More details on the new Proton Sedan

Proton New Sedan

Proton has posted more information on it’s teaser page‘s FAQ section. They’ve revealed the exterior dimensions of the new sedan. Let’s compare it to the GEN2 and the Waja.

New Sedan GEN2 Waja
Overall Length 4477mm 4310mm 4465mm
Overall Width 1725mm 1725mm 1740mm
Overall Height 1438mm 1435mm 1420mm
Fuel Capacity 50 L 50 L 60 L
Luggage Volume 430 L 415 L 415 L
Weight 1180 – 1210kg 1175 – 1195kg 1175 – 1205kg*

*Not sure about the Waja’s weight range

The teaser page also reveals the base-line model will have 15 inch steel wheels and wheel covers with 195/60/R15 tyres, central locking, 4 power windows, alarm with immobilizer, front disc and rear drum brakes, reverse sensors, fixed rear seats, and a normal CD player with 2 speakers.

Proton New Sedan 1.6 Base-line (M) AT – RM 48,800.00
Proton New Sedan 1.6 Base-line (M) MT – RM 45,800.00
Proton New Sedan 1.6 Base-line (S) AT – RM 48,350.00
Proton New Sedan 1.6 Base-line (S) MT – RM 45,350.00

The medium-line model is further enhanced with alloy sports rims and 195/60/R15 tyres, a driver seat airbag, a foldable split rear seat bench, steering wheel audio controls, an MP3-capable CD player with 4 speakers, electrically controlled door mirrors, and foglamps.

Proton New Sedan 1.6 Medium-line (M) AT – RM 52,800.00
Proton New Sedan 1.6 Medium-line (M) MT – RM 49,800.00

The top of the range high-line model gains additional features over the medium-line model – antilock brakes and electronic brakeforce distribution, disc brakes on all four wheels, both driver and passenger airbags, and remote trunk opening.

Proton New Sedan 1.6 High-line (M) AT – RM 55,800.00

This would be the first Proton sedan with a standard driver airbag on all models except for the baseline model for budget-conscious buyers!

In related news, Proton has reported 200 bookings for the Proton New Sedan in the first two days of the pre-launch booking period.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pekan (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 9:52 am

nice..!
    (^_^)

• mr. proton (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 9:55 am

good job proton.. keep up on it..

• Mayonaise (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:12 am

I really would like to check out how the improved dashboard will look like…

• narrowband (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:16 am

No impressed… but better than nothing. Keep them coming.

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:17 am

#
    xstan said,

July 24, 2007 @ 9:56 am

Been owning 3 Proton cars, Satria & 2 Wiras. No problem over 8 years. Just becoz many users satisfied with their car & didnt voice out , doesnt mean everyone hate Proton. I have no intention to get this Gen2 Sedan but simply anticipate for the launch so also the launch of the Campro CPS model.

I intend to upgrade mine to Toyota but not becoz I hated Proton but just simply say, I can afford already. I still don look down on Proton, just wish them well with since the appointment of new management. See what they can deliver.
    ===============================================

Absolutely agree with you… Ada Duit Beli yang termampu…. Like me, if i got biliion of money, sure 4 ferrari in my garage, big house and so on…Money’s make ppls talk… So dont bash or harsh Proton as they were would be. It will heart others feeling. Comment on their quality its ok…Thats good for Their future…. SMILE :)

• Paul Tan on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:17 am

Please keep the discussion at a high quality, intelligent level. The same baseless bashing and personal attacks over and over again is pointless and only gives me more work in hunting them down and deleting them.

• familyman (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:24 am

the body line is always rising from waist line all the way to rear end.. guess u still have to best guess when reversing eh….

• mr. proton (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:25 am

OK MR PAUL… u got my back..

hmm.. for this info, i would say this model should be boom since its pricing are so competitive n pack with the necessary features form the baseline to hiline..

• baldwin (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:25 am

wow..looks like it has more room & boot space than the Waja…

• mr. proton (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:27 am

mayonnaise

i can tell u the dash board was improving material. np more cheap feel.. also the analog clock no more this time and have been relocated.

• baldwin (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:27 am

wow..looks like this model has bigger room & boot space compared to the Waja.

• mr. proton (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:29 am

mayonaise

dashboard used high standard material this time.. the analog clock also relocated to other place not at the up centre of dashboard. u can prove it on the launch of this car

• infinity (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:32 am

this car’s dimension is all larger than the waja except the width…any posibilities tat waja replacement will be coming anytime soon?

• fairozee (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:33 am

wow…luggage volume bigger than Waja? I wonder how much they improved the head room for rear passager…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:35 am

huh? heavier then WAJA.. @.@!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:39 am

Anyway i think budjet user must at least 1 air bag for them also..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:45 am

Driven2020 said,
    July 24, 2007 @ 8:27 am

LittleFire85 said,
    July 23, 2007 @ 6:56 pm

Anywayz i heard that even they still using old engine, but they at least tune the engine with different output for each car.. look at Mazda, if that car is manual they tune the Hp more, while if the car is Auto, it will tune it for more torque.. Well, the engine is still same but still they can tune out 2 different kind of profile.. Why not us? Even BMW, VW also update their engine in CC, ECU, Injection system for more better FC, with no added cost! Look at the new toureq facelift! That why even the engine is old, they manage to improve the output! Compare to P1 old Campro, Ehmm.. The Hp n torque until now still the same..

wanna tune no problem! just masuk workshop sure tune kau kau sure can squeeze some ponies out of it hahaha

——————————————————
    Still need extra cash.. “Even BMW, VW also update their engine in CC, ECU, Injection system for more better FC, with no added cost! Look at the new toureq facelift!”

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:50 am

WAJA more width

This Latest Sedan Abit Longer and good news high roof top….. wow!!!!

Conclusion,

Longer mean good trunk… High roof top mean no more KEPALA KENA BUMBUNG

Looking forward on it….

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:50 am

=_=”

• Dogster (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:50 am

Har??? Remote trunk opening… aya that should come standard la. Not that expensive to get it done in the access shops..

• szw (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:50 am

looks longer then a waja. im still looking 4ward to a waja cps wif HID .

• Siva (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:50 am

http://paultan.org/forum/index.php/topic,29.msg4970.html#msg4970

• khimfoh (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:51 am

I noticed the odd tyre size 195/60/R15 for the new Proton Sedan. The Gen2 Hatch and the Waja uses a 195/55/R15. What was the reason for the new Proton Sedan, which I assume uses the exact same platform of the Waja and the Gen2 Hatch, to be fitted with this odd tyre size ?

• nizam80 (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:51 am

Its taller and longer that a Waja. I think RM45K here is reasonable. The Premium (AT) Viva cost bout RM44K. By adding just bout RM1.5K, customers can go for this sedan for more space and a much bigger engine. Now, people can decide. For me, if this is my budget, then i’ll go for this sedan. The only thought i have is that, wouldn’t it be great if they launch this car equipped with the CPS engine. :D It will definitely add icing to the cake.

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:51 am

To PAUL…

No Leatest SPY Shots?

• mr. proton (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:53 am

infiniti

no waja replacement for the moment bcoz waja cps is about to launch in nearly time.

fairozee..
    at the preview for staff. one man with 6 foot plus seat at the back without complaining his head touch the rear roof.. so no more lo rear roof

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:53 am

#
    nizam80 said,

July 24, 2007 @ 10:51 am

Its taller and longer that a Waja. I think RM45K here is reasonable. The Premium (AT) Viva cost bout RM44K. By adding just bout RM1.5K, customers can go for this sedan for more space and a much bigger engine. Now, people can decide. For me, if this is my budget, then i’ll go for this sedan. The only thought i have is that, wouldn’t it be great if they launch this car equipped with the CPS engine. :D It will definitely add icing to the cake.
    ===============================

Agree…Always depends on budget and value for money….Think..Think…

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:54 am

**WAJA more width

***This Latest Sedan Abit Longer and good news high roof top….. wow!!!!

Conclusion,
    Longer mean good trunk… High roof top mean no more KEPALA KENA BUMBUNG

Looking forward on it….

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:56 am

Remote Trunk!!!!

No need used car key anymore….Like BMW?

Absolutely fantastic….Should install in all line ..BL..ML..HL

• mr. proton (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:56 am

nizam.. it will equip with cps mybe next year but with higher price than non cps..

• Paul Tan on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:59 am

khimfoh: probably thicker tyres for more comfort

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:59 am

Even WAJA got wide Body good for space at the back

And here The SEDAN not to Wide as WAJA but a bit longer…..Any Idea?
    Prety same?
    I woudering it could same like Honda City..The latest one.. A bit longer than previous right??

WOWOWOWOWOWWWWW!!!!!!

• nizam80 (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:00 am

mr. proton said,
    July 24, 2007 @ 10:56 am

“nizam.. it will equip with cps mybe next year but with higher price than non cps..”

Ok, thanks for the info. For this model, does the Base-Line variant (RM45,350) include rear passenger headrests??

• timber8115 (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:08 am

I wish that the new sedan dashboard does not look like the current Gen2……

the pricing also can kill MYVI in no time…….

• 20v_ke35 (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:13 am

One question. Will the sedan has CAMPRO CPS or CAMPRO tipu?

• xstan (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:15 am

Darn…its bigger space than Waja. Certainly a vast improvement. The price is right too. Heard the interior upgraded too. Went to Mutiara Damansara (all the way frm Ipoh) thinking I could peep @ the new Sedan, as there are some spyshot on the vehicle there..too bad. The exyerior design is typically similar to the earlier art design impression that posted in PaulTan. Crome in centre front (like the Honda City) & long horizontal crome at the rear, from the spyshot.

Price is really right…starts at RM45K for 1.6L Capro with Variable valve. This is cartainly better value than the small K cars of P2.W’ll see…

Actually the rear design of Gen 2 is unique & nice. The Front is better looking than most of the Proton cars. Not bad.

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:16 am

#
    20v_ke35 said,

July 24, 2007 @ 11:13 am

One question. Will the sedan has CAMPRO CPS or CAMPRO tipu?
    =============================

Got Campro tipu??
    I tot only Upgrade TCU for AT model… Learn dude Learn..

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:19 am

Xstan dont confius…CPS=Variable valve will produce next year model as said by Mr. Proton…..Got info as well at Proton edar website

• piaa (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:30 am

how about FC for this sedan? is it will be similiar as waja.

• xstan (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:41 am

Aril….I’m not talking about CPS lah. Read this extract from Proton website:-

“have improved low-end torque which is achieved not by the long-awaited cam-profiling system (CPS) but by a new variable intake system and some tweaking of the ECU”

If I’m not mistaken its Variable Valve…no relation to CPS. Check the website of Proton.com.

