The Sultan of Brunei’s Mercedes-Benz S73 T AMG

S73

Now this is some serious madness. Everyone knows the Sultan of Brunei is mad about cars, but there’s just something about being THIS mad and having the kind of money he has that will result in beasts like these being made.

This is the Mercedes-Benz S73 T AMG, a special edition made to the Sultan’s specifications. He ordered not just one, but ten of these. You basically take a W140 Mercedes Benz S-class, convert it into a wagon, slap what looks like a W140 600SEC nose on, and somehow plonk a 7.3 litre M120 E73 V12 DOHC engine into it, the very same engine that AMG builds for the Pagani Zonda C12S. This engine makes 565 horsepower at 5,900rpm and 750Nm of torque at 4,500rpm.

Other AMG parts have also been fitted, including the exhaust system, brakes, suspension, interior, and in case the Sultan ever gets bored of the sound of the V12, he can always listen to the custom fitted Sony in-car entertainment system.

It isn’t the most powerful S-Class around though – the new W221 S65 AMG makes over 600 horsepower from it’s twin-turbocharged 6.0 litre V12 engine.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• arcana (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 11:34 am

money speaks louder than anything…..of course the title plays a part as well….lol

so will we see the new W221 being converted into wagons again? haha

• NiceCar (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 3:29 pm

the car really unique.. sure it is expensive to have this special edition..

for me.. not like the wagon car.. cause already having a impression that the wagon purposely to transport the coffin.. =P.. just 2cents

• Definately it looks like a coffin transport car. Maybe he is thinking ahead i guess. lol

• mr42 (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 4:28 pm

Haiiyaaa…takdak kerja kosong ka as a driver for the Sultan Brunei???

From what I've heard, The Sultan, if he wanted to use all his car one car for one day in BSB, he will need about three years to complete all of them…And mind you…He is not using ordinary car…He even bought Ferrari and Mc laren F1 cars….

Hmm..this was told by one of my Brunei based colleague….

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 4:42 pm

Ugly wagon wif moster engine ??? ….. y not buy the bigger moster MPV Or SUV ??? ….

• dr_blur (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 4:55 pm

no offense!

but …. macam kereta potong!

but with tat status n $$$ u want a BMW head wit Benz rear oso can la…

hehehehe….

• aj3377 (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 5:18 pm

He got 10 of them…. !!!.. I beg u Sir.. give me one laaaaaaaa…. warghhhh!!!… uhuk..uhukk.. I can't stand anymore with my old wira….. kekeke..

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 5:25 pm

His royal majesty is a mad car freak. If not mistaken, he also has a custom built ferrari wagon!!! With his massive car collection, I think he need to spin the wheel to make a random choice. Hmm.. which car should I drive today?

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 5:41 pm

Mad car. For emphasis, that's a Zonda supercar engine in a Merc estate.

• longjaafar (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 5:56 pm

Vulgar and wasteful! Especially ordering 10 of them! He has about 3000 cars and his palace has more than 600 rooms.

Not a very good example to his subjects.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 5:57 pm

Last time when i am staying in an hotel in Paradise hotel, penang. I met a chef.. He work before for the sultan Brunei at his palace.. Do u know that he almost have 300 cars to choose.. Even his youngest son drive an Ferrari enzo to study at school… His cars must be start everyday by his workers, and the maintenance is made by an singaporean mechanic.. Mostly his car are fitted with armor, and custom made for him..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 6:01 pm

I don't think he own 3000 by himself, but under for his G.. What what i know for personal used, sultan Brunei got a few only custom made for him and cannot be found at any market in this world.. He is the king of petrol, tax is cheap, so why not? Even his people enjoy more then our country..

• hotwheeler (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 6:38 pm

brunei = power to weight ratio • lots of oil, small country, haha

• a doctor seeking new (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 6:42 pm

better work as sultan brunei than working as a doctor hahahaha…

haiyaa can he give just 1 car to me out of courtesy?

• transformer (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 6:45 pm

kereta keranda !

