impossible since it is same prcing with at least Gen-2! So, better don't produce this car as it is either another crap like Tiara, or another over price Viva!

• fastcx (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 9:02 am

Dude, stop being negative

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 9:35 am

Another -ve thingy again, aiya Paul Tan already rub off from this thread!

P1 all model never achieve economy of scale and all the way it is price relatively higher in this NAP car tax land. Can this car price at said starting from RM 9K ++ just like Chery QQ doing in China?

Do you think this car really can offer to Malaysian market, anything less than RM 30K? with all the CPS, Airbag, ABS, EBD, thingies etc etc etc!

Remember, I don't make unrealistic assumption, Waja (A) can sold at RM 38K at Langkawi!

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 9:39 am

its about being realistic not negative. this car is trash.

its expected of proton anyway. should have learnt a lesson from the savvy. ugly cars dont sell. u dont want to wake up every morning ready to go to work and look at the car then vomit. nowadays even bargain basement cars need to look good to even compete.

only a car company confident with thier government given monopoly on the malaysian car industry would dare to release this car. this car like the savvy has already failed from the testing stages.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 9:58 am

Look at the rim, if anything it is an indication, it look like drum brake that even worst than stone age Iswara! TOTAL RIP OFF

STOP THE BUYING! STOP THE SUCKING!

STOP THE SPYSHOT! STOP THE DISAGREEMENT! and save PT time to erase unnecessary comments!

• fastcx (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 11:21 am

sigh, paul just cleaned the air and now the pollution is back, y not u check out are there any new car that come with drum brake? and topgunthang, "its expected of proton anyway." is called realistic or it's all in your brain? if u dont like it, then go vomit by ur self. it's useless to brag and cry in here, it wont bring u the car you want, just let the others to voice out and stop putting out wat paul deleted just now!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 3:43 pm

I think its going to be a successful car. we will see how much it is priced

• ilmondo (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 7:37 pm

for this kind of mass production people's car, it shuld hav a more 'easy' 2 d eye styling, instead of the daring styling of the savvy. i like savvy's styling a lot, it has character! but i think its problem is tat it doesnt suit the majority's taste. but if its marketed as a hot hatch tat emphasizes on sheer driving characteristics, i think its fine! so therefore, i feel tat dis car shuld take some styling cues from the satria neo instead as its easier for everyone to accept. dis car needs to b good, if it is replacing saga. it wil hav 2 b cheap, reliable, economical, fun to drive, generous on safety, and all the good traits of protons so tat rakyats get 2 njoy. shuld b a direct, honest n a simple car. unique designs? wait til every1 gets 2 accept, or wait til u r planning a limited/special edition of your future models! goodluck proton! BLM needs to b good!

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 7:42 pm

This car must sell at Below RM 30k oni will sell well. Else will be the same case as that ugly Savvy

• jcw9960 (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 9:02 pm

Interesting thread, and a very long one too.

Joe Ooi's comment caught my attention.

Hi Joe…

Just want to correct you on some points mentioned:

"modified Savvy platform, that in turn modified from Clio II that Savvy acquired it outmoded D4F 1.2L engine"

The Savvy is NOT based on the Clio II platform. The Clio II is a much larger car – I guess you've never been in one nor have driven one, so don't speculate on something you have no facts on. The Savvy was designed with the assistance of a Korean company that helped develop its platform.

Then there's this "outmoded D4F 1.2L engine" that you also have no knowledge of, as I see it. This IS a new engine, developed for use in Renault's small cars like the Twingo and Clio. Its a very modern unit, and recently Renault released a sportier version of this engine called TCE 100 with a turbo-charger. It has 100 bhp and is in service on the Twingo GT, some Clio and Modus models.

