Proton New Sedan: Peekaboo!

Proton New Sedan

Proton has placed a few units of it’s upcoming new sedan in four venues across Malaysia, but before you excitedly head on to the venue to have a look at it, there’s just one thing – the sedan is in a giant box! What you can do is just peek through a few holes to have a look at the sedan inside. Not sure if there is a light in the box so it might be best to bring some form of torch light along! UPDATE: The interior of the box is lit!

The giant boxes with the new Proton sedan inside them are located at The Curve, Mutiara Damansara, Selangor (10am to 10pm); Proton showroom in Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Penang (8am to 8pm); Proton Showroom in Plentong, Johor (8am to 8pm) and Giant Hypermarket, Jalan Gambang, Kuantan (10am to 10pm).

“Were happy with the excitement building up for our new sedan. PROTON began to accept bookings from 22 July 2007 and all the public could see then was a visual of the silhouette of the car. That was enough for quite a number to commit and make bookings for the new sedan. However, we have been receiving many requests that we show more and that was what prompted us to come up with this peekaboo idea of showing the actual car, but just enough only,” said Proton managing director Datuk Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• engtaokia (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 5:11 pm

interesting way for advertisement :D

• mr. proton (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 5:16 pm

wat r u waiting for…? rush to showroom n book the car… be proud to be the one of the first owner.. besides… my relatives n frens already booked the car…

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 5:23 pm

haiyah… just visit paul blog/forum alredi enuff mah.. :)

yeah.. agreed.. it’s interesting way of advertisement.. GOOD LUCK PROTON… u need it.. ;)

• aesthari (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 5:26 pm

Nice ad, you can brave the traffic jam, struggle to find a parking spot, then squint into a tiny hole in the box.

OR YOU CAN JUST VISIT PAULTAN.ORG, like us

Muahahahahahah!

• motoaku (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 5:28 pm

yeah….

bijak…bijak..
    now the new ceo is using his brain…heheh

thinking to tapau 1 for my self…ahaks

• fastcx (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 5:35 pm

Quite creative to raise people’s curiosity, helps in sales in d end, and perhaps a good indicator for proton to c how many people are actually have fate in proton’s future design

• J (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 5:57 pm

scare me only … at first I thought it is to be called Proton Peekaboo.

• xstan (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 6:12 pm

Bloooody good teaser advert & promo gimmick. I gave 10 full points for its creativity. Now thats what i call…Clever. Hope the the Sedan turn up clever too.

• tanasi (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 6:34 pm

Haighhh….only a few holes, and surely so many goddamn buggers who want to be peeping toms…

Unless if the two girls will be there…heheheh…

Just SHOW THE BLOODY CAR!!!

• OOOO (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 6:42 pm

I hope this teaser does not back fire like the Savvy one.. Teased for so long and Myvi dealt a undercut and nobody is interested with Savvy anymore… This Proton Sedan news has been going on for a while now and my patient is getting a bit thin….
    Must sell while its hot and even half decent car will do well..

• darylchan (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 6:51 pm

For goodness’ sake, everyone already knows what the hell it is. It’s a GEN2 sedan. Just launch the car already. Teaser campaigns are just another way for ad agencies to suck money from the client (Proton). I’m in the ad business. I know.

• bmx (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 6:57 pm

As an ad company, of course they want the teaser to last forever, who cares if it gives reverse psychology? already bank-in the money paid….

• moto_moto (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 7:02 pm

very good proton! i hope this will sell well. personally i’m not really like this sedan because it carries disaster gen2’s blood.headlamp, taillight. definitely will remind me of gen2. I hope other can accept this sedan. let see and touch it for real 1st, hope proton can cure of my penyakit gen2 fobia:)

• artyca (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 7:06 pm

I agree with Daryl… It’s not even a new car… just a re-hashed Gen2 with an extra boot… Why all the secrecy? Just launch the bloody car and save marketing $$$ lah! Idiots…

• jehutyz (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 7:27 pm

Wooo great advertisement…..
    Great Great

• schdmitz (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 8:14 pm

Same shit different day!Wat so special about this creature?????

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 8:26 pm

Just now, after I came back from Friday prayers, dropped by at a Proton dealer just in front of Carrefour Subang. The receptionist lady told me it’ll probably be launched at night, on the 15th of August at CoE. Pak Lah was invited to launch it. So tanasi, hv a little patience, it’s less than two weeks from now!!