• aj3377 (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 7:17 pm

300 of cars… few units of private jet and aeroplane plus many wife's… i wonder what else he want in his life…Take me as a adopted son can ahhhh?….

• ed0r (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 8:09 pm

with lotsa lotsa money to spend, why not?

When you're still alive and you want to taste all the things that the world has lol. Everything!

Some people want even more. Like… aircond installed in the coffin or grave. Yea probably it's too hot down there… in the 'bilik bujang' 7'x7'x3' lol

• iguanaa (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 8:12 pm

…in order for the sultan to enjoyed such an exurban life style without complaints from his subjects….

…locals in Brunei don't have to pay tax…education and medication are free…petrol cost less than mineral water…everyone owns at lease 1 Merc…

• transformer (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 8:14 pm

guess how long can that Sultan lived lavishly… heard their fuel reserved are depleting… if fuel runs out, their country economy would be haywire… their agriculture and manufacturing industry are very small… what else they had other than fossil-fuel ?

• xg9 (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 8:35 pm

how much did he pay? anyone knows?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 8:38 pm

well what i heard before, The Brunei royalty got invest in Dubai, Aeroplane company and also property across the globe.. So even they depleted the oil, they still can support his small country with $$$.. just like Singapore did now..

• alpha0201 (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 8:38 pm

A very fast hearse. You should've seen his Ferrari 456GTB Stationwagon!!!

• aj3377 (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 8:50 pm

check out this website… a full list of car collection of him…my godness.!!!!!!!!…

http://www.germancarzone.com/pit-general-discussi…

• dr_blur (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 9:04 pm

he has more car than any car magazine. hahahaha…

even 10 issues of motor traders oso kow tow….

but why?????????????????????

• ab (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 9:04 pm

from the link above, it seems the sultan has almost 10 McLaren F1s, Jag XJ220s and infinite number of F456…crazy~

• aj3377 (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 9:54 pm

mmmmm…. from the long list .. he missed one car… that is 'kereta sorong'.. ekekekeekke..

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 10:42 pm

crazy amount of cars……but some dubairian's also are like the sultan..EXTREMELY OBSESS WITH CARS!

• hotwheeler (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 10:51 pm

majority of grown up boys are obsessed with cars, it's just a matter of duit maa…..

• afroiq (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 11:26 pm

haha..truly rich man..so many car..i've seen the pic of the estate ferrari..ridiculous..but if i was him..i also want to take advantage of what i have..the money..

haha wondering no proton..perodua..naza in his list..

• AkuDotCom (Member) on Jul 12, 2007 at 11:51 pm

found this on google….damn cung AM2…

http://www.v6performance.net/forums/showthread.ph…

• proton.GL. (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 12:05 am

just an opinion,

looks campur campur,

if i were that rich ,id turn the one of the old mercedes to AMG version

• ~wj~ (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 12:24 am

hmm.. i think a perdana is better than driving in this ?

• wookie00 (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 12:26 am

3000 cars huh, 1 questtion…. i wonder if he has a PROTON amongst them ..

• danoneism (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 1:10 am

damn…i wish im his son….hahahahaha…..

punya bnyk his ferraris….shot dis guy sure knw hw to spend his moneyyy….

nice mercs

• albagmane (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 2:13 am

being rich is good, but being rich in doing negative things is bad. do some charity… give some money out to help save the planet… global warming these days, still throwing out money to buy supercars to worsen our living atmosphere??? wat an irresponsible act…

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 4:14 am

Buying supercars is considered negative?

Point is, the sultan of brunei never condemned any of you. Why condemn him? Let the man continue doing what he loves, collecting cars. Some people collect stamps, some people collect postcards but I don't see anyone slandering them about trees being chopped down and such.

If there's anything here to be said, its that the sultan of brunei is truly a creative soul. At least he dares attempt the ridiculous and the un-thought of such as this W140 and his Ferrari masterpiece.

1st)

One thing I truly disagree with these eco-mentalist about "saving the environment" is that i still see some of them protesting but in modern day attire and accessories which required alot of wastage to produce. If you want to get your point through, at least live up to the standard you demand.