I had the opportunity to drive a Clio II with this D4F 1.2L engine with AMT on a holiday covering about 5000 kms. Its a gem of an engine. So fuel efficient – I'm not used to such kind of efficiency (my normal car is 1.6L auto and this little Clio gave me an average of 52 MPG on the highway without trying very hard – the best I've ever seen with my 1.6L is about 38 MPG and that's really being careful) And the Clio is no slow-poke. I will top 170 km/h with no drama, and stay there for as long as there's fuel in the tank. And the ride comfort is so good! We were 3 people with luggage, and the little Clio coped with all that wonderfully – great ride and handling, super economy and very, very stable at high speed. It had drum brakes at the back, but the car stopped without fuss everytime. I had to use the ABS once to avoid a careless motorist and the Clio stopped on a dime with no drama.

So, the Savvy has this D4F engine which I think is brilliant. I didn't like the AMT system at first, but after a few days I got used to it and now I see it as a good alternative to someone coming out of a manual transmission system and wanting a self-shifting device. Its actually quite fun to use, once you get the hang of it.

OK, I agree that the Savvy isn't built like a Clio. Buy hey, its a budget car so we have to expect the expected. Sure, Proton does not have the economies of scale as enjoyed by the bigger brands (like Renault since we're talking about the Clio). Its a pity that everyone compares the Savvy to the Myvi – Savvy actually competes with the Kelisa in all respects. The Myvi is a larger car.

There will be people who dislike the Savvy (like you, but I sense your issue is with Proton in total for whatever reason). It interior is very low-rent, and its styling is a little misjudged. And it has to carry the poor image of its predecesor as extra baggage.

But there will be people who can take to the Savvy pretty easily. Its a fine handling car that's fun to drive and has a rather good engine. I see its styling as youthful. Combine all that and you have a rather exuberant little car that's always willing to play with the bigger ones.

Not perfect for sure, but not disasterous.

• jcw9960 (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 9:09 pm

Oh, by the way…Paul TAN, you're doing a great job.

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 9:30 pm

hey theres a video of the supposedly dubbed 'savvy sedan' ect BLM which i personally say is quite big….but i dun think that it's a BLM but some other p1 model…..

see my tread ……

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/480062/+120

• jcw9960 (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 9:39 pm

Hmm…it is rather large.

But I wouldn't discount it as the Savvy sedan. You could stretch the platform and make it bigger (like what they did to the Mit. Lancer-Carisma platform)

Then again, it looks wider too and stretching width is no easy task (and very expensive too.)

I'm curious….

• moto_moto (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 9:46 pm

yeah..no more eyesore.thanks paul.

I think pricing this car below 30K with abs/airbags is way too difficult to be realized.

Like Ilmondo said this car should hav a more ‘easy’ 2 d eye styling, no need 'huha-huha' over styling. All rakyat need is a car that is affordable, economical, but up to date technology la of course. Par with myvi's standard,safety features,quality is enough.

• moto_moto (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 9:58 pm

kei9,

clue: the 7 spoke rims.hermmm…. looks like gen2 sedan rims.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 10:03 pm

why dis car looks terencat??uuurrrggghhh

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 10:06 pm

moto_moto – yeah…. but they can exchange rims whenever they want right?

• moto_moto (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 10:13 pm

yes.ur right indeed.I just notice the roof line. difintely not gen2 curvy roof line.

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 10:14 pm

more like a PRM ect perdana replacement model??

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 11:18 pm

jcw9960 said,

July 1, 2007 @ 1:02 pm

Interesting thread, and a very long one too.

Joe Ooi’s comment caught my attention.

Hi Joe…

Just want to correct you on some points mentioned:

“modified Savvy platform, that in turn modified from Clio II that Savvy acquired it outmoded D4F 1.2L engine”

The Savvy is NOT based on the Clio II platform. The Clio II is a much larger car – I guess you’ve never been in one nor have driven one, so don’t speculate on something you have no facts on. The Savvy was designed with the assistance of a Korean company that helped develop its platform.

Then there’s this “outmoded D4F 1.2L engine” that you also have no knowledge of, as I see it. This IS a new engine, developed for use in Renault’s small cars like the Twingo and Clio.

——————

OK dude, it is good point. My sentence pertaining to modified is actually related to the D4F engine! If u interprete it as related to "modified platform" then your clarification is fine, and have no objection with what you said!

