Daihatsu Sirion in Indonesia uses Myvi styling

Daihatsu Sirion Indonesia

Here is something amusing. While some Perodua Myvi owners in Malaysia have been visiting the bodykit shops with plans to convert their Perodua Myvi to it’s JDM Daihatsu Boon/Toyota Passo look, Daihatsu has decided that the Daihatsu Sirion it sells in Indonesia will use the Perodua Myvi’s styling!

It looks pretty much exactly the same as our Myvi like it’s curvier headlamps, front and rear bumper, rear numberplate location, as well as LED tail lamps. Even the interior uses the Myvi’s interior, with the shifter positioned conventionally in the middle of the two front seats instead of mounted on the steering column like the Boon and Passo.

Visit PT Astra Daihatsu Motor’s Daihatsu Sirion microsite.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• azrai (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 3:01 pm

Perodua manage to be the ASEAN hub for Daihatsu factory. Well done. Taht's why the Sirion actually MyVI with different name there.Maybe someone need to ask the foreign workers to get the Daihatsu + Sirion emblem and sell it here.:-)

• ICER (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 3:20 pm

Haha…The world is full of funny..!

We convert to Daihatsu, but now Daihatsu convert to Perodua!

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 3:29 pm

Its fairly obvious that its an eventuality that Daihatsu cars will probably originate from Malaysia for export to SEA markets.

• AcopolocoEX (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 4:18 pm

wat da??? HuH?? LoL..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 4:32 pm

"Perodua manage to be the ASEAN hub for Daihatsu factory."

technically, i believe it would be the japanese who have control over those designs, not us(perodua,malaysia).

• 1NZFE (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 4:47 pm

Perodua manage to be the ASEAN hub for Daihatsu factory.

Means Daihatsu Sirion in Indonesia is import frm Malaysia???

• ab (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 5:12 pm

i think the myvi styling is much better looking than the daihatsu sirons

• xenith (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 5:13 pm

i read d first drives in autocar indonesia of this car when i was in jakarta last month. they compared the sirion to honda jazz i-dsi. the sirion is priced around rm60k over there while jazz is priced around rm80k. i was actually surprised that the sirion has more hp compared to jazz being a 1.3 compared to a 1.5.

• szw (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 5:47 pm

daihatsu sirion and perodua myvi are rubbish !

• kancildriver (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 7:24 pm

tak mampu beli, cakap la tak mampu beli….. (sorry paul, couldnt find a better way to express that in english).

• wong (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 8:35 pm

same car different names..maybe some slight body styling difference..but i prefer the Myvi name..

• trustgtr (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 8:36 pm

perodua is just another toyota/daihatsu assembler, should stop telling the public that they've developed the car and a national car maker..it also proves that they can actually lower the prices of their products..

• wong (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 8:40 pm

i thought myvi price is reasonable..

• engtaokia (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 8:41 pm

notice that the power are slightly higher than our malaysia version?

msia = 64kw or 87.02PS

indon = 91ps or 66.93kw

just my 2 cent :p

• albagmane (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 9:00 pm

hmm.. indon now baru sell sirion?

• ganz (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 9:02 pm

hahaha… which part is rubbish..

if u want something cheap and u can not get it in malaysia.. just go to which ever country that offer u the best…

nothing will satisfied everyone..

• moto_moto (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 9:54 pm

muahaha..now it is proven myvi is good.not just msian like it even daihatsu. katak?big butt?what ever u name it.market demand has proved it. muahaha..LOL!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 10:23 pm

moto_moto,

"now it is proven myvi is good.not just msian like it even daihatsu. "

there is a problem with your statement. The myvi was never malaysian. its a car developed by daihatsu, and not the other way around. The way I see it, perodua is just Toyota/daihatsu's backdoor into the Malaysian small car segment.

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 10:43 pm

more jazz in indo than myvi or boon. this car cannot sell well. it sells well in malaysia but not with our neighbour. go figure. proud to be a myvi owner or malaysian??? malaysia boleh ler…

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 11:00 pm

m'sia boleh!! :)

• silverfish (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 11:02 pm

Well, I think most people and their pets know that Perodua ~= Daihatsu Malaysia.

