Chery B240 7-seater MPV in Malaysia

chery_crossover_1.jpg

UPDATE: Chery Alado launches locally assembled Chery Eastar 7-seater MPV

Alado Automobile has introduced the Chery B240 in Malaysia, another CBU fully imported model for us to consider soon after launching the Chery Tiggo earlier.

The Chery B240 is a 7-seater SUV powered by a 2.4 litre 16 valve SOHC Mitsubishi engine that makes 130 horsepower and 198Nm of torque, likely a similiar unit to the one found in the LMG Trekker, Shuttle, and Tourer. It is mated to a 4-speed gearbox with manual shifting features.

Features include a 6-CD changer audio system, a sunroof, electronic headlamp levelling, a pollen filter for the air conditioning system, dual front airbags, anti-lock disc brakes on all four wheels, electronic brake distribution as well as an option for a stability control program that comes at extra cost.

It costs RM132,972.20 including insurance. No word on how much the version with stability control costs. This 7-seater B240 and the Chery Tiggo SUV were the two models that have been previously reported to be assembled locally in Malaysia soon, perhaps at Proton’s plant using it’s excess production capacity. No word on that as far as I know, and the B240 remains a CBU import for the moment.

More photos of the Chery B240 here, and check out a video after the jump.

Proton to produce MPV and SUV with Chery
Chery B240 Crossover

Video: Chery B240 7-seater MPV

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• s60t (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 11:18 pm

The price difference is due to import duties. If you buy it CBU at 130K and it is assembled locally later the price will drop like a ton of bricks together with your resale value. That’s what happened with my friend who bought the kia carnival CBU, At least if you buy a CBU from Europe you are getting good quality assembly but from China?? And 130hp from a 2.4 L engine does seem modest.

• Chery part mahal berring depan saja harga rm.754.00 ini yg banyak org jual balik part tak mampu beli, kalau part murah ramai guna mpv cherry

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 12:03 am

where is the hydroxene technology? go through so much fanfare but came out with nothing. it shows the expertise of our university professors. rubbish local universities.

so much for forcing us to write so many essays about 2020, educational hub, msc and proton crap. all of which have failed miserably. i wonder what crack they are forcing the kids now to write.

china car no matter how cheap also cannot buy one…more or less a proton. just as ugly, just as bad. just made with cheaper slavery.

• 2fast (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 1:15 am

Expensive for a china car

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 1:19 am

2fast said,

July 2, 2007 @ 5:15 pm

Expensive for a china car

I 2nd that… :)

• Alifz (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 1:19 am

Yes, Expensive and priced like Korean counterparts.

Wondering wheter the NCAP crash test is Zero (0) just like the China SUV (forgot the name).

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 1:32 am

ERR… In term of technology.. seems that they are better then p1. Got 4-speed auto manual shifting features, got optional stability control..6-CD changer audio system, a sunroof, electronic headlamp levelling, a pollen filter for the air conditioning system.. Well hard to get an original P1 with all of that.. Even 7-seater SUV or MPV P1 also haven come out… But for sure, i am scare about china car safety.. They are dare devils, and they are moving faster the P1.. If no tax i think the price must be only half..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 1:40 am

design is ok, i like those headlights.

but the price is slightly too high…..

B240 vs. Wish vs. Grandis vs. Stream

• hyundai (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 1:44 am

this car looks bad… n interior looks even terrible to me… i would spend less in a Naza Ria

• Dogster (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 1:47 am

errr, ewwww. not nice one… somemore from china.. ayo, how about the crash test leh…????

• azhar167 (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 2:31 am

This is the car to be in if you're travelling to Klang or Johor Bahru!!

Almost 0% chance of getting hijacked…

• owaief (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 2:51 am

the side is nice….but…purple interior…. wierd front….130k??? i rather buy smthng else…

and the video looked like some really really bad powerpoint presentation

• bugbear (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:06 am

ya owaief,

agree with tht…

the beginning of d video is so lame, probably using the templates from internet..

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:17 am

Features OK, price really expensive even compare with Korean and as few people pointed out the safety. Me too. Must be very exciting to see how they archieve with this Chery B240 7 Seater MPV.

To Alifz. The answer is Jiangling Landwind X6 SUV conducted by ADAC. The Chery QQ also did very bad in the crash test results..