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:44 am

xstan said,

owh ya…this one should come with CPS…Variable intake made by BOSCH,,,,But since they said some tweak at ECU…Cool man..Yahooo

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:45 am

Paul, u mentioned the Baseline comes with 195/60/R16 tyres and the Medium/High comes with 195/60/R15…

is this correct, cos then it would mean the Base comes with a bigger rim/tyre diameter..

sorry ah, @work so tak sempat go to Proton site and check

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:45 am

xstan..wanted the URL..tq :)

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:47 am

and yea, im still stumped they choose to have the Airbags/ABS only on the Auto model…

• ec (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:48 am

I only found foldable rear seat useful for the ML, other than that like MP3, alloy rim, electronic mirror, fog lamps bit of useless for an additional 4K. However airbag is good for those “skilled+speed” drivers but not for me whom always adhere to the speed limit :)-

Overall BL is more than enough.

Would suggest to replace MP3+alloy rim+electronic mirror+fog lamps to LEATHER SEAT for ML.

I own another kelisa auto with electronic mirror. I must say that I never “play” with the electronic switch since first day my car going on the road!!

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:50 am

aiyah… shld have read properly, cos now i’ve noticed that U can get drivers airbag with the manual tranny.. nvr quite noticed this earlier in the Proton site…

but anyhow, a High-line option for the manual would still be nice…

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:59 am

yep…like others model, HL got MT….Hope one of protn staff read our comment then tadaa..15 aug got MT in HL..hahahaha..Then i should buy it

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 12:00 pm

To Prem3377. In the last topic discussion. I thought Proton Waja and Gen.2 shared the same platform. As for Savvy and Satria Neo individual with all new platform. Anyway, thanks for some of the information you posted regarding to the steel grade.

Before I did found that the Waja steel still not as good (stiff/strong/thick) as the one used in Savvy and Satria Neo. Parts like fender and front bonnet as example. Gen.2 not sure about that as didn’t really ‘feel’ the car. haha…. Just my two cents.

This Proton new sedan should share the same platform as Waja and Gen.2. Meaning Proton have already spin off 3 different models with same platform which is a good start as try to fully utilize the same platform and reduce cost. Please correct me if I’m wrong. The anti-rust solutions have been improved. Still remember the old Saga, Wira, Satria age with their variants lots of rust problem from front bonnet, to door panel and rear boot some even the roof as the car only 4 years old. Until today, Waja body still in good condition without having rust problem yet. So don’t always say Proton never improve in quality. Here one of the proof.

Hopefully, everything is nicely build for this Proton new sedan and their future models and not only look nice on their papers.

All the best to Proton and happy motoring to all. Drive safe.

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 12:02 pm

Read Bellow

CONSUMERS VOTE PROTON AS A READER’S DIGEST TRUSTED BRAND FOR A SECOND YEAR RUNNING…at
    http://www.proton.com/about_proton/press/full_details.php?intArticleID=209

So no prob for 2006 model and beyond :)

Cheer

• tokmoh (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 12:02 pm

@piaa
    Since this new saloon is heavier by 5kg, I believe its FC will be affected slightly. Aiya, dun worry la abt FC. Just as long as u drive consistently and with care, the car won’t be too thirsty. U drive ganas, then even Kancil can be thirstier than a Lambo.[/sarcasm]

“This would be the first Proton sedan with a standard driver airbag on all models except for the baseline model for budget-conscious buyers!”

I thought the current Waja 2007 FL hv twin airbag, leather seats n ABS as std. Nvrtheless, a welcoming act by Proton in this new saloon.

• engtaokia (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 12:05 pm

tunggu, lihat, dan buat keputusan….
    dont become white rat…heheh…
    50/50 chance lah…

• aj3377 (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 12:09 pm

Maybe proton should come out with gen2 sedan lite package … exclude all the unnesassary thing…

• azrai (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 12:10 pm

Now, Proton really study and listen to what people need. Their new marketing scheme gonna be a success. Maybe Waja can be in 1.8 form only but using Campro engine instead of Reanult with major facelift for the front portion (just look at Audi A4). I think Waja also can be the best platform for a new crossover right. Subaru has done this for their Legacy model. Cost cutting.

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 12:15 pm

@piaa
    Since this new saloon is heavier by 5kg, I believe its FC will be affected slightly. Aiya, dun worry la abt FC. Just as long as u drive consistently and with care, the car won’t be too thirsty. U drive ganas, then even Kancil can be thirstier than a Lambo.[/sarcasm]

“This would be the first Proton sedan with a standard driver airbag on all models except for the baseline model for budget-conscious buyers!”

I thought the current Waja 2007 FL hv twin airbag, leather seats n ABS as std. Nvrtheless, a welcoming act by Proton in this new saloon.

=============================================================

That waja Called WAJA premium….Upgrade from HL….So waja no more ML and HL
    So this Sedan offcourse be the 1st sedan in both LIne installed with Airbag..
    Good Work PROTON….

• tokmoh (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 12:20 pm

@ec
    It is a fact that 85-95% of accidents happen below the speed limit. I hope u can sink in this quote from Jeremy Clarkson: “Speed never kills. It’s getting stationary all of a sudden, that’s what gets you”.

@Aril
    Not many are convinced by RD’s award. Think of it like asking chefs to judge a ballet dancing competition. In other words, if u hv to quote something, make sure they’re in the business of car, like AUTOCAR, Top Gear, Evo, 5th Gear, etc.

I remembered previously there was also another rubbish award from “business PoV”, where Myvi won the CotY, n Altis won safest car. I may agree Myvi being CotY from “business PoV” due to its success in profiteering P2 big time, bt an Altis to defeat a 5-star Euro NCAP certified car? Wtf is dat? And I’m nt referring to some German marque, though that car is German-engineered (Clue: it has an American badge).

• azrai (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 12:26 pm

So, Proton class group compare to UMW make:-?

1. BLM = Viva
    2. Savvy = Viva, MyVi
    3. Gen2 Sedan = Myvi, Vios
    4. Gen2 = Vios
    5. Waja = Altis
    6. Perdana = Camry

Maybe? Perdana is outdated..:)

• tokmoh (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 12:29 pm

Aril said,

That waja Called WAJA premium….Upgrade from HL….So waja no more ML and HL
    So this Sedan offcourse be the 1st sedan in both LIne installed with Airbag..
    Good Work PROTON….
    —————————–
    Well, is there still “normal”, or shud I say “lite” Waja sold by Proton now?

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 12:31 pm

We Want PROTON We Want PROTON We Want PROTON………Did I heard someone said it on the STREET yesterday?

I hope This time PROTON wouldn’t disappointing RAKYAT! GOOD QUALITY is 1st issue.

• mr. proton (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 12:52 pm

tok moh.. wat paul means is standard for driver’s airbag.. not dual airbags.. that one standard in waja

• volvolover (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 12:57 pm

If you ask me honestly, proton has good looks, I have to admit it. No doubt about it. But the quality issue is a huge problem. Interior has improved a lot since Tun’s time. Proton has improved a lot but I don’t like to support it due to some political reasons and race issues I won’t discuss here. But yes it is a good car, I would take proton anytime anyday over perodua. One of the biggest reason I don’t like proton is the huge tax on foreign cars make them look cheap when they are not cheap at all. Proton has about 10% tax only. ANother thing is because lots of Malaysian buy protons, I have something so common like everybody have. But as a car by itself, proton’s interior and exterior looks acceptable. They really should improve the quality of the car if they want to succeed.

• mr. proton (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 1:02 pm

VOLVOLOVER.. the tax is is our govt. big income.. even if proton didnt exist the tax will still high bcoz this country really depending on tax collection.

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 1:04 pm

Tok Moh…

standard driver airbag located at stering wheel
    Dual airbag is stering wheel and dashboard passanger side…

So waja is different class due upgraded version…..SO no more Waja campro STD and Waja Campro HL..all in one called WAJA premium

Meanwhile this SEDAN will be produce 3 varians..BL, ML, HL,,
    Only ML and HL got Driver Airbag….+ more at HL with Passenger Airbag

So, This would be the first Proton sedan with a standard driver airbag on all models except for the baseline model for budget-conscious buyers!

Cheers,
    Aril

• mr. proton (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 1:11 pm

so lets pray for good quality this time. but, wat i know this model has been rectify on the first batch qc prob bcos datuk syed md really particular on this matter for this model. this is model that proton needs to boost back the sale.. jus wait 15 aug..

• Azuma (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 1:13 pm

Any info about the engine, mr paul?

• mr. proton (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 1:13 pm

thanks aril for ur support..

• mr. proton (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 1:17 pm

tok moh ..there’s still old stock waja got diskaun almost rm6 k.. maybe u can call the proton edar branch for more details..

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 1:28 pm

#
    Azuma said,

July 24, 2007 @ 1:13 pm

Any info about the engine, mr paul?
    ====================================

For the engine side…Still Used Campro 1.6 L with upgraded TCU (Auto Varians).
    TCU for Better Gear Mapping.But i heart it also installed with VIM (Valve intake manifold) by BOCSH for better torque (Correct me if im wrong)

Source By PAULTAN and PROTON.com.my

• xstan (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 1:28 pm

I notice many of the sales Exec reluctant to reveal much as I know they have drive one..some just say its similar to Gen2 with a little change in interior. One particular fren , a sales exec say the interior got better higher plastic feel than the previous model. Gone are the old dashboard plastikey cheap feel..this got me even more excited. He test drive one& its better then the old model..better pick up too. Wow, all this thing, make me salivate. But donno how true…as said at this affordable price too. Phuweeee….

Mr Proton..can give a little description on the interior thing, maybe review the feel when u drive one??

• sxe10r (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 1:44 pm

heavy then waja ?? …. erm … but i also looking for used waja …

• Infinitt (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 1:44 pm

Welcome to new proton baby yang comel..

• mr. proton (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 2:03 pm

xstan for your info.
    this gen2 sedan comes new colour scheme interior, new handbrake, new gear lever n console, new armrest, redesign seat, relocation of power window switches to driver’s door,side mirror control also there n the door lock there. glove box bigger than waja, more cup holder two in centre also for the rear occupants got two cupholders. redesign of door opening,redesign of meter cluster, no more analog clock at centre dashboard, all the swithches and the material used this time very good feel . no more cheap feel. at the preview for the staff i say man with 6 foot seated at the backseat n he said no touched at the roof. more leg room. the bonet very wide n larger than current gen2. u can open the bonet from the key. so, what i want to say.. there’s a lot improvement on the interior…

adding some more the steering feel n turning radius more improved as the cheap feel on previous model has lost.. no more failure during u turn bcoz previous gen2 turning radius so bad. also this time there are so many compartment as it was invevted to suit family needs.. thats wat i can tell u xstan..

do rush to the showroom n book the car

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 2:06 pm

Used and New…..

Used cheap with high bank interest
    New abit expensive than new but lower interst

When calculate with 7 year loan…see the result

Used per month Rm740 with 4.6%
    New permonth Rm 774 with 4.1%

See? which better

• wong (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 2:07 pm

just bought a satria neo,what can i say..never mind i dont need a big car car..neo is fine

• timber8115 (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 2:14 pm

i think proton should phased out some model like the waja cos protonis producing 3 models for 1.6 segment…. So, proton will not kill their own products….

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 2:17 pm

khimfoh and paultan,

another reason using 60 series tyres i guess cause its cheaper…50 series tyres are slightly more expensive..

