Production Lancer Evolution sighted undisguised

Production and Concept Lancer Evo Comparison

Motor Authority has spyshots of the upcoming Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution undisguised, letting us have a look at what it looks like way ahead of it’s international debut at the 2007 Tokyo Motor Show in late October this year.

But then again, Mitsubishi has already let us have a preview of how the production car will look like through the Mitsubishi Prototype X Concept, though after a comparison, the production and concept are not identical.

At a glance, here are a few differences:

1. The front foglamps are different, while the prototype used a thin horizontal strip of LEDs as a foglamp, the production version uses circular-shaped conventional bulb-type foglamps.
  2. The headlamps are now conventional projector headlamps with a less radical inner lense design.
  3. The production version has a conventional wing mirror design, and the wing mirror-mounted turn signal indicators are gone.
  4. This area of the bumper design has had the lower part of the design thickened – the concept had a less symmetrical design with the top thicker than the bottom.
  5. The production version’s front fender now has a turn signal indicator as per most country’s legal requirements to have one on either the fender or the wing mirror. For the concept, it was on the wing mirror.

Can anyone spot any other differences?

New 2007 Mitsubishi Lancer specs and photos
Mitsubishi Prototype X Concept
Mitsubishi Proto X Photo Gallery

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 5:42 am

Hmm, it’s either the rims have gotten smaller or the brake discs have become bigger. Either way, there is a noticeable gap between the brake disc and the rim.

Oh and the signal indicator has been moved to the side fender due to the conventional wing mirror like you mentioned =P

• Paul Tan on Jul 18, 2007 at 5:52 am

thanks, added that to the list.

yeah, i think the rims are smaller now.

• 707 (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 8:03 am

no window chrome strips…

the spoiler looked smaller lei

• rugaxp (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 8:05 am

yea rim are smaller and the ride is higher..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 8:08 am

How about skirting below door, look like “thicker”.

• J (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 8:10 am

The production sport rim design will not look like this picture…Just to share with you guys. Some info from the Msia branch I got last weekends:

Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0L DOHC MIVEC (Auto, CBU Japan):-
    Model 2.0 GLS is approx RM112K
    Model 2.0 GT is approx RM120K

Available in August 2007 (most likely mid)

Specs and features:
    1. 155 horsepower
    2. 6-speed CVT with paddle shift
    3. dual-SRS airbag
    4. ABS with EBD
    5. Brake Assist & RISE
    6. Air-con climate control
    7. 16″ rim for GLS and 18″ rim for GT
    8. Beige fabric for GLS and black leather trim for GT
    9. GLS with aeroskirt and GT with full aerokit & rear spoiler
    10. Colors: blk, grey, silver, red

Has anyone book one ? (deposit of RM1000)

more pictures in www.mitsubishicars.com

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 8:12 am

Actually the rims are the same, only the Tires are Thicker on Production model due to comfortability and cost.

Just to remind you that the Spoiler is Confirmed Different for Mass Pro one.
    Also the interior, bet you there are Not the SAME too.

• droll (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 8:21 am

urm, J, the model you are quoting is the regular lancer, not the evolution lancer.

nevertheless, 155bhp for the 2 litre will give the civic a run for its money.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 8:31 am

The normal lancer 2.0L mivec is cheaper then the civic man.. the gear transmission n engine is good man.. But i would like to wait for the Evo10..

• AmSouth (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 8:49 am

If what J said is true, I would like to welcome Mitsubishi Lancer.
    “Shu shu… Civic”

• transformer (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 9:03 am

mini-Gallant sure a head turner!
    wish it sell well in Bolehland…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 9:14 am

the only thing that upsets me about this evo is the fact that its lost its muscularity. it now looks very soft and rounded everywhere, likewise with the new subarus.

on their regular lancers, i’m pretty sure mitsu are still selling more tritons at this time. they seem to have the same problems as ford. their pickups/4×4’s sell really well, whereas their regular cars, not so.

• familyman (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 9:31 am

rm 120k for mitsu lancer 2.0…..
    sweet!
    where do i sign up!!

but really ah… rm120k otr? this price rm 120k include all the taxes and gman money yet ah?

evo10… hmmmm must be rm 220k then?

• longjaafar (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 9:53 am

Looks like they still have the huge rear spoilers. I hate them. Same goes for the Subarus. If the M3’s, Audi RS, Merc AMG’s can do without the hideous contraptions, why can’t these two manufacturers?

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 9:59 am

Hey I think some kid tried to copy this design on the front of an wagon body and submitted it to Kuntum magazine!

• aesthari (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 10:28 am

Shame about the headlamps and foglamps, and the bumper, and the wing mirror, and the side indicator thingy, oh, everything….. but otherwise it’s still one badass looking car! The new Impreza is soooo dead this time, in terms of cosmetics :p I want it badly!!!

• szw (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 10:33 am

it still look great.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 10:55 am

longjaafar, the huge rear wings on the EVO and Subarus are “working” aerodynamic aids and are there for a reason.

Since these 2 cars are also homologated for world production rally racing, the actual rally cars have to use the same wings.

the M3’s, Audi RS, Merc AMG’s of the world do not need them, because they do not go throught the sort of terrain and driving that these 2 cars are famous for.

• AMDunFreak (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 11:47 am

just what on earth i’m doing here in malaysia?
    the website http://www.lancerproject.com/lancer/ listed lancer from $13990.. i bet it’s in USD right?
    x4 RM 56K nia, every one can buy one…..

• AMDunFreak (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 11:59 am

one question, is it 4wd?
    if it is 2wd, it is front wheel or rear wheel drive?