• szw (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:20 am

rubbish.

• bmpower (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:33 am

half copy of satria neo front headlight. but i think. from side, it's nice look than nazaria.

the original artist sketch impression is more better look. Why real model always different too much?

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 4:15 am

looks like Korean car but price….also like that

• proton GL (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 4:24 am

http://www.autoweek.nl/images/480/4/63a2b24391382…

this old Evasion looks purposeful and sensibly styled, compared to rm133k chinese 7 seater

• 8918 (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 5:18 am

Eeewww…..who will spend such a money into this CHINA make car?

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 6:11 am

the 1st quote 4 the price is 80k plus but now? a stark difference man….

• altimate (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 6:19 am

sorry to say this but that's a Nissan Presage's tail rip-off !

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 6:28 am

ture it got the design of Nissan Presage’s tail …so obvious….

• sacker85 (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 6:47 am

cherry is not as bad as v think la, oto is made in china but that's xport quality,for 130+k (RM) is still acceptable for a suv,i don think is xpensive for cherry, this is a normal price for a baseline suv. compare with p1's perdana v6, i prefer cherry b240,the headlamp looks like toyota MARK X, it's ok.GOOD.i don know hows the interior, but from the pic,i think maybe that's a leather seats … bla bla bla..this car worth for it's tech,.10 years b4, china seems like a hopeless land,but now,seems like our country is the 1 falling behine,that's y china's production would be much more reliable and safety than our LOKAL-ly made's car ,those are just my opinion, hope this wont cause any argue alr.

i say sorry here if what i'm saying above made ppl no syok.

• nmh (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 8:40 am

Quality maybe goog but I dont think it has advance tech. Maybe the automated manual gearbox is just as lousy as korean car automated manual gbox. How bout handling..like korean maybe. Fun to drive? Resale value?

• danoneism (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 11:39 am

wah… who wants to buy a china car at 130+k?? anyone?? well the design was quite stylish but how bout the safety???

china car got design but dosnt got safety!!~…

• danoneism (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 11:42 am

hehe.. the most thing i like bout this car is the rim!!~ wow.. looks lime the one design buy foose in overhaulin'…. i dont mind to buy it 2nd hand!~ the size also quite big maybe 17" or 18"… huhu.. i hope proton comes with more beautiful rims next time!~

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 2:30 pm

very expensive. buy other else.

for 130k++ u can consider into many japanese cars.

• normaluser (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:33 pm

topgunthang, dont simply blind bash our local universities as rubbish. Do you think its easy & cheap to commercialize a new technology to the mass market?

I agree that the Chery is not worth the money. If I have130K, I would buy the latest Sonata 2.4, Civic 2.0 or 2nd hand Odyssey, Stream or Wish.

Pure rubbish. How come Alado never learnt from their mistakes? Look at the A160 and QQ, who wants to buy them?

• NiceCar (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 3:43 pm

agree with u all.. the price may too high..

for some1 wanna buy for the 7seat car, sure they may prefer the Naza Ria.

is hard to find a Chery work shop too while having maintenance.. services after sale is a concern here..

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 4:28 pm

130 is a bit high for what it is.

You could get the Citra for under 80k now with the promotions they are coming out now, they the rather long in the tooth Ria at 115k. To me they give you better value for money with less risk of massive depreciation when a CBU car gets CKD'ed

However, i wont discount these chinese marques so easily. They will be a force in a few years. Its only because of the NAP that the price of Chinese vechicles are uncompetitive since they are all CBU.

There is little doubt that even Protons might be better than the first generation Chinese cars, but to see them actually being bought and driven on the road is "refreshing", showing the loss in confidence in Proton by some members of the car buying public. This is despite, the chinese cars being more expensive.

Same was said (maybe still said) about Korean cars when they first came out and competed on the global market (and the Japanese that first preceeded them). The Chinese wont be far behind.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 4:34 pm

This Chery MPV maybe overall P1 … but let it say it sell 130k … erm ppl will c the cars only … if it sell 80k maybe ppl will test drive it or some will buy it … but our VW + P1 = having new MPV ???

• kody (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 4:57 pm

wahlaueh…

look at the 140ps horsepower & 198Nm of torque, i consider this is low performance for a 2.4lit car… i am not sure the figure for Naza Ria. I also wonder this MPV will be a FC monster like Ria.