The Unicons,

i did mention waja and gen2 share the same platform but Gen2’s platform has higher torsional rigidity compared to waja…slightly higher that is..you feel the steel quality higher in savvy and neo mabye because of the design improvement and experience gained from producing waja and gen2..rust proofing in waja has improved alot but since tanjung malim plant.the level and standard has increased..due to high techonology methods…the next thing proton should consider is reducing the car weight…if its around 1050 kg to 1100 kg max then campro engine wont have the low end torque problem..but it not only due to the torque curve but the transmission fitted..proton engineers have improved it even when the automatic version of gen2 came out..so now with improved tcu i guess it will be better!!and with cps…it will be great!!

and about the car heavier by waja around 5 kg is not gonna make any difference on the FC..its too little to consider..but proton must learn to reduce weight…and increase safety to 5 star NCAP status…this will be great selling point in europe..and with weight saving technology..FC can be lowered and will be another selling point…this should be the next priority when designing waja replacement model and the rest of the family…

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 2:19 pm

#
    wong said,

July 24, 2007 @ 2:07 pm

just bought a satria neo,what can i say..never mind i dont need a big car car..neo is fine
    ==============================

Look like u feel sad…..but neo just fine…i had drive it…Feel great….But im prefer big car..:)

• piaa (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 2:24 pm

now ppl want to see real “proton”. wait till a year then buy it. see the result or comments from others. how can camry = perdana??

• tokmoh (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 2:31 pm

sxe10r said,

July 24, 2007 @ 1:44 pm

heavy then waja ?? …. erm … but i also looking for used waja …
    ———————————————————
    It could b bcuz of the added metal to make to car 12mm longer than the Waja.

@Aril n Mr. Proton
    thnx 4 de info. I was just puzzled as why Paul consider this the 1st Proton model wit std (driver) airbag, as IMHO, Waja is the original 1st Proton model to come std wit (twin) airbag.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 2:32 pm

i tink the waja should go into a higher class than gen2…duo superior interior room , it should go to the 1.8cc class catagory , obviously i mean with the next new upcoming model MC3 i mean….it seems the sedan is abt to replace the wira FINALLY…price is abt the same as the wira….n given the crazy discounts given by proton for the wira now..discounts upt to rm6k !!

the sedan probably made for the average family…i tink thats y it has a higher profile tyres,emphisis on comfort rather than handling…..probably the hatchback wil be more sporty oriented….i tink thats y it wil have the CPS and not the sedan……

• wong (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 2:39 pm

new cps not included because of safety and “comfort” reason and not suitable for new model yet? is that true mr proton or paul tan

• oversight (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 2:41 pm

if proton sell it in many variant ( different accesoceries with catchy look), it will help the car sales.

• jamsbong (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 2:43 pm

the small tires are used because there is only a 1.6L in the hood. Anything bigger than 15″ will be slower and consumes more fuel.

I guess this car is comparable to some elcheapo korean cars.

• andyyap (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 2:50 pm

waw ! cheap then my Satria Neo , that not good lah , pautan . my Neo two doors , this new one 4 doors, and the warranty longer then my Neo.

• nizam80 (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 3:10 pm

e-nabilll said,
    July 24, 2007 @ 2:32 pm

“i tink the waja should go into a higher class than gen2…duo superior interior room , it should go to the 1.8cc class catagory…….”

Agreed with u. I think Waja and Perdana should be unified to only 1 platform (1.8 – 2.0 litre class). Just my opinion only. I’m sure the Proton engineers are currently doing something about it. :D

If this model were to catapult Proton into success in the near future, i hope they will not be as arrogant as Perodua is now. Proton, if u were to succeed, just remain humble. Please don’t be like in the 90’s, where u were arrogant.

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 3:14 pm

andyyap said,

July 24, 2007 @ 2:50 pm

waw ! cheap then my Satria Neo , that not good lah , pautan . my Neo two doors , this new one 4 doors, and the warranty longer then my Neo.
    ======================================================
    New model will consider like that…Hope the price will retain… :)

• wong (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 3:15 pm

andyyap, maybe can modify our neo to 4 door, haha just joking,look not many 2doors in the market nowadays,usually very expensive ones,so our 2door good enough,big car with 2 door sure look ugly..as for waranty..after 2 years we can do upgrades, maybe a lowered suspension,i’ve seen one and its real cooool..

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 3:20 pm

Woundering why proton didnt develop 1.8 Campro and 2.0 campro?..

Any info Mr Proton?

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 3:23 pm

#
    wong said,

July 24, 2007 @ 3:15 pm

andyyap, maybe can modify our neo to 4 door, haha just joking,look not many 2doors in the market nowadays,usually very expensive ones,so our 2door good enough,big car with 2 door sure look ugly..as for waranty..after 2 years we can do upgrades, maybe a lowered suspension,i’ve seen one and its real cooool..
    =============================================

Wong, just suggestion…at proton australia, there got huge proton fan who modified it and show into that website….They GILA GILA punya orang. They like neo and Gen2 very much……

• moto_moto (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 3:41 pm

can remove the back chrome.stick reflector like camry.

• moto_moto (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 3:45 pm

i think proton should upgrade the tail light. the current gen2 tail light like made of bicycle reflector.don u guys think so?

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 3:49 pm

i have seen the nice tail light and also had posted here last time…It cost Rm 700….LED light..

Hope proton think about it for better good looking :)

• moto_moto (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 3:51 pm

im perodua supporter, this time i must give credit to proton :) I want to wait for BLM. the price must be lower than this.

• nmh (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 4:51 pm

Demn…the H-Line is cheaper than my standard G2. My G2 cost me 58k in 2005 :(….hope proton built G2 coupe in future….2 doors gen2

• thecrash (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 4:59 pm

Sudah dapat driver airbag pun bising lagi… Toyota Vios 1.5E pun ada driver airbag SAHAJA tapi takde sape bising… Apa la nasib proton.. asyik kena kutuk. BTW i’m using NEO and happy with Campro.. Its a good than my wira.

• Bigfoot (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 5:17 pm

Mr. Proton,

Your interior information kinda pinpoint that you work for Engineering Design (ED) Department. It seems that you work for Proton. I also work at Proton. I think it is time for Proton employees not to reveal too much details about our concealed products. It is wrong for us to reveal them before it is officially launch. I know your intention is noble, but there are limits to this. But for sure I know you are not from the Powertrain department since a lot of your information about Proton’s engine is not 100% accurate.

• wong (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 5:21 pm

i dont think they will come up with 2door gen2…i was sceptical about campro before buying Neo,but now i”m happy with it..tried 170km/h,the car is very stable,rims and tyres change to 205/50 falken,and the car feels more comfortable at uneven roads..of course the original continentals tyres is good too

• mr. proton (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 5:27 pm

big foot

im sorry. actually wat i done to attract more people to buy this product.. sorry. any way as a proton staff lets we pray for the success of this model.. ok. i’ll shut my mouth till our new baby launch.

• xstan (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 5:50 pm

Thank u sooooo very much Mr Proton. Appreciate it very much.

BigFoot..please lah, just allow Mr Proton to tease us a little. He does a good job by arousing us. He got my attention alrite. He simply tease us thats all…he didnt even reveal the whole thing. Good work Mr Proton. Respect u!!

I was simply soo happy with the launch of this Sedan. Its an eye opener even to Basher. I believe Proton gonna make it right this time..

• avanza (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 5:50 pm

The Gen2 Sedan and the Waja are practically identical in dimensions. Why bother to have both cars of the same size? Mind bogling people in Proton.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 6:06 pm

aril

if i not mistaken proton waja neo g2 auto box gearchange is fluid pressure and valve to detect transmission load in order to actuate gearchange, its not an electronic governed, like the savvy AMT.

correct me if im wrong,

• wong (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 6:12 pm

a new model new car and a new car but old model is totally 2 different thing,nobody would buy both gen2 sedan and a waja at the same time,very simple..even my even 5 year boy can figure this out

• floyd (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 6:13 pm

**The Star**
    =====SHAH ALAM: About 200 bookings have been received in just two days for the latest Proton model, to be launched by mid-August.

The yet to-be-named 1.6-litre sedan would be priced between RM45,000 and RM50,000, said Edaran Otomobil Nasional Bhd (EON) managing director Datuk Syed Hisham Syed Wazir.======

It never stop to amaze me that people jump into buying goods they havent even seen yet, (forget about touch&feeling the item). Perhaps that’s the power of marketing..or some people r just plain %@#$&^???

Think partly due to the work of ‘insiders’ like mr. proton but dont forget the motor journalist as well. If you look at adverts theres nothing much you can see, i assume proton purposely did it that way to tease pple.
    So mr. Bigfoot, pls let mr.proton say what he thinks is good for proton…i dont think it hurts Proton in any way (BTW i’m not working for Proton and i’m not a proton driver). I kinda like & happy with the info tat mr.proton provide here.

No doubt the new model does look better but, buying before seeing isnt the way to go, at least not for me. But then again it just goes to show that proton still attract a lot of interest from msian.

ALL THE BEST PROTON, better ‘luck’ tis time.

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 6:17 pm

Now Big Foot is proton Staff Powertrain department

Mr Proton is also Proton Staff Engineering Design

WOW…1 from Engine and 1 from Interior….FINALLY.. got PROTON PPL READ OUR COMMENT…

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 6:18 pm

#
    Bigfoot said,

July 24, 2007 @ 5:17 pm

Mr. Proton,

Your interior information kinda pinpoint that you work for Engineering Design (ED) Department. It seems that you work for Proton. I also work at Proton. I think it is time for Proton employees not to reveal too much details about our concealed products. It is wrong for us to reveal them before it is officially launch. I know your intention is noble, but there are limits to this. But for sure I know you are not from the Powertrain department since a lot of your information about Proton’s engine is not 100% accurate.
    ==============================

Hi,

So all the sudden is wrong…Hemmm, Tell us laa MR ENGINE…..How about the upgrade..Please Please….

• wong (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 6:26 pm

a big applause to both bigfoot and mr.proton,at least mr.proton is giving me some usefull info, not from a bunch of ‘Bash street kids’..comment

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 6:33 pm

At least Both Depart is here, Bigfoot (ENGINE) and Mr Proton (INTERIOR), meaning They are here and read hour complaint and so on…So no need to go iCARE lor…Save Petrol…hehehehehe

So how about engine???, the interior i already imagine

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 6:54 pm

mr. proton

if what u said is true, then i wana say that Proton new management did listen to the public.. from the ugly design to a well accepted design. hopefully, i hope this is the “ONE” that will turn the company around.

so…
    it is true that when people BASH, proton will improve
    it is true that when there is a competition e.g. perodua, proton will improve
    then..
    it will be even so real, when NAP scrap, the sooner the better, to bring Honda or Toyota’s price ever closer to proton, then proton’s car quality, performance and luxury will be even closer to the likes of Honda and Toyota.

imagine if people din BASH proton, i wonder if they ever wake up… i really hope they wake up and come out with a fine car this time around..

and as for you Aril…. pls don relate proton and nationality!! we BASH so that proton will improve… we DEMAND so that proton will improve… n yes, we will keep bashing even it is perodua… n keep demanding from the best it can offer.

