New Proton Savvy Lite – from RM33,549

Orange Proton Savvy

Proton has launched a new Proton Savvy variant called the Proton Savvy Lite that comes in both 5-speed manual and 5-speed AMT automatic form. The report by Bernama is a little too vague and only reports the price of these two cars – RM33,549 for the manual and RM36,549 for the AMT, a big saving compared to the standard Savvy’s price of RM40,240 for the manual and RM43,182.12 for the AMT.

I have no details on the differences between the Savvy and the Savvy Lite at this time, but I am guess steel wheels, cassette player and other really baseline specs like unpainted bumpers. Will get full details and post them soon.

Something that benefits all Proton Savvy owners is the announcement that prices of Proton Savvy replacement parts have been reduced by up to a maximum of 30%.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• haroldz (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 3:38 am

Wot the different with older version?

other than d basic stuff wot else d difference?

savvy has 2 facelift (if u can lite version a facelift) oredi.

if P1 managed to produce better design n quality 4 dashboard n change its UGLY rear, mayb can improve d sale dramatically.

P1 is goin down fast, so nx time they'll just concentrate on servicing d cars..

hehehe

• andre128 (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 3:38 am

not bad…. the price :D

• Azuma (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 4:00 am

What is this actually? New promotion or something like line basic model?

• granturismo (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 4:26 am

Although is half the price of Swift CKD, still not insterested.

Boring ……. ZZZZZZZZZ

• myNeo (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 5:18 am

The Savvy Lite will be almost devoid of accesories, something like the low-spec base line Iswara.

The differences:

– Available only in White (solid) or Black (metallic), white will only be available from September 2007.

– Only 2 front speakers (no rear speakers)

– 14inch steel rims (will have hub caps)

– No power window

– No rear head rest

– No front fog lamp

– No luggage lamp

– No rear wiper

– No reverse sensor

– No hood insulator

– No alarm or immobilizer

– No rear spoiler

(may also possibly come with only cassette player, no confirmation)

The Price (OTR)

MT (solid) : 33,549

MT (metallic) : 33,999

AMT (solid) : 36,549

AMT (metallic) : 36,999

• peYno (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 5:21 am

boring??? better than myvi/wira/kancil u can see most on the road..

Boring sehhh

• danoneism (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 5:22 am

wow…nice price…

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 7:12 am

its the second cheapest car in malaysia…..

• hyundai (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 7:31 am

good price… but bad equipment

• szw (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 7:34 am

lower cost ?

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 7:38 am

still do ya think dat it will sell well??

BTW ive forgot to say this when the facelift has been launched, the front mesh grills are actually the 1st design based on what i've seen in a newspaper some times ago which gave the front a peek with a maid ( before it was launched, 1st version). have you guys remembered it?

• peYno (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 7:49 am

under rated yet a good car… now a cheap car

smart,open mind and opportunist .. sure will buy this

Japanese wanabe, easily got conned and crowd follower will buy other Japanese malaysian made

prrrfthhh

• alpha0201 (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 8:00 am

– No hood insulator

– No ALARM or immobilizer

You've got to be kidding me……..

• ak03 (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 8:30 am

all those accesories cost money… u've left them out then u don't more.. simple..

• armandd (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 9:01 am

i hope it doesnt come with that ugly black plastic bumper like the one on viva 660.

• proton GL (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 9:04 am

not bad,

-basic-

• nmh (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 9:25 am

Any idea how much it save weight?

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 10:16 am

this could probably topple viva sales, as this is a more powerful car and similar size to myvi, so imagine what this could do

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 11:55 am

i wonder will viva continue to have sales since this car is so cheap plus bigger cc and more importantly power. if its come out to target viva than p2 should consider to lower the price of it. speak truly, viva is very expensive for me even for a 660cc.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 1:17 pm

Huh, desperate act, can't fight with MyVi, then Viva come in Savvy have to downgrade specs to fight with Viva!

If future sub-compact car are allowed to sell at bolehland at RM 20K to RM 25K, then there might be a total "rip-off" Savvy come at RM 24,999 without bumper (bumper optional), no back seat (want the seat also optional), no aircond, no cassete player, water pipe size exhaust, base coat paint work (final coat optional), etc, etc.

So expect other P1 models follow suite as stone age Iswara set the precedent, and P1 desperate to sell their cars! The 2005 models still available?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 1:41 pm

peYno said,

July 7, 2007 @ 11:49 pm

smart, open mind and opportunist .. sure will buy this

——————

So those ministers, VVIP, cronies, etc don't buy Savvy but buy Mercs or BMW is moron? Perhaps u r rights since many of our MP in parliament is moronic monkey who are don't use Savvy but use Mercs, but cock talk like the "bocor" issue!

An antic and mentally challenge pathetic statement!

• peYno (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 2:47 pm

Joe Ooi said,

July 8, 2007 @ 5:17 am

Huh, desperate act, can’t fight with MyVi, then Viva come in Savvy have to downgrade specs to fight with Viva!

=====================

Something wrong with that???

as long ppl can get a good car at cheaper price

who cares

current savvy and savvy lite

current savvy to compete with myvi/viva 1.0

savvy lite (downgraded version) to compete with viva660/850

good strategy

• sarawakguy (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 3:01 pm

Is this just to sell off the unsold stocks? "Lite" things require "light" money…Hmmm…

• peYno (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 3:16 pm

sarawakguy said,

July 8, 2007 @ 7:01 am

Is this just to sell off the unsold stocks? “Lite” things require “light” money…Hmmm…

==========================

if proton wanna sell off the unsold stocks, All colours sud be available..

but savvy lite offers Black met and New White solid only

anyway who cares about it..

ppl can buy a good bargain car

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 3:48 pm

if there is no those necessary accesories like bumper, seat, aircond then i will buy viva because their QC is from toyota. more safe compared to p1.

also, can it consider a car without bumper. better custom made it.