If it can sell at 90k plus… then only many will consider to buy a china car.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 5:59 pm

What a crappy video, even multimedia uni students can do better than that. For a unproven China MPV, this is too expensive. Far more expensive than any Korean or Japanese rival. If anyone can fork out that amount of cash, can nearly invest in a continental MPV. I'll take any Japanese/Korean CKD MPV over a China CBU anytime!

• moto_moto (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 7:03 pm

RM132,972.20 for this china made creature?!!! kuahkuahkuah! wat a joke.

even RM32,972.20 it will NOT make a sale

• droll (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 7:23 pm

the only thing i can see is that the chinese are slowly catching up in terms of design…

• w_lighter (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 8:23 pm

After seing China cars fold like paper in crashes… The confidence level for China cars arent very high in me right now.

• motorhead2000 (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 8:49 pm

aiyahhh….too expensive lahhh…boleh bungkus la china made…nobody will spend a lots of money to buy this china product…better i'll take wish…much more betterrrrrrr

• motorhead2000 (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 10:04 pm

mahal

• chris_the_germ (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 10:18 pm

I think they are out of their mind to offer this for 130. Probably they took the feature list of the Wish, thought it's the same car and made it 10% cheaper. After all it's a Chinese car with unproven quality… and all of the Chinese cars seem to have failed so far.

I would rather buy a Wish and the RM 20 K or wait for the Nissan Grand Livina. Grand Livina has a smaller engine, but at least it's up to date, so the difference in power and torque probably wouldn't kill you.

If you compare engine specs of the Naza Ria to this, forget it. Naza Ria is one of the slowest cars I have ever driven, despite of 170 hp. The Chery will be faster, I am dead certain about it.

• floyd (Member) on Jul 03, 2007 at 10:46 pm

moto_moto, you selling one at RM32,972.20 ??? I'll snap it rightaway dude! LOL.

• proton GL (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 12:00 am

aerodynamic ??? cheat by the video

. tall rear end create turbulance or somewhat low preasure.

unless they have a negative spoiler effect would straightened the line (smoke line) hence reduce drag by reducing low pressure area.

• transformer (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 4:18 am

too expensive !

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 6:01 am

Wah, very expensive. Can buy 3 Perodua Vivas with that amount of money

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 9:18 am

normaluser said,

July 3, 2007 @ 7:33 am

topgunthang, dont simply blind bash our local universities as rubbish. Do you think its easy & cheap to commercialize a new technology to the mass market?

——————————

bingo you got the point. now tell that to proton who wants to sells mass market cars to the world or lmg or that professor with his hydroxene technology.

• Infinitt (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 8:46 pm

Mahal & mata terbeliak MPV..

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 3:00 am

Don't buy this Chinese crap. Naza Ria is far better

• bs (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 3:46 am

Have been to the showroom at Jln Ampang, to view the car.

The salesman mention that the car they have on display was for showcase only, so quality is not there yet. But i doubt it will be any different when the commerical car is out. This is the same reason they gave for the Tiggo.

The shape is not bad, but the interior is still of very bad quality.

NO 2nd or 3rd row blower. How can this be for a MPV car. The salesman mention that the front middle blower is very poweful, can reach the back easily…NOPE, don't think so, unless the fan is spinning so fast, but then it would be too damn loud right.

For 130K, i don't see how this car can sell, against cheaper and better quality cars like Innova. Or a second-hand recon 1.5 years CBU WISH would cost about 130K, but 300% better than this B240 anytime.

China made cars still has long way more to go…

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 4:18 am

Guys, more appropriate to say CHINA MADE CARS or MAKE IN/BY CHINA VEHICLES/CARS instead of using CHINESE CARS. CHINESE IS RACE. So don't get it wrong. Every where in this world also got Chinese people.

Please take note. Thank you.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 5:04 am

can i say that the p1 also the malay cars.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 6:08 pm

To PTAllTheBest. No. Malay is also race (people), just like some people say Chinese car. Is not really appropriate. That's why I made the comment. More appropriate to say which country's car manufacturer.