• si-fu (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 7:00 pm

Guys guys guys hold ur horses!!!!…..sorry for being long gone. Quite busy for the past few weeks. And to Paul sorry i didnt reply ur mail, as you would have known, i cant tell any anything.
    Since u guys are so anxious to know abt the engine, let me tease u guys with some info (hopefully big foot dont get angry). The engine in the sedan is the std campro engine, there will be no CPS or VIM( variable intake manifold) system installed YET. The new thing abt the engine is, the AT versions TCU
    ( transsmission control unit) is fine tuned in such a way that gear change pattern is much better, there will no sudden drop of gear, less jerk during change and so on….( cant reveal more.) For the manual car, the driveabilty and the throttle feel has been improved (cant reveal more oso, then bigfoot scold…hehehehehe). Other then tat, i think you guys should be patient and wait for the car to be launched. Then test drive it yourselves. ONLY THEN JUDJE THE CAR!

p/s : Personally, the Blueberry Tea, Iridescent White and Tranquility Black colours looks good!

Cheers and have a nice day!

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 7:01 pm

Bash..bash..bash…Then? The correct way is complaint directly (i-CARE)……Here they accidently appear… Bigfoot n Mr Proton…..Dont hope other staff will read on here

Bash..bash..bash..Then? No wonder all basher dont have a car..(Sorry dude)

• wong (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 7:02 pm

bashing with a good intention i would say..maybe like a reverse psychology thing..hmmm..not bad

• 1NZFE (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 7:11 pm

So, Proton class group compare to UMW make:-?

1. BLM = Viva
    2. Savvy = Viva, MyVi
    3. Gen2 Sedan = Myvi, Vios
    4. Gen2 = Vios
    5. Waja = Altis
    6. Perdana = Camry

Hey, how can u compare proton with umw???
    1. BLM is 1.3 n Viva is 1.0
    2. Savvy is 1.2 n Myvi is 1.3
    3. Gen2 Sedan is 1.6 n Vios is 1.5
    Only Waja n Perdana can compare with Altis n Camry…
    In UMW,
    A class = Viva
    B class = Myvi
    B class = Vios
    C class = Altis
    D class = Camry
    In Proton,
    B class = Savvy
    B class = BLM
    C class = Gen 2, Gen 2 Sedan n Waja
    D class = Perdana

So, y not Gen 2 Sedan replace Waja since both of them at same class n also a sedan???

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 7:17 pm

1NZFE

I agree…Y not Waja use 1.8 L engine…Petronas had alreadt produse 1.8, 2.0, 2.2,
    Proton Should consider their engine in better price. Hope to hear from both Proton Guys

• Aril (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 7:18 pm

I agree…Y not Waja use 1.8 L engine put in anaother classes…Petronas had already produce 1.8, 2.0, 2.2 engine rite
    Proton Should consider their engine. Hope to hear from both Proton Guys

• ilmondo (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 7:30 pm

tokmoh.. ford focus for sure!!! haha

hmm.. driver seat airbag? wat does tat mean? driver’s airbag or volvo style seat airbag? yeap.. kinda agree wit waja being upgraded or up-marketed.. but make sure its priced rite.. 1.6camproTurbo? hehe.. hope they re-nose n re-butt waja wit sumtg more soothing 2 our eyes lar.. goodluck proton

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 7:50 pm

I dont think Waja will get a turbo version.. The past 1.8L waja is a failure, that why they dont want to sell it. Now i felt that the CPS maybe just the GTI version for Satria neo.. The supercharger may just a testing unit? Haiz.. why sometime our country got petronas own engine to use, but still wasting so much money on developing own.. why not collaborate each other? They have F1 technology, P1 have what? A1, lotus technology? Anywayz Petronas also own by the G, why they cannot use it in their own subsidiary company?!?! That why i say resource wasting..

• wong (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 7:59 pm

Waja did come out with a 1.8 renault engine,if i’m no mistaken..putting powerful engine means upgrading the brakes,suspensionchasis..etc..i dont think it’ll be cheap..like the satria gti remember?

• nmh (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 8:39 pm

If the interior is black, hope proton use piano surface instead of color spray for center panel (cd radio head unit, aircond) which previously colored in gold to avoid the color peel off in long term. AND using other removable memory other than cd for the radio (MMC, SDcard etc) built in.

I think Paul should organize a WISH LIST specially for proton and other national car maker for us to give idea/needs so that proton people can read and consider for future model

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 8:58 pm

I am only worried about the rear passenger head room. My 180cm height cannot even rest on gen2 headrest, hitting the roof first. Hopefully this will address that. And the weird (short) driving position of the gen2

• hcgui (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 9:48 pm

today went to proton showroom. the chief salesman who has seen the new car told me tat the new car will be named Proton Persona. hehe. he told me a lot of things has been improved esp d rear headroom. dashboard also a bit different, there’s a glove box, no more analogue clock in d middle, and d armrest is higher. somemore the engine has been moved higher a bit. also d power window mechanism is different from Gen 2. and he said very soon Waja will come with CPS, as well as a 3.2L seven seater from Proton, which is as big as the Toyota Alphard!!

• kingglim (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 10:26 pm

Hmmm…since Gen2 Sedan (believed to be named as Persona) is ready for launch already, anyone got any update on Gen2 CPS? Spyshots already around for quite a while, production should be about ready as well…

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:32 pm

mr proton,

are you really from proton?is your information correct??because i have many friends in proton..but none as given me as much info as u…and some information are very different from what you say..i am not saying you are making up stories but why everyone working in proton giving different info till many are not sure what to expect and what to expect….earlier i went to proton showroom,pretended as if i wanna buy one..and i brought my cheque book along so its more believeable..i know well bout gen2 cause my gf is using one..i was talking to the salesman and he said the sedan is basically a stretch version of gen2 with improved quality..he said materials used is very high quality…comparable with new civic and toyota..when i ask him bout engine..he said the engine is still the same but there is improvement in the tuning and more improvement in the auto version..because its the better selling unit..the gearbox is a same..only electronics tuning(TCU) is improved..but my proton friend told me its a latest unit..not the same unit used in wira to waja and waja to gen2 unit…but this transmission is a new version..a better unit compared to the previous unit and a better design..so which is true??secondly i asked about the interior..he just told me the interior quality has been improved but design wise is still the same..the meter panel got minor changes…head unit also got slight difference..larger buttons and easy to read and glove box is included..when i ask about the rest..he said door panels..dashboard architecture and all is the same…seats the front is the same and rear same also but this can fold flat…and steering he said the same..interior colour is black for seats and dashboard same like current gen2..then i ask about the booking status..he said only 3 booking so far..but he said many people are waiting..

my proton fren told me the interior got no major changes..similar to the sales man but not like Mr.proton..he said since neo interior has good record and good praises so they decided to take all the good lesson from it…the interior colour going to be dark same like the latest gen2..black at the top and dark grey at the bottom..the grey is darker than waja’s grey…the side door panel got minor changes and quality of important parts in the interior highest quality materials and it will be kinda shocking to proton owners..and magazine writers or people who review cars like Paul…and said the mp3 player is the same unit as waja…but with ipod jack and minus 2 tweeters..the steering is similar to satria neo and not current gen2..gear knob design for manual and auto has some changes..meter panel minor changes but not similar to current design…but not to worry cause proton has always come up with good design in this area…next is the glovebox…which he told is added but a small one with controlled slider(i think like how new honda civic and satria neo..open slowly..that is) but he said it small similar to neo…the seats design is also carried forward from neo…front seats and rear is the same but can fold flat like honda(he always relate to honda so i guess proton engineers are looking for inspiration and design ideas plus quality from honda..which is a good thing!!)..he said gear knob and other designs are the same..because proton feel that even if many people complain bout the gear knob..its just a design and it not a mistake or affect the braking so no changes…he said NVH for medium line and H line improved alot and for the base line version no changes compared to current gen2..so that a good thing…in short..he said quality and previous design mistakes has been changed or improved but minor changes…

and this is what mr proton told us here..

this gen2 sedan comes new colour scheme interior, new handbrake, new gear lever n console, new armrest, redesign seat, relocation of power window switches to driver’s door,side mirror control also there n the door lock there. glove box bigger than waja, more cup holder two in centre also for the rear occupants got two cupholders. redesign of door opening,redesign of meter cluster, no more analog clock at centre dashboard, all the swithches and the material used this time very good feel . no more cheap feel. at the preview for the staff i say man with 6 foot seated at the backseat n he said no touched at the roof. more leg room. the bonet very wide n larger than current gen2. u can open the bonet from the key. so, what i want to say.. there’s a lot improvement on the interior…

adding some more the steering feel n turning radius more improved as the cheap feel on previous model has lost.. no more failure during u turn bcoz previous gen2 turning radius so bad. also this time there are so many compartment as it was invevted to suit family needs.. thats wat i can tell

so there is some similarities and difference…from all who told us bout this car design…i dont who exactly i m gonna trust on this..first i tawt mr proton is one and only reliable source…but after listen to the rest i m kinda confused but looking at the add properly i noticed something which made me to trust my fren from proton…check out the front grille…did anyone notice anything??it current honda family design..haha…so we will wait to c who is right and wrong…but thanks mr proton for the info…

• nizam80 (Member) on Jul 24, 2007 at 11:59 pm

hcgui said,
    July 24, 2007 @ 9:48 pm

“today went to proton showroom. the chief salesman who has seen the new car told me tat the new car will be named Proton Persona.”

“Persona” as in the exported Wira to UK of the 90’s, huh?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 12:08 am

who is mr proton anyway??

• nmh (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 12:11 am

Persona…this might be the real WRM. Maybe proton stop selling wira

• si-fu (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 1:36 am

Prem3377, wat info that has been provided by Mr. Proton is 100% true….i dont know which dept ur other Proton frens working in, but i can verify that Mr. Proton’s info is 100% true. About the AT transmission, its a Mitsu trans, but a different variant from the current Gen-2 AT and added together with the improved TCU. For more information on the engine upgrade, pls refer to my previous post. About the info that u got from the salesperson, maybe he doesnt know much about it since he is only working in edar or maybe he didnt have the chance to have a good look at the car. I can reassure again, the info that has been provided by Mr. Proton abt the interior is 100% true…for the info on the engine and transmission pls refer to my previous post. Cheers!

p/s: Big Foot, jgn marah ar….just clarifying things only k!!!….hahahahaha

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 2:31 am

si-fu,

ok i trust your word and sorry mr.proton for doubting you..but if the info given is not true by both of you…never going to trust you guys forever…hahaha..just joking..is there any info about proton’s future plans and when exactly the cps engine version is coming out??and is that true that the cps engine is the best engine in its class for power and torque output??