• J (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 4:12 pm

It's for MERDEKA SALES !! :)

I wonder when Proton will offer "paint your own car" offer ? A further reduction of RM2000 (for car without paint)

• ab (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 4:37 pm

they should comeout with the savvy superlite> here are the specs:

no front doors

no rear doors

no windscreen

no bumpers

no engine

no gearbox

no wheels

no steering column

no shock absorbers

no NOTHING

price: priceless

• transformer (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 5:03 pm

an ULTRA edition already on its roadmap…… KAH KAH KAH ! !

• peYno (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 5:09 pm

PTAllTheBest said,

July 8, 2007 @ 7:48 am

if there is no those necessary accesories like bumper, seat, aircond then i will buy viva because their QC is from toyota. more safe compared to p1.

also, can it consider a car without bumper. better custom made it

===================

savvy already 2 years in market and proven good quality

u judge the book by its cover or Facts???

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 6:32 pm

Lighter, Cheaper, Worse. But I like it. Just hope it won't collapse when you sit in it

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 6:33 pm

P1 was now fighting a "desparate war" to improve its brand image and customer confident – based on clear stock and pricing primarily – whom I'm afraid are ridiculous, bigoted and moronic actions aim at avaricious in money terms and they try to carry out talk show including foreign partner and behave like it is our nation pride entity. There are many pertinent issues to be "sorted out" due to open market threat and its survival. However, their "cloudy" message are not getting across well with consumers who are not bitten once, but for the last 20++ years!

STOP THE BUYING, STOP THE SUCKNG!

• Malaysia BoXXX (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 6:37 pm

myNeo said,

July 7, 2007 @ 9:18 pm

The Savvy Lite will be almost devoid of accesories, something like the low-spec base line Iswara.

The differences:

– Available only in White (solid) or Black (metallic), white will only be available from September 2007.

– Only 2 front speakers (no rear speakers)

– 14inch steel rims (will have hub caps)

– No power window

– No rear head rest

– No front fog lamp

– No luggage lamp

– No rear wiper

– No reverse sensor

– No hood insulator

– No alarm or immobilizer

– No rear spoiler

(may also possibly come with only cassette player, no confirmation)

The Price (OTR)

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

We are a very typical thrid world country….dont have this dont have that, if you want, then cost you a bomb. The citizens are made beggars of their own country.

• ezralimm (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 6:57 pm

(!) that's very very cheap… even for a under-spec'ed car.

A car's purpose is to get around. It does so with good fuel economy.

Yup, Malaysia is a 50 year old "third world" country.

Hence, we need third world prices to make cars affordable.

Joe Ooi, are there any other countries in the world which sell cars for you claimed ~RM25k (~USD6k) price?

Im in Australia now. Where there is fair tax on all cars. The cheapest car is a 1.4L Hyundai Getz (manual) – retailing for AUD14000 (RM40,000) OTR. (excluding insurance, it's not mandatory here)

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 7:10 pm

"ab said,

July 8, 2007 @ 8:37 am

they should comeout with the savvy superlite> here are the specs:

no front doors

no rear doors

no windscreen

no bumpers

no engine

no gearbox

no wheels

no steering column

no shock absorbers

no NOTHING

price: priceless

"

———

I can see the sarcasm, but If Proton does indeed offers a super light like that (hahaha) I would be the first to sign up for one.

I get to pick and chose what engine i want and getting just the shell (..some credit to Proton, the Savvy does have a high torsional rigitity chassis) good for cheap track car…

Maybe proton ought to think along those lines and start offering these "options" for grassroots racing in the country…..

• peYno (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 7:34 pm

Only in Malaysia , they sell K car segment car at RM29k just becoz it has japanese touch

pity msian

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 7:38 pm

afaik , australia does have import tax, but at a low 7-10%, barely noticeable, thats why toyota, mitsubishi, ford and holden has the advantage, as they have set up their own local factories over there.

anyways, i think this is way safer than a viva. there was a thread on lowyat.net stating how savvy's been toppled, hit by a bus and etc. so much marketing gimmick on the TUV standards, i bet it works.

• temp2escape (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 8:19 pm

I believe this is a smart move by Proton in order to compete with Perodua Viva. Instead of developing a new car (same class with Viva), they just release a low spec of Savvy. It is a smart move. No need to pump money to design/develop new car. Savvy is a savior after all.

I dislike Viva for its town car look. The only Perodua car that I like is Kelisa. Myvi is good. But too expensive for underpaid people like me.

With this kind of price tag. I will definitely get the Savvy AMT. Now thats the price I can afford. Why worry about the downgraded accessories? The main purpose of a car is to move. You can always add on the accessories later. And I believe it will cost even cheaper.

• jehutyz (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 8:41 pm

Savvy Lite = What also don't have.

Savvy =

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 9:06 pm

ezralimm said,

July 8, 2007 @ 10:57 am

Joe Ooi, are there any other countries in the world which sell cars for you claimed ~RM25k (~USD6k) price?