Back to the topic. I don't think the car will sell well. With that kind of price I rather get one Japan marque.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 07, 2007 at 4:00 am

ok. i follow u this time. just another gentle reminder that chinese is a race and u malay also is a race. dun be confuse. dun use race to specify a car

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 07, 2007 at 4:05 am

sorry for the unicons, i'm mentioning ahmadmckk. no offend on u.

• BEtter buy KIA RONDO ( rm 88,888 )… or Citra new face ( rm65,888 ) 7 seater also..

• shahram on Oct 21, 2009 at 6:57 pm

correct ka rm 132, xxx? last 2 weeks, i went to showroom…the price only rm81k to 84K. why so differences?

• good new friend…………

Cherry Eastar 2.0 coming soon for this month…………

very cheap only……..

i'm from b'worth 3S selling Cherry car………

anyting call me … Eddy Ooi 017-4792229 / 0162572801…t.q

• kenny tan on May 30, 2013 at 12:05 pm

12-4-2013 , i very happy to buy the new car from your company cherry malaysia penang bayan baru branch . the car is really nice and i like it so much . because is totally like toyota wish . but the price is cheeper half in malaysia . quality also not bad then toyota wish . and the saleman service is very good for it . because all my car is send back to original service center . never give out side service before . because i believe all the service center can save my car like new .
    register number : PLB 2266 the new cherry easter 2.0 red color . RM 80 000.00 malaysia .
    3-5-2013 , i drive over 1000km . send to your service center service . and told the person antony . 1 the front lamp got problem with the led are broke . 2 the air corn have problem . the car engine got sound like f1 sport car .
    another say the engine have sound is the front type support got problem . i must put the car there 3 week or 1 month . they will operation the car after take the part send to kl . still can claim . i ask that is new car i buy from your company . he show me got many car there . told me you see . all the car is waiting the part . that time i have regret but this car . got no chooice i call the antony help me to settle the air corn first . he told me next time service still do for me . maybe i came is too later . they want go back home . that i can understand .
    29-5-2013 the car is totally like a 10 year lori sound . my friend ask is it i buy the new F1 car . i dont know i need to she or your company . morning 10.30am i call the service center ask . operater say will help me check . until afternoon 4.15pm he call back . say in the computer not have any record . call me to send the car go to service center tomorrow .
    30-5-2013 morning 9.15AM i call malaysia penang bayan baru branch MR LIM again . yesterday i call the service center they say not record in computer . and the car is very bad now . need to send to hospital operation . call him find a person to take the car help me send to service center . he told me you must call your bank insurance take the car to service center .

1 , WHY THE RULE OF CHERRY NEED TO PUT THE CAR THERE . AFTER STILL CAN ORDER THE PART ?
    2 , CAN I ASK IS IT I BUY THIS CHERRY EASTER 2.0 IS A NEW CAR ?
    3 , IF I DRIVE THE CAR HAVE ANY HAPPEN . MY LIFE IS ONLY RM 80 000.00 ?
    4 , IF YOUR SERVICE CENTER REALLY SO BUSY . PLEASE KINDLY HELP ME ASK I RETURN THE CAR HOW MUCH YOU CAN TAKE IT . BECAUSE I MUST SAVE MY LIFE FIRST . SINCE THE SERVICE AND THE NEW CAR HAVE SO MUCH OF THE PROBLEM . AND PLEASE USE YOUR COMPANY GIVE ME A LETTER . WHY I NEED TO RETURN THE CAR .

MR LIM JUST NOW HAVE PROMISE WILL SEND THE SALEMAN CAME TO TAKE MY CAR . BUT NOW IS 10.45AM NOW . MY OFFICE GO TO YOUR BRANCH IS NOT OVER 3KM .

THE PHONE OF MR LIM : 012-4296802
    ANTONY : 012-4726645
    PLEASE KINDLY LET ME KNOW . CAN I STILL DRIVE THE CAR ? I GOT 5 WORKER NEED TO SEND OFFICE WORKING EVERY DAY . WE ARE SAVE IN THE CHERRY EASTER 2.0 ? IF GOT ANY HAPPEN , HOW TO WE DO ? OR WE TAKE THE BICYCLE TO WORKING MORE SAVE ?

