BMW 120d Motorsport with customer racing kit

This is a BMW 120d Motorsport modified with a BMW customer racing kit entered by Schubert Motors in the 24 Hours Nurburgring race. Now it doesn’t have the new twin turbodiesel inline-4 that the BMW 123d coupe has, however the racing kit gives it even more power than the 123d has in stock form – we’re talking about 245hp at 4,200rpm with a 5,000rpm redline as well as a collosal 450Nm of torque at 3,000rpm.

Brakes have been upgraded to 6-piston brakes at the front and 4-piston calipers at the rear. The car weighs 1,135kg including drive, which is very little to pull around considering it has 450Nm of torque driven through only two driven rear wheels. We’re talking about ridiculous amounts of wheelspin here.

Anyone with a 120d can transform their car into this monster using the customer racing kit – at a price though: 95,000 Euros or roughly 450,000 ringgit but that doesn’t include import and other miscellaneous taxation yet.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• normaluser (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 3:19 pm

A pocket rocket. Its rare to see a hatch modified into a wide body racing spec car.

• NiceCar (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 3:21 pm

emm.. the body kit seem so close to contact the land.. is it suitable for M'sia..since M'sia's road alway lubang sini and sana.. hahaa..

Back to topic, it not attact my attention.. the side view and rear view still ok,

but the front view…. emmm…"wat tat" (cantonese)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 4:11 pm

It is a "racing kit" and not for road use; to transform your road car into a race car, of course it will be low. You dont have to worry about speed bumps in a race track ;)

Also, in case you didn't notice, the track of the car is widened, and the wheel arches are modified, looks like they are at least 3 times wider than on the road car.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 4:21 pm

I wonder why not the 1 series coupe. This is a serious shot in the arm for "racing" heritage much like the original 2002, and the M3s.

BMW has always had customer racing kits for cars or special homologated specials.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 4:25 pm

it is too fast for Bmw ??? make customer dunno choose which model …. really fast making a new model …. honda also can't fight ….

• Infinitt (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 4:37 pm

Sleeping 'dugong'…

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 5:35 pm

Fatboy.

• owaief (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 6:20 pm

the front just looks so hilarious

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 6:28 pm

Izzit customer racing kit? Or Custom racing kit?!? But hell is expensive for a 120d racing car to sell in malaysia.. Even if it selling it, i doubt the diesel quality of Malaysian wont give that damn high performance, but a lot of damn black smoke at high rev LOL!

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 7:52 pm

Diesel..The way saving our planet..

• ab (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 8:39 pm

it's a customer race car, not for the roads

• normaluser (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 9:14 pm

LittleFire, i believe its not for sold.

Its weird to see a hatch tuned into a wide body full spec racing car. Some more, its a four door hatch.

• transformer (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 9:57 pm

a masterpiece ONLY in the eyes of its creator!

YUKS!!

• szw (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 9:59 pm

wah… damn ganas wei…

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 11:07 pm

Not the best looking of widebody kits, but certainly not bad either, apart from the front. RM450k sure is costly for the mods *shivers* All that torque thru rear-wheels = sure killer :p

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 1:12 am

This car is in the same category as the Maserati MC12 and Ferrari Enzo track versions. All three can be bought by customers but can only be used on track. Ride height and miscellaneous parts such as cat-converters and many more are no longer road legal.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 4:17 am

Cun, but so low cannot pass the speed humps…

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 5:22 am

to cbljkkj:

how to say same category as the MC12 and enzo???

enzo got track version ka??? afaik that enzo only got 399 units only.

ferrari got many race version like 360CS and limited 100 units F430Challange. aston martin also got DBRS9.

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 6:17 am

haha! almost the same width as the Golf GTI w12 650……..but uglier….

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 7:10 am

PTAllTheBest:

There is, the Enzo's track version is called the FXX, the MC12's version being MC12 Corsa. Although this BMW might be of the same type with the FXX and MC12 Corsa, it's not in the same league, not even close.

• alpha0201 (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 7:45 am

Pure track car. Not build to show off. Not road legal.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 9:42 am

1st point I would like to clarify

Like aesthari said in his comment the track versions for the Ferrari Enzo and the MC12 are the FXX and MC12 Corsa respectively. I couldn't be bothered to list the names out earlier as I was busy doing something else. Yes the number of units for the Ferrari Enzo was only 399, BUT no-one said how many units of the FXX.

2nd point I would like to clarify:

I only said same category as the Ferrari Enzo trackcar (FXX) and Maserati MC12 Corsa in which I meant track spec. I did not say same performance, power, handling, class, division or grade.

Once again, please do your research before trying to belittle me.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 3:10 pm

yeah, i of then has been owned by MS in black colour.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 3:10 pm

yeah, 1 of them has been owned by MS in black colour.