————

Given a "free hand" under free market with the shackle of NAP/P1 protective measure. The Chery QQ imported by Alado retailing at around RM 39,888 on the road price under NAP may retail at 25% of this price only in free market. Log on below: –

http://www.smart-news.biz/2007/07/review-chery-qq…

It can sell as low as USD 2,400 (RM 8,640, USD1=RM3.6) in China but in bolehland, the NAP jack up the price more than 4 time to RM 39K!

Another thread pertaining to Cherry QQ search from Google

"So if we translated into RM with conversion factor of 3.7, the selling price for this car in China is RM 9,176.00 to RM 18,352.00 Only. …"

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/09/27/chery-qq-a…

So, STOP THE BUYING, STOP THE SUCKING!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 9:08 pm

Just like Tesco, better change the Savvy Lite to Savvy Value Buy!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 9:09 pm

Given a “free hand” under free market with the shackle of NAP/P1 …….

should be read as "Given a "free hand" under free market WITHOUT the …..

• p1basher (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 10:53 pm

peYno said,

July 7, 2007 @ 11:49 pm

smart,open mind and opportunist .. sure will buy this

Japanese wanabe, easily got conned and crowd follower will buy other Japanese malaysian made

prrrfthhh

i know savvy has performance, but we dun buy it to race, and at its size, mostly it will be compete with the city cars. so wat a citycar should be? look at myvi..

ppl nowadays are smart, so many ppl buying myvi only to prove that myvi means business. myvi got almost all the features to be a perfect city car, savvy??? buy it for better handling n performance? r u serious? why dun u choose satria neo???

• mmcwei (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 11:05 pm

the savvy's bonnet reminds me of the bonnet of land rover freelander…but i still prefer myvi as its interior spacious and luxury…i hope that perodua will come with the K3-VE2 engine in myvi….as it produces about 105 hp! hopefully…

• mohkay (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 11:16 pm

I dunno Y all ppl comparing savvy with myvi(boring!), hallo bro this 2 car are in diff. sagment class laaaaa,try lar compare wit kelisa or viva…..ofcoz myvi more spacious but wit more money u have 2 pay laaa….wat ever,are u all realize myvi look like frog in Zuma game(if u play it hehe)but it cute hehe!!! Wat ever p1 make a move ok!

• peYno (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 11:18 pm

p1basher said,

i know savvy has performance, but we dun buy it to race, and at its size, mostly it will be compete with the city cars. so wat a citycar should be? look at myvi..

ppl nowadays are smart, so many ppl buying myvi only to prove that myvi means business. myvi got almost all the features to be a perfect city car, savvy??? buy it for better handling n performance? r u serious? why dun u choose satria neo???

================

malaysian r smart becoz they bought Myvi??

Myvito mot selling well in UK.. does it means.. british not smatrt eh

u said myvito not for race.. but the same time u see a lot of ah beng's passo

prrrfthhh

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 12:09 am

peYno said,

July 8, 2007 @ 3:18 pm

================

malaysian r smart becoz they bought Myvi??

Myvito mot selling well in UK.. does it means.. british not smatrt eh

—————

Malaysian r smart becoz they bought MyVi as city car! Those who bought Savvy as "city car" is moron, unless they do it for other reason – "Lotus handling"!

MyVi not selling well in UK simply because they have plenty of choices! British are much more smarter for buying Daihatsu Boon, Toyota Yaris, Clio III, etc, etc. which is in the same class with very marginal price different!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 12:11 am

peYno, your “prrrfthhh” is despicable and shameful, and stop this antics of cheap skate theatrics.

• peYno (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 2:20 am

Joe Ooi said,

July 8, 2007 @ 4:09 pm

MyVi not selling well in UK simply because they have plenty of choices! British are much more smarter for buying Daihatsu Boon, Toyota Yaris, Clio III, etc, etc. which is in the same class with very marginal price different!

=====================

ur point is arguable

U said myvi is malaysian toyota car

Myvi and Sirion =same car/same chassis

If myvi is cheaper than Sirion/boon, yet british still prefer buying Sirion.

Do u think British r smart??

Why do they have to pay more for the "same car"??

• peYno (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 2:31 am

Joe Oii

u want this car to be sold at RM25K??

How about unpaint bumper, basic, super tiny milotin body and 660cc engine of Bibah???

• ezralimm (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 2:48 am

The Chery QQ will sell in the uk for about 5000 pounds…~RM30k.

I hope the other readers are not misled by Joe's post about the price of the QQ being 4x cheaper (theoretically) if NAP didnt exist.

Besides, the Chery is a smaller sub 1L car. Different weight/power class from

the savvy.

Even if what Joe says about the QQ being 4x cheaper is true…it will not apply to other cars that people oft talk about.

For example, without NAP, you will not be getting a Civic or Yaris sedan for RM30k. Prices will be closer to RM70k otr.

• haroldz (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 3:22 am

Some malaysian buy P1 car bcos it is d cheapest.

Some nuy P2 bcos it is more good-looking n have tie-up wit reputable car maker.

If u r underpaid any cheap car regardless of quality oso can.

If u r well paid, u can choose any car u want.

D question is why we need to support Made In Malaysia car (P1) when it is oredi proven 2 have low quality?

Being a GLC, P1 have no intention to improve their quality bcos there r alwez a market for P1 badge.

P1 owner should P1 for selling low quality car.

Now consumer is more aware of quality n their right (dun blame internet for that).

If u cant keep wit the consumer demand n trend, down u go….

good luck proton.