But I can't agree with your last statement that D4F is a new engine as it is fitted in Clio II that ceased production few month earlier than launch of Savvy in 2005, and no longer use in latest Twingo or Clio III.

You may mean new engine but old model just like new Iswara but stone age model!

Log on below to see the latest offering from Twingo and see what engine they use, read yourself to get the facts: –

http://www.duemotori.com/news/auto_news/13479_Ren…

"Renault New Twingo joins Clio III and Modus as the latest recipient of the new TCE 100hp (turbo control efficiency) petrol engine, one of the GT version’s exclusive features. In addition to its punchy performance, it combines the fuel consumption of a 1.2-liter motor with the power of a 1.4-liter powerplant and the torque of a 1.6-liter engine."

Even if they use D4F engine it is still old tech carry over from Clio II.

Back to the spyshot, they can change anything they like including the rim or whatever, but the fact remain is the final decision is still cost! Either it will become affordable Base Line Model or become Bash Lame Model that get lukewarm response from the public just like Savvy and Neo despite so much hu hu ha ha at the time of launching!

• Paul Tan on Jul 01, 2007 at 11:57 pm

jcw9960 and joe ooi, please stop talking about the savvy's engine in this post. we have no idea what is under the hood of this car, and the savvy's engine is unlikely for a blm model as it is expensive.

do you really think people who want to know about the BLM are interested in what anyone thinks of the savvy's engine? is there any relation?

• nizam80 (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 12:28 am

kei9 said,

June 30, 2007 @ 10:12 pm

"i think it wll still be called as saga..without any add ons….."

Agree with u kei9. I think the BLM will be named the 'SAGA'. Proton, r u hearing this? Please consider using this name again.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 2:04 am

Thanks Paul for clearing some mess and sorry if I mess up this forum too. Try not to next time. Cheers.

To fastcx. I do agree with you regarding to the rear wheel fitted with drums for new cars. The current Toyota Vios 1.5E, Honda City 1.5 i-dsi, Honda Jazz i-dsi etc. Correct me if I'm wrong. Anyway, even if this BLM fitted with drums for rear as long as the stopping power good enough then should be no problem just like the Honda, Toyota etc..

Even like Proton started to fit front ventilated disc and rear solid disc brakes, some people still say the safety not good, no stopping power or even worst because I did heard from somebody (maybe not in this forum) sating that Proton fits the solid disc for rear just for cosmetic purpose so that looks much more nicer. Such a crap comments.

Cheers all.

• Paul Tan on Jul 02, 2007 at 2:17 am

For the engine that will be fitted into this car, rear drums would suffice. Besides, drum brakes has better braking power for the parking brake when you park on slopes. More grip in a lock situation. Many modern cars with rear disc brakes also have additional drum brakes at the rear for the parking brake.

• hyundai (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 7:25 am

i wonder if the front of the car will looks like the savvy or neo or a whole new design… because the rear is not attractive to me…

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 9:17 am

yah true!!drum brakes have better grip compared to disc brakes but the only problem is drums get overheated very fast…so thats why its not widely used in the front but for the rear its still widely used!!modern cars have good braking and most modern cars dont realy distribute muchbrake force to the rear… if there is any its a very small amount of force…so doesnt matter much if its fitted with drums at the back..Proton blm should offer more choice in their trim so they can offer wide variety of ppl and give them wat they wan like perodua!!and many people are hoping it to sell at rm 30000…i think its ridiculous!!even perodua viva or naza sutera cannot achieve that price..come on la…be realistic!!

i agree with jcw9960 savvy is not in the same class as myvi!! and blm is not going to be in the same class as viva…blm is in myvi's class..

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 9:35 am

i have a feeling that the rear of blm is going to be similar to bmw 1 series coupe!!!cause people in proton who saw the car is saying that the car has similar butt as bmw 3 series and 5 series..some say say similar to vios!!hope its its not!!!