Hm…this teaser reminds me of Viva’s teaser. P2 showed just the top half at that time, while this Proton it seems, well, as the picture shows you!!

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 8:56 pm

Advertisement is a must. For people who say just launch the car to save money for marketing as most of us know how the car is look like without advertisement actually is wrong. Just like other car manufacturers, they have their own way to advertise their upcoming new models even though there are so many spy shots too and we also know how the car will look like including the interior. They (the car manufacturers) still advertise, right and including teasers just like Proton is doing now.

However for this Proton new sedan, how many of us know about the interior design except all the Proton guys out there. So, what’s wrong to advertise it. Besides, I think its cool and creative.

Anyway, all the best to Proton. Cheers all.

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 9:08 pm

nice one…hehe

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 9:22 pm

I like this advertistment, so you know what you are seeing. Someone go print the spypics and paste on the box for fun :P

• albagmane (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 9:26 pm

nice and creative way to attract malaysians… but the location placements are too limited ya… does proton forget tat sabah and sarawak are parts of malaysia as well?

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 9:29 pm

yeah…..the totally forgot it…grrr

• J (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 10:42 pm

Has anyone “peek” it ?

Updated from Paul saying the interior of the car is lighted up. I guess they must have improved the interior. Hope this time Proton will return with success !

• KoNa (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 11:14 pm

duno y u all so hyped up about it. it has black interior unlike the beige ones and new seats that look beta than those recaro wannabe in the stock gen2. n if u all havent noticed a longer backside. new rims. tats about it.

• bmx (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 11:55 pm

yawn….when is the next model coming ?

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 12:00 am

Look like the girl with brown shirt and jeans wear rayban!!!! How to see?

This kind of advert is “cut and paste” or “rebadge” from Viva!

• mits27 (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 12:41 am

Just wait and see, cannot book the car without seeing the car first, also test drive the car too…

• gokibin (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 9:39 am

I’m more excited about seeing a new car than I am of a new proton. U know, jus bcoz it’s new. Neways, jus wanna say that wen u say across Malaysia, please mean it. Malaysia covers East Malaysia too. So if it’s only in Peninsular Malaysia, say so. Not angry or being anti-Peninsular. Jus don wanna be confused. Neways, good luck to Proton wit this new sedan.

• Alifz (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 9:55 am

Yes gobikin, I agree with you.

Shall when it mentoned to be across Malaysia, make it really means. I still remember when the launcing of Gen 2 car it took 3 moths later to arrived at K.Kinabalu. So paiful to wait…

I’ve seen the spyshot of fully uncovered of this model. The rear part especially the bumper looks like Camry, and my opinion it’s like old’s man car cause the chrome trimming.

Anyway most all you will like it since it’s a contemporary design. My taste is oldschool type like Waja and Audi A4.

Cherrs…

• jimbet (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 4:18 pm

Proton got the idea of doing this from porn film or what? I think those girls are waiting for penis to stick out from each of the holes. hehe.

just kidding guys.. happy saturday

• szw (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 5:06 pm

interesting.

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 9:59 pm

Can i bring scissors/pen knife or not? Want to cut the hole to make it bigger…….

• volvolover (Member) on Aug 04, 2007 at 11:01 pm

mr. proton said,
    August 3, 2007 @ 5:16 pm

wat r u waiting for…? rush to showroom n book the car… be proud to be the one of the first owner.. besides… my relatives n frens already booked the car…

I don’t see what’s the rush, the car is going to be on sale for a long time and proton is a common car and it’s not a limited edition car. I don’t think people will come and rush and book it. Buying a car is a huge purchase in Malaysia and I don’t think most people would rush in without seeing how the car really looks like. Few will book without looking but most won’t. After a month or two the car is not rare anymore. ALl new proton cars will be common after a while so I don’t really see the need to be the first to buy if I want to buy it.

• nizam80 (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 2:28 am

To date, i think that there are more than 200 bookings being made for this car already.

• ezralimm (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 10:43 am

eh, sum1 pls get a sony camera with a wideangle adaptor to put through the holes and snap some pics…

• BigFish (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 11:00 am

Don’t need to snap any pictures, after launch, 6 or 12 month down the road, Proton may give discount or come with special edition with full accessories!