• normalcardriver (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 4:20 am

Good move by Proton.Especially the lower price for spare parts where discounts are given to all Savvy owners.

For somebody who said that there were no bumper, seat, aircond and therefore he will buy Viva, hahahaha c'mon show some senselah.a car without seat and bumpers cannot pass here in Malaysia.And Air con is mandatory accesories.

Give credit when it is due.Bash when it is wrong.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 4:29 am

ezralimm said,

July 8, 2007 @ 6:48 pm

Even if what Joe says about the QQ being 4x cheaper is true…it will not apply to other cars that people oft talk about.

For example, without NAP, you will not be getting a Civic or Yaris sedan for RM30k. Prices will be closer to RM70k otr.

———–

The above scenario are probable in the event the following favorable events taken place: –

1. Malaysia throw away crappy NAP/P1 and embrace open market in accordance with AFTA spirit with favorable long term sustainable economic policies that promote growth and wealth creation, especially auto sector. Thus, may lead to stronger RM against USD. Say at least RM 2 = USD 1.

2. China is well known for world class lowest cost production for all kind of products. This control world inflation and benefits world consumers. By 2010, China car output is 20 million per annum and domestic demand is expected 10 million units. Another 10 million have to dump all over the world. Currently, as an indication, Chery 160 is selling below RM 30K in China. Almost all major car manufacturer assemble their car in China that is happening now.

It is therefore not surprising, under open market with glut in the supply on worldwide scale, couple with low cost production in China or India. Civic, Yaris or any models under small car segment will be price in the range of RM 30K (or say USD 15K). Log on below and you can see a lot of small car segment with this price range.

http://autos.msn.com/research/category/default.as…

It is highly probable future auto industry trend that the market forces will triumph over crappy protective NAP. It can be happen as earlier as 2008 or 2010! Once signed FTA, do you think the world trading community will allow this crappy NAP to continue sucking? Ha, ha, ……….. time is out for NAP/P1!

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 5:47 am

This model assemble fight for new P2 Viva 850 is it ?? plus campro … erm ppl will take this 2 car compare ?? haha viva 850 Dvvt manual , Savvy 1.2 campro r u sure 5 speed auto ?? this 1st P1 model eh ~ …..

• nizam80 (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 5:58 am

The price is ok for budget-conscious customers, and people who basically want a good, basic reliable car. For people whose budget is between RM25K – RM35K, there are going to be more choices for them: Viva (660 and 850), Sutera, Saga, and now this Savvy Lite. Take your pick!

However, i would like to comment 1 thing:

RM36,549 for the AMT is quite attractive. The AMT gearbox is very useful and fun to use, and now more people can experience it at an affordable price.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 6:07 am

This actually a good car for modders. buy Manual tranmission, go soundproof yourself, go adjust whatever you want, make transformer out of it like in kennyasia stuff.

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 6:29 am

Proton Savvy's replacement parts better be in good quality, if not I might think that the parts are from kereta curi (just guessing, no need to be serious about it)

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 6:32 am

Isn't the new variant have abs or airbags (or both) ? If it isn't there could be more accident as i don't think it is as tough as it had been advertised

• ezralimm (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 6:35 am

Joe, … RM30k for a Civic? Dream on…

It's about RM80k OTR in Langkawi…

Even if NAP didnt exist… with just normal GST, it would be about RM85k.

A USD15k pricetag is possible (RM55k). It would be about right for a small'ish car (eg. Myvi, Savvi, Yaris 3dr class car)… but not for a proper light sedan.

Keep in mind malaysia is an exporter/producer. A strengthening ringgit results in declining exports. That in turn weakens the ringgit. Such is the equilibrium brought about by market forces and currency flow due to trade.

USD1=RM2… Not likely anytime soon.

• ezralimm (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 6:38 am

Nizam80, I agree, the price for the AMT variant is very very very reasonable.

I dont think you could find a similar AMT-like car for that price anywhere in the world.

… *sigh* now Joe is gonna find some china AMT that costs only RM20k… if not, he will make up a scenario where malaysian ringgit in revived by NAP's destruction and global karma levels…or something.

• bmpower (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 7:56 am

haiyee…

give a cheap price also wrong..

high price also wrong..

everything proton in basher's eyes is wrong..

and there's still somebody thinkin they can get cheaper car if proton close shop..

poor people.. what a ortodoc mind.

In indonesia.. in china .. in thailand… in bla bla.. the car is hell cheaper..

but how many of them really can afford a car? Got a 100cc 'kapcai' is very lucky lah in another country.

I think this is really reosonable price.. and the savvy proven the best selling cheap car in UK already. no matter how.. many uk people buy it. so you think youre really smater above all?

• proton GL (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 9:12 am

viva / savvy,

savvy gives u confident,

• mohkay (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 9:40 am

Ola…savy not good car,myvi,sutra goooood car even this two car worst that tin biskut & unispired design hehe….plez lar,give p1 chance to make better car…..this savy can consider more better that QQ Cherry i think,p1 alredy make a move to make better quality car so wait and see lar this few month until next model lunch….lagi satu dun compare mlysia car with China car QQ & Cherry sedan that is worst car with ugly look yuk!!!!!

• azrai (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 3:41 pm

Low demand + high supply = reduce price. It's the economy theory.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 3:51 pm

if this Savvy Lite price without much downgrade to the specs then only it can consider as genuine lowest price. Otherwise forget about it!

• Matthew Seleigh (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 4:10 pm

Maybe Paul ought to just give the blog to Joe, since he appears to approach it as a personal sounding board to hammer Proton or anyone who disagrees with his own point of view.