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 5:04 pm

moto_moto said,

June 30, 2007 @ 1:31 pm

1)BLM – Wira replacement….

3)savvy – cheapskate male

4)myvi – for pussies & pussies wannabe….

5)viva – attitudeless / souless / zombie / no meaning in life / No life

6)kancil – gomen / mat kilang / student pak itam / mat rempit's upgrade

7)vios – premature ejaculation, looks nice/drive hopeless ……….

8)gen2 – NVH kaput ! Design by confused designer…….

9)neo – ok.but again, 2 doors. Mana ada orang buat 2 doors anymore ( except coupes or high end cars )

10)perdana – Nyonya tua with a new and thicker make up. Lack that punch and kick around corners and at straights….

Conclusions – MYVI rules….!!!.bcoz Malaysian drivers are pussies n pussies wannabe……….

• fastcx (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 7:02 pm

if this car is under 1000kg, campro 1.3 would be suffice, satria neo is around 1100kg,1.3 manual pickup better than 1.6 as they use different final drive in gear box, 1.3 used modified final drive gear box! so if this blm with campro(with or w/o vim) mated with satria neo 1.3 manual gear box would be great! Go go proton! make it happen! within rm40k it would be selling good! if proton management ever see this blog, make sure they dont just focus in malaysia, please, export! since thailand AFTA rate is lowered, 5% leh! cheaper than last time la! go conquer the market!

• waimak (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 7:14 pm

Nothing wrong to comment on the design of this car. Look at the immediate response in Lensa Malaysia forum. That clearly shows where proton is currently. That also shows the level of acceptance to this new design. The response might be quite different if the spyshot posted is of some other models/ make. I think proton realy, really – really need to rectify this perception really, really soon.

However it's a good thing that a new model from proton is coming out. In fact I think proton should be introducing more new model. One of the reasons why their profit took a dip is due to no new models introduced.

Dont design to please the boss. Dont design to please the few people also. Dont design to lauch just another new model. Design with passion. And design it for the world.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 7:39 pm

hi paul,

it looks better overhere…..at lease lots of nonsense been removed. why not remove also those with '3rd world mentality, about women with cars'?

this car size is similar to vios, city, or latio which are in our market? i saw it side by side to a vios 2 weeks ago in ipoh city centre. also followed by a satria neo. the wheel base of this car is much shorter than a s.neo. actually can't tell about how it looks but the boot and roofline is really high as vios. that time the view was good since i was in a higher vehicle. so even this selling rm40k, a vios around rm80k, which is prefered?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 8:46 pm

moto_moto said,

June 30, 2007 @ 1:31 pm

>> moto_moto, if i'm not mistaken, the BLM is the Saga replacement, wherease the G2 sedan is actually the wira replacement.

i think for this car, the design isnt going to be a big factor in the sales, more importantly, the price will be key.. if it can sell at the price of the old saga, around the mid RM30K, i think it will do well, especially in the lower income group, which has traditionally been the main contributor to saga sales even today.

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 12:04 am

i hope they fail. but theres no need to hope. looks guaranteed already.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:36 am

To tec96248. Thanks for the information. If the pricing really at around RM40k, I guess this car saleable but be sure the quality is good. No unconsistents in build quality.

Hopefully, Proton (the Proton guys who inchange for this model) will do it well this time. Of course other future models too.

All the best Proton.

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 6:26 am

same wishes to them(not that im supporting them of whatever) im just supportin' nothin'………

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 7:50 am

this car size is similar to vios, city, or latio which are in our market? i saw it side by side to a vios 2 weeks ago in ipoh city centre. also followed by a satria neo. the wheel base of this car is much shorter than a s.neo. actually can’t tell about how it looks but the boot and roofline is really high as vios. that time the view was good since i was in a higher vehicle. so even this selling rm40k, a vios around rm80k, which is prefered?

————————

a vios selling at rm40k

• fastcx (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 8:31 am

topgunthang, a vios without tax is around 50k, go do your homework before you start dreaming again. sometimes i wonder why some people are being so negative…u fail in your life doesnt mean other people have to be the same as u!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 5:28 pm

"…u fail in your life doesnt mean other people have to be the same as u!"

