Toyota Rush Long Wheelbase suitable for Malaysia?

Toyota Rush Long Wheelbase

UPDATE #3: The 7-seater Toyota Rush has been launched in Malaysia! – Click for details, specifications, photos and pricing.

UPDATE #2: The long wheelbase version of the Toyota Rush has been spotted being transported on trailers in Malaysia! Click here to view spyshots.

UPDATE: Perodua has announced that a new Kembara will be launched in mid-2008. It is expected that the new Perodua Kembara replacement will be based on the Daihatsu Bego/Toyota Rush. Click here for more details.

In Malaysia, Toyota seems to be missing a model in the small monocoque SUV segment, an area currently dominated by models such as the Honda CR-V and the Ford Escape. The current Toyota RAV4 is just too expensive as it is a CBU import. One model that might be able to fit that area but not exactly because of engine size is the Toyota Rush, but most of us are hoping that it will come to Malaysia as a Perodua Kembara replacement model.

However, in the past with certain models that have both a Daihatsu and a Toyota model (a strategy the Toyota group has used in neighbouring countries like Indonesia), Malaysia has seen it introduced as a Toyota instead, perhaps because of Toyota’s stronger badge value. Stick a Toyota badge on anything and it will sell because of Toyota’s reputation for perceived reliability and the trust the automobile-buying public has for the company. We’re talking about the Toyota Avanza as a case study, which also has a Daihatsu-badged sibling called the Daihatsu Xenia.

While we might have the Rush come in as a Perodua to replace the Kembara, let’s not discount the fact that it could possibly come in as a Perodua-assembled Toyota instead (as the Avanza is now). Now many will argue that the Rush is too compact to be a Toyota, but there is actually a long wheelbase version of the Toyota Rush that is sold as a 5+2 seater vehicle.

The normal wheelbase Bego/Terios/Toyota Rush has a wheelbase of 2,580mm but this stretched Indonesian version has a wheelbase of 2,685mm! There is a historical precedent, as Daihatsu Indonesia’s Taruna F-series was a stretched 5+2 Terios! Compared to the new Honda CR-V, the CR-V has a shorter wheelbase of 2,620mm.

The engine still remains as a Daihatsu-based 1.5 litre VVT-i though, the same 3SZ-VE unit as the one currently in the Toyota Avanza 1.5 making 109 PS at 6,000rpm and 141Nm of torque at 4,400rpm.

The short wheelbase version was recently awarded 4X4 Magazine’s 4X4 of the Year 2007 award, and according to 4X4 Magazine, “was the only one whose character stood out compared to its competitors, invoking the image of a cross-country adventure.”

So yes, imagine 5+2 seating similar to the Avanza, with sub-RM100K price tag, and a Toyota badge. Do you think it’ll sell?

Check out more photos and watch a video and after the jump.

2006 Daihatsu Be-Go
New Daihatsu Terios announced in Indonesia
Daihatsu Terios wins 4X4 of the year award

Video: Toyota Rush Indonesian Promo

Daihatsu Taruna
The long wheelbase stretched Terios called the Daihatsu Taruna

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 10:06 am

The old Taruna looked pretty ugly! A cross between Terios & Kijang!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • soporific (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 10:55 am

well, the Avanza is already a 7-seater and with the 1.5, comes in at 72k. so the rush lwb has to sell on its SUV-ness, be it the 4×4 or simply that it looks tougher/safer.

it may end up being a segment all on its own, an SUV with a 1.5l engine is unheard of around here. plus 7 seats.

it'll definitely move some units, think of it as either a value-added mpv, or a cheap 7-seating SUV (dont have to pay the premium for xc90 or x5).

as a Kembara replacement, well, it'll have to be priced down, there's no doubt about that. can't really imagine buying a perodua worth more than 80k… so that means lots of cost-cutting measures. it'll fix the problem of replacing the old kembara, and personally, if i were toyota and had ckd capacity to spare, i'd do this AND assemble the RAV4 locally.

if not, badge the rush a toyota, jack up the price, make a larger margin since you can't get the volume due to production shortage in the first place.