2nd)

Charity starts from within. You should never demand others to give to charity. That is truly selfish and ignorant. If you truly care that much about peoples charity, you should give away everything you have now. Don't tell other people to do it.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 5:06 am

damm fast wagon!

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 5:42 am

C R A Z Y !!!! It's just plain STUPID…

He might be among the bloody richest human being exist in this planet..just like those Arab Sheiks, but the way they spend their monies ( actually it's not really their hard earned monies) make me ponder…

Well it's apparently different to see how the worldly recognized Bill Gates as the richest man in this planet, Warren Buffet, Ingvar Kamprad of Ikea, the Waltons of Wal-Mart and several more world richest billionaires who possess not only big monies but also big 'brain'…in other words they are 'brilliant and smart people' spend their money on this kind of doodads thing.

Bill Gates, Vehicle: Porsche 911

Warren Buffet, Vehicle: 2006 Cadillac DTS (previously he stuck only on Lincoln Town Car from Ford for more than 20 years)

Ingvar Kamprad, Vehicle: 1993 Volvo 240 GL

Jim Walton, Vehicle: 2002 Dodge Dakota

Sergey Brin (Google's founder), Vehicle: Toyota Prius

Steve Ballmer (Microsoft), Vehicle: 1998 Lincoln Continental.

The conclusion from all of these presentation…we could distinguish

men with '+brain +wisdom+realistic+big monies'

&

man with '- brain +stupidity+big lust+big monies'.

• szw (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 5:48 am

money matters

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 5:50 am

And plus none of those multi-billionaires whose assets worth more than US Dollar 20 billions each that i mentioned above are having more than 3 cars in their possessions at what time.

But that man…300 ? or 3000 cars ?…It's just CRAZY. I think he do need a real normal life…

• almattitude_v1 (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 6:14 am

Yes, I know he loves cars and all that… But I must say that alot of his cars are… well… ugly…

• mits27 (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 6:25 am

It is crazy, saw the list, it is too many cars…

• proton.GL. (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 7:15 am

if i were the sultan id send this old MB 200 to germany for specially custom AMG exterior, wheel ,suspension and tweaked modern engine, …..more exciting. belive me.

http://www.like-a-local.com/_files-cms/images/Lis…

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 7:20 am

The Sultan moves around in a hearse!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 7:53 am

i only saw 1 related to P1 cars in Brunei royalty.. Lotus elise from the james bond movie.. i think is from the 80' or 90', forget the time he bought..

• Coogee (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 10:50 am

What a waste of the country's money. Fine, go get one if you like it, but to have 10 ??!!?? Where's the social responsibility?

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 3:29 pm

Should buy the SLR McLaren or the Caterham. They're fast.

To be honest, I've never seen a Merc wagon before

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 3:39 pm

This Sultan might be CRAZY already, Odered 10 COFFIN Benz for himself?

1 is more than enough, somemore you can RENT a car thought! Ha.ha.ha……BODOH

• aj3377 (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 5:58 pm

it must be hard for him.. to be a sultan of brunei and sultan of cars….

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 6:35 pm

Well, i also heard that not all of his car are in Brunei. Every country he visit, he only sit on his car! Coz nearly every country in this world have his car in kept! in case he want to travel also!

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 10:30 pm

fuh! thats maximum royalty!!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 10:52 pm

No offense to the Sultan of Brunei, but this car is not nice at all…..

The Sultan should be travelling around with Maybach 62, Rolls-Royce Phantom or Bentley Continental Flying Spur…….

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 11:03 pm

thats too common to him i think…almost all the artists, footballers, basketballers and watnot got them..i think he wants to be unique….

• proton.GL. (Member) on Jul 13, 2007 at 11:46 pm

one of the richest country in the world,

• civ96110 (Member) on Jul 14, 2007 at 12:20 am

pointless consumption for consumption's sake. A Muslim should not behave like this. hmmmm

• mofo (Member) on Jul 14, 2007 at 4:19 am

Er.. guyz 7.3cc. Engine, wonder how big is the Gas Tank are. Any ideas ?

