Another rear shot of the Proton BLM

Here is another shot of the Proton BLM contributed by reader Barney Low, but unfortunately it doesn’t really reveal much details that we haven’t seen already in previous spyshots of the Proton BLM here on this site.

However, still seeing this car prowling the highways on tests assures us that the project is still on-going, and soon we’ll be able to look at Proton’s idea of what a successor to it’s bread and butter Proton Saga should be.

Previous Proton BLM Spyshots:
Is this the new Proton BLM?
Clearer Proton BLM side profile spyshots
Proton BLM Artist’s Impression by Maru

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• timber8115 (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 3:22 pm

Bravo proton!

For this model, I have read The Edge this week edition that stating this model will be released in Jan 2008. But doubt with the news credibility.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 3:22 pm

any specs?

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 4:10 pm

judging from previous post & this latest one… looks kinda small…it suppose to be like that? BLM afterall eh? but really, if it looks like Maru’s then it’s not that bad… can’t wait to see in flesh :)

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 4:15 pm

well some people look down at the proton,
    for me is an excitement, i can appreciate it,

• aesthari (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 5:00 pm

I’m beginning to think it’s a Savvy sedan, judging from it’s tall and narrow profile, just like City-Jazz.

• acbc (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 5:09 pm

It looks like a Savvy Saloon.

• nyawere (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 5:15 pm

At first i thought too that it is a Savvy Sedan, but upon closer inspection, the door handle is not from Savvy. IF it is a savvy sedan, they whould use the same doo handle, correct me if i’m wrong.

Furthermore, this car is rumoured to have the 1.3 campro. When they launched savvy, they said laaa, that campro too big, soo cannot fit, therefor TM put in Renault engine..

Soo, base on these facts, i THNIK that it will be slightly bigger in dimension, and not just a Savvy Sedan..

Just my 2 cents..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 5:31 pm

looks like the nissan latio in some ways. If they can price this close to the price of the current saga still on sale today, and like the saga before it, i dont see any reason why it cant sell in large numbers.

• narrowband (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 5:41 pm

Savvy sedan. Positive. Savvy has one of the weirdest window line (bordering between the lower edge of the window), where it forms a ‘one-step staircase’ between the B and C pillar. It’s not straight/linear.

In the pic above, they plastered that whole part.

• kruzer (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 5:56 pm

Can’t help noticing the silholtte of of the savvy. Perhaps its the savvy sedan with some twitching..

• darylchan (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 6:46 pm

The Savvy’s WEIRD window line is what i deduce to be a design fault. If the windowline was straight, the view from the wing mirrors would somehow be obstructed, hence they had to lower the wing mirrors and the windowline. This results in the “Holes of Nothingness” at both ends of the dashboard where they meet the door. Let’s see if Potong has sorted this out in the sedan version,

• acbc (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 7:18 pm

Not to mention the toilet seat front bonnet… yucks! Reminds me of first generation Apple iBook.

• moto_moto (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 7:22 pm

the boot design under that black tape looks very sharp edge. hopefully its not the final design. would prefer it smooth line. Please redesign the back,proton.
    design pelik2, macam wau la, cari own identiti konon. then become like savvy. ppl cant accept the weird back. later cannot sell.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 7:58 pm

moto moto
    you said design pelik wau bulan, or keris, well thats about it, something that relates locally, thats how the image developed, the origin, locality, culture,
    and designers also mention about tiger eye, or tiger, which is part of the country crest,
    -if wnat to relate with spinning propeller (white and blue) like bmw badge, (history and technology), prancing horse of the ferrari, (we dont have horse)
    well they have theirs, we have ours,
    that why i said proton is properly tought, designwise,

talking about savvy , let alone with its quirk with attitude , redesign rear bumper might help to correct it a bit,

anyway it free, for us t comment, but i just have my own tought of proton.

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 8:42 pm

Well, BLM Project is still on and we can aspect this model to be launched in January 2008 as reported. Since still have 4 to 5 months, hopefully Proton guys put all their efforts in this model before the production starts.

Hope to see more spy shots in near future. All the best to Proton.

Happy Motoring.

• moto_moto (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 9:16 pm

oh.like that?well, then this BLM i suppose it reflex design like papan congkak la?! oh no… kuahkuah.dont be kidding lah. i put high hope on this BLM.nevermind, still have time to redesign. anyway, let just hope its not a final design.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 9:24 pm

Hmm, its does look like the Savvy from some angles. It would be interesting if the end result was derived from the Savvy.