• arcana (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 2:56 pm

funky….but i dont think toyota will bring in the LWB version since it has the avanza as a 7 seater budget and innova as mid-priced MPV and also it has high ground clearance although no 4WD drive train.

a normal 5 seater terios will look good enough for malaysians who want to drive 4×4 but cant afford to buy those 100k+ SUVs. and if it would to be toyota badge instead…..we'll see lots of bookings.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 3:13 pm

The Suzuki SJ1300 Jimny was an SWB mini 4WD (Body on Frame construction though), and only had a 1.3L engine. There's a void in that segment here in Malaysia now. Incidentally the Suzuki Jimny is still in production by Suzuki in Indonesia and Malaysia.

• J (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 3:31 pm

Avanza 1.5 = RM72K

Rush 1.5 = RM82K

That will sell well :)

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 3:46 pm

re-brand the SWB as Perodua and sell for 58k, better….

• timber8115 (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 4:19 pm

is it a stretched kembara?

• sarawakguy (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 4:36 pm

i like this one…looks very "Ford-ish" (Everest) to me…make it RM50+++K,….maybe I'll consider buying one imediately….

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 4:48 pm

Looks very very very dated.

• figo (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 5:06 pm

Toyota always ahead of competitor in term of fulfilling the consumer’s need. Take the Avanza as a good example, none of the MPV in our market price at 60K to 70K except them. As they are aware, the Nissan Grand Livina is coming and have better features as compared to Avanza and Innova and if their price close to Avanza then Toyota will lose out most of the customer in the budget MPV segment. As we are aware, no new version of Avanza from Indonesia for the time being.

Toyota knows the strategy how to beat the Nissan again. If they price the new 7 seater terios at below 80K then another hit to the market like Myvi.

Toyota(same as Daihatsu) always ahead in term of consumer’s requirement even though their interior plastic and fabric quality is inferior to others. They emphasize on engine reliability and practicality in design.

Another hit from Toyota again. They will not wait for you u to destroy them. 7 seater will hit the Nissan Grand Livina.

Just imagine if Grand livina selling 75K and their 7 seater Terios selling 79K. Which one to go?

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 5:15 pm

A cost effective step by Toyota. This is how they ace in 3rd world markets. Create a car which is more capable at a lower price tag. We can expect this be a big hit whether its a Perodua or Toyota badge but of course Toyota will allow them to mark up the price higher due to badging.

This gives tight budget consumers more affordable transportation and I see them as:

Toyota Innova -> Toyota Avanza (Both carry 7)

Toyota Fortuner -> Toyota Rush Extended LWD (Both SUV and carry 7)

This way they cover both medium/premium and low cost segments. Not a bad idea.

• moto_moto (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 5:32 pm

agree with tHe CuLpRit. re-brand the SWB as Perodua and sell for 58k. Perodua have stronge badge value also nowadays wat.. you see the ugly+overprice viva,ppl still buy because its a peodua:)

I hav seen the daihatsu taruna couple of times on kuching roads. They come from indonesia. i noticed the plate number is indonesias. It doesnt look good on the road.the proportion doesnt look good.its basically an elongated kembara.

anyway toyota rush or perodua rush, they are both welcome :)

• viceice (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 5:41 pm

Personally, i think there already too many 5 door SUVs in the market. What would really sell well IMO is a 3 door SUV in the class slightly above the Kembara's price and engine class (Maybe a 1.5L and 10K more) targetted at the younger working class.

Kinda like the 3door RAV4 or the classic Suzuki Vitara.

• haroldz (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 6:06 pm

i booked oredi

toyota rush rm 90k

perodua r 65k

hehehehhee

they wont sell toyota rush below rm 80k

is perodua really planning to replace kembara within d next 2 year?

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 6:10 pm

plz plz plz when it will come ?? this is my dream car rush … it is kembara will take this for replace the new kembara … if like this i now quickly sell my wira …. to buy this …. hope this year coming out … if toyota … 100k plus … if kembara i think 69k ??? anyone having the information ?? for this rush when will be coming ?? Paul ?

• szw (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 6:51 pm

enough power ?

looks like a 7 seat kembara.

• sarawakguy (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 7:13 pm

Will this be RWD ? AWD ? or FWD? Any info anyone?….I think to have an AWD will definitely "reduce" my petrol bills….(sigh)..Or else,..no diesel version kaa?

• sarawakguy (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 7:15 pm

…I was to say to have a RWD will definitely "reduce"my petrol bills…sorry for the error guys….