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 2:44 am

another thing si-fu..i heard about protons future plan..is that true proton is going to design perdana replacement model on their own with their own engine which is already in the development process??the engine is a V6 which lotus is developing for thier future model and base line model for their up coming lotus espirit??the engine which has the range of 2.2 litre to 3.0 and is going to be sold to some chinese manufacturer and proton is developing a small supercharged engine on their own for future models?which is also based on the current campro engine but the cylinder head design is similar to single vanos by bmw???is that true that proton’s last design team under old ceo has 6 other new model on the drawing board and some even already in the r&d department but had to stop because change of G and management??
    is the new espirit which was about to be release in 2008 but delayed to 2010 proton’s 1st supercar and will sell under 3 names..one is proton,then lotus and opel??many more questions..but which is true??

• wong (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 2:46 am

wah all like expecting a new born baby..very exited..

• king (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 2:51 am

hope proton can live up to its promise in improved quality. Actually i find the pricing very attractive for 1.6 litre proper sedan at rm48k(A) and 45k(M).

Lets see IMO, price wise this will be a head on battle with:

1.) myvi 1.3(a) @ rm46k
    2.) myvi 1.3(m) @ rm 43k both also non premium.
    3.) ultra mark-up price $44k viva 1.0(A) premium.
    4.) another overpriced model, kenari 1.0RS(A) @ $46k

can’t wait for this persona to eat up myvi. (hint to proton marketing department) if coupled with average p1 finance rate normally lower than p2, it is probably lower monthly installments than the myvi. can’t EON bank do something to boost this? or maybe they could use the secret weapon of tan chong motor.

• wong (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 3:03 am

theres already many myvi’s on the road..they wont get effected,not really my taste but its a fine car, hope both p1 and p2 will do well and continue with good models in future

• king (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 3:07 am

thanks for insider info si-fu, big foot won’t harm you don’t worry. ;) nearly 1 month teaser is a bit too long.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 3:21 am

i have few simple idea for proton and help them make money again without even hoping for VW…first to cut cost…since proton have few 1.6 models…the can use the same platform to produce a MPV a small MPV with 5 plus 2 sitting capasity like citra,stream and avanza..the cost will be kinda low because platform and engine is already there..then built a ladder frame chassis like how toyota did..a low tech,cheap and faster to build..build a small compact suv like kia sportage and suzuki vitara..buy a diesel engine from mitsubishi or other manufacturer..get 4 wheel drive technology from mitsubishi or indian manufacturer like mahindra and tata..next is colaborate with non manufacturer(small engineering company’s like recently post by paul bout the latest transmission technology and all)bring good companies and ask them for help for producing latest engines and transmissions and share profits cause its a win win situation..proton must chase away their main competitors in malaysia…it not easy but not hard…most car manufacturers here bring in their simple technology which people feel its advance…in 1990’s people think fuel injectors and DOHC are great technology so many manufacturer use that to sell cars..nowadays VVTI,VTEC,DVVT,CVT,MIVEC and all sell better..so since we have CPS its good already…then ABS plus EBD….which is considered as cheap technology nowadays…after that..since ABS and EBD is there…just add few sensors here and there plus a control box and central control unit…which connect braking..throttle..and etc and you will have VTC or ESP or VSC…all this technology is extremely cheap cause its kinda old…so if proton manage to squeeze in all of this in all their model..production cost will be lower and people will buy it…many dont know what is all this…but they think is good and worth it…many owner who drive their car with this technology never really maintain it…almost 70% of people who drive cars with airbags never even send it for yearly inspections..so many cases where airbags dont even deploy during accident and even when they do..repairing cost will be sky high many opt to leave it empty!!

so proton should use all this to get customers…imagine gen2 sedan with CPS,FSI,VIM,VSC,TC,ABS,EBD,DUAL SRS AIRBAG,mp3,AMT, and ETC…wow..it will sell like hot cake like myvi with DVVT…haha

• ynnad (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 6:25 am

hmmm…. proton used to be the only manufacturer to put rear disc brakes on their 1.6l class cars ir-respective of model. now that’s been dropped for base and med-line models.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 8:12 am

ynnad, to be honest, cars weighing in at the weight of these small sedans, rear disc brakes are just a marketing tool. They do not help you slow the car down any quicker, or better than drum brakes can. More crucially, are the front brakes, as they do almost more than 70% of the job.

• thecrash (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 8:44 am

How many time to explain lor… In this sedan still use same campro with out CPS. Neo also use same Campro without CPS but have different tuning version. BTW in this sedan will different what u feel in old Gen2. The tuning and AT version is more better than Gen2. So u cannot make a judgement just based on what u had with Gen2. Only Gen2 and Waja will get CPS in near time. So lets cool down… and pls make a test drive then u will feel a new of proton.

• farhathaniff (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 9:04 am

Proton cars shows no suprise coz its litterally a previous model car from Mitsubishi (most likely) with some minor changes to the headlamps. Unless if they have the effort and money to design their own car from scratch, now THATS what i wanna see and wait for.

Why cant proton fit their cars standard with airbags, atleast the front passenger and driver (eventhough atleast 6 airbags is the world standard) coz i thought ‘safety is our number 1 priority’ for all car manufacturers. And im well aware that accidents and deaths from roadrage is increasingly high eventhough im not living in Malaysia right now..

Well anyways, hope this car would show the world (esp. UK who finds proton having no passion in producing cars) that proton does have passion (im just trying to save our countries reputation eventhough proton is pretty, well need of saving – lets put it that way).

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 9:09 am

To Wong. One thing you have to understand. Proton started to stand by their on feet back in 1996 when they started their own design, R&D etc for the Proton Waja Project which later launched in 2000. So, I hope they improve always and do well.

As for Perodua, they just get copyright from Daihatsu/Toyota older model then do some cosmetic changes then come out with their own name. That’s all they can do and always will do well as long as the Daihatsu / Toyota models also do well. They can make big money not because themselves and they no need to do much in designing, R&D, develop engines, crash test, wind tunnel testing, all the man powers time, put the car thousand / million of hours in testing and so on.

Do you know Proton sent the Gen.2 to Sweden (Volvo factory) for the wind tunnel testing – to test the cars drag coefficient (cd) and many other countries for other tests? So Proton spent so much money on all that tests and how about Perodua, none. I can say. So if the model not selling well that’s mean it can burn the money for nothing and can’t make enough profit meaning it is hard for them to develop a new model again soon. Perodua only pay loyalty fee to Daihatsu / Toyota only.

Sorry, until now I’m not proud with Perodua unless they come out stand by their own. See what happened.

• neo2 (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 9:11 am

hmmm…. not interested at all. already booked Myvi spent RM46k for 1.3SXi.
    It’s like a gamble, now it’s the critical point whether P1 survives this most difficult time or should it goes down the drain.
    The price range is quite close with Myvi though many P1 supporters might say both in different segment due to 1.6 vs 1.3.

Naaaah…. thanks but no thanks….. P1 ensures the existence of cronies and artificially over-priced car, why must we buy P1? If P1 is so confident of this sedan model, then ask G to uplift the import duty lah. See how P1 compete with any other car maker? Is P1 just too contended and just used to bluff Malaysian only?

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 9:26 am

farhathaniff said,
    July 25, 2007 @ 9:04 am

Proton cars shows no suprise coz its litterally a previous model car from Mitsubishi (most likely) with some minor changes to the headlamps. Unless if they have the effort and money to design their own car from scratch, now THATS what i wanna see and wait for.

=They came out with their own models since Waja. Then Gen.2, Savvy, Satria Neo and now Proton new sedan which might called Persona. Plus BLM soon.

Why cant proton fit their cars standard with airbags, atleast the front passenger and driver (eventhough atleast 6 airbags is the world standard) coz i thought ’safety is our number 1 priority’ for all car manufacturers. And im well aware that accidents and deaths from roadrage is increasingly high eventhough im not living in Malaysia right now..

=6 airbags is world standard? Not standard. Front driver and passenger consider as standard. Other manufacturer equip more is their own rights. Some manufacturer already fitted with 8 airbags or will have 10 soon. That doesn’t mean standard.

Well anyways, hope this car would show the world (esp. UK who finds proton having no passion in producing cars) that proton does have passion (im just trying to save our countries reputation eventhough proton is pretty, well need of saving – lets put it that way).

= This I will agree. Not in UK only but even in Malaysia the home town alone.

• Qseebee (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 9:33 am

well done proton..at least were do not have to wait for more than 5 years to see another new proton model..yet although this car may look like a gen2 sedan but it no facelift like our previous models..

• ed0r (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 9:43 am

…and that’s the Gen2 sedan. My friend and I spotted it yesterday afternoon (24/07/07) just after Lentang area… that Karak Highway… just like this one http://paultan.org/archives/2007/04/19/proton-gen2-sedan-spotted/ except the color was red. I didn’t bring the camera so no pix sorry lol

It was running quite fast around 140 – 150km/h we tried to follow but it’s too late lol so no need to push my friend’s 2 months old Altis. I bet the car was on testing so yeah they can speed as fast as they can tho it’s Gombak – Karak Highway.

To me the car’s just ok, because I’m not a fan of that gen2 design particularly the tail lamps. Why don’t they change the design? Probably more people like the design compared to the people who dislike it.

By the way, it’s a good try by proton. Actually I’m looking forward to the next generation of waja. Not this one. Waja is more than 5 years old already. Enuff of facelifiting, cause it doesn’t work out well. That thermometer pffftttt…

Good luck to you the new sedan. Don’t they have the name for it yet? Ya’ll got any idea? lol Proton Gendan as for Gen2 Sedan. Later.

• xstan (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 9:55 am

guys…there this spyshot. Try checking this site:-

http://img369.imageshack.us/img369/5987/picture003om0yy5.jpg

http://img486.imageshack.us/img486/3286/gen2sedanfn0.jpg

What u guys thing…so Mr Proton is this the pixs.Yipeee…got a glimpse.

• danoneism (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 9:59 am

darn….with dat price…rili gona kill myvi dis……
    wa..murah then waja owh…hahahaha

• jompergi (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 10:46 am

For those who support malaysian made car, i say thank you, for culprit not
    interested in Malaysian made stop thinking smart…actually damn stupid and egos…malaysian made are good…good work proton..

• Xoomie (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 11:39 am

WHile the current Gen2 gets a new face with the facelift in a few month, This new Sedan will take over Gen2 old face. This is what i call “turun temurun”.

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 12:00 pm

neo2. Proton = car manufacturers like others try to compete back in 1996 when Proton Waja project started. Perodua = car assembler / rebadge it via cosmetic changes from Daihatsu / Toyota. See how Proton compete with any other car maker you ask? How about Perodua? Until now they only have 1 concept car which no existent until now. Their success stories are all because Daihatsu / Toyota.

Anyway, really can’t wait the upcoming Proton new sedan (reported will named Persona). Cool as other countries know this name before. Can be like second generatiom of Proton Persona (local known as Wira). Please stop the Wira selling. Anyone knows the drag coefficient (cd) and crash test of this car.

To Mr. Proton. Please send this car for EuroNCAP for the official crash test to see the results. So that more people will confident with this model and future models from Proton.