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 11:51 pm

Savvy Saloooooooooooooooon……………………….

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 11:57 pm

Or another Tiara Salooooooooooooooooon!!!!!!!!!!!

• peYno-1 (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 12:10 am

BigFish said,
    August 3, 2007 @ 11:57 pm

Or another Tiara Salooooooooooooooooon!!!!!!!!!!!
    ==================
    This kind of ppl think Savvy sharing tiara chassis”…just becoz its called TRM..

pity u..prrrfthhh

• DrA (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 3:07 am

I think SAVVY design is very nice and cutting edge. It looks so much more up to date compared to MYVI. And the saloon form (Ithink this is) should be a handsome car. Yes, the SAVVY design is a bit cut and paste of variuos car design but it works very well.

One thing I don’t like about the SAVVY was the interior design. If only it was as adventureous as the outside (plus better cabin quality) it would have been a great car.

So if the pricing is right, this car will be a winner.

• acbc (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 1:21 pm

A few things I don’t like about Savvy…

1. Toilet-seat front bonnet – YUCKS!
    2. Rear drum brakes – A no-no!
    3. Manual rear windows – come-on, it’s the 21st century already.

The 2007 face-lifted model has 5/10 vote from me but they haven’t done anything to the above items or at least offer as optional accessories.

• szw (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 5:08 pm

it starting to look more like a savvy sedan d.
    it makes me wonder if proton ever make a satria neo coupe.
    that would be a very cool car.

• DrA (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 9:15 pm

ACBC, what is this toilet seat bonnet? The car do not have any hole on the bonnet. I really don’t get it.
    You don’t need a disc brake for a small car anyway, so why put one in? It’s not a fast car, unless proton is keen on producing a uprated version then disc brake is needed.
    I can name a few cars that still have manual rear window. But I think most of SAVVY’s line up have all 4 electric window, except for the entry level.

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 9:52 pm

The Myvi also have rear drum brakes.
    The Volkswagen Fox (Basic model) also have rear manual windows.

• owaief (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 11:06 pm

acbc said,

August 4, 2007 @ 1:21 pm

A few things I don’t like about Savvy…

1. Toilet-seat front bonnet – YUCKS!
    2. Rear drum brakes – A no-no!
    3. Manual rear windows – come-on, it’s the 21st century already.

The 2007 face-lifted model has 5/10 vote from me but they haven’t done anything to the above items or at least offer as optional accessories.
    ————————————————————

the “toilet seat” front bonnet is actually why i like the proton savvy…and why i convinced my parents to buy it…
    i guess looks are realy subjective…..but the maual rear windows is really saddening, i dont really use it, but i just feel like it will be more “assuring” to know that i have automatic rear windows!!

• DrA (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 12:26 am

owaief, I think you are absolutely right. Looks can be subjective. However if you compare SAVVY to any other Korean car in malaysia or maybe in the world, it is miles ahead in terms of its design. It is bold, different and, dare I say, unique. Proton should be heading towards this direction.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 1:27 am

http://static.paultan.org/a1savvy_6.jpg

ment to be like savvy

• fliedlice (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 2:19 am

the BLM is based on the Savvy platform, with design changes made to the front to accomodate the 1.3l campro. it is supposed to be launched early next year, and as far as I know, they are on target for the launching.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 2:34 am

i do like savvy’s design…it is the way 21st century car are heading to…it is sophisticated,modern and daring..the front end looks superb and the rear end it abit not complete but do look as awful and boring like perodua viva or kia picanto..it is different from the rest and unique..but design is always not easily accepted by everyone…when bmw and chris bangle designed the seven series..most claim to be ulgy,awful and wouldnt sell and etc..but after 5 years the design is being followed by many…the boot lid for instance..merc,lexus and VW has accepted the design and its the trend for the 21 century…when 5 series was produced…the design was easily accept because people’s mind has change and what they felt was weird have now being the common sight..so many has accepted and feel the 5 series has a great design…many will follow proton’s design soon and then it will be a common sight too…savvy made a compact car look big,tough and macho..more towards a guys taste compared to rest of the compact cars which is aimed towards the female drivers…proton has not matured in the interior design yet but i feel soon they will and they have to!!designs lately which not acceptable at all is honda city,nissan latio and up coming vios….how could they just do such a simple cut and paste job and sell so much cars just because they are japanese…and famous???proton savvy sedan should look great because the way i see it..its not mere a cut and paste job but the car has a well designed proposition..hope it will have the savvy front end and great rear end…

• DrA (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 2:50 am

Well said Prem3377. Totally agree with you. We want a car that, in 5 yrs time would still look fresh and I bet SAVVY would be one of these cars.