• intermilan (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 7:23 pm

sigh.. all the just-for-your-money, in-your-face, from-pointA-to-pointB, "just-slightly"-overprice-basic-moving-machine, misleading-and-just-not-enough-safety-and-performance-features & dare i say 'soul-less' models from toyota & gangs can be too much to bear sometime.. yuck.

we were often offered mediore finished products (but always 'seems' to be value-for-money as the real world competition cannot be made available due to NAP, economic of scale, consumer perception, existing market condition etc) from these group of companies (that most of consumer now vehemently and almost blindly trust w/o or little question), its kinda sickening. sorry guys. getting all pumped up because of these kind of car/SUV/mpv etc is just feel like blowing it out-of-proportion a.k.a. make it larger than life.

Pity Malaysian. We deserve better pool of varieties and choices for our hard-earned mullah.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 7:30 pm

I think this car need a 2.0L VVT-i engine used by camry to move around. I have drove an avanza 1.5L auto before.. really worst when full loaded.. furthermore this SUV is 4X4.. U need more torque to move with 4 wheel drive car… Anywayz if the new kembara is short wheel base with 1.5L DVVT nvm.. But if long wheel base, at least a 1.8L manual or 2.0L Auto.. hopefully they can implement like Nissan X-trail can choose either 2-wheel, 4-wheel & auto mode.. This will made this car more choices to sell!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 7:51 pm

Full time 4WD right? Fuel consumption and NVH refinement may not be tops but hey … it's a TOYOTA! Malaysians will be lining up to get the (T) badge!

• aj3377 (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 8:01 pm

actually i already saw one of the daihatsu bego on the road (from brunei)…

Not a bad car at all…. more like mini RAV4… This toyota rush similiar to ford everest right??…

• albagmane (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 8:20 pm

aikkksss… the commercial is very dangerous and illegal… driving on the emergency lane??? im sure our JPJ will ban this commercial… btw, the vehicle really looks very Indonesianish… if being sold here, our country will be infected by this Indonesianish look… eee!

• a doctor seeking new (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 9:02 pm

im praying that this will come soon

even if it is meant to replace kembara, i still consider it in my list

anyway people know that perodua IS toyota (wow, sound a bit exaggerated here)

• ab (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 9:12 pm

nice car,will sale well in msia. but i much prefer the starsky and hutch ending for the video, where the car miss the boat and sinks!

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 9:53 pm

yaya the recond rav4 too expensive … how about this mini rav4 to be new kembara soon … sure i affort to buy it … ~ hopefully , plz , sure this rush will make the P2 selling will like hot cakes ~ … pls pls pls P2

• I my (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 11:09 pm

btw, do the G allow P2 to make Car/SUV hv more then 1500 cc??

• jules (Member) on Jul 11, 2007 at 11:12 pm

This Lwb looks good. Saw it at Bali. Quite a lot of it there using Daihatsu badge. Should sell well if price like kembara or slightly higher. Size somehow like the latest Suzuki Vitara.

• transformer (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 5:44 am

a cute car for girls!

and should sell well if its a "T" makes….

• nmh (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 5:53 am

wow..it can jump..hehe

• hyundai (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 6:07 am

The Kembara n Terios are both bad car…

• transformer (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 6:38 pm

wish this rush had 2 gear lever where owner can select between 2H or 4H or 4L… True 4WD had this feature!

but not in those AWD vehicle which suck petrol all the time…. even the very tiny Suzuki Jimny had one since their 660cc 70's unit till their recent 1300cc units… personally i perfer 4WD over AWD machines…

• lightning69 (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 3:50 pm

I am travelling in Indonesia now for a month. I saw many Terios and Rush on the road and boy…they are georgous. My initial plan is to get a Sorento end of the year but looks like I am gonna wait for this baby. I cannot tahan so I drop by Daihatsu showroom yesterday and check out the car for myself.

Here is something about the terios here. Its price 165million rupiah = RM65000 for the premuim extended wheelbase version with 17″ wheel. And also available is the shorter version. The extented version is not only longer but are taller too. Its a seven seater and interior is similar size to avanza. I am a tall person(6’1″) so i always check out the leg room for rear passenger when I fully extend the driver seat and I was very impress that there is still ample leg room behind. The third row seat can be folded towards the second row seat for more cargo space. Interestingly the second row seat can be folded forward too.

There is a seperate aircon blower for the passenger so that is a nice features.