Then again (and looking at the number of posts he makes here), perhaps Joe might consider getting a life. Based on the whingeing he’s done here, it’s readily apparent that Joe couldn't sit back and avoid bleating about something in any Proton-themed thread if his life depended upon it. Similarly, he cannot avoid hopping in whenever he sees his name mentioned to slag off on another poor sot, as his forthcoming ‘witty’ response to this note will surely attest.

Either option would provide a solution, However, if in the unlikely event that Paul asked me for an opinion, I'd tell him I’d happily start a collection so we could buy a life for the unfortunate "Mister Ooi".

He so desperately needs one.

MS

• mr. proton (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 4:15 pm

joe ooi..joe ooi… why u always acting like u the only one that always "betul"..

STOP THE CRAP TALK, STOP THE BARKING!

this slogan is for u actually….

• p1basher (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 4:49 pm

spread the price range to fightr viva is a good move anyway, we will see how low specs it could be, den will determine whether it will own, can compete or just another stupid tactics from p1

• moha774 (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 4:53 pm

What is the fuss about Savvy Lite…the lowered price is just to make it justify for Proton to slot the BLM price within the savvy h-line range or lower….to those who asked…yes, AMT got 5 forward gears…

• watchurback (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 5:10 pm

very nice move from proton to remain competitive..dont thing that lite savvy will come in black bumper for lower spec car like p2 strategy as lower gen2 also didnt put black bumper..best thing is to give low income people the feel of technology(AMT) it is good rite..and oii please have peace in here since more and more people fedup already with ur mindless bashing statement..sigh pity oii rest in peace

• whodz (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 5:42 pm

Ignore peYno..he is Public EnemY Number One..he loves making jokes at people. All forums he entered, he will continuously being sarcastic to others.

btw, savvy or myvi owner..who cares, at least they satisfied with their choice..if i had choice i will buy other car. but sigh..

I hope they will also produce Neo Lite :p

• hypermount (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 5:52 pm

P1 cannot sell stripped down models, p2 can?

P1 cannot sell little cars for 40k, p2 can sell 3 cylinder kancil and kelisa for that price.

So dam double standard.

• pendek (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 6:29 pm

i don't mind the P1 basher .. in fact i do belive thier comment does have some weight, as P1 now listen to thier buyer more than ever.

• bmpower (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 6:32 pm

Seee? As I expected!. 'He' using personal attack weapon now.. he got no point at all.. baseless thingy. Mathew and mr. proton. Couldn't agree more with you.

"STOP THE CRAP TALK, STOP THE BARKING!" . this phase is really suit with Barking OOii.

Whodz. IMHO , I disagree with neo Lite idea :D.

Neo should be the highpower.. high end car one. Makin lite version of this car will downgrade the level of satria itself.

This car targeted for young people.. not family people. young people want more power.. Supercharge and GTI will the best choice..

If the Neo GTI exist later.. it become the cheapest gti in UK/ oz etc.. can sell well what? :) maybe the cheapest GTI in the world.. ah… dont care.. just make it sell well.

• timber8115 (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 7:04 pm

i think they lower to price as they want to adjust the price gat between the BLM and the Gen 2 sedan..

But i couldnt agree on the minimising some relevant components such as alarm & insulator…… I guess they gotta think before cutting it.

• timber8115 (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 7:05 pm

prie gap not gat

• timber8115 (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 7:05 pm

price gap**

• nizam80 (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 8:17 pm

I heard this SAVVY LITE comes in a new solid white colour. The MYVI looks nice in white, but horrible in green (macam katak). For the Savvy's case, believe the SAVVY will look cool too in white.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 9:24 pm

Savvy can increase their sales provided always first thing to improve is to increase the headroom! Otherwise, the customers base for Savvy might limited to "shorty 5' 4" niche segment"!

• Infinitt (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 9:41 pm

The price offered is ok n can be buy to some ppl who really like Savvy design. At least proton did something by cut off some accessories. Can P2 do it to their Myviii..??? (Myvii sales boom already n P2 make profit 3 times so y not??)…poor to some malaysian who really want to buy new Myvi as the price quite high to them (some, i think)…anyway it still a ah so boring type car..hehe

• bs (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 10:15 pm

Based on the Pricing list by fellow blogger:

it seems that Savvy sales is badly affected by Perodua's aggresive pricing strategy. But for Savvy to lower pricing by taking out components is not a price reduction or cost optimisation at all. Savvy Lite is actually a descope car, by putting in less component, to have a lower price car.

In my opinion this will not work… as it is NOT a cheaper car…only that you are buying less stuff.

For a A-segment car to be sold cheaper, you need to have the economy of scale, large quantity = cheaper production cost.

I don't think Savvy can generate the large sales numbers, to lower cost.

In summary, it is like you are now buying half bottle of water for half the price… do you think it is cheaper than 1 full bottle… NOPE. NO VALUE HERE!!!

• aenz81 (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 10:54 pm

Good price and much better spec for the new Proton Savvy compare to perodua kancil 850 year 2000 for RM 32,500.00. For Proton Savvy, a buyer still can enjoy a power steering while driving and not for perodua Kancil 850. Buyer also can feel the horsepower of the 1.2cc engine better than 850cc of perodua kancil that just a little bit different with the price of this two makes/model. Between RM32,500.00 and RM33,900.00 how much that a buyer need to add-on for an extra driving enjoyment? just a little bit.