Why make a fuss about it at all? Nobody makes a fuss about Honda Malaysia, UMW Toyota, Naza Kia, and so on.

Besides, they've never been the one to wave the "National Pride" flag. They leave that to Proton.

Look at their names; "Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua" as compared to Proton (Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional). Emphasis on the word "Nasional".

And look at the varying degrees of involvement the government has in both companies. Whereas Proton gets all the attention (for good or bad), Perodua has largely been ignored. And for the better. They've managed to get hooked up with Toyota and got about establishing their brand and business quietly in the sidelines whilst Proton becomes a long running drama/sitcom. Just imagine how Proton would be like if our government left it alone to be run like a business should be run.

Oh sure, some smart ass will retort with the "astute" remark that Perodua cars are not as good as those produced by Daihatsu elsewhere and are overpriced. No shit Sherlock! What? You think the Hondas we get here in Bolehland are as good compared to those in Japan (for instance) and they are not overpriced?

And I quote this from Wikipedia;

"As compared to Proton, Perodua has been quite successful in its business ventures. Its cars are very popular among Malaysians, such as the recently introduced Perodua Myvi, which sold 80,327 units in 2006, outselling its rivals best selling car, the Proton Wira, which only sold 28,886 units in Malaysia. In the same year, Perodua became the best selling car company in Malaysia.

Perodua is set to become the largest compact carmaker in South-East Asia. It currently has capacity to make 200,000 cars annually. By July 2007, it is expanding to 240,000 per year. In October 2005, it had produced a cumulative total of 1 million cars."

I don't car how you spin it; badge engineering or not, half Japanese or not, Perodua can be a major player in the compact car segment in the region. And that's going to be a pretty good achievement.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 11:45 pm

silverfish, i dont know about the others, but i personally are not doubting Peroduas achievements thus far.

but the fact remains. They are technically not a malaysian car . good or bad, thats up to each individual to decide. but for people to say that its a "malaysian car", i think thats not very accurate.

btw, you can do all the wordplay that you want with "“Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua”". They are still classified a National Car, and enjoy most of the benefits that proton enjoys.

You may argue about the various degrees of involvement of the government in relation with proton and perodua.. Why dont you be fair and also look at the varying degrees of involvement of Proton and Perodua in relation to the National Economy? The govt. will of course tend to show more favour to proton, because it invests the most in malaysia.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jul 26, 2007 at 11:52 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    July 26, 2007 @ 3:45 pm

but the fact remains. They are technically not a malaysian car . good or bad, thats up to each individual to decide. but for people to say that its a “malaysian car”, i think thats not very accurate.

=============================================

It is in everyway, a Malaysian car, simply because it’s built and branded here.
    Regardless of where the blueprints came from or how…. if you all understand the car industry more, you would came to the conclusion that all in all, it’s the brand that matters, regardless of where its parts were manufactured. Go get some indepth understanding of the whole flow of car manufacturing and you will see the idea.

• bs (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 12:55 am

I agree, Perodua cars are not "Design in Malaysia" cars. They are actually a modified version of cars design by Daihatsu or Toyota.

But in today's world of globalisation, it is more cost effective to joinly work together to design a new car, that is good. There are many join ventures, between Toyota, Peugeot, Citroen & etc to develope small cars that share the same platform but different styling.

But JV to develope cars is something good. Who cares about who actually was the chief engineer or the chief designer who draw the first line or came out with the first idea. The end product of a good car is what matters. And it has to be cost effective.

As a comparison, see how much was spend on the Savvy and yet it is not going anywhere.

I am not sure if Savvy is better or MyVi is better, but the final verdict will be the one with the highest no. of sales. Majority always wins.