This statment exactly reflect the upcoming BLM! They fail to produce good quality and afforable car (in general, either stone age, current or new models/rebatch) but still use tax payer monies and imposed captured market under NAP crappy tax to force rakyat to buy their inferior quality product at relatively high price.

Shame, shame tak malu! So, P1 failured all the rakyat have to follow suite in every aspect of car ownership from buy high price new/recond car, lousy SC centre, scrap policy, etc, etc!

• moto_moto (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 6:51 pm

some friends here quote my comment. BanyakMasokWokshop, it wasnt me saying that BLM=Wira replacement. check again. gen2=wira replacement at initial.because gen2 cant sell at that time so they decided to resell wira again.

BLM around 40K. but

• moto_moto (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 6:55 pm

hameed koyakuti said,

July 2, 2007 @ 9:04 am

————————————————

BLM – wira replacement?

• tec96248 (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 7:58 pm

#

moto_moto said,

July 3, 2007 @ 10:55 am

hameed koyakuti said,

————————————————

BLM – wira replacement?

==no worries, just ignore that idiot commented on p1 and p2. should laugh at him. because u can see his mentality retarded of cars and his stupidity. hahahaha.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 9:50 pm

topgunthang said,

July 1, 2007 @ 1:39 am

its about being realistic not negative. this car is trash.

its expected of proton anyway. should have learnt a lesson from the savvy. ugly cars dont sell. u dont want to wake up every morning ready to go to work and look at the car then vomit. nowadays even bargain basement cars need to look good to even compete.

only a car company confident with thier government given monopoly on the malaysian car industry would dare to release this car. this car like the savvy has already failed from the testing stages.

—————————-

I'd rather vomit everyday than falling asleep by just looking at the 'washing machine with 4 wheels'.

No life? That's for people who play too much computer games…..dun tink Viva is their choice of vehicle….

• intermilan (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 10:16 pm

va va va …

very hot and look like lately potonians overwhelms the otherside in number..

but still too early to tell la this BLM.

if many of the info from sifu earlier is accurate, then this car do indeed stand a chance. as a budget / entry car. but to fight with p2 offerings… even if compare viva 1.0 to BLM 1.3 engine, many might choose 1.0 viva.

just b'cos people don't want to take the gamble on p1 (again) whenever possible.

• mr. proton (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 11:12 pm

hameed koyakuti said,

——————————

this fella always giv wrong info.. previously say this is neo sedan… now blm wira replacement… proton clearly stated gen2 the real replacement for wira although wira stil the best selling. hope gen2 sedan will repeat the succesful wira… the best seller

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 4:51 am

To mr.proton. Just let them comment what they what to say as we can say what we want as long as it is OK not to rough. I wondering why they did vomit at the first place when they checking and testing the car at the showroom. Only after they bought the car back and vomit everyday – morning and night. ????

It is too early to comment a car that is still in the testing. Even the Mercedes Benz R-Class didn't sell well worldwide. Not a bad design and have good technologies but its a NO NO. So just let the car show at the showroom, go to see – checking and testing (either will vomit or not), if good than good news, if vomit then go home with your current car. Nothing to lose. Just make sure to bring a pile / backet. If NO NO, then Proton must do harder and I'll meet them. Hahaha…. What happened to you guys? Very dissapointed lah!

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 6:10 am

i think tis end of the discussion…….dont worry, be happy……

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 4:18 pm

yap. keep cool kei9

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 6:17 pm

But it signify the start of similar ball game in other similar thread in future, also keep cool dude!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 6:19 pm

Let waite until this car launch, see the frenzy and hothead protonians and bashers put up the argument on this BLM!