• Bigfoot (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 12:07 pm

xstan…where do you get that picture? Now this is too much…must be from supplier since that picture is shown during supplier or media briefing only.

fellow friends, for me I don’t see why people should keep on ‘laga’ Perodua and Proton. For me Proton and Perodua combined has done a lot to bring up the Malaysian automotive supplier capabilities. I do have a high respect to Perodua engineers because they work like Japanese and they do made many changes to Myvi and Viva body. At least they have their own designers eventhough not as free as Proton’s designers. To Perodua engineers and also Proton engineer excluding me, I salute you for proving to Asean and the world that sooner or later, we can design and build cars according to Malaysian taste and ideas.

Mr. Proton, I gurau je…tapi jangan lebih2…boleh kena D.I. tau….

• khimfoh (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 12:34 pm

Bigfoot said,

July 25, 2007 @ 12:07 pm

xstan…where do you get that picture? Now this is too much…must be from supplier since that picture is shown during supplier or media briefing only.
    ————————————————

Hi Bigfoot,

Well…I think there’s nothing wrong with how xstan’s got hold of the pics of the Proton Sedan. Since from the teaser video, one would be able to visual how closely the Sedan resembles the Gen2.

Personally I think pics provided by xstan is good for Proton in stirs up much needed attention and interest of models designed by Proton. I think a lot of people are eager to see how it looks like.

So from the 1st pic, we can see that the sedan doesn’t use the Gen2 front seats in which the headrest is integrated to the seat.

But I would dearly love to his the dashboard design of the Proton Sedan. Hope it is a departure from the Gen2 dashboard which in my opinion is a bit of a mess.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 12:37 pm

This mite be the longest thread ever , i guess it shows how much it affects us all , like it or not….

• pipzs (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 1:06 pm

lets just dont call this car gen2 sedan because it is not gen2 sedan and for the time beeing they call it proton new sedan, it’s a WIRA replacement models.. the name we will get to know on this 14th august. and please, dont argue bout it, u dont like it just shhh urself.. i think comparing with gen2, i have ask the “proton guy”, this new sedan has improve their interior such as, dashboard, a better dark color seat rather than gen2’s bright yellow-ish color, bigger space inside out and many more…. so just let us wait till this 14th yeah… chireoo!!

• blunt (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 2:59 pm

good Job..

So to our proton Engineer and designer…Mr.Proton and BigFoot..
    I think you should highlight common feedback to TSZ about :
    1-The need to change the crop inspired tail lamp in Gen 2
    2-Thermometer style tail lamp in Waja

Another suggestion..in order to be fair to the buyer who made a booking without ever seen the actual thing and at the same time to boost the sale, why not give them some incentives ..eg like add another extra year free service..provide some discount ..

• xstan (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 3:10 pm

Bigfoot bud!!

The snapshot of the new Sedan is already all over the forum lah. I’m in the Financing division not Proton staff or be it dealer.

BTW, this create good BUZZ. Encourage anticipation. Growing interest. Its shows…people really are hungry for more infor. Word of mouth publicity are good publicity & promotinal tools. Proton should come with puzzle teasers…u know . Relase bit by bit, & in the end conclude the whole thing by August launched. I guess the Marketing div of Proton is a little inexperience.

• Aril (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 3:45 pm

XStan,

Thanks for the FOTO…..SO everyone, As MR Proton Said, all is true…Lets book 1 and drive to home..huhuhuhuhu

• xstan (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 3:57 pm

People like Max always ask what the Nation can do for him , & not what he has actually contribute to the Nation, but Trash!!. Give trash..take in rubbish too. Mentality of a 3rd world expecting country of a 1st world.

Proton start with driver’s airbag, now he wans full airbags & cheap price range. Since Thailand is selling at range RM60K on Vios he expect the same. Never tot that in Singapore its sold at S$50K. No matter..the nation will tax u be it Proton or not. BTW, Max u pay tax ah…?? no..u ride bicycle only ah…no wonder so angry.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 4:11 pm

#
    Aril said,

July 24, 2007 @ 7:01 pm

Bash..bash..bash…Then? The correct way is complaint directly (i-CARE)……Here they accidently appear… Bigfoot n Mr Proton…..Dont hope other staff will read on here

Bash..bash..bash..Then? No wonder all basher dont have a car..(Sorry dude)

==hmm…how can u said all basher don’t have a car? there’s reason why i-care was created instead of normal service centre. complaint also no action that’s why they bash to release their angers. the i-care might solve the problems. hopefully. hence, they have created more jobs for other workshops. hahaha……..good thing is this sedan will be an additional choice offer to us.

• wong (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 4:13 pm

max 88, enjoy your car..dont worry about new proton models..you can still be patriotic even if u dont buy proton..no worries ..

• tec96248 (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 4:15 pm

#
    wong said,

July 25, 2007 @ 11:34 am

TO NEO 2.THE TOPIC IS ABOUT NEW PROTON SEDAN,NOT DONT BUY PROTON,IF U HAVE BOOKED A MYVI,GOOD BUT THATS YOUR PROBLEM. WHATEVER U SAID HAVE BEEN MENTIONED EARLIER..GO ENJOY YOUR MYVI AND DONT KACAU OTHERS..

==do agreed with that, but same thing here for those love protons, please don’t disturb others as well.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 4:30 pm

#
    The Unicons said,

July 25, 2007 @ 9:09 am

Sorry, until now I’m not proud with Perodua unless they come out stand by their own. See what happened.

==indeed P2 cars are nothing much to be proud of interms of R&D. just a rebadge with comestic changes. don’t even hv license to produce bigger engine capacity car and also manufacturing management by toyota. just that the QC is more stringent. even selling price of the cars are controlled by authorities. but is a choice next or near to P1 offered to us. hopefully this sedan do meet the needs of the buyers.

• nizam80 (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 7:19 pm

Lets put technology issues aside, at least now Malaysians are capable of making their own engines.

• newmaster (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 9:16 pm

nice =))…

• king (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 10:13 pm

blunt said,
    July 25, 2007 @ 2:59 pm

good Job..

So to our proton Engineer and designer…Mr.Proton and BigFoot..
    I think you should highlight common feedback to TSZ about :
    1-The need to change the crop inspired tail lamp in Gen 2
    2-Thermometer style tail lamp in Waja

—–

agreed….gen-2 rear LED lights looks superb (as seen in an earlier post)

• BigFish (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 10:15 pm

Well said by Protonians, very hot this thread, but do this Gen-2 Sedan will selling as hot as Protonians’ talking?

For sure, the majority of Proton’s car owner are bashers simply because of QC issues. Let Gen-2 Sedan launch, 6 months or 1 years down the road, the feedback on quality and sales figure will have a final said whether this model is a success (just like Wira) or another Savvy (dismal sales figure).

• tokmoh (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 10:25 pm

Aril said,

Woundering why proton didnt develop 1.8 Campro and 2.0 campro?..

Any info Mr Proton?
    ——————————————————
    I used to read newspaper announcing Proton’s plan to develop Campro from as small as 1.3 to as big as a 2.5 V6.

Bt that was old news, when Proton was under the supersmart CEO TM. Now under Syed Zainal, I hv no idea what’s really on his mind. I’d like to think he’s more focused on solving QC issues n company’s work culture, so their SCs can never say “Biasalah, ini kan Proton” anymore, while at the same time, get the company out of the reds wit introducing a saloon rather than endless hatchbacks. Hatchbacks just doesn’t work as well as a saloon here, a good evidence is how successful Civic n Altis against Ford Focus, where each saloon easily outsold the cheaper and much, much better car. The BLM is anoder welcomin addition to replace the Saga. All the best to Proton.

• newmaster (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 10:36 pm

i oso x sabar until BLM come out..!! huhuhu

• brusli (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 11:21 pm

Campro family from 1.3L to 2L, but so far only 1.3L and 1.6L vailable, as we all know. Dont whether there will be 1.8L and 2L Campro coming.

However, proton has bigger engines under development, from 2.5L to 3.5L, codenamed NEF (New Engine Family) which is being developed by Lotus. I had the opportunity to see a few prototype units of this engine family at Proton S.A., during my visit there sometimes early last year. Some of the units are fitted with supercharger. I saw several Lotus guys were explaining about the engines to Proton engineers. But dont know at what development stage it is now, and when it will be commercialise.

• anakwatan (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 11:40 pm

Saw this same white car at Shah Alam near Taman Sri Muda…along Jln. Bukit Kemuning today…Only saw the tail.. and no camera phone.. :(

• Aril (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 11:46 pm

thanks for the info tokmoh….
    But rather than develop an engine that cost million ringgit, its better buy an engine from local one.. At the moment Petronas already successfully produce 1.8 to 2.2 engine. Proton should simply take this opportunities and make it as new Varians Model…ie, Waja can use 1.8 EO1 engine frm PEtronas, and Perdana can use 2.0 or 2.2 engine. Cost will reduce and will sell a bit cheaper (FOR PERDANA)..Let say waja 1.8 is 65k and Perdana 2.2 is 85k, this one should make PROTON much more improve….Just my idea.. :)

cheers

• Aril (Member) on Jul 25, 2007 at 11:48 pm

The Petronas 2.0 engine is 200hp….am i correct?

• AcopolocoEX (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 8:10 am

you’re rite..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 8:22 am

Aril, the issue on petronas engines have been discussed many times already. Those engines were designed more than 7 years ago, are were only in prototype form. to bring them to the mass market will cost further millions to do it, and when they do, it will DEFINITELY not have 200hp and proton will not own the rights to it.

Based on recent news that proton will be selling campros to china, at least they will get to enjoy full profit from it, rather than having to pay petronas as well. makes more business sense to me in the long run.

• Aril (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 8:45 am

yeah you were rite….Pay off in long term. But last year they had MOu for Development this engine so in near future Proton will used it…Hope this is true.

• neo2 (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 9:21 am

In the first half of 2007, sales of Perodua, the top-seller with 34.2% market share in 2006, fell to 75,483 from 79,738 units previously.

Proton’s market share has eroded further to 21.3% as its sales in the first half declined to 46,955 units from 60,291 in the same period last year.

Toyota continues its reign in the non-national segment, selling 36,567 units in the first half against 46,763 in the previous corresponding period.

Source: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/7/26/business/18407359&sec=business

Sales figures speaks for itself. I wonder what happen to P1 20,000 booked Iswara. I heard salesman said that P1 was still trying to get Mitsubishi to fabricate the carburated engine for them and it is way due for delivery. I have a friend who book the Iswara since the RM27k campaign started but not received yet until today, about 2 months, I think. It’s ironic when this car is selling but P1 is unable to deliver car bcoz of its Mitsubishi engine.

Well, amy be by the time P1 delivers 20,0000 Iswara in coming months, it might be able to increase its market share huh? 46,955 against 75,483, let’s just wait and see then ….sigh

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 10:01 am

neo2 said,
    July 26, 2007 @ 9:21 am

In the first half of 2007, sales of Perodua, the top-seller with 34.2% market share in 2006, fell to 75,483 from 79,738 units previously.