• Addict (Member) on Jul 14, 2007 at 5:25 am

Sorry guys, it's not my Sultan's car. I know cause I'm bruneian. He can buy and use any car he wants. Currently he like to drive his ML class AMG Merc. His son (the crown prince drives a 'Mosler' while the youngest brother drives a Hummer H3. The car in the pic above is used to belong to Sultan's brother (Jefri)

• alpha0201 (Member) on Jul 14, 2007 at 7:21 am

His car list…..My god!!!

He has his very own Gran Turismo (Literally) in his home!!

• afhstingray (Member) on Jul 15, 2007 at 12:12 am

was one given to the johore sultan?

because i was at a restaurant the other day and the tengku mahkota johor pulled up in one of these….

• albagmane (Member) on Jul 15, 2007 at 5:37 am

cbljkkj: so u mean we should continue worsen our environment? think twice before u make ur next move dude…

• nizam80 (Member) on Jul 16, 2007 at 7:19 am

Honestly, i didn't like this Merc Wagon much even though it had a huge engine. I was wondering if the Sultan of Brunei is a Lamborghini fan? I'd love to see his collection of Lambos from the classic era up till today!!!

• nizam80 (Member) on Jul 16, 2007 at 7:24 am

Just went through his car collection list. I don't think he's a Lambo fan. He doesn't own the classic Lamborghini Miura.

Anyway, what an amazing list of cars!!!! It's like playing Gran Turismo on Playstation. His car collection is waaaaayy more than mine in Gran Turismo!!!

• Addict (Member) on Jul 16, 2007 at 3:44 pm

nizam80 said,
    July 15, 2007 @ 11:19 pm

Honestly, i didn’t like this Merc Wagon much even though it had a huge engine. I was wondering if the Sultan of Brunei is a Lamborghini fan? I’d love to see his collection of Lambos from the classic era up till today!!!

Nizam80, H e doesn’t own a Lambo, but the crown prince do. The crown prince rides his Lamborghini Gallardo sometimes.

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 3:09 am

small country but had tons of oil and wood.
    the country itself is pretty run down and dirty. no progress but the people are happy coz evrything is cheap. and money is easy to come by. problably the only country on earth that is this way.
    basically the country pays for all his cars anyway. sultan of brunei=government.

use to enjoy his free theme park and free michael jackson concerts. now no more already.

many datuks and royalty in msia also have the same amount of money to spend. u can be sure of that. can buy anycar and also any girl.

• farhathaniff (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 9:38 am

he should mix up the front with the new SLR, the middle with the CLS, the wagon back with the E-Class estate and the tail lights of the new S-Class with CL Class dashboard, Lowerd C-Class air suspension, each seats from different classes, leather uphostery from used Lederhosen and Brabus 18″ rims in brushed chrome.

• farhathaniff (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 9:43 am

Its funny how people back in Malaysia stares at a Wagon, especially a Mercedes Wagon coz my parents used to own a 98 E-Class estate. And here in Germany, my parents drive around in a Malaysian-option right hand drive 2007 E-Class and the germans stare like theyve never seen anything like it before. My picture always gets captured on Highway patrol cameras coz they focus on the drivers (EU Countries are Left Hand Drives) instead of my dad so they always get false information and we get the blame.lol.

• Recing jebon on Apr 12, 2012 at 11:07 am

I just hope that the sultan pray well and his final car will be the finest one, otherwire barried him will the all the car 6feet underground. Anyway the merc above ..damn ugly and any ah long would love it.

• What a wasteful SOB. Why do we only ever hear how many cars he have. Have we ever heard how many donation he have made, no right.
    I guess as a sultan it gives him the right to be selfish & wasteful as he wish.

• rinaldo on May 26, 2012 at 1:40 am

onde sultan agia la 1 mobil sultan nan paliang buruak c jdh kalo ndak jadianlah wak karyawan sultan kalo ndak nyumbang bagai untuk meloan oto wak nan buruak wak ko ha…..please…..

• rinaldo on May 26, 2012 at 1:43 am

pleaseee