So, Mr. Proton, there is no need to rush and better ask you relatives/freinds to waite and see to get better deal from Proton in the near future!

• kbb2481 (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 1:23 pm

Just coming back after take a look at the proton peekaboo cineleisure…just like gen 2 with extend of boot…look like the dash board still the same and also the tail light…different front seat…Engine dunno, FC will be the main question…

• auto_man (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 2:02 pm

To all auto friends,

Pls advice at where to obtain the specification for new gen2 sedan. Moreover, will this new sedan integrated with CPS technology (as discuss in previous section).

• ab (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 2:08 pm

it should say: peek if u’re sick!

• V8 (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 3:17 pm

Been there yesterday and saw it. Got to say a bit disappointed when peeping the interior of the car…most of the design stil d same as gen2, but i think the quality must have improve much. Dashboard overall still the same, except for no more analog clock. The radio n cd player design, aircond still no difference from gen 2. the interior color i think is black, steering also same, got to mention that i hardly can see any sign of the highly expected glove box…just hope that my eyes was wrong. They also have change the seat design for this sedan. Overall, i think the utmost similarities in the design in both exterior and interior of this sedan with gen2 is because proton aim to achieve economies of scale, that’s why they can offer such attractive price. My hope for the car: Nevermind if less new stuff n design, but expect more quality.

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 9:05 pm

confirm liao dat it got a golvebox by today’s NST CBT……

• azrai (Member) on Aug 06, 2007 at 11:05 am

Proton’s Skodeng team. :-)

• kerelbort (Member) on Aug 06, 2007 at 1:57 pm

haha.. very very creative way to tease… no more old lady peeping to a covered savvy in the news paper…

fancy advertising i say.

• rexis (Member) on Aug 06, 2007 at 5:09 pm

Tease too much, make this only a good tease.

• cutelittlekelisa (Member) on Aug 06, 2007 at 5:31 pm

eh… i wan throw some snakes inside.. kehkehekhekehkehekeh….. just joking… its not that Ferrari 430 inside… then ill peek lah…

• Xoomie (Member) on Aug 07, 2007 at 9:33 am

APA? Proton mau rakyat skodeng kereta ia?

• Apathy (Member) on Aug 07, 2007 at 1:39 pm

huhuhuhuh how come no male peeping thru it? huhuhuhu coz we’re smart….hihihihi google is at our disposal. huhuhuhu anyway, just dont care bout proton anymore. i drive 2002 crappy auto waja n 1995 iswara aeroback.

• ady (Member) on Aug 07, 2007 at 3:44 pm

nice try
    go for it……..

i like this promo

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 12:28 am

pride and joy. how ironic. the last few words you will ever associate with proton.

enough with the mystery crap. did that with the savvy and you could see people visually vomiting. the guys inside the box must be having fun. must be more than 2 guys inside.

• karipup (Member) on Aug 08, 2007 at 11:04 am

i think i saw isuzu a similar box in the curve last month. Is that a new way to tease people on a new car? or refreshing the idea of using a box. i think the 1st time i saw people advertising using box is Jurassic Park in OneU and that was few years back.
    hahah.. not bad quite clever if proton did not copy the idea from isuzu and jurassic park…

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 12:20 pm

Apathy said,
    August 7, 2007 @ 1:39 pm

huhuhuhuh how come no male peeping thru it? huhuhuhu coz we’re smart….hihihihi google is at our disposal. huhuhuhu anyway, just dont care bout proton anymore. i drive 2002 crappy auto waja n 1995 iswara aeroback.
    —————————————————————-
    You never take photos? Perhaps it so coinsident two ladies were peeking the car from the box outside at that very moment. Who knows that two ladies were Proton’s staffs. If you don’t care about Proton anymore, don’t post it here.

One of my friend also did drive Waja before and bashing badly about Proton just because the driver side door opener / handle broken a bit then sold the Waja and bought Toyota Vios. Less then 2 years (happened 3 days ago), his Vios power window failed too. I’m telling him “Still remember what I told you my friend? Don’t bashing and make some small problem like it is so big and also what I told him every car manufacturers do come with some defects cars. No car manufacturers come with 100% perfect cars.” Is his luck or what? Only now he keep quite about Proton cars.