• rave (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 11:06 pm

Joe Ooi,

Now you are talking bout the Blog price and not about cars. Jeez man….you truly are a pest……….

• aenz81 (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 11:18 pm

I'm agreed with MR. PROTON about you Joe Ooi! Before our Family member buy a proton car, we buy a perodua kancil850 which is the cars is not suitable for our family member. If that Proton Savvy is launched on years 2000 just for RM33,549.00, i will preffer to buy that proton savvy compare to perodua kancil 850 for RM 32,500.00. But after we get/buy a first Proton WAJA 1.6 on 2003, we get a lot of driving exprience with that car. we all loved it. And now, Proton GEN2, Proton WIRA 1.6, Wira 1.5 are list of the car that we have owned. Also the new 2003model perodua kancil850..

• aenz81 (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 11:22 pm

Just hangging around with honor

• aenz81 (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 11:27 pm

New price for new 2007 Proton Savvy?

• mr. proton (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 11:43 pm

paul tan.. im curious why u deleted the savvy with campro engine thread… is proton mad at u…. then u hav to delete it…?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 11:43 pm

rave, see MS comments, just reply to him accordingly. The true pest is MS, or if you still don't get the point, then u r one!

• oversight (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 1:16 am

to all protonians,

it's no use barking here, let's see it sell well or not, after too much rakyat money already injected to the beloved baby PROTONG from PAPA G.

Funny, when proton fork up at last financial review and Goverment injected money to proton so that it can give vss to their proton supplier, all protonians lips are sealed. and now their barking and bashing other cars.

protonians are very pathethic. small issue like this, you all use it as a weapon to bang others. triple pathethic i can say.

• moha774 (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 1:29 am

You can get aftermarket timing belt kit for 100k, RM380 outside

• ezralimm (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 1:54 am

Those who flame and throw personal attacks to discredit others show signs of immaturity.

Those who make generalized rhetoric filled statements are even worse.

Lack of perspective… believing only what makes them feel good. They type of people who think a Civic costs ~RM30k if NAP didnt exist… even if it costs RM80k without tax in malaysia (and other countries).

I sense someone may be using multiple logins…perhaps PT can check the logs.

To other readers. Flamers are best ignored.

• ezralimm (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 1:57 am

ossd, i doubt second hand values will be hit that much. Trim levels do make a significant difference in second hand value…even in the budget segment. People do appreciate engine immobilizers and power windows. :-)

stay kool.

*peace*

• a doctor seeking new (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 2:11 am

i really dun understand the situation proton is facing right now..

they wanna compete with p2.. ok with dat

but trying to make savvy lite..???

whutever…

we'll wait n see

better to reduce all the prices n forget less bout having some $$$ to some certain pocket

could p1 just think about people for a while?

• oversight (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 2:15 am

ezralimm said,

Those who flame and throw personal attacks to discredit others show signs of immaturity.

—————————————————————

if you refer to hardcore Protonians in this topic, i will agree with you.

to hardcore protonians in this blog, don't provoke others if most of people don't buy your favorite brand of car. people will buy it when they like it. being cheap doesn't mean will like it. people who are desperate; maybe WILL buy it.

• nuzzary (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 2:21 am

head room.. what with malaysian and head room…

i'm 6ft 1inch tall and i can sit comfortably in savvy (sawi)..

who sit up straight while driving anyway?

• cyborgx (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 4:22 am

lmao.. you all Proton fanboys.

Do you know there are dealers outside selling NEW Savvy 05/06 full spec model around RM2*k? 4 years full manufacturer warranty.

What is this Savvy Lite? 4 wheels moving coffin without reverse sensor? lol. Give Proton a chance, blablabla.. typically fanboy with shlt on their mouths. If you think Proton is worth your money then I ll reserve my comment to myself.

BMPower said:

"I think this is really reosonable price.. and the savvy proven the best selling cheap car in UK already. no matter how.. many uk people buy it. so you think youre really smater above all?"

Bradder, outside selling NEW full spec RM2*k lah, you can count numbers or not? Btw, UK spec is different than Malaysia one lah. Only today you wake up from your sleep ka? How many years you been sleeping? 20 years? Welcome back to Malaysia lor.

PWNED!~ #

• ezralimm (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 4:48 am

? Savvy is under RM30k in Europe?

chinaman say… got sauce?

lol

It's RM40,500 OTR over here in Australia. For the cheapest manual model. Priced similar to the hyundai Getz.

• ezralimm (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 4:57 am

oversight, I was referring to everyone fitting aforementioned criteria – from both camps/sides.

It's not right to pass judgement on ppl and label them as "protonians" or "bashers".

Everyone is entitled to their opinion. However, 'hot' headed responses with nothing but generalized statements serve nothing to further the discussion.

Making proton sound angelic isnt right…

but making up numbers claiming cars are so so cheap overseas is not exactly right either.

See it for what it is. The newer protons dont have window problems yet some people still make generalized statements like "power window sure fail…". Ok, maybe they are frustrated owners who had their power window fail on them. But this thread is about the Savvy Lite… not the waja from years ago.

I sense immaturity all the way through this discussion. I wouldnt be surprised if some of the commenters are in their teens and are posting what they heard in "coffeshop talk". Or as the kelantanese would say… kecek kedai kopi. Full of exaggerations on both camps without much perspective on the issue… and minimal facts. Both sides trying to bash each other with generalized statements and rhetoric.

• ezralimm (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 5:00 am

oversight, I was referring to everyone fitting aforementioned criteria – from both camps/sides.