Proton’s market share has eroded further to 21.3% as its sales in the first half declined to 46,955 units from 60,291 in the same period last year.

Toyota continues its reign in the non-national segment, selling 36,567 units in the first half against 46,763 in the previous corresponding period.

Source: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/7/26/business/18407359&sec=business

Sales figures speaks for itself. I wonder what happen to P1 20,000 booked Iswara. I heard salesman said that P1 was still trying to get Mitsubishi to fabricate the carburated engine for them and it is way due for delivery. I have a friend who book the Iswara since the RM27k campaign started but not received yet until today, about 2 months, I think. It’s ironic when this car is selling but P1 is unable to deliver car bcoz of its Mitsubishi engine.

Well, amy be by the time P1 delivers 20,0000 Iswara in coming months, it might be able to increase its market share huh? 46,955 against 75,483, let’s just wait and see then ….sigh

may 07 sales number for p1 are as follows. so far have not come across numbers for june:

Perodua – 13,177 (Jan ~ May = 58,652)
    Proton – 7,609 (Jan ~ May = 38,050)

Perodua Viva – 3,951, of which 49% were 1.0
    Perodua Myvi – 7,264
    Proton Savvy – 226
    Proton Iswara (incl aeroback) – 4,432

from here can see that minus savvy & iswara the total est sales for gen2+waja+neo+wutever combined is around 2951 only. iswara is the bread and butter for p1. looks like iswara production will likely to extend another 25 years T_T

i dunno where to get the foreign sales value anyone have it feel free to post it here kekeke

• neo2 (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 10:01 am

@Unicons, did you know why P1 has faulty cars built back in the early 2000? P1used to be market leader in Malaysia car market but only recent years it was beaten by P2 after it launced Myvi model. I believe what goes around will come around. One of the many reasons behind the success story of P2 is many, and I mean really a lot ppl like me out there, who used to own a P1 wira or Iswara, after serving 7 years loan on P1, sworn over our dead body that we will never buy P1 anymore. Now my poor Iswara only worth RM10k for not even 9 years (P/S: I bought it for RM43k back in 90s). :(
    I feel cheated, agitated and furious. Do u know why it’s worthless now? Bcoz of P1 poor supply chain. U think P1 is so naive and innocent that it’s not aware of its supply chain problems? Who is the profiters and gainers behind the supply chain? P1? Nope, the vendors. P1 just an apparatus, the supply chain is the culprit.
    I agree the national policy to impose artificially high import tax on imported cars so that our ringgit will not flow to other countries and causing severe imbalanced trading deficit. But, why I have 2 buy poorly built Gen2 for RM55k (My relative Gen2 broke down after half a year)?
    I could have bought a house/aprtment and get married by now but no I cannot. Why? Bcoz after I have paid off the @#$%^&* P1 7 years car loan, now I m saving 2 change another car bcoz I m tired of repairing my Iswara now! Lubricant leakage, power window failure, air-con failure, dash board falls off, car hulk rusting and peeling off and most of all, it’s fuel consumption is killing me!
    Good luck with your up coming P1 sedan, friend!

• The Unicons (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 10:29 am

Thanks. We all will see how it performs and also Proton. Besides, I’m not planning to buy any car as I own a car right now which serve me very well but next few years maybe. Proton or not I’ll see any new model by the time I want to buy new car and its quality and so on or other brand like now.

Any car will losing money. My friends all Honda Civic 6th Generation more or less than 8 years also sold only RM40K. How much new one cost at that time? Err.. RM90K or so?

Anyway, it’s about new Proton sedan. You bought new Myvi is your choice. Don’t put something not related in here.

• azrai (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 11:02 am

The PETRONAS EO1 engine is already license and commercialize by nanjing Auto China. For all readers info. PROTON decline to use it because lack of mass scale of market compare to the Chinese. Actually, we make money from China auto. Licensing = royalty paid to petronas.

• Apathy (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 11:13 am

hurmm with interest rate sky high, it’s not worth it walaupun harga

• Aril (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 11:15 am

For me..all the same…high and low maintenance depands what car u r buy….This is movong things for sure got lot of maintenance issue.. Thank god my iswara still excellent since ready to be used at 1996. After 10 years (2006) i overhauled it with new over size pistons and so on…Now more pick up and still steady…Looking for another Proton cars for my second car. :)
    Some ppls lucky..some not..

p/s: any cars used with out JAGA DENGAN BAIK…For sure will ROSAK..any cars..trust me

• tokmoh (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 11:36 am

Max88 said,

Proton New Sedan 1.6 Base-line (S) MT – RM 45,350.00
    Proton New Sedan 1.6 High-line (M) AT – RM 55,800.00

The price gap of RM10K for standard safety features: ABS, dual airbags plus other craps.

There you go, the price of safety. Pathetic Proton.
    After 20 years and billions RM sucked later, this is all you can give back to rakyat?
    For price RM40K-RM50K, you should can get Toyota Vios under ridiculous-tax free market environment.

Govt should make it mandatory for all new cars having ABS, 10 airbags, ESP/ traction control and glovebox. And no bakul sayur type internal door handle like current Gen2.
    ————————————
    Wow, MAYBE lah bcuz Toyota is the no1 car manufacturer in the world now, n thus, the cost of building a car is much lower in comparison to Proton.

Seems u’re concerned abt car’s safety level, in which I must tell u: airbags is not EVERYTHING, which is why it’s a.k.a. Supplemetary Restraint System a.k.a. SRS. The best way is for the gahmen or ASEAN or Asia nations to hv a crash test system for cars sold in the Msian or ASEAN or Asian region, just like Europe with their highly-acclaimed Euro NCAP. But nope, nobody decided to, bcuz to the politicians, their cronies’ interests matter more than the ppl’s safety. Also, the ppl in car manufacturers dun hv to garu kepala having to cope higher cost when all such safety systems are either mandatory or fitted in order to score the best in crash test, bcuz if they don’t, they’ll lose customers to other manufacturers who can give better protection.

Bt trust me la, look at Ford Focus, a 5-star Euro NCAP certified car. It’s cheaper than the Civic n Altis, it drives better, it handles better, bt walk down your neighborhood n ask any random guy u meet, hardly anyone knows what it is. Ask them abt Civic, they’ll start givin superlatives of praises wit the sense of pride of havin talked abt it as if he just got hired to be Trump’s apprentice.

Ford Msia sux in their marketing, their salesmen hardly motivated to sell or service cars, so even wit a gud product, they just cannot sell. Therefore customer satisfaction matter more than the car itself. Bcuz of that, P2 pwns P1, Honda n Toyota pwns Ford.

Slightly off-topic, I suppose that’s exactly why Proton introduced iCare, to improve customer satisfaction. All the best then.

• pepperarmyz (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 12:16 pm

This car will be named Persona, as reported in The Edge yesterday.

• dm010 (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 12:18 pm

Tabikk tokmoh!

We should look around and analyze things thoroughly b4 we get involved in sumthin’…Proton or not it’s our money.We deicide what car we wanna buy becoz we don’t share the same requirements when we wanna drive.Some may want it to have good looks, some may want horsepower and some may just want a car with a roof to move around accordingly…Mebbe, these bashers of Proton are really THE MALAYSIANS our gomen wants…If they don’t love Proton I dun think they’ll even waste time in ere bashing it…Mebbe..Hehehehe…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 1:55 pm

” I heard salesman said that P1 was still trying to get Mitsubishi to fabricate the carburated engine for them and it is way due for delivery:

Neo2, its clear you are frustrated with proton, and have had bad past experiences. but at least try to verify your sources or info before you post it up la. since when does mitsu make engines for proton anymore? all the engines are casted and manufactured in malaysia, and thats a widely known fact. you can’t contest that.

as for market share and sales over a 1 and a half year period is not a good enough indication for success. if perodua can maintain market share in the next 5 years, I would accept that as a success. till now, it will be interesting to watch what unfolds next.

• wong (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 2:00 pm

Neo 2, i’ve used iswara and never had ‘major’ problems,i travelled a lot ,make the most out of it and sell it off.car is already 10 years..my brother who hated protons is now using a waja..now saying its a good car…sorry to hear that u couldnt get married because your Iswara..i was using iswara when i just got married,served us a few good years..

• neo2 (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 2:45 pm

Since P1 is so confident of this coming Sedan, let’s ask our beloved G to scrap NAP then lah. Like how P1 is penetrating Indonesian market with its Satria Neo and Waja, fight like a man in no-tax-land!

• Aril (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 5:27 pm

Neo2, better u dont post here again..till now u still cant understand bout the tax.
    Always ask the same question..Everyone, now please leave this Dude alone, he seem in slow minded at the moment…

• fastcx (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 5:40 pm

haha agree with aril, lets back to topic

• neo2 (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 6:09 pm

I will be back after 15th August!

• wong (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 6:25 pm

neo 2,will be back 15 august with a vengeance..like movie sequel..be very afraid..grow up please!!! now back to topic..

• tec96248 (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 6:27 pm

neo2,

is ur action that do count, not because of the car. eg. sold wira 96 to get a sunny’94 to get back few RM-k, save in maintenance too. haha…..after that buy myvi. sold waja to get a corolla, same value but save maintenance too. reasonly sold the corolla for vios, save time and cost for maintenance. now looking for 4th car to own. this sedan might be a choice eventhough i hv doubt alot on proton quality.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 7:03 pm

well quality can be improved via the enthusiasm towards making a good car,
    and i do hope R3 division can come up with performane kit for its campro like easy bolt on supercharger(made in malaysia) with specially tailored bracket for its campro, or facility to retune its ecu,

• Zamhar (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 9:00 pm

saya agak hairan mengapa Proton ingin mengeluarkan satu lagi sedan 1.6L. bukankah mereka sudah ada Waja? dari satu perspektif, mungkin mereka ingin mengeluarkan model yang lebih ‘sporty’ dari Waja untuk profesional muda yang inginkan kereta sedan yang sedemikian. tetapi bagi saya, kalau golongan tersebut ingin kereta ‘sport’, Gen2 dan Neo sudah ada.

saya menyokong industri otomobil Malaysia dalam usaha mereka mempelbagaikan model-model kereta mereka. cuma saya risau sekiranya akibat Proton memfokuskan perhatian mereka terhadap jenis kereta sedan, mereka tidak memberi perhatian mengenai jenis kereta-kereta yang lain, seperti kereta-kereta untuk keluarga yang besar. sebagai contoh, Toyota Avanza. sebuah kereta yang boleh menampung 6-8 orang (ikut saiz penumpang). bagi keluarga besar, kereta ini telah menjadi pilihan kerana kombinasi saiz, tampungan penumpang dan ekonomi bahan api enjinnya. kereta-kereta keluarga seperti ini memenuhi sebuah segmen yang boleh mendatangkan jualan yang lumayan kepada Proton.

saya sedar Proton pernah mencuba mengeluarkan kereta MPV seperti ini, Proton Juara. dan saya sedar ia tidak menjadi sukses yang diharapkan Proton. tetapi saya rasa kelemahan Juara boleh diambil sebagai panduan dalam merekabentuk sebuah kereta yang dapat bersaing dengan Avanza.

ini merupakan suatu perkara yang patut difikirkan dan diambil perhatian oleh Proton sekiranya mereka ingin meningkatkan jualan kereta buatan mereka.

tambahan: saya sudah dapat bayangkan anak-anak muda di bandar-bandar besar mengubahsuai kereta ini dengan ‘spoiler’ dan ‘bodykit’ untuk menjadikan kereta ini mirip Mitsubishi Evo atau Subaru Impreza. :)

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 9:43 pm

neo2 said,
    July 26, 2007 @ 6:09 pm

I will be back after 15th August!

me too!!!