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 2:53 am

Sorry, out of topic. Agreed with DrA. To me, the Savvy’s design is fresh and makes me want to look at it again and again and again.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 2:59 am

acbc,
    u want a rear disc brake for a savvy??u must be kidding man..

the reason proton used renault engine is because many have questioned proton bout their campro and having a 1.3 engine will not be able to sell in europe and aus because it will be in a different class then!!proton savvy is not even in myvi’s category but can go head to head with perodua viva…and another thing bout why renault engine was used because it is lighter,more compact,high power,excellent fuel efficiency and best of all its very reliable and well accepted…over 1.2 million sold worldwide shows how good the engine is…many dont buy a savvy because of weird and unacceptable reason..quality aside…many assumed its a another tiara story,many assumed renault engine its not reliable,many assume proton savvy is the same class as myvi and yet its so much smaller and many assumed that savvy wont have secondhand resale value….so if the car didnt sell based on assumption…last time i even heard a guy was telling his friend that savvy’s platform is from renault clio…some even think its a redesigned tiara and etc..if you really wanna buy a car,please go and test drive yourself..and all the question which u need to know bout the car…think twice and then buy…dont listen to your or others unless they are using the car you intended to buy..especially if its a proton…many love to create rumours…when a friend of mine wanted to buy a perdana V6 many of our friend said it has gearbox problem..and when we ask what is the problem with the gearbox many couldnt answer and some just created stories such as the car suddenly can go jammed when driving at high speed and etc…many other weird stories…finally he decided to buy a secondhand volvo s40 because many still say volvo has a lifespan of 20 years…and at the same time his brother bought a secondhand perdana V6 which was 2 year old…and until 2006 his brothers perdana still running fine without any GEARBOX PROBLEM but my fren’s volvo has electronics problem which forced him to sell the car…so buying a car based on assumption will not benefit anyone..and please dont trust rumours…

• ezralimm (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 10:37 am

i concur… family’s perdana has been going for about 220,000km without any major problems. regarding the gearbox rumour, it must be noted of the type of ATF fluid used. High viscosity, expensive ATF fluids (designed for bigger engines and trucks) may not be suitable and will lead to overheat and rapid wear and tear. In other words, follow the service booklet and timed services and you should be fine.

I’ve seen a couple of savvys around Melbourne CBD lately. IMO, with a bit more trimmings (eg. chrome linings) it can look as classy as a similarly sized mini cooper.

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 12:44 pm

ezralimm, can u please take a pic of em with the chrome linings and send it to paul?
    i wonder how it look like…..
    how bout neo’s? are they abundance there?

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 2:48 pm

blm is blm,

well at first i say savvy is ugly, but when i realized how different it is formed,
    its starts to grow on me, i dont own savy but i really appreciate this small proton ,its not trying to be anything else, it is in its own being, uniquely

i belive proton can sell some cheap minor retro kit or soft crosser trim, just making isavvy life more colorful and exciting,

let alone the neo with sporty hot hatch , savvy is in different excitement,

• ab (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 4:30 pm

its gonna look bad, the shape will only work for a hatch like the savvy, they’re forcing it into a sedan

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Aug 06, 2007 at 4:19 am

if any of you know the rear suspension set up of this BLM, they might have a good guess weather its platform,
    -savvy (torsion beam live axel with coil sp.)
    -others sibling chassis through vva ? (fully indipendant -multi link
    -or fresh platform?

m…. proton people so secretive,

• napps (Member) on Aug 06, 2007 at 8:30 am

the front will take satria neo’s styling cues. car benchmarked against renault logan, but a hell lot prettier. rear end will totally NOT look like savvy….more mainstream look (so to speak). price: proton trying to price below RM30k. 1.3 improved campro engine to be fitted. dec 07/jan 08 launch. car more than just an elongated savvy.

• napps (Member) on Aug 06, 2007 at 8:39 am

savvy very good car. been using for 2 years now. RM45 gets me from Gombak to Kemaman (350km++ at 120 km/h). no major problems faced. but looking to upgrade to new persona sedan (the purple one looks stunning). boot can fit 3 golf bags; need all the space, cos got meself a kid now!