• trustgtr (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 1:06 pm

the differences could be the differences between GSR and the lower spec’d rally versions…RS..then again, those are test mules..have to wait for the production versions..

• kody (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 1:20 pm

wahlaueh…

i spotted one difference…. red brembo calipers are missing in production mode…

• xg9 (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 1:22 pm

i just customized my lancer… and it’s extremely high spec.. i ticked on all options.. and its only $26,212….. ship it to malaysia $26,212 x 4 = RM104,848 ONLY!!!!!!!!

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 2:03 pm

Paul….

wheres the link i send you about the Lancer EVO 7 thats converted into EVO 10? like this one?

please! can you show it to members here? ^_^

• KL-ATR (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 2:36 pm

The yellow indicator on the headlights is rather glaring! Most modern cars have hidden them for a clean look so I’m really surprised to see that going into production.

Well… if they’re trying to keep production cost low to make it affordable, I’m all for it! If it’s near VW GTi price, it will be AWESOME!!! :D

• AzaniLaiho (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 2:39 pm

Front end lining is messy..there are back with evo 1- 6 messy bumper design, yes, it look aggresive…so the american would like it, because american like the weird bodykit design .. this new evo is typical American taste…

• AzaniLaiho (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 2:43 pm

xg9 said..

i just customized my lancer… and it’s extremely high spec.. i ticked on all options.. and its only $26,212….. ship it to malaysia $26,212 x 4 = RM104,848 ONLY!!!!!!!!

Dont forget to times 2 – 2.5 for the Gov. Tax

so it should be around = RM104,848 x 2.5 = RM 262,120.. sweet

• Kaboda (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 3:03 pm

Sorry nothing to do with spot the difference, but I reckon this car is ugly.
    Back of the car looks like the old Subaru liberty.

Stuff the new engine in a Evo 9 !

• alpha0201 (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 3:36 pm

Since when rally cars pretty? But they worked for a reason & Evo 9 looks no excitingg than Evo 10 or X. But it’s a real head turner for sure.

• droll (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 3:40 pm

i don’t think the new lancer evolution will be anything close to 220k. look at the current evo 9. i remember mitsu is selling for around rm280k. so i expect the evo 10 to be hear that price……pity.

• charles27 (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 5:08 pm

wah… J…
    the lancer spec so similar with honda civic 2.0 leeh.

• charles27 (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 5:16 pm

its 24mpg…. quit low i think.
    camry can do better
    and civic will do much better. :)

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 8:29 pm

nice, how much will this be :D ?

• kimisawa (Member) on Jul 18, 2007 at 10:44 pm

Any idea what the inside will look like?

• mohkay (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 12:51 am

I think dis car from the front look like catfish laaa,wah cook wit cilli api wah delicious !!!

• Illuminate (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 2:35 am

I think the rear end is just stupid, otherwise it looks fine.. xD

• xg9 (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 9:07 am

AzaniLaiho said,
    July 18, 2007 @ 2:43 pm

xg9 said..

Dont forget to times 2 – 2.5 for the Gov. Tax

so it should be around = RM104,848 x 2.5 = RM 262,120.. sweet

oh dang! better buy evo 10 then….

• kimisawa (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 1:41 pm

Car pricing is a complex structure. You need to take into account currency exchange, dealership network, startup costs, workforce, training, operations, marketing, royalties and many more.

It is not as simple as multiplying the amount taken from US or UK car prices and saying it is or should be this much. We may not have the kind of sales volume or dealer support network like they have overseas and the costs might be higher. Warranties also play a role in defining the sale prices.

That’s why the government was ridiculed when they sent officers to the car manufacturers overseas to determine the prices ex-factory when there are so many variables to consider first.

I’m sure the new Evo X will cost more than the current one because of new design and added features. If it costs less, then the public perception will be that it will be less equipped or the quality is cut down. Whichever way, it will definitely be priced higher. So if you’re planning to get one, get it now.

• 2ST (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 2:56 pm

Lets buy it one.

• djcoolmax (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 3:32 pm

Singapore launch is scheduled on Aug 10, 2007. Way ahead of the motor show.

http://www.oneshift.com/news/uploads/large-news_585.jpg

http://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/resized-20070718192943594.jpg
    http://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/resized-20070718193057315.jpg
    http://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/resized-20070718193242976.jpg

SG local rev: http://www.oneshift.com/news/news.php?newsid=585

• danoneism (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 4:10 pm

still nice…..hahahaha….
    maybe around 300k in bolehland…..huhu

• L (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 7:30 pm

hmm nice…

• nyawere (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 8:37 pm

djcoolmax,

The one in singapore according to your link is not hte EvoX, it’s just the Normal Lancer. In Malaysia also should be alunching around the same time. Evo X, according to their website will only be up for sale in 2008

• jamsbong (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 11:59 am

Since I first saw this model sometime last year, I have been very impress with it. It has a wide body for great stability, this car has to be the widest amongs its competitors of the same class. A beautiful young aggressive styling, reminds me of the old Lancer of the late 90s (evo4, evo5).
    Of course, a generous all round independant suspension is easy on your bum and yet corners like a pro.
    The only weakness of this car has always been the safety rating. Throughout history, the car’s safety is no better than a cheap korean car.

• J (Member) on Jul 20, 2007 at 7:14 pm

jamsbong.. any solid info on how the safety is equal to cheap Korean car ?

thanks

• tommy73 (Member) on Jul 21, 2007 at 3:38 pm

Wow! I’m in love with Mitsubishi again. 2.0L @ RM112k, I would seriosuly think twice before going for Civic!

• hans (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 12:26 am

It loooks very sporty !