• wanwnp (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 9:53 pm

let proton do his job..
    proton is malaysian company..
    it’s more than 20 years now
    sure proton does know what malaysian really needs..

proton sure “naik melonjak” after this new new model..

• endy (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 11:47 pm

Saudara Zamhar,

Saya rasa saya tahu jawapan untuk pertanyaan anda.

Masalah proton sekarang ini banyak berpunca dari kesilapan ex-CEO proton iaitu TM. Semasa merancang model2 baru beberapa tahun lepas, TM gagal membaca kehendak pasaran di masa hadapan, maka lahirlah model Gen-2, savvy dan neo yang tidak memenuhi kehendak umum di Malaysia kini. Sebaliknya, Toyota pula yang berjaya dgn cemerlangnya dgn keluarnya Model Avanza, hasil dari kajian teliti tentang kehendak pasaran.

Bila pihak pengurusan baru mengambil alih proton, model savvy dan neo perlu diteruskan kerana telah pun sampai ke peringkat akhir dan sedia untuk pengeluaran. Pihak pengurusan baru juga sedar tentang kejayaan Toyota Avanza, tetapi untuk memulakan projek Model MPV, proton memerlukan modal yang banyak, yg telah pun dibazirkan oleh pengurusan sebelumnya ke atas MV Augusta. Selain dari itu, proton juga tiada pengalaman dalam mereka bentuk model MPV (juara hanya rebadge MItsubishi Townbox) bermakna mereka memerlukan masa yang lama, sekurang2 nya 3-4 tahun utk R&D dan mengeluarkannya.

Dari sumber2 tertentu, ada yang mengatakan proton telah pun memulakan Projek MPV nya dan mungkin hanya sedia untuk pasaran pada awal 2009. Usaha proton untuk mendapatkan rakan-niaga juga masih lagi tidak ketentuan hasilnya. Jadi, dengan hasil jualan yang kian meruncing, kedudukan kewangan yang semakin lemah, mengambil kira semua faktor ini, langkah yang terbaik yang boleh proton lakukan buat masa ini hanyalah dengan melakukan penambahbaikan pada model yang sedia ada.

Gen-2 sedan adalah idea yang baik, kerana kos R&D nya yang rendah dan dapat menggantikan model wira yang semakin tua. Ia juga dapat memenuhi pasaran untuk kereta sedan famili yang lebih luas dari model Gen-2 asal.

Model iswara juga sudah terlalu tua, dan memerlukan gantian. Dan kos R&D nya juga boleh terima kerana pasarannya adalah untuk harga 30 hingga 40 ribu.

Just my 2 cents….

• Aril (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 11:47 pm

Zamhar

Nice COmment…But it seem u rarely read news.. FYI, PROTON will procude MPV in near future..TIDAK LAMA LAGI proton akan mengeluarkan MPV..SEKIAN

• Aril (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 11:57 pm

Yes endy agree…

Malaysian mostly need a car that have more :

1. Space = WAJA , NEW SEDAN MPV (Future)
    2. Cheaper that rival = BLM

We dont like :

1. Sporty = This can easily MOD by change the spring and add some big muffler
    2. Small trunk = Savvy and Neo

Since Neo, savvy and Gen2 already in their varians, so the new CEO already go back to basis which are produce a car base on MALAYSIAN need and now they are slowly organize the system and wallaaaa…SEDAN is in final touch..

Cheers

• topgunthang (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 12:29 am

read this before you buy another proton

http://www.caradvice.com.au/3931/2007-proton-savvy-what-do-you-get-for-13990/

• nizam80 (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 1:34 am

Perhaps, i’ll buy this sedan and put it next to my savvy. :D

• Zamhar (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 3:13 am

terima kasih Endy dan Aril. saya baru tahu mengenai niat Proton untuk mengeluarkan MPV. saya sebenarnya telah berada di luar negara (untuk melanjutkan pelajaran) sejak Januari dan cuma dapat membaca berita di Malaysia melalui internet. apabila saya mengetahui Proton ingin mengeluarkan satu lagi model sedan, saya terasa hairan dan tergerak hati untuk memposkan fikiran saya dalam blog ini.

satu lagi, minta maaf kalau penggunaan Bahasa Malaysia saya terlalu ‘skema’. :)

• brusli (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 8:17 am

It has been in the news for quite a while that Proton will be producing MPV in the near future, maybe as early as end 2008, or early 2009, but we dont know which MPV segment that Proton aims for. Proton should come out with a low cost small MPV to compete with Toyota Avanza. This is the market segment that has huge volume as evidence from Avanza sales. However, I believe that the current management under DSZ knows better, and will produce vehicles that the market wants.

• BigFish (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 10:37 am

Zamhar, kegagalan Juara sebagai “MPV” di Malaysia dan tidak menarik perhatian pembeli kereta untuk kegunaan keluarga besar (sperti Avanza) adalah kerana sepanjang pengetahuan saya, kereta Townbox adalah kereta kommersial kecil di pasaran Jepun. Jadi design kereta kommercial macam mana nak tarik pembeli untuk tujuan kegunaan keluarga?

• xstan (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 1:38 pm

Actually is encouraging to have both good & adverse critics. Good Critic, not the blind bashers. Neo2’s back is encouraging & shld be responsive.

Just buy vehicle at ur affordable limit level, which is able to service ur car or commitment to repair cost, not just installment. Just Bcos he couldnt marry it will be silly to blame in on Proton car. Shows he is not yet mature to commit with a HUMAN WIFE, instead of a Automobile.

I just wan to know if the Waja CPS expected for launch by Sept 07, thats all. I was considering for this CPS version & thus has been witholding my purchase on Vios & City since early this year. Can BigFish or Mr Proton or whoever hint me?? Please…please. All the salesperson told me next year which is to my disspointment.

• Aril (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 3:27 pm

Yep..as i’v been told CPS engine in both gen2 and Waja will be on the market mid 2008

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 4:14 pm

vim-cps is worth waiting

• Zamhar (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 4:47 pm

BigFish,

terima kasih atas pos saudara. untuk pengetahuan saudara, Proton Juara walaupun tidak berapa berjaya di Semenanjung Malaysia telah menunjukkan jualan yang agak baik di Sabah dan Sarawak sewaktu ia masih dipasarkan.

saya berasal dari Labuan dan mentaliti kami di Malaysia Timur adalah untuk memilih kereta yang ekonomik yang boleh menampung seberapa banyak ahli keluarga kami yang mungkin. itulah sebabnya kalau saudara datang di Kota Kinabalu atau mana-mana bandar di Sabah/Sarawak, saudara dapat melihat banyak kereta/trak pacuan 4 roda (4WD) dan MPV yang boleh menampung lebih dari 5 orang penumpang. lagipun banyak kawasan masih mempunyai jalan kampung yang memerlukan kereta yang agak tinggi.

buat masa ini, kereta yang sedang laris di Sabah adalah Toyota Avanza. walaupun bukan sebuah 4WD, bentuk tingginya, ruang dan enjin ekonomik VVTi telah menarik ramai pemandu untuk membeli model tersebut. selain Avanza, kereta-kereta keluarga seperti Toyota Unser, Innova, Naza Ria dan Citra juga popular.

untuk pengetahuan saudara juga, budaya berkereta keluarga di Sabah/Sarawak sama dengan budaya di Indonesia. di sana, Toyota Kijang (Unser), Innova, Avanza dan model klonnya, Daihatsu Xenia sangatlah popular. inilah yang membuat saya rasa kereta jenis MPV yang boleh menampung 6-8 penumpang dapat membantu meningkatkan jualan Proton bukan sahaja dalam negara kita, tetapi untuk eksport.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 6:13 pm

betul jugak kata awak tu zamhar, katanya MPV akan dikeluarkan tak lama lagi dengan cps harapnya, besar harapan kepada pemilik kenderaan yang mahukan penjimatan dan kuasa, ruang am khasnya
    untuk masa terdekat ,elok juga proton setidaknya terus memperkenalkan engin campronya dengan VIM, yang mana juga untuk tujuan penamban tork pada pusingan enjin seminit pada kadar sederhana kerana ini adalah ‘feature’ yang murah untuk dilaksanakan pada enjin kenderaan proton.
    -proton harus pantas dalam mengenal pasti kehendak pengguna dan dinamik terhadap perubahan teknologi-

walau bagaimanapun model sedia ada proton adalah untuk segmen golongan sasarnya dan kepelbagaian yang mungkin boleh dipenuhi dengan baik, namun begitu kajian pasaran akan berterusan bagi menyesuaikan pengeluaran dengan sosial dinamik,

-juara tu susah aku berkenan-

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Jul 28, 2007 at 11:30 am

Katanya, perjanjian mengeksport 30,000 unit kereta Gen.2 kepada Youngman untuk tempoh 20 bulan akan datang bakal menghasilkan pendapatan RM937 juta dan royalti RM102 juta.

“Lebih lumayan ialah perjanjian pelesenan yang dimeterai pada 15 Julai lalu dengan Proton akan menjual 150,000 unit terurai enjin Campro untuk dipasang dalam tempoh enam tahun akan datang. – Bernama

• BigFish (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 12:25 am

Harap kata-kata MD SZ menjadi kenyataan, tapi jangan MPV jadi design macam Juara!

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 11:05 am

hmm..mpv?? sekarg ni ramai rakyat malaysia sering memilih untuk bersiar2 ngn family..so they need a mpv to move them..dari research yang saya buat terhadap 250 org awam..berikut merupakan elemen yang penting bagi sesebuah mpv yang memenuhi citarasa org ramy.:

1. ruang dalaman luas,selesa serta praktikal

2. jimat penggunan bahan api…

3. struktur kereta berkualiti serta kelengkapan keselamatan utama seperti:

3.1 BEG UDARA BERKEMBAR

3.2 SISTEM BREK ANTI-KEKUNCI (ABS) DAN EBD

4. Sistem hiburan..( mp3..pemain DVD)

Ternyata manteliti rakyat negara ini lebih mementingkan ruang yang luas serta penjimatan minyak..bagi mereka keselamatan menjadi pilihan ke-3…

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 5:40 pm

BILE PULAK MODEL PROTON BLM NAK KLUAR??ATAUPUN DIEORG LAUNCH SEKALI?? :):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)

• Syokkahwin.com (Member) on Jul 29, 2007 at 11:03 pm

Not so beautiful car..it’s high time for it to replace wira..