It's not right to pass judgement on ppl and label them as "protonians" or "bashers".

Everyone is entitled to their opinion. However, 'hot' headed responses with nothing but generalized statements serve nothing to further the discussion.

but making up numbers claiming cars are so so cheap overseas is not exactly right either.

See it for what it is. The newer protons dont have window problems yet some people still make generalized statements like "power window sure fail…". Ok, maybe they are frustrated owners who had their power window fail on them. But this thread is about the Savvy Lite… not the waja from years ago.

I sense immaturity all the way through this discussion. I wouldnt be surprised if some of the commenters are in their teens and are posting what they heard in "coffeshop talk". Or as the kelantanese would say… kecek kedai kopi. Full of exaggerations on both camps without much perspective on the issue… and minimal facts. Both sides trying to bash each other with generalized statements and rhetoric

• ezralimm (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 5:01 am

I sense immaturity all the way through this discussion. I wouldnt be surprised if some of the commenters are in their teens and are posting what they heard in "coffeshop talk". Or as the kelantanese would say… kecek kedai kopi. Full of exaggerations on both camps without much perspective on the issue… and minimal facts. Both sides trying to bash each other with generalized statements…

• proton GL (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 5:40 am

paul last post on savvy (hide)

exterior : campro engine,

has been changed to

exterior: new front grille.

anyway its not the most beautiful but its interestingly unique

• capricorn (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 6:17 am

Checkout the CBU price before tax at:
    http://www.customs.gov.my/html/cbu2006warta.htm
    Notice that the Chery QQ only costs RM13,034…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 6:19 am

nuzzary said,

July 9, 2007 @ 6:21 pm

head room.. what with malaysian and head room…

i’m 6ft 1inch tall and i can sit comfortably in savvy (sawi)..

who sit up straight while driving anyway?

———————-

You 5' 13" tall-lor can seat confortably in Savvy must be take away driver seat and utilize back seat!

Those who sit up straight is shorty 5' 4" or shorter!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 6:24 am

aenz81 said,

July 9, 2007 @ 3:18 pm

I’m agreed with MR. PROTON about you Joe Ooi! Before our Family member buy a proton car, we buy a perodua kancil850 which is the cars is not suitable for our family member.

————-

You can agree with Mr. Proton said about me, but I can't agreed bout your statement on Kancil 850. This Kancil is smallest sub-compact car, don't expect it will meet family need.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 6:42 am

Actually from design perspective for any products, be it houses or car! Among criterion taken into consideration is functional aspects and aesthetics:-

1. Functional aspects may encompass meet expectation in term of decent built, neet owner need, comfort, technical/engineering performance, etc.

2. For aesthetic, it is the "beauty" aspect of the products.

Therefore, in the case of car, the functional aspects might encompass FC, spaciousness, engine performance, maintenance, etc. For aesthetic, it is subjective depend on individual perception and tast, among other thing.

For Savvy, the normal feedback from ditractors comments is the headroom, lack of spaciousness and of course unattractive design. For "proponent", the attraction are "Lotus handling", built tougher than …., etc.

For financial performance, the sales figure is paltry and MyVi is huge success. That is the different between a product like MyVi that meet current consumers expectation and Savvy that meet small number of consumers based on their "taste".

The price factor won't make much impact on sales but more toward antagonize existing Savvy owners!

• arcana (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 7:14 am

a good move to capture buyers that doesnt need much equipment in their vehicles but then to the point where there's a need to remove alarm in the car?…thats quite a bad state i'd say.

isnt alarm suppose to be a standard equipment in all new vehicles?

• cyborgx (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 7:40 am

Even worse removing reverse sensor on a little car proves Proton is desperate for sales. I have solid information on where I can get 05/06 savvy with RM2* plus full spec.

• king (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 7:51 am

cyborgx said,

July 9, 2007 @ 8:22 pm

lmao.. you all Proton fanboys.

Do you know there are dealers outside selling NEW Savvy 05/06 full spec model around RM2*k? 4 years full manufacturer warranty

__________________________________________________________-

less than 30k???….hope you dun talk cock…coz i was looking for an old stock savvy and found none….give the location of dealer .

• AkuDotCom (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 4:06 pm

Apa kecoh2…

got a lot of money, beli other than p1,p2,

got just enough money, beli la p1 p2,

takde duit beli skuter dah la….

kecoh2….

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 9:34 pm

capricorn said,

July 9, 2007 @ 10:17 pm

Checkout the CBU price before tax at:
    http://www.customs.gov.my/html/cbu2006warta.htm
    Notice that the Chery QQ only costs RM13,034…

Agree wif u … the G tax forking high … u know …

who own the non nation car that one is a rich guy ….

but anywhere … QQ 13k b4 tax …. means …. the forking P1 …. no tax

but double the price it is ???

• aj3377 (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 11:47 pm

yeahhh… show your frustration on the next election….heheheh..

• mr. proton (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 12:38 am

mr. paul i think those who's insulting other guest should be ban fro this blog.. its not nice to do that.. moreover always say fu… and blabla. rude words..

• armandd (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 8:07 am

yeah, i agree. fight outside lah, dun use this blog..

• aenz81 (Member) on Jul 15, 2007 at 1:19 am

Joe Ooi said,

July 9, 2007 @ 10:24 pm

aenz81 said,

July 9, 2007 @ 3:18 pm

I’m agreed with MR. PROTON about you Joe Ooi! Before our Family member buy a proton car, we buy a perodua kancil850 which is the cars is not suitable for our family member.