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 09, 2007 at 11:45 pm

hi…

Agreed with Unicons… no car is 100% perfect

I’ve been reading most of the comment in this blog, it seems that everybody have their own opinions. Some can be agreed upon due to facts or personnel experience. But most are based upon heresay. Why? Because we Malaysian do that. We blame everything but ourself. The Government at fault, the manufacturer at fault, the Salesman fault, the mechanic faults… but do most of the drivers in Malaysia even maintain a good record of servicing for their car? Or do they even service their car at a regular interval? If something is broken, then blame everyone else… Be reasonable people… You guys expect the best from everything Proton but do you guys give the best when performing your job or duty? Every company has a qaulity issue even the great Mercedes Benz fails to deliver quality car. Afterall, we all humans. Think about it…

• tec96248 (Member) on Aug 10, 2007 at 12:18 pm

The Unicons said,
    August 9, 2007 @ 12:20 pm

i do agree that don’t simply bash without reasons. but most of the malaysian do have experiences with protons cars from yesteryears til now. that’s reason why protons sales is poor and the company is losing business/moneys.

kingbrutal said,
    August 9, 2007 @ 11:45 pm

do agree that we have to follow service interval provided by the manufacturers. but then how about, speedometer, tachometer, temperatuture and oil gauge, powerwindow, tierod, steering rod, door handles, gear knob, glovebox, etc which broken within 3 years and reoccur again after repair. one fellow got these problem, considered he’s unlucky but most the owners have these problems, what would u say then? that’s the reason their sales are poor this lately.

somehow, doesn’t matter much on which make, consumer want a good quality or reliable car. i hope proton not just improving the quality but have to be extra good quality in order to compete. agree?

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 10, 2007 at 6:47 pm

to tec96248… can’t disagree with you. Proton should have improve it’s overall build quality and regulates the qualities of its vendors. But should have and could have is 2 different thing.

The main problem with Proton is not the manufacturing or sales of its cars. It’s more to do with management. There too many post for every deparment and this entails more wages and benefits to be paid out. That contributes to the raising cost of running it. Like what VW said, Proton should be run as a commercial company not as a GLC if it wants to turn around its deficit.

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 10, 2007 at 8:17 pm

To kingbrutal and tec96248. I agree with you guys too.

Anyway I want to add in few things.

By complaning the transmission found in Proton not good, you guys better complaint to Mitsubishi instead or please ask Proton to take note on transmission system supplied by Mitsubishi.. Not many car manufacturer produce their own transmission that include Mercedes Benz and BMW. They get it from the transmission manufacturers. Do you know that?

Always talking about the power windows failure in Proton cars. Yes, but not every car from Proton have the same problem(s) and any Savvy and Satria Neo owners complaint about the car? If yes, how many compare with Waja and Gen.2? Do you guys think Toyota cars power windows never fail? My friend’s Toyota Vios power window also failed few days ago and the car only less than 2 years old. Last time he owned Waja and just because the door opener / handle broke a bit he bashed Proton cars like hell. I gave him a tutorial lesson as no car manufacturers produce 100% perfect cars.

Sometimes car manufacturers can not detect all the defect parts as many parts are from the parts vendors. All the parts vendors which supply parts to car manufacturers have their own quality control department. So that is the job for parts vendors and not totally the car manufacturers job to retest every single parts after the production started. It should be in the R&D stage and during production stage just started.

One more thing, not all same product have the same quality and lifespan such as suspension systems, power windows etc. even though quality control do take place. It is quite difficult to know when it will fail as wear and tear is part of the reason. In Proton cars suspension, power windows etc. case don’t just bash Proton blindly. Yes, it might happened because Proton designed the wrong or lousy mechanism and then pass to power windows vendor then the vendor also give some crap products to Proton. However, if Proton designed a better power windows mechanism such as the one in Satria Neo, but still having lots of problem then we have to look at the quality control by the vendor quality control and not totally blame on Proton. By the way, please let me know if there is still many power windows problem in Savvy and Satria Neo. Thanks. No I guess.

Give me simple example: computer hard drive. Why same brand and same model have different lifespan? Some will last more than 5 years as the manufacturers claimed and some will last not more than 2 years before bad sectors found.

Cheers all

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 10, 2007 at 8:18 pm

To kingbrutal and tec96248. My above comments no direct to both of you. Just my general comments.