• moto_moto (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 6:41 pm

im really eager to see the interior. from the 2nd pic it does look quite good(if it is the final design la) the exterior is not an issue now cause some1 here said its ala-ala vios' back which is fine for me as long as proton do not come up with unacceptable 'huha-huha over styling' design like savvy's back,juara,arena. But it does look like hyundai accent's back.too flat.

engine-campro 1.3+VIM is fine for me.

power window problem+complaint no more which i heard from my friend working in proton service centre. Thanks to the new improved mechanism. So i suppose same with this up coming model.

PAUL! more photo plz :)

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 7:48 pm

We are NOT PROTON SUPPORTERS ONLY A CAR LOVERS. We talk about different type of cars from other car manufacturers not only Proton.

Yes, moto_moto. I also want to see how the interior looks like. Of couse, lots of things have been solved by Proton but some with same old story from his or her experience.

Cheers.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 6:07 am

Yeah, u r rights, whether they are protonian or bashers, all are car lovers!

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 05, 2007 at 2:21 pm

waiting ahead to comment on this car after launched. must be very hot!!!

after that cannot sleep overnight viewing this forum like watching action movie.

bang! bang! bang! looks who die 1st.

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 3:07 am

I will buy this if it has 6-speed manual gearbox. I wonder why Proton Hasn't make or order one?

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 3:09 am

I will buy this car if it has 6-spped manual gearbox. I wonder why Proton hasn't make or order one?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 6:39 am

Oops, still got some one post comment, if this BLM launch, sure letup the thread!

• IamVladTheImpaler (Member) on Jul 31, 2007 at 11:53 am

this is an inside scoop….
    most of y’all know this, but for those whose still oblivous, that is Proton BLM, launching end 2007. Its a Iswara Replacement, and get this……the price positioning is going to be around OTR $35,000 or maybe less, since its taget consumer would be the Iswara market segment.

• ady (Member) on Aug 07, 2007 at 3:42 pm

ok what

• PrInCe D27 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 11:46 am

Malysian Automotive industry need’s improvement fast…! People r STRETCHING their allowance 2 simply get a better car 4 themselves and wht r d Malaysian Automotive industry is doing…,STRETCHING their carZ… Oh LoRd plz..! TiNk!!! n clear me up sme1 plz… Wht is BLM stands 4?! Is it {BeLuM LaGi MaJu}……???!!!

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 7:08 pm

looks like renault logan..(wondering)

because before this..waja is using renault engine before he uses campro..savvy AMT is using renault quickshift5 technology..savvy’s body looks like renault clio..maybe for the BLM, proton will use renault logan..

• hctiu (Member) on Oct 24, 2007 at 11:54 am

If the front looks like Toyota Altezza and the rear Looks like Ford Lynx RS, then this model will surely sell well 1.
    Believe me !
    Another factor also Proton must price the new model very competitively and also Quality issues .

Good job P1 !

• synchro_k (Member) on Nov 01, 2007 at 3:32 am

hmm looks like a Geely or Alado to me…

• kopial (Member) on Dec 10, 2007 at 1:04 am

Well, know bit bout design…critics is necessary to achieve a great design. I think proton ought to thank u all for all the critics. It’s difficult to know the potential customer’s mind…no longer now with this website.

One comment: The flat rear, if proton can make the rear a little longer, I think they can put a less slope on the rear windscreen and settle for a lower boot which can reduce that flatback appearance. But then again, if the target is rm30k, not much can be done then eh? I don’t deny that the current high rise boot is necessary to avoid excessive flow separation over the rear which may cause -ve downforce. Unless, they lower the roof? Haha…that may even be more absurd as british male height in the 95th %-tile is around 1800…Mr. Clarkson might end up fracturing his skull while driving!! Just hope they don’t add a “reg number crater” at that boot lid, the boot is already small enough!!

Alright, I’m going to buy a SAVVY AMT in around 1 month time, a sedan won’t be my choice at the moment. I just hope they don’t prolong the BLM any longer, I’m really sick of the current SAGA models now…they look like toy cars. Go proton!

• qadab (Member) on Dec 21, 2007 at 12:45 pm

it had an uncanny resemblance to renault logan, wait till it comes out and then we can compare it :)