The look of the car is beautiful with the back looking like the Fortuner but a lot better. Front is beautiful too. I have seen one on the road with a huge sport rim and its just made my jaw drop to the floor. Even the Rav4 is no comparison!!!

I hope they will bring in to malaysia under the Toyota brand for better quality.

• wgaf1 (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 7:42 pm

can someone comfirm to me that toyota malaysia is going to launch long or short wheel version?because i am very interested to trade in my 97 crv with this one, i’m tired of this CRV that always brings me problem ecspecially the wheel frame…:(

• chanlman (Member) on Jan 08, 2008 at 12:38 pm

Rumours said: Toyota will be RUSH, Long Wheel based in Malaysia in Feb 2008. Price will be head-to-head competition with Nissan Grand Livina, sub Rm100k.

Engine will be 1.5L, 7-seater and its 4WD. So its gonna be under power? So P2 may not have a Kembara replacement afterall.

Hope we have a good Chinese New Year with the launch of RUSH.
    (did i mentioned? first batch could be CBU)

• volks2 (Member) on Jan 16, 2008 at 11:48 pm

toyota salesman confirmed that will be launching end of jan 08, the price will be rm80k to rm90k. more info. pls logon http://www.toyota.co.id/rush/easily_01.html
    but i interested to know whether it is full time 4WD or selectable one?
    how about the fuel consumption? anyone can answer?

• MiG (Member) on Jan 21, 2008 at 11:28 am

It is quite a nice car, better finishing then Avanza. Fuel comsumption is about 0.157 cents per km (Based on Malaysia fuel price at rm1.92/litre.) Power wise is average good. 1500cc could you expect great pick up power, forget it, my friend. Worth the price rm83k++ to rm93k++ for 1.5G and 1.5S.

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Jan 25, 2008 at 10:16 pm

jaw dropping~~
    so disgusting the long base version
    long n narrow the car
    zzz

• Laqha (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 7:45 pm

I’ve seen it. It will be launhed by Toyata in February 2008, maybe 1st or 2nd week of February. Booking can be made on 25 Jan, RM3,000.00. The price maybe between 85k – 95k.

Just curious….Perodua also will launched the same model as Kembara replacement????????

• Laqha (Member) on Jan 27, 2008 at 9:33 pm

I’ve seen it yesterday at toyota’s showroom. It is not 4WD. You can start booking on 28 January 2008. It will be launched in February 2008. Price will between 85k -95k.

Perodua wil be lauching the new kembara in mid-2008. The model expected to be 4WD and will be based on Daihatsu Terios.

I think both cars are the same. The differences are :
    Rush – SUV, 7 seater
    Terios/Kembara – 4WD, seater

• Steve on Mar 24, 2009 at 7:02 pm

Toyota rush and Peruduo Nautica – same car…. Somemore, Nautica more expenive than rush….. Who want to buy Peruduo???

• Christopher Teng on Aug 26, 2009 at 7:20 pm

I am the new owner of Toyota Rush 1.5G. I bought it in 31 July 2009 and drive off from the showroom, in Ipoh and noticed the alignment was out and informed the company staff. Until now (26 Aug 2009), they could not OR do not want to fix the problem. Wrote a letter to the President (Mr. Kuah Kock Heng) of UMW Toyota Motor Sdn Bhd, HQ based in Shah Alam. Still no reply. Really damn bad service.

• Gulong on Dec 21, 2009 at 11:24 am

Hello I'm looking for the supllier of parts for Taruna or Terios or Cami or similar.

[email protected]

I'm from Ukraine

• Saffinee Sulaiman on May 12, 2010 at 1:00 pm

I bought my Toyota Rush unit early this year to replace my 10 years old Toyota Unser for ~RM90K. In term of fuel consumption.. yes, for a 7 seater SUV it’s better than Unser. But not for a smooth and convenient driving.. my 10 years old Unser is better than this new Toyota Rush.. A long journey driving with this Toyota Rush is a nightmare.

I’m complaining to Toyota Service Centre during my 2,000km and 5,000km service and ask them for a test drive.. and after ding… dong… they concluded with this statement.. it was not a problem but a characteristics of a car.. floping (but in my term “bumbing”).

Although you drive at 60 km/h you could feel this floping SUV..

My advice.. For those who interested with this model.. maybe you need a test drive on a highway.. at a certain limit speed.. 80km/h or 110km (maybe) before you made any decision.l..