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 11, 2007 at 3:01 am

To Unicons… point taken… good posting too

Manufacturers lets the vendors made this parts to cut down on cost and also simulate the economy of small companies. More vendors, more saving. We have to agree that Proton did faced some issues about the infamous power windows but they did improve it. All newer models have less and less problem regarding it. Proton is a small manufacturer when compared to the like of Toyota, Daimler-Benz, BMW or VW. This mega companies have all the capabilities and facalities to test their product with financial and manpower backing. They can test it for a few years and it wouldn’t make a different to their product range. Proton can’t compete with that, the only way for them is to make all the testing on the road with it customer. If there is a problem, then they try to overcome it.

The funny thing about the gearbox is people never complain if the same unit is fixed to a Mitsubishi car but they start to make noise when it is fixed to a Proton car. Wonder why? I’ve seen a lot of people trashes the gearbox in a Proton car as if the car is a racing/sport car. Afterwards when it breakdown, blame Proton. Malaysian drivers tend to trash the car like that. If don’t believe, go to any traffic lights or junctions, there are plenty of racer wannabe.

And one more thing, when the car broke down, people always insist on cheap or local spare parts. I’ve seen an Iswara blown its valve a month after major overhaul. Why? Cheap spareparts… End up have to buy a new top casing… I just laughed at the guy. Want to save money but end up spending more… And do we want to blame Proton on that too? Proton spare parts are expensive? If some of you think it is, then you shouldn’t own a car in the first place. And try comparing it to, let say Toyota. I mean genuine Toyota spare parts from UMW.. not the one from any shops. My sister drives a Toyota Avanza, her service is more expensive than mine. Why? Because Toyota is a better brand? Everybody can buy a car but not everybody can maintain a car… remember that.

• The Unicons (Member) on Aug 11, 2007 at 10:11 am

To kingbrutal. Agree with you and thanks. Keep up with good posting and constructive comments instead of blind bashing.

Some of you really have bad experience with Proton car(s) but I do know some are making it so seriously which is not true, even though it just a minor defect(s) or problem(s). For example: by calling Proton cars a milo tin. Anyone of you read the news regarding a Mercedez Benz E Class current model if not mistaken crashed into the big road sign and big tree before crashed into a guard house 2 days ago? The car also totally wreaked. 3 dead and 1 survive. What I meant is to look at the big picture about the accident and not to assume something only. If this situation put in Proton, I’m sure nobody will survive that crash too. One more thing, I don’t like some of the newspapers here. Most of the time accidents which involved Proton cars they will state the model name and so on including how the car look like after the crash. When it comes with luxury cars like BMW or Merz, they won’t or seldom say it! What the hell is that? Protect the luxury brands or something and bashing Proton cars?

Anyway, PEEKABOO! 5 days to go for the launching of new Proton sedan….. Proton Persona? Will see.

Happy motoring and drive safe.

• tec96248 (Member) on Aug 11, 2007 at 4:15 pm

The Unicons said,
    August 10, 2007 @ 8:17 pm

ur friend was very unlucky indeed having powerwindow failure on his vios. hahaha.
    my uncle just mentioned to me last night, his 5 years old wira second round failure on powerwindows, one of four was out of order. earlier he had repaired all for powerwindows last two years. i guess my uncle is really damn unlucky. now his car has problems with, one powerwindow, tachometer gauge, oil&temperature gauge, etc…. where as i don’t have those problem with a 97′ wira which i sold it. enjoy, rite?

• limsk (Member) on Aug 12, 2007 at 11:19 am

Not very hygine for way .. Can’t image my eyes come to contact to an opening which have been view by hundreds of people who know wheather they had eye infections (either mild or severe) come in contact with any of those openings.

Ads people should just widen the opening (slighthly) so our eyes can view with stick our face close or touching of the surface of that box.

• kingbrutal (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 7:10 am

One request though, please use the proper spelling and grammar for your post. If you can’t write in English, Bahasa Malaysia is always welcome. By using short forms and what have you, people may be lost in the translations or the understanding of what you really trying to convey. Kalau dalam Bahasa Malaysia pun, guna ayat dan ejaan yang betul. Siapa nak jaga bahasa kita kalau bukan kita? Tidak susah untuk buat semua ini. Not too much to ask, right?