• ganz (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 12:59 am

"Just imagine how Proton would be like if our government left it alone to be run like a business should be run."

well.. it easy to answer… it will hooked up like perodua/naza.. for more competitive source.. no more political tie-up.. with some hunger politician

• tec96248 (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 1:27 am

#

szw said,

July 26, 2007 @ 9:47 am

==hahaha, don't worry ur statement is rubbish too. please don't pollute here with ur rubbish. at least it might generate income to malaysian.

• avanza (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 1:39 am

Perodua wannabe!!! Haha!

• tec96248 (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 1:46 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

July 26, 2007 @ 3:45 pm

P1 & P2 classified as national cars by the government / authorities. not by us. proton taken 15 years to have their own platform car on sale with japanese/french engine eg. WAJA. Perodua still not yet 15 years yet somemore taken over by toyota/dahaitsu.since u mentioned "They are still classified a National Car, and enjoy most of the benefits that proton enjoys." meaning not all benefit that proton have, right? just give them a break, ok? we should be happy that they can generate incomes to malaysia better by both of them. also might benefit us more.

• indigo (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 2:20 am

Get over it, Perodua is no more than a CKD Daihutsu so qualities always better than Proton. Proton can't sell because they are too stubborn to put down the pride of "Malaysian Dream". If you guys ever read the content on the proton's site with the new sedan, they still emphasize that it is locally designed and not Mitsu. Come on, wanna be global player, be humble and do it slowly. So if proton still retain up to date Mitsubishi platform, I'd be happy to buy. For most other foreigners = Proton = cheap plastic, bad interior, unrefined, unsafe, uneconomic. More over it is expensive!!!!!

• wong (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 4:31 am

ITS a Boon! no its a Myvi! no its a Sirion!!! A car with different nationality..oh the topic is about Daihatsu Sirion ….no..its actually a Myvi….so who is Passo? but in the end of the day, its business!..and doing very well here in Malaysia..

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 5:00 am

I have big contact and connection in Toyota & Daihatsu Japan. Yes, they verify this. Daihatsu Sirion in Indonesia is 100% Perodua MyVi except the emblem. It seems that Perodua manufactures those 'Sirion' and export it to Astra Daihatsu Motor Indonesia.

What amazed me was most of my Japanese colleagues said they prefer MyVi styling & design more than Boon or Passo. On Perodua aspiration to be the largest compact car manufacturer in SEA region, yes me and most of my buddies believe Perodua has capability to do and achieve it and actually they are on track to grab that status unless anything shite happens.

In Japan, automotive societies here recognize that Malaysia do have their national car manufacturers and for the time being, they are two of'em which namely Proton and Perodua. Recently, most of Japanese automakers are pumping such huge invesments into Indonesia, beside China, India & Russia. They say, after Thailand, Indonesia will be the next automotive hub in SEA region. I asked them why they didn't choose Malaysia, the answers turned out to be similar as what some of you guys commented here previously, that is something related with Malaysia government policy..NAP, APs, Proton & Perodua factors.. etc and simply say, Malaysia is less attractive in term of investment wise. Well no need to touch on that stuff further.

Anyway strive on Perodua and Proton. Some of guys here might say Perodua is nothing good since they are not producing their own cars….yet. But some guys might sound differently..they would say, Perodua actually 'smarter' and remarkable in their strategies….Only time will tell.

• fliedlice (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 5:11 am

yeah the Daihatsu Sirion for Indonesia is definately produced by Perodua.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 5:20 am

Few things can be summed up:

1. P2 design quite good cars

2. Malaysians not proud of their myvi want to remake it daihatsu.

• mits27 (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 6:40 am

I think what matters is the quality and satisfication for owning the car, people just want a trouble free (still there will not be a perfect car) and acceptable design car and especially the car in malaysia is expensive…

• nmh (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 8:54 am

reduce cost i think…..many body parts can import straight from malaysia which is just couple hundreds kilometres. Or maybe just import the whole rebadge myvi (excess stock maybe) car straightway from malaysia

• hang nadim on Mar 01, 2009 at 10:32 am

Tadinya gue mau beli daihatsu sirion, tapi setelah baca blog ini mendingan gue beli all new jazz aja lah!