• xstan (Member) on Aug 06, 2007 at 9:25 am

I saw it on the expressway while travelling back at the opposite direction on Sat. It was too fast..but it got my attention since it was cover up with black stitches. Couldnt make up the physics look. Donno…could be mistaken with other prototype vehicle.

• badsoulfly (Member) on Aug 06, 2007 at 11:06 am

i hope this model did not not coming with Renault engine…
    better use campro 1.3….reasonable price maintanance…
    i dont know la my friend sad true or not….or he just joke around…
    if u want to change savvy timing belt cost at RM2k something?
    anybody know?

• òmnícp (Member) on Aug 06, 2007 at 11:40 am

2k for timing belt??? u must joking mate?
    service in the land down under is much cheaper then…

ask khimfoh in savoc.net maybe he can clarify the service charges as they forum compiles every savoc members experience with the little turtle.

• DrA (Member) on Aug 06, 2007 at 2:14 pm

no way rm2k for a timing belt? It cannot be. My wife used to drive a Renault Megane and it did not cost that much to change a timing belt. You can change the whole engine for that amount of money!

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 06, 2007 at 2:52 pm

savvy- little turtle – not bad…hehe

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Aug 06, 2007 at 5:00 pm

D4F

let say timing belt 100rm
    belt tensioner 100rm
    water pump 150rm (those 3 items say little expensive lah -imported )
    labour 100rm (estimate +-)
    —————–
    total 450rm

recomanded service (change at every 60000km bit shorter but ok, or 3 yrs)

this is estimated by me with discrepency of course, if wrong please correct,

anyway 2000rm is simply kena tipu, dont be niave about ur own car, probally they use ‘renault’ word to charge that much

• fliedlice (Member) on Aug 06, 2007 at 9:29 pm

proton.GL.. said,
    August 6, 2007 @ 4:19 am

if any of you know the rear suspension set up of this BLM, they might have a good guess weather its platform,
    -savvy (torsion beam live axel with coil sp.)
    -others sibling chassis through vva ? (fully indipendant -multi link
    -or fresh platform?

m…. proton people so secretive,

it uses a similiar torsion beam set up to the savvy…

• badsoulfly (Member) on Aug 07, 2007 at 9:14 am

may be my friend just fool around me…he said workshop tepi jalan didn’t want to change the timing belt…so he came to Proton service center and ask about that…they told the price RM 2k plus labour charge…i told to him with that cost i can change my Iswara timing belt for ten times…so not my intention just to make a story in this forum…before this he also told me if u want to change Savvy plug cable costly at RM400…he said cost of fuel very save…but you spent a lot for maintanance…may be he was been cheated

• badsoulfly (Member) on Aug 07, 2007 at 9:19 am

and proton people said savvy oil filter and air filter made in Malaysia…
    another part must be import…after this i will ask my friend go to kedai potong la…murah maaaa

• biggie (Member) on Aug 07, 2007 at 3:29 pm

err… actually for Savvy user, renault original parts (new) is about RM2-3 cheaper then Proton original (new) part. Check Savoc for more of the same story. Not from kedai potong

• Francis KethoN (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 10:11 am

Savvy Bro dude!

• proton GL (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 3:53 pm

so its…savvy extended platform?

i dont know ,
    but if looking partly front door near the side mirror id say identical of the savvy,
    altough the door handle is different,

• tec96248 (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 7:24 pm

Prem3377 said,
    August 5, 2007 @ 2:34 am

==savvy design is quite fresh and do have the french look. infact i don’t like front much compared to the rear. but most important is to have a design or look that well accepted by buyers or consumer, don’t u agree? if it can’t be accepted, can’t sell, so no income? how to carry on then?

simple example, how to go to war if u have no weapon? giving u a gun without bullets, how to shoot?

special design or unique look doesn’t matter much, make sure it is well accepted by consumers is more important. hopefully the looks of this car is accepted by most of the consumers. do u agree on that?

• proton GL (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 6:10 pm

gotta question my fiends, if it architectured from the savvy, would be the engine, still a D4F renault ?

• romeo_misteri (Member) on Sep 05, 2007 at 7:07 pm

looks like renault logan..(wondering)

because before this..waja is using renault engine before he uses campro..savvy AMT is using renault quickshift5 technology..savvy’s body looks like renault clio..maybe for the BLM, proton will use renault logan..