————-

You can agree with Mr. Proton said about me, but I can’t agreed bout your statement on Kancil 850. This Kancil is smallest sub-compact car, don’t expect it will meet family need.

——-

Proton Savvy also a campact car that made by proton, can u give me the different of size for the both of this car? not a big different i guess……. and the price? also the same. but Proton savvy? Savvy gives u confident.

• ob8 (Member) on Jul 16, 2007 at 10:43 am

1.2 at 33k is quite cheap indeed (from a neutral shoes).

without the the hood insulator, will the car be noisier?

• .drive (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 12:41 am

mr. proton said,
    July 10, 2007 @ 4:38 pm

mr. paul i think those who’s insulting other guest should be ban fro this blog.. its not nice to do that.. moreover always say fu… and blabla. rude words..

said the hypocrite who’s flamed countless threads.

• Matrix (Member) on Jul 30, 2007 at 1:07 pm

Fuiyoh so many flame wars…

Well, i think i’m very few person in Malaysia who owns a Myvi…and now booked a Savvy!

IMO, Myvi is great car, meet all expectation as a city car and small family car.
    If i’m only going to buy one car, it’s definitely a Myvi for this price range (RM45K +-).

It is actually a good move by Proton to lower the price of the Savvy to Savvy Lite. Hopefully, more people will buy it now…more people owning a Savvy also means more economy of scale on parts for existing Savvy owners. Re-sale value is expected to be low for this car but i think it still can beat Korean cars in resale value..

Anyway, since i’ve evaluated a Viva and Savvy as 2nd car, I’ve decided Savvy is more interesting and i don’t really need much extra space. As for the height…yep, it’s freakly low behind…i hit the ceiling already in the rear…but front seat is ok…and I’m 5’11”.

Between the Viva and Savvy, IMO, VIVA is seriously overpriced. Everything in Viva looks and feels cheaper than the Myvi (compare premium to premium).

Let’s put it this way, if my budget only allows Viva and Savvy and I only can buy 1 car for the family, VIVA is a no brainer. The extra space and praticality of the VIVA will take precedence.

However, if it’s a 2nd or 3rd car in the family and i need to get around town, and i can afford to have less space, Savvy looks like a good choice.

btw, i’m taking advantage of the 3K discount…so it’s 37K for standard MT Savvy.. :)…add another 3K to get all the stuff than Savvy lite is worth it IMO.

My only concern is QUALITY. All Malaysians know Proton horror stories. I hope there’s less problems with this car than a typical Iswara/Wira….sigh…

Anyway, this is my first Proton…..wish me luck.

• malayman31 (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 10:39 pm

I think this is an affordable car and very economical and good for Malaysians who seek for a nice compact car.Comapre to Naza Sutera and Kelisa, I think this is a better for a small city car.

• adamccl (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 11:43 pm

Savvy Lite is a very good car for beginners, modifiers and people who are concerned about the ever-spoiling accessories of Proton. You know, the one sick usual complaint I get from customers: My power window jammed, my power window cannot be used, my power window this, that, everything… So getting the Savvy lite will save one from becoming the next “Complainer”! Anyway, Savvy users are still growing, and we tend to get Savvy sales pushing rather than Persona… I’m so bored of the Campro engine, still generation problems… what happened to all the good R&D guys? Or should the “Old Man” just go to sleep?

• Savvy got so many problem…. rear bearing alraady 5x change & coil 3x….looose mony lo…

• ??? I’ve 3 times replaced A/C compressor on my 850 kancil.. it cost me bomb!! i prefer to have bearing problem rather than compressor jammed.. my 850 kancil has twice changed the rear wheel bearing..

• savvy owner on Aug 14, 2010 at 3:27 am

I’ve 5x replaced the rear bearing but still hav a same problem..only 1 month ok then ko,
    coil 3x replaced….savvy oh savvy you’re not saveeee. coil one set ori almost RM700..
    maybe other owner have same problem…pls coment..TQ

• AV3006 on Dec 11, 2011 at 4:52 am

Just to update: I’ve been driving Savvy MT Aug. 2005, for six years four months now. {untang bank pinish 1yrs + ago yahoo.. it’s mine so I can talk.} Sincerely I was very very afraid when most people here says Savvy = negative. But thanks god, after all this years my complained were the ignition coil rm550, changed once to a new type,the old type need to changed the whole coil unit even when only the lead connector are broken, that why it is expensive, rear hub spindle, changed by P1 FOC, speed sensor I changed myself for rm130 a piece last month,bought from spare parts shop ( quote rm210 by the mechanic , where it just pull and push thing) and all those, 8k-10k oil changed 10w-30, twice gear oil elf, once air cont gas top up r134a @ rm60, tires… ?? that’s all, Try my top speed managed 165 kmh @ plus before kena saman rm300 ( kurang ckit la dtk) while on the way to 170kmh and saw a traffic cop under the flyover aiming the camera at me omg, near Tanjung Malim, That’s all, guess I’m the only lucky Savvy owner in Malaysia as there is a TUV sticker on the windscreen before :=)~

• AV3006 on Dec 11, 2011 at 5:01 am

Chapter 2: Heard that Proton will introduce a new model in 2012 ? to replace Persona. with my wife company giving 0% interest loan maximum rm85k for five years, my hand feel itchy to have that, as I’ve heard it’s sportier and powerful, for economical reason I’ll keep my Savvy :=)