Ternyata sekelas proton gitu loh, hwekz….

• cueekk on Mar 22, 2009 at 2:21 am

[quote comment="216280"]Tadinya gue mau beli daihatsu sirion, tapi setelah baca blog ini mendingan gue beli all new jazz aja lah!

Ternyata sekelas proton gitu loh, hwekz….[/quote]

That's nothin' wrong!

• K.I.T.T on Aug 26, 2009 at 4:26 am

korang tau tak kenapa kereta daihatsu siniron tu xde kat malaysia? pasal kalau diimport MASUK kemungkinan akan jadi MAHAL!!.sama harga ngan kereta Swift/Suzuki/Jazz/hyundai/bla bla bla…..kemudian masalah ke 2 ialah SPAREPART.cth bumper belakang….cat/tukar/pasang balik semua sekali rm 400.agak-agak kalau kereta tu PASSO/Daihatsu berapa bumper kereta tuh? semdiri kira la.ke 3.Persaingan…kena ingat sekarang ni pembuat kereta dah banyak…tu belum kira kereta nasional lagi….KIA/Proton terbaru Chery?????(made in china)..kebanyakkan orang sekarang nak beli kereta dia nak survey atau dia nak reviiew dulu……ternyata MYvi tu x lah sehebat mana.TAPI Value+Features+Physical design Myvi menang……..tu pasal myvi leh pegang market 3 tahun berturut-turut berbanding Proton sendiri..malah jualan kereta Myvi pun mencecah 80k unit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!sebelum ni rekod dipegang oleh kereta wira sebanyak 20k unit atas jalan raya……….lepas kejayaan Myvi ni baru Proton release SAvvy ….(tu pun kereta tu kena recall balik…ada manufacture fault/air masuk ikut roda belakang)…..

Tapi dari segi kualiti/Jangka hayat/ketahanan Daihatsu menang!!.pasal dia original design……aku dapat tahu MYvi xde chasing kat gearbox dia…..dan xde airfilter kat airkon dia???(kompressor mudah rosak)??? tu pasal Perodua jual kereta Myvi tu murah….dapat berikan pada harga yang murah dan rendah….tapi kualiti xde la…..bumper kemek sikti kena tukar…x leh ketuk……..tukar nak kena cat nak kena pasang balik………tu cara diorang untung balik,………….

Indonesia import masuk kereta daihatsu kenapa? pasal sana xde kereta nasioanl cam kita…….so diorang `bebas`.dengar cerita pun sana kereta murah….tapi tu la duit tu dah la kecik.beli barang luar (US/JEPUN) so duit tu banyak mengalir keluar….erti kata lain penduduk indonesia kena bayar lebih untuk kegunaan biasa!!!!!..duit keluar macam air paip……

tapi logikla kan?? kalau Perodua x buat macam tu sampai `kapan` pun korang x akan pakai kereta!!!!!nak beli kereta second x berani.takut rosak tengah jalan sparepart xde,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

• budlee on Oct 23, 2009 at 10:09 pm

don't u just love it, to listen the ramblings on perodua being the love child of toyota/daihatsu with some malaysian ministers..

it never gets old, and its always the same facts being pushed round and round…

i wonder if the mazda 3, volvo s40, and ford focus get that much attention at their respective countries since they share the same platforms and engines..

• Byond on Jul 05, 2010 at 1:04 am

You guys! Takde keta yang tersempurna yang bleh menampung keselamatan nyawa. semuanya bergantung kepada bagaimana sikap kita di jalan raya. Pengeluar kesmuanya bermotifkan untung. Jadi kalau nak sentuh ciri-ciri kenderaan, perbandingan keluaran tempatan atau luar, pengeluar semuanya ada agenda tersendiri. kereta tetap kereta. yang susah nak dipuaskan ialah kehendak manusia.

• hoooooooo on Apr 18, 2014 at 3:03 am

yeah even oversea have a same thing alot of car manufacture are joint venture
    example like FORD is share parts with Volvo and Mazda.

FOCUS = V40
    Fista = Mazda 2 n 3