• KENNY TAN on Jun 16, 2013 at 10:16 am

APRIL I JUST BUY A CHERRY NEW CAR FROM MALAYSIA BUKIT JAMBUL BRAND REGISTER NUMBER PLACE PLB 2266 . UNTIL TODAY 15-6-2013 . GO TO THE SERVICE CENTER 4 TIME AGO . THE PROBLEM ARE SAME . GO BACK TO THE BRAND . MANAGER TOLD ME SINCE HAPPEN , JUST CAN FEEL THAT YOU ARE THAT 1 WHO UNLUCKY . CALL MALAYSIA CHERRY HEAT OFFICE / CHINA HEAT OFFICE . UNTIL TODAY NO BODY HELP . NOW WANT SELLING CHEEPER

• KENNY TAN on Jun 16, 2013 at 10:18 am

12-4-2013 , i very happy to buy the new car from your company cherry malaysia penang bayan baru branch . the car is really nice and i like it so much . because is totally like toyota wish . but the price is cheeper half in malaysia . quality also not bad then toyota wish . and the saleman service is very good for it . because all my car is send back to original service center . never give out side service before . because i believe all the service center can save my car like new .
    register number : PLB 2266 the new cherry easter 2.0 red color . RM 80 000.00 malaysia .
    3-5-2013 , i drive over 1000km . send to your service center service . and told the person antony . 1 the front lamp got problem with the led are broke . 2 the air corn have problem . the car engine got sound like f1 sport car .
    another say the engine have sound is the front type support got problem . i must put the car there 3 week or 1 month . they will operation the car after take the part send to kl . still can claim . i ask that is new car i buy from your company . he show me got many car there . told me you see . all the car is waiting the part . that time i have regret but this car . got no chooice i call the antony help me to settle the air corn first . he told me next time service still do for me . maybe i came is too later . they want go back home . that i can understand .
    29-5-2013 the car is totally like a 10 year lori sound . my friend ask is it i buy the new F1 car . i dont know i need to she or your company . morning 10.30am i call the service center ask . operater say will help me check . until afternoon 4.15pm he call back . say in the computer not have any record . call me to send the car go to service center tomorrow .
    30-5-2013 morning 9.15AM i call malaysia penang bayan baru branch MR LIM again . yesterday i call the service center they say not record in computer . and the car is very bad now . need to send to hospital operation . call him find a person to take the car help me send to service center . he told me you must call your bank insurance take the car to service center .

1 , WHY THE RULE OF CHERRY NEED TO PUT THE CAR THERE . AFTER STILL CAN ORDER THE PART ?
    2 , CAN I ASK IS IT I BUY THIS CHERRY EASTER 2.0 IS A NEW CAR ?
    3 , IF I DRIVE THE CAR HAVE ANY HAPPEN . MY LIFE IS ONLY RM 80 000.00 ?
    4 , IF YOUR SERVICE CENTER REALLY SO BUSY . PLEASE KINDLY HELP ME ASK I RETURN THE CAR HOW MUCH YOU CAN TAKE IT . BECAUSE I MUST SAVE MY LIFE FIRST . SINCE THE SERVICE AND THE NEW CAR HAVE SO MUCH OF THE PROBLEM . AND PLEASE USE YOUR COMPANY GIVE ME A LETTER . WHY I NEED TO RETURN THE CAR .

MR LIM JUST NOW HAVE PROMISE WILL SEND THE SALEMAN CAME TO TAKE MY CAR . BUT NOW IS 10.45AM NOW . MY OFFICE GO TO YOUR BRANCH IS NOT OVER 3KM .

THE PHONE OF MR LIM : 012-4296802
    ANTONY : 012-4726645
    PLEASE KINDLY LET ME KNOW . CAN I STILL DRIVE THE CAR ? I GOT 5 WORKER NEED TO SEND OFFICE WORKING EVERY DAY . WE ARE SAVE IN THE CHERRY EASTER 2.0 ? IF GOT ANY HAPPEN , HOW TO WE DO ? OR WE TAKE THE BICYCLE TO WORKING MORE SAVE ?

today is 15-6-2013 until today the car problem still same . and i go to the shop in bukit jambul cherry office . the brand manager mr lim 012-4296802 . he told me they company stop to selling the cherry car again . because the car always got problem . i ask then how to settle my problem . he told me that because is happen . just can say that you are that unlucky people ……….. nothing can they do . just call me go to service center . this is the way only i can do .