Vendors urge government to go ahead with voluntary scrapping

Kelab Vendor Perodua and Proton Vendors Association urges the government to go ahead immediately with plans to offer a voluntary scrapping scheme for motor vehicles more than 15 years old in return for RM5,000 rebates when buying new national cars.

They are of the opinion that the scheme will have a positive spin-off effect on the industry in the following by increasing demand of parts and components, helping bring down costs as well as improve quality and delivery.

Also proposed is the voluntary export of old used national cars with rebate on excise duties paid to help generate sales for new cars as well as clear excess stock of used cars that are piling up in the country right now.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Charger (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 10:53 am

Kelab Vendor Perodua?

Is the word "Vendor" even in the Kamus???

Definitely benefit them with this scheme. And I thought I could drive my car for 30 years.

• normaluser (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 3:14 pm

A rebate of RM5,000 is not attractive at all, considering that all new cars are more than ten times expensive.

• NiceCar (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 3:42 pm

for the rich ppl, of course it worth..

for the poor ppl, even the car loan take 9-10 years..

after pay all the car loan, then just able to enjoy for another 5 years??

NO WAY!!!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 4:14 pm

You could still drive your car for 30 years……

Its a voluntary scheme….but what erks me is how they might eventually turn voluntary to mandatory.

Even for rich ppl its not worth it. You could still sell a SUPER DEPRECIATED 15 year old Volvo for 15k. Who would want to scrap that for maximum 5k?

And get this. ONLY WHEN BUYING NATIONAL CARS.

Anotheyr ploy to help Proton?

Perodua vendors are just greedy. Its not like they need help.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 4:38 pm

damn only for P1 & P2 ?? other nation car leh … u r suckx G …. my wira 97 year … buy it used when 2005 ….. after finish my loan ?? just rebate 5k ??? 5k can buy wat car ?? pay more than 20k for a cars ?? u think the money ec to earn ??? fxxx u G … nah this idea can't be work la ?? at less all the car no tax at all !!!! Who the Fxxx idea is this ???

• rexis (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 4:45 pm

ITS VOLUNTARY PEOPLE, chill. I wont retire my 1994 wira anytime soon. Its too costly to own a car nowadays, even a basic one.

• acbc (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 4:50 pm

Ask them to jump off from the 42nd floor of the Petronas Twin Tower building instead!

As long basic cars costs more than RM 30k and almost near impossible to secure an affordable loan, don't bother scrapping your current cars yet.

• northiswara (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 5:11 pm

a car with 15 yrs old age cost more than RM5k and the quality is even better than those new cars.

drive old car safer. why? conduct a crash test on 15yr old car toyota with brand new P car lorr……………

• alpha0201 (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 5:13 pm

This is by far the dumbest proposal. They should know that almost 80% scrap will be protons & perodua if they give a go ahead. RM5000 (maximum) for 15 year vehicle voluntary scrap? Good for new vehicle vendor, but suicide for 2nd hand vehicle vendor.

Kelab Vendor Perodua and Proton Vendors Association! You are murdering the automotive industry of Malaysia! We are not as rich as you ignorant prick!

• mr42 (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 5:40 pm

Hi…

This dumb 'business' people…Only thinking of themselves…

They proposed and urged…But who is going to pay that RM5000???They themselves or the government???If the government, it means our money will be used!!!

• ab (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 5:45 pm

totally agree. RM5k is way low…most cars are worth more at 2nd hand shops. this is now the national car companies repay us after years of driving their shit cars

• fastd (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 5:51 pm

VOLUNTARY. Cannot see meh???

• azrai (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 6:01 pm

Maybe if Governmnet can slash the duty for us to scrap our car, I think this will work. Imagine this, 1st time buyer buy a brand new Saga. When he want to scrap his car, the government can slash the excise duty for the new 'national' car like NCD work in percentage. This is where the government play their role. RM5000 is not enough. Please be rationale.

• Illuminate (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 6:24 pm

Guys, it's VOLUNTARY..

Far as the word's concerned, you are not forced to do so, So chill.. =)

The cars that are to be scrapped should be cars in disrepair, not functioning cars.. But well the 15 year guideline is still a guideline..

Just don't scrap those cars then! ^_^ After all, its YOUR choice..

Just my 2 cents =)

• whodz (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 6:56 pm

although it's voluntary..to implement this crap system..it must have campaign..ad..news press..and bla2..bla2..this will be using money..and for this such system..it is crap and wasted..G always like wasted projects..beneficial to particular person only..huh.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 6:56 pm

voluntary also what? ppl like to bash because our G like to use stupid and dump idea to help p1. we r now trying to do as a citizen is want to voice out what we dun agree. if really dun agree, then bash lar!!!

• opera7 (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 7:30 pm

"…to help generate sales for new cars as well as clear excess stock of used cars" ????

What kind of mentality is this. Cann't sell cars & "force" us to voluntarily scrap old cars??

Then, what's next? Builders cann't sell new houses, no construction works, ask us to scrap old house, buy new houses, build new houses.

Our local car manfacturers & ventors are just idiots. Cann't build good cars & want to forced us to buy their products.

• transformer (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 9:35 pm

poor old bumblebee being scrapped for a camaro…… sigh!

• transformer (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 9:42 pm

If G implement this act then WHAT NEXT ??

then housing developer can also urge G to implement HOUSE SCRAP POLICY ?

then electronic makers urging G to implement ELECTRICAL APPLIANCE SCRAP POLICY ?

SILLY !

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 10:55 pm

5k? Only? Hahaha, thanks but no thanks.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 10:59 pm

transformer.. please READ the article. VOLUNTARY!

whats all the emotion about? stop talking rubbish when its got nothing related to the actual topic.

we should concentrate on the dumb ideas that the government comes up with that we have no choice with.

• longjaafar (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 11:36 pm

I agree in principle on the concept of rewarding people who scrap their old cars. The only thing I'm against is that it is only valid if one buys a "national car". This I don't agree. There should not be a national car anymore, and the incentive should be given to anyone who buys a brand new car.

• mohi_jp (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 12:48 am

That is a voluntary, but there are more rules for car users when they submit the report, which means more and more test need for a car

Old vehicle will need more tax and maintenance fee is their aim as well

http://www.sinchew.com.my/content.phtml?sec=1&amp…

What they porpose as following

● effect immediately and old scrap mandatory policy to promote the new car market stagnation.

● After certification test vehicles, annual vehicle inspection and the use of machinery competency certificates (CRWU) to more than five years old car.

● vehicles certified by the (VTA) examinations every six months CRWU issued to the age of 10 to 15 years of vehicles.

● Domestic sales of second-hand cars and to pay the domestic tax rebate provided to solve the problem of excess second-hand cars.

● stop market insecurity and untested shuttle problems.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 4:21 am

I still say 5k so cheap la. Those old 70;s car still cost more than 5k to own one. Give 15 better

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 5:07 am

Well, they are going to act like Singapore.. If the car over 10-15 years needed to test a lot of time like the company diesel truck, i think they are forcing us to pay more on service, tax n more money into the puspakom pocket! Singapore cars also expensive but they can do it! This is becoz their G is more serious then us! They are driving more n more better cars, Subaru, Mazda, Nissan, Toyota new cars everywhere! In Malaysia, Old saga, iswara, Wira, datsun, Bluebird, Sigma still running around.. Some even worst choking a lot of smoke n rusted.. Those car dont even cost more then 5k! If the tax on new car drop, the car price will drop as well as the second value.. Do you know a second hand iswara 1.3L M 1996 now only eat RM5k!

This is voluntary man! My father own a classic 1972 VW beetle, when he bought a few years back only cost RM4.5k.. My friend bought a 1985 mini cooper 1.0 for only RM800. So a lot of cars are cheap n not being take care, scraping it is a easy solution for those lazy people who don't want to take care their old car.. I doubt these people also don't even take care new car also.. If this implemented, after my Wira reach 15 years, i gonna scrap it! Coz wira sucks! I bet the first car to be scrap is SAGA! Coz i already saw a few SAGA already scrap at old metal recycle shop! LOL! They only sell RM300!

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 5:34 am

after the result is not very impressive and new car sales are not very high then they will go for compulsary.

every car that older than 15 years must be scrap.

every family must have at least 1 p1.

stupid and dumb G.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 6:06 am

Stop the buying! Stop the sucking! Stop the scrapping! P1 start to bleeding! O o o o OOO, close shop! Habis cerita.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 6:30 am

cant wait to c it bungkus!

scrap ap also!

we want reasonable car price!

• intermilan (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 8:18 pm

believe mohi_jp have highlighted well why certain people still don't see eye to eye regarding the scrapping policy.

but there's more than what meet the eyes..

although it is voluntary, the ripple effect of the policy and its 'serampang seribu mata objectives' will hurt rakyat as a whole.

where will the compensation money be sourced from? Tax that everybody paid.

this kinda same situation like natural gas subsidy. one year subsidy running into millions perhaps billions rinngit.

source of subsidy: tax from rakyat and companies. but 30% of those subsidised amount are enjoyed by 9 independent power producer (IPP) who are actually controlled by 3 group of people. (Source: Utusan)

Their power plants use natural gas to generate electrical power, not coal or else coz it is cheapest raw material (the subsidy on natural gas is the highest). therefore, like getting raw materials on the cheapest price possible and selling finished goods (electric) at a huge profit. it just that portion of the profit is actually tax money from rakyat and company.

This is a classic case of misapropriate handling out of the subsidy money.

see the picture?

natural gas subsidy

rakyat money (tax) –> G –> IPP (a.k.a. 3 group of people);

car scapping policy

rakyat money (tax) –> G –> rakyat that scapped car* –> P1 & P2

* i highly doubt they would ever see the money coz G going to give them redeemable coupons, rite?

• samsung (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 2:18 am

hmm i got an idea to the G, beside scrapping old cars for voucher RM 5000 to buy P1, how about Scrapping P1 and open market for the